-- Closed --

se800i
post Jul 26 2019, 10:43 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(wayton @ Jul 25 2019, 04:54 PM)
For residential property, renting is never a profitable business especially at current situation, as most residential properties net rental yield is about 1-3%, which is not enough to cover loan interest nor beat FD interest rate as well.

Profitable renting is for commercial/business property, not residential.
for me... I didnt want it to be profitable.... But to cover up my instalment, maintenance then it is good enough for me.
as at the end of the day i get a free property whereby every month got ppl help me to pay instalment.
wayton
post Jul 26 2019, 04:14 PM

897 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Jul 26 2019, 10:43 AM)
for me... I didnt want it to be profitable.... But to cover up my instalment, maintenance then it is good enough for me.
as at the end of the day i get a free property whereby every month got ppl help me to pay instalment.
Those "good day" are gone already.

Most residential property hardly can get positive cashflow nowadays, in fact, renting out may also difficult let alone "profitable".
TOMEI-R
post Jul 26 2019, 04:29 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

To be fair, the economy and market as whole isn't doing too well either. Consumer purchasing power is adversely affected. So yeah, the property would definitely be hit hard.
Bjorn1688
post Jul 27 2019, 12:00 AM

1,924 posts

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 25 2019, 04:49 AM)
My sister and i inherited a 2-storey terrace from our mum (Jln Terasek in Bangsar) and i like the place very much. However, my 70 year old sister (not married) also lives there and my wife doesn't like living with my sister (woman very hard to please!) even though i got 3 empty rooms so i need to buy another place for my wife. I prefer not to touch my super (epf) as it gives me a very good passive income - an alternative is we live in the 3+1 room condo (which belongs to my wife) and i subsidize her for the rental. My wife and i keep our finances separately so i don't exactly know how much money she has (she tends to hide things from me) but she knows exactly how much i have. I don't believe in trying to hide things from her.

I am going back to Kl again next week for 7 weeks as i am trying to use up my long service leave so i will probably go see a few more properties. In Apr/May when i went back to KL, I saw a 2-bedrm unit in Sri Penaga (asking 1mil) which i quite like and also saw a couple in Tivoli (a little run down but very cheap). I was supposed to see a couple more units in Casa Vista and Cascadium but i ran out of time as i was only in KL for 6 weeks then.
I used to own a house in Jalan Terasek, inherited it from my late granddad that bought it when it was new. Did you grow up on that horseshoe shaped street?

Might not be a bad idea to live in one of your own rather than buying a new place. Especially since you are unsure if retirement in KL is something definitely for you.

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 25 2019, 05:01 AM)
He was replying to my post about buying a 2-stry terrace in Bangsar Baru as i was thinking of buying a terrace house instead of a condo as the appreciation (price-wise) for landed properties are higher than for condos. However, i prefer leaving my money in Aust in my super (epf) as the returns have been very good! Also if i have a change of plans and decide that KL is not suitable for me and decide to come back to live in Aust, moving money back to Aust can be very difficult. My wife had so many problems when she sent about A$200k+ recently and BNM asked her so many questions about where the money was from and she had to provide documentary evidence. We were not very happy as we had to keep going back to the bank to provide the evidence. I think BNM wanted to see if the money was legit.
Yes sending and receiving big sums of money has been quite tedious of late.

BNM has become more stringent in vetting any overseas and even interbank transfers.

QUOTE(geekystef @ Jul 25 2019, 02:05 PM)
This is the current trend now. These people are liars. I've told my family member that he is not to entertain these people. Integrity is such a rare quality, even more so nowadays. Nothing irks me more than dishonest people. I agree with Warren Buffett's opinion about integrity: "Honesty is a very expensive gift. Don't expect it from cheap people."
These people are best given a wide berth. Never know what else they would claim next.

I have generally stuck to the few tried and tested agents, one thing I always make sure if I am never in a position where I am in a hurry to sell.

QUOTE(Garysydney @ Jul 26 2019, 05:41 AM)
We have to take into consideration the time when the unit is empty (that is without a tenant). I estimate from my wife's properties (over a period of 10 years), it was empty 15% of the time (close to 2 months per year) - this high percentage could also be due to us not physically being in KL (as we live overseas) and so agents take their time doing things. As it is getting harder to get tenants (due to oversupply of rental properties), i estimate the vacant percentage rate will increase over the foreseeable future. This vacant period will eat into our percentage yield.
It will depend on how you manage the property. If you have found in the past every year you have had a change of tenants then most likely the culprit for it was none other than the agent that you appointed to help you rent it out.
Garysydney
post Jul 27 2019, 01:47 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 27 2019, 12:00 AM)
I used to own a house in Jalan Terasek, inherited it from my late granddad that bought it when it was new. Did you grow up on that horseshoe shaped street?

Might not be a bad idea to live in one of your own rather than buying a new place. Especially since you are unsure if retirement in KL is something definitely for you.
Yes - i am near the horseshoe. I prefer to live in the terrace but my other half is not happy living with my sister and prefers us to live somewhere else. Women are very hard to please!! When i am in KL, i go for morning walks and like the Bangsar area very much (love the wet market esp the tau foo fah). This is the type of life i would prefer - in Sydney it is comparably more quiet and lonely even though i have a lot of friends.

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Jul 27 2019, 01:49 AM
Garysydney
post Jul 27 2019, 01:55 AM

527 posts

QUOTE(Bjorn1688 @ Jul 27 2019, 12:00 AM)
BNM has become more stringent in vetting any overseas and even interbank transfers.
We get a special rate when we send more than rm100k back to KL (telegraphic transfer) but we have to show evidence of where the money came from (directive from BNM). We can get the documentation but having to go back to the bank a couple of times can be quite testing. Money changer at mid-valley gives the best exchange rates (even better than the special rate from the bank) but we can only carry about A$40k (2 of us) otherwise the notes become too bulky.

This post has been edited by Garysydney: Jul 27 2019, 01:56 AM
TSgeekystef
post Jul 27 2019, 01:33 PM

287 posts

-- Deleted --

This post has been edited by geekystef: Nov 21 2020, 06:27 PM
Garysydney
post Jul 27 2019, 02:54 PM

527 posts

QUOTE(geekystef @ Jul 27 2019, 01:33 PM)
That really sucks. What kind of documentation? If it is from a bank (say in London) and you've been saving money in it for years, do you have to show all of your bank statements etc? I've done that in the past without issues. Why are they being this difficult now?
I suspect they want to catch those with 'black money'. We showed them documentation that it was my wife's super (epf) and also a statement from the superfund that paid the benefit and they were happy with that. When sending big amounts of money, the only way is to send using telegraphic transfer (using banks). I checked with a few 'money-transfer' companies and they wouldn't do more than A$20k per transaction - this means if you want to send A$200k, you will have to do 10 transactions and you wouldn't be entitled to a special rate.
soules83
post Jul 29 2019, 02:51 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(joey2000 @ Jul 20 2019, 12:55 PM)
Not a sifu here, but from a normal guy perspective.

Sub sale need 10% deposit, SNP fees, sum up around 15% of house price.

New development no need. With HOC, now people still got 10% discount.

Seems like gov try very hard to push sales for developer.

If I am looking for house, I will look for new development instead of subsale on the market unless the price is really attractive to cover the 15% difference.
+1, Another input from my side.

subsale no warranty. risk of involved huge repair cost.
soules83
post Jul 29 2019, 02:53 PM

Hohoho I dunno
2,024 posts

QUOTE(Azury36 @ Jul 20 2019, 02:16 PM)
Bubble won't happen in prime areas(Klang Valley, Jalan Kuching, Damansara etc),yes it could happen but the impact is not significant as developers are more cautious about the situation.

It is not smart move if buyers keep waiting for the price goes down. If you have opportunities to grab good location with decent price and offers just buy sooner or later the price will goes up
Why you think price will goes up? Please justify.

The reason I can think of why the price goes up is:
1) Investor have nothing better to invest into (big player)
2) 2007 easy bank loan(can loan up to 90%, in old days only 60% loan), which now already no longer having easy bank loan. I don't think we can get 100% loan.
3) Ppl were just goat follow the coward and rest into investment.

This post has been edited by soules83: Jul 29 2019, 03:10 PM
ahkit123
post Jul 29 2019, 05:53 PM

2,550 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Jul 26 2019, 11:43 AM)
u r lucky if u can get that these days
vckc
post Jul 29 2019, 09:37 PM

418 posts

QUOTE(ahkit123 @ Jul 29 2019, 05:53 PM)
u r lucky if u can get that these days
Can can... plenty out there.. just need to know where to look

7 Pages « < 5 6 7Top