7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Military Thread V27

KLthinker91
post Jul 8 2019, 07:37 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(kerolzarmyfanboy @ Jul 8 2019, 01:41 AM)
It is thus, important for us to define the role of the armed forces vis-a-vis other civilian security forces and to ensure that all agencies work hand in hand to complement each other’s functions.
Malaysia has held a non-aligned foreign policy posture since the 1970s, even at the height of the Cold War, and has put much more emphasis on diplomacy than on any need to showcase military might in dealing with other countries. But this should not discount the importance of the armed forces training to be ready for any scenario of war or conflict, and to conduct what is called defence diplomacy activities with other countries. Indeed, the primary role of the armed forces is to prepare and to train for war.
Excellent points that even some of us here forget.

Contrary to the perception that members of the armed forces “sit in their barracks and have nothing to do”, they train daily, involving themselves in exercises, patrolling borders, going on operations assigned to them and carrying out secondary duties to provide military assistance to civil authorities.
n fact, some ships sail more than 200 days a year.
Excellent point, very important to highlight these to civilians.

The armed forces, being the most organised force in the country, should provide assistance to civilian authorities and conduct operations other than war, such as during a humanitarian assistance and disaster relief. But we need to clarify the primary and secondary roles of the military and at what stage they need to be involved. We need to realise that the military is the last resort, not the first responders
Excellent point, that is again lost on some who should know better.

Deploying the military has a cost usually unseen by the public or even government leaders. When on operations, military personnel do not really have time to dedicate to training. Being constantly in ops and not having time to train means that they won’t have the readiness needed in the event a military operation is called for.
A VERY excellent point which few civilians understand. You often see misguided complaints revolving around this issue even in the US, UK, etc.

without taking into consideration that military personnel are not trained as professional prison managers like the prison officers. The other “Blue Ocean” folly was to get the paratroopers — one of the most extensively trained elite groups — to guard airports as a “show of presence” effort.
Totally agreed.

"Blue Ocean"... what a stupidly misused buzzword doh.gif

Unfortunately, the Defence Ministry in the past had been a quiet market place for past ministers to broker multibillion ringgit arms deals, buying big toys that the soldiers themselves did not actually want. The more secretive this was, the better it was for past governments.

Absolutely one of the biggest points, of course. We all know this.

Great article, clearly shows someone has been doing his homework.

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Jul 8 2019, 07:39 PM
KLthinker91
post Jul 9 2019, 07:33 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Fat & Fluffy @ Jul 9 2019, 07:06 PM)
what's jpam n pbt?
This demonstrates LCT's point about properly delineating agency responsibilities

And recognising additional costs of special deployments

His article is very relevant actually, more strategic and high level which is exactly Mindef's primary responsibility
KLthinker91
post Jul 12 2019, 03:35 PM

227 posts

It's a good idea
KLthinker91
post Jul 18 2019, 03:56 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jul 18 2019, 02:47 PM)

What is important is having an eye in the sky.

some people here say P-8 or bust, so opinions differ
KLthinker91
post Jul 18 2019, 04:15 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jul 18 2019, 03:58 PM)
The Navy does perhaps, but coast guard probably don't need such advanced plane like P-8. laugh.gif
can we afford 2 maritime air forces as well?

it's "only" a few small aircraft but bear in mind, we are struggling to buy 6 helicopters and a few LIFT jets as it is...
KLthinker91
post Jul 18 2019, 04:47 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jul 18 2019, 04:29 PM)

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

If it were that easy, everyone would do it

I think 2 guys with binocs won't be able to spot much
KLthinker91
post Jul 18 2019, 07:06 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Jul 18 2019, 05:51 PM)
Many coast guards do use those kinds of light aircrafts as patrol/observation platforms, usually smaller countries with limited budgets though like New Zealand, The Philippines and some others.

Anyway if you can afford better planes with better equipment by all  means get those as they van do the job better, but I guess beggars can't be such choosers.

The single-engine planes may have to use onboard observers, although you can probably install basic electro-optical gear on larger twin-engine aircraft. Then you can get a much larger area that you can observe.
Seems NZ don't have them any more due to funding problems sweat.gif the RNZN use P-3 Orions, in future P-8 Poseidon

I'm just saying, I dunno, maybe its more expensive than we think. Operating costs...?

P.S.
Japan uses Beechcraft B200T... how many of those do we have?

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Jul 18 2019, 07:07 PM
KLthinker91
post Jul 19 2019, 12:41 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jul 19 2019, 12:43)
Kinda tasteless
KLthinker91
post Jul 20 2019, 03:39 AM

227 posts

2 British tankers seized by Iran

kicking off now
KLthinker91
post Aug 1 2019, 04:35 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(LTZ @ Jul 29 2019, 08:20 AM)
Too bad RN also in bad condition

nah that's bullshit

whole world is drawing down forces since 1980, except China, it's not Cold War any more doh.gif

also it's not fair to put some 2019 ships "in maintenance" as if those ships in other years never masuk maintenance

and most of those 1982 frigates would be classed as OPVs today
KLthinker91
post Aug 2 2019, 02:29 AM

227 posts

BTW, I dunno why but I saw FRU unit out at KL on either Tuesday or Wednesday night

apa kes?
KLthinker91
post Aug 6 2019, 09:27 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 6 2019, 09:19 PM)
meanwhile at Mother Russia   laugh.gif

for more read sos below

3.6 star not great not terrible tongue.gif

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Aug 6 2019, 09:28 PM
KLthinker91
post Aug 10 2019, 06:20 PM

227 posts

Need to buy top attack ATGM then
KLthinker91
post Aug 10 2019, 06:28 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(azriel @ Aug 10 2019, 06:23 PM)
600m range

Get some Javelins
KLthinker91
post Aug 16 2019, 09:27 PM

227 posts

Why building locally doesn't always mean it is cheaper and independent of main supplier:

https://www.defensenews.com/industry/2019/0...ocal-suppliers/

An Indian facility that makes Su-30MKI jets may shut down, toppling 400 local suppliers

An Indian facility that manufactures Sukhoi Su-30MKI fighters may close in March 2020, leading to a domino effect that could see 400 local suppliers shut their shops over a lack of component orders, according to company officials and industry analysts.

A senior executive of India’s state-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited said the company, which owns the facility, will complete the production of the remaining eight Su-30MKI fighters on order by March. Then the production facility at Nasik, central India, could shut down if no new orders are placed, the executive warned.

An executive with the industry lobby group Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce & Industry, said 400 local suppliers that build about 6,000 components worth $12.5 million for each Su-30MKI fighter may also shut down if no new orders are placed with HAL.

HAL produces about 12 Su-30MKI multirole fighters each year. The company is expected to complete the delivery of 272 Su-30MKI fighters by March 2020.

Each Su-30MKI is built by HAL for $70.3 million under license by Russia’s United Aircraft Corporation.

Another HAL executive said a formal request has been sent to the Indian Air Force and the Ministry for Defence that they place an additional order for 72 locally made Su-30MKI fighters for about $5 billion, but the government has not yet made a decision.

A senior Air Force official said the service could only order 18 fighters as a response to the number of Su-30MKI jets lost in accidents over the last two decades.

The Air Force is not eager to place large orders of these fighters because of the cost of locally made Su-30MKI jets.

“Each HAL-built Su-30MKI fighter costs around $70.3 million, where as a Russia-supplied fighter costs around $42.15 million,” the senior Air Force official said.

A senior MoD official said that Russia last month tried to pressure the Indian government to order an additional 72 Su-30MKI fighters with HAL, but the Indian Air Force is reluctant to place new orders in such a large number.

“The HAL built Su-30MKI fighter is not fully indigenized, only 51 percent is homemade, where the remaining 49 percent of supplies still comes from Russia,” said Bhim Sigh, a retired wing commander with the Indian Air Force.

Singh noted that most of the raw materials are sourced from Russia, including titanium blocks, forgings, aluminium and steel plates, as well as low-tech items such as nuts, bolts and screws.

HAL continues to depend on Russia as the original equipment manufacturer for components, raw material, servicing and overhaul of the fighters.

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Aug 16 2019, 09:28 PM
KLthinker91
post Aug 20 2019, 05:15 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 20 2019, 04:05 PM)
no way....they just want to pursue more procurement only  laugh.gif

if it did happen means aegis system in japan and 'whatever' air defense in korea plus taiwan early detection radar was penetrable which is absurd...
PLA rocket force is not to be laughed at

Yes they have SM-3 but how many SM-3 do they have versus how many PLA ballistic missiles?
KLthinker91
post Aug 21 2019, 04:56 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(zacky chan @ Aug 20 2019, 06:07 PM)
i never said it was a low threat....but with that many base all across japan,taiwan and korea plus the radar and maritime asset,in order for adversary to have successful initial attack is to attack simultaneously imo...and that is really high bar to accomplished and even if it accomplished toward that, attacking US base is daring  feat at least......
PLA Rocket Force is estimated to have about 2,000 total ballistic missiles from SRBMs to ICBMs

As far as I can tell from announced contracts, SM-3 production from block 1a to 2b numbers at most 700

Of course there's also THAAD, Patriot and SM-6 for terminal defence, but there's not a lot of launchers for those either

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 20 2019, 09:26 PM)

The middle powers in Asia are India, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Taiwan and Singapore

ranking India with Singapore

bruh rolleyes.gif
KLthinker91
post Aug 26 2019, 03:58 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 25 2019, 08:41 PM)
Dude, get a grip, don't know whether you are kancheong spider or spreading disinfo rolleyes.gif

Firstly, these numbers can be easily edited if people want to fuck around with OSINT spotters

but if you want to assume they are correct, well

24 HIMARS were reported purchased, which would be suitable for a 4 divisions or 3 divisions plus 1 attrition reserve/training set - 1 battery of MLRS as division level asset is a common US/NATO practice

The very first HIMARS was serial no. 21641 - a 21640 has never been photographed, though it might conceivably exist

Probably then, the numbers run 21641 to 21664

Take a closer look...

This post has been edited by KLthinker91: Aug 26 2019, 04:09 AM
KLthinker91
post Aug 26 2019, 10:09 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 26 2019, 11:51 AM)
Where were 24 Himars reportedly purchased? Sipri says 18
. Countries can purchase either from fms or direct sales - the latter are generally conducted by close allies or partners. Prior to this  2019 video, the last series seen were the 50 series...e.g. 21655, etc.

This is the first time a 60 series Himars has been seen.

Hence, it is clear that Sg has increased the number of Himars purchased; at least 24-25. And I posit that it is in fact more given the number of pods/launchers Sg had purchased(fms) and possibly more

Feel free to feel to understate the significance of this latest video. You are entitled to it.

Im pretty sure there is  70 series Himars.
Lol

"I'm pretty sure" "I'm pretty sure"

You are very easily "pretty sure" based on some real flimsy evidence

"Pretty sure" there is 70 series based on ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

"Pretty sure" there is 60 series based on a screenshot

MLRS users always buy more pods than launch platforms because the pods are for fast reloading

Also, your eyes rosak, I give you one chance - go and take a look at your silly screenshot again and see properly tongue.gif
KLthinker91
post Aug 27 2019, 06:37 PM

227 posts

QUOTE(Mai189 @ Aug 27 2019, 11:40 AM)
You are getting uptight because of what?  Cant take the possibility of the numbers being higher? I posited something given the number of pods bought and that some serial numbers were blurred, in my view, intentionalltly.

Yes, you are right about the screenshot.

I remain confident that the numbers are higher and that we will know in the future - similar to F15sg, F16s, Leo2SGs,etc.

Ill remember to post it here.
LOL

Proven wrong can still try to reflect on me. No, I'm not "uptight", I'm just enjoying the quandary your mouth put you into

Now you have zero evidence to prove your theory, you have nothing but conjecture to fall back on, and yet you can speak with such arrogance

Empty words rolleyes.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1033sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:08 AM