Honda CB650R review, Any owner?

alexei
post Oct 11 2023, 09:16 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 11 2023, 05:55 PM)
i'm new to biking, only been biking for about 1.5 years with just my 125cc bike. going to 900cc, i just sked it would kill me easily. so i decided to go middle first.
you're right to take a more conservative route
a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 11 2023, 07:30 PM)
why ar lower cylinder count makes better bike? care to share? is it because we get to utilize its full potential of a 2 to 3 cyl bike compared to an inline 4 where the rider has to achieve high rpm for fully utilize an inline 4?
yeah, something like that but more towards the character of the bike

no one is able to explain 'character' or 'soul' so you have to own bikes to know it. appreciating it is another personal choice.
if I were to explain, it's about the torque curve of the bike, which translates to what you feel, at different speeds when you twist the throttle

For a bike with 'perfect' torque curve such as the triples, their character actually lacks soul to some, and in fact the Z900 resembles that because it's a 4 cyl but detuned to perform with strong mid-range

Compare that to the torque curve of the Monster which is not linear, this bike has a soul.

https://www.motorcycle.com/shoot-outs/2021-...d-bike-shootout

mADmAN
post Oct 11 2023, 10:17 PM

10,530 posts

why ar lower cylinder count makes better bike? care to share? is it because we get to utilize its full potential of a 2 to 3 cyl bike compared to an inline 4 where the rider has to achieve high rpm for fully utilize an inline 4?
basically yes as its mostly to do with lower end torque. inline 4 engines has less lower end torque by nature but can rev higher.

general rule of thumb:
longer stroke = better low end torque but lower red line
shorter stroke = weaker low end torque but higher redline

engine displacement calculation takes into account the bore, stroke and also number of cylinders. so....

more cylinders allows for shorter stroke (along with smaller bore) as u dont need so much stroke to achieve that particular displacement.
lesser cylinders require longer stroke (n usually bigger bore) to achieve the same displacement

which is why the i4 can usually rev higher than their i2 counterpart. ZX25r vs Ninja 250 would be a good example.
futurevision_ben
post Oct 12 2023, 12:20 AM

126 posts

Bigger CC with lower cylinder count, that's new Suzuki 8s
david22022022
post Oct 12 2023, 07:15 AM

I really like the look of MT-09 V2 rear splash guard. Do you reckon it will fit on my Z250 2022?
lsm1991
post Oct 12 2023, 08:19 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 11 2023, 05:55 PM)
i'm new to biking, only been biking for about 1.5 years with just my 125cc bike. going to 900cc, i just sked it would kill me easily. so i decided to go middle first.
yassss... buyyy. 900cc should be alright, 4 potters power curve should be very managabe.

if unsure u can always give the z9 a try

QUOTE(david22022022 @ Oct 12 2023, 07:15 AM)
I really like the look of MT-09 V2 rear splash guard. Do you reckon it will fit on my Z250 2022?
needs mods, to even install onto the v3 requires mods to the axle block

also, if not mistaken, its not cheap even in the used market.
david22022022
post Oct 12 2023, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(david22022022 @ Oct 12 2023, 07:15 AM)
sorry wrong thread thought it was casual bike talk. ignore please
tehoice
post Oct 12 2023, 10:36 AM

5,529 posts

According to reviews its deceptively small, its a naked bike so you see no fairings, body is middle weight size but its handle bar is shorter than middleweight touring bikes. if you're able to compare a cb250r with a cb650r you'll notice the difference on the handle bars. but body is bigger than the 250.

shorter handlebar easier to cilok between cars during traffic jam which is nice
from what i read and asked around on the net, the power is linear, almost similar to a cb300r, i ride a cb250r and i think its quite enough for city riding

That's a good thing to hear that the handlebar is somewhat shorter compared to its peers, i am quite confident to cilok in my current bike in a heavy traffic due to the light weight and size of my bike, but just unsure if i can handle a bike that's almost twice the weight of my current bike, in any case if i dont think i can cilok, i will just follow behind a car until it is clear for me to move ahead. I think I will do filtering rather than lane splitting nowadays. cannot afford to hit a car and drop my new bike and injure myself in the process.

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 11 2023, 09:16 PM)
you're right to take a more conservative route
a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc
yeah, something like that but more towards the character of the bike

no one is able to explain 'character' or 'soul' so you have to own bikes to know it. appreciating it is another personal choice.
if I were to explain, it's about the torque curve of the bike, which translates to what you feel, at different speeds when you twist the throttle

For a bike with 'perfect' torque curve such as the triples, their character actually lacks soul to some, and in fact the Z900 resembles that because it's a 4 cyl but detuned to perform with strong mid-range

Compare that to the torque curve of the Monster which is not linear, this bike has a soul.

https://www.motorcycle.com/shoot-outs/2021-...d-bike-shootout
yeah, i think being conservative is good. but need to study a bit more about your statement on "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc".

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 12 2023, 08:19 AM)
yassss... buyyy. 900cc should be alright, 4 potters power curve should be very managabe.

if unsure u can always give the z9 a try
needs mods, to even install onto the v3 requires mods to the axle block

also, if not mistaken, its not cheap even in the used market.
you always poison me to get the z900 instead.... i know that it is a very value buy given the price vs the specs and performance in it.
but i have also explained before, since i have had a kawa already, so i wanna try honda, ppl have been saying you won't go wrong with this cb650r, given its reputation of being reliable, just good enough spec and you have more than enough of sheer power delivery to the bike. plus, that this bike has always been in stock starvation for the longgest time, ppl couldn't get their bike even in 12 months, but right now, i have one already waiting for me to register it to be on the road, that's why i am more incline with this cb650r instead of a z900.

also, i'm not looking for speed on a bike, it is more of a total package that I could get on it.

But the only bad thing is, i haven't test rode a cb650r or equivalent before, (in size, power, etc). Any comment on this?

lsm1991
post Oct 12 2023, 11:05 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 10:36 AM)
That's a good thing to hear that the handlebar is somewhat shorter compared to its peers, i am quite confident to cilok in my current bike in a heavy traffic due to the light weight and size of my bike, but just unsure if i can handle a bike that's almost twice the weight of my current bike, in any case if i dont think i can cilok, i will just follow behind a car until it is clear for me to move ahead. I think I will do filtering rather than lane splitting nowadays. cannot afford to hit a car and drop my new bike and injure myself in the process.
yeah, i think being conservative is good. but need to study a bit more about your statement on "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc".
you always poison me to get the z900 instead.... i know that it is a very value buy given the price vs the specs and performance in it.
but i have also explained before, since i have had a kawa already, so i wanna try honda, ppl have been saying you won't go wrong with this cb650r, given its reputation of being reliable, just good enough spec and you have more than enough of sheer power delivery to the bike. plus, that this bike has always been in stock starvation for the longgest time, ppl couldn't get their bike even in 12 months, but right now, i have one already waiting for me to register it to be on the road, that's why i am more incline with this cb650r instead of a z900.

also, i'm not looking for speed on a bike, it is more of a total package that I could get on it.

But the only bad thing is, i haven't test rode a cb650r or equivalent before, (in size, power, etc). Any comment on this?
honestly, reliability both are fine, both are long running proven engines. power, compared to your current bike, is a massive bump you will be happy with either.

value proposition z9, cb for some reason, is just appealing i think i just like its looks alot. end of the day, u suka yang mana, get that.
tehoice
post Oct 12 2023, 11:17 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 12 2023, 11:05 AM)
honestly, reliability both are fine, both are long running proven engines. power, compared to your current bike, is a massive bump you will be happy with either.

value proposition z9, cb for some reason, is just appealing i think i just like its looks alot. end of the day, u suka yang mana, get that.
thats why, i dont need to go to near a litre bike. too much for me. and you know me, i don't use it a lot.
shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 11:19 AM

To Be Old and Wise You Must First be Young and Stupid
1,189 posts

no replacement for displacement.
Ever consider 2023 z900 se? tongue.gif
tehoice
post Oct 12 2023, 11:47 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 12 2023, 11:19 AM)
i have explained multiple times already bruuuhhh
ExCrIpT
post Oct 12 2023, 11:56 AM

1,671 posts

I'm riding the cb250r and from all the reviewers, they all mentioned that the cb650r is a beginner friendly middleweight bike and it feels similar to the cb250r/cb300r on the power on low-mid range. I too just started riding alot 1.5 years ago and only got my license 2 years ago and the cb250r is very easy to ride imo, have no bike experience prior to this.

what i understand from this statement "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc". is that on a 4 cylinder bike, the power on low- mid range is linear (that's the range you will be at most of the time in city riding) and its easy to control but when it hits high rpm that's when the power kicks in and you'll feel the rush but by then you will be expecting the pull.

a 2 cylinder bike has power at low to mid range rpm and its torquey, harder to control when riding in the city since when you twist abit it pulls forward faster than a 4 cylinder bike would. Even when cornering, a sudden power increase to the wheel would cause the bike to fish tail. the 2 cylinder MT07 which is branded a hooligan bike, one can do a wheelie easily with that bike due to the power delivery at low end. so a 4 cylinder bike is tamer for a new/beginner rider compared to a 2 cylinder
correct me if i'm wrong guys biggrin.gif

i too am waiting for the CB650R, like it for its 4 cyl, looks and small size. easier to maneuver.

This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Oct 12 2023, 12:00 PM
tehoice
post Oct 12 2023, 12:19 PM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Oct 12 2023, 11:56 AM)
I'm riding the cb250r and from all the reviewers, they all mentioned that the cb650r is a beginner friendly middleweight bike and it feels similar to the cb250r/cb300r on the power on low-mid range. I too just started riding alot 1.5 years ago and only got my license 2 years ago and the cb250r is very easy to ride imo, have no bike experience prior to this.

what i understand from this statement "a small CC 4cyl is safer than a 2 cyl of equivalent cc". is that on a 4 cylinder bike, the power on low- mid range is linear (that's the range you will be at most of the time in city riding) and its easy to control but when it hits high rpm that's when the power kicks in and you'll feel the rush but by then you will be expecting the pull.

a 2 cylinder bike has power at low to mid range rpm and its torquey, harder to control when riding in the city since when you twist abit it pulls forward faster than a 4 cylinder bike would. Even when cornering, a sudden power increase to the wheel would cause the bike to fish tail. the 2 cylinder  MT07 which is branded a hooligan bike, one can do a wheelie easily with that bike due to the power delivery at low end. so a 4 cylinder bike is tamer for a new/beginner rider compared to a 2 cylinder
correct me if i'm wrong guys  biggrin.gif

i too am waiting for the CB650R, like it for its 4 cyl, looks and small size. easier to maneuver.
ahhhh, so many thanks for your explanation, it makes a lot of sense to me.

and provided me a lot of comfort as well!

Which colour are you getting? for your new CB650R. Which branch did you order from? I suggest you may try the new Damansara outlet too.

shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 12:39 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 11:47 AM)
i have explained multiple times already bruuuhhh
haha! your money, your choice. But 650 indeed last masterpiece from Honda. now all change to inline 2 270CP like yamaha...

a 2 cylinder bike has power at low to mid range rpm and its torquey, harder to control when riding in the city since when you twist abit it pulls forward faster than a 4 cylinder bike would. Even when cornering, a sudden power increase to the wheel would cause the bike to fish tail. the 2 cylinder  MT07 which is branded a hooligan bike, one can do a wheelie easily with that bike due to the power delivery at low end. so a 4 cylinder bike is tamer for a new/beginner rider compared to a 2 cylinder

My last small capacity bike before my MT07 is RS150...and I have upgrade the MT07 to newer 07..
To me no matter 1 cylinder 690 or 2 cylinder 690 or 4 cylinder 600 all depends how you ride the bike.
For me torquey bike is more fun compare to high rev bike..maybe i rarely done long journey but even when long journey i still enjoy my torquey bike...

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Oct 12 2023, 12:43 PM
alexei
post Oct 12 2023, 12:54 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

see this reply from ExCrIpT
A Harley friend test rode ZX10R in carpark lot, and he exclaimed, "why no power one?"

you can get the CB first, it holds value better than a Kawa, just not sure if it will become the next XJ6, the older CBR650F is slowly becoming like that

+1

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 12 2023, 11:19 AM)
racun ohlins kuat
I love the SE spec, worth every penny
ExCrIpT
post Oct 12 2023, 12:55 PM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 12:19 PM)
ahhhh, so many thanks for your explanation, it makes a lot of sense to me.

and provided me a lot of comfort as well!

Which colour are you getting? for your new CB650R. Which branch did you order from? I suggest you may try the new Damansara outlet too.
I placed my booking with BWPJ since beginning of the year (RED), will pay a visit to the damansara outlet, they have a display bike there as well?

like what shyan90 said, you choose the bike based on what you use it for. for twisties and zoomies a torquey 2 cylinder bike will suit you better.
for me i only want a comfortable ride at high speeds for long distance riding and in theory, more cylinders = less vibration. I'm not into twisties, or zoomies.
just did my 2nd run to thailand last week on my 1 cylinder cb250r, can no longer stand the vibration on such a long trip, so gonna just get the cb650r and stick with it for a long long time.

This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Oct 12 2023, 01:08 PM
alexei
post Oct 12 2023, 12:56 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(shyan90's @ Oct 12 2023, 12:39 PM)
My last small capacity bike before my MT07 is RS150...and I have upgrade the MT07 to newer 07..
from LC til now still belum jumpa yumcha
ExCrIpT
post Oct 12 2023, 01:06 PM

1,671 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 12 2023, 12:54 PM)
A Harley friend test rode ZX10R in carpark lot, and he exclaimed, "why no power one?"

you can get the CB first, it holds value better than a Kawa, just not sure if it will become the next XJ6, the older CBR650F is slowly becoming like that
+1
racun ohlins kuat
haha, we both newbie riders and pondering over whether its worth getting the CB650R, but after hours of reading online and asking you sifus and watching videos explaining about the differences, how things work etc....get to make a rather decisive choice on which bike to get.

lately been seeing this ohlins thingie, care to share how good is ohlins compared to a stock unit on a bike? the benefit of it and should one get it for what purpose?
shyan90's
post Oct 12 2023, 01:08 PM

1,189 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 12 2023, 12:54 PM)

+1
racun ohlins kuat
ya la..ohlins+ brembo radial caliper + radial fork+ brembo disc please take my 10k without a doubt!

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 12 2023, 12:56 PM)
from LC til now still belum jumpa yumcha
itu lo...geng also chao...Aaron also plan sell his cbr650...tim also jadi bapa...chris also migrate to US? I think?

This post has been edited by shyan90's: Oct 12 2023, 01:09 PM
lsm1991
post Oct 12 2023, 01:08 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Oct 12 2023, 11:17 AM)
thats why, i dont need to go to near a litre bike. too much for me. and you know me, i don't use it a lot.
look... i pun same as u mah, went with an mt09 after what 9 months experience? can managelah... like i keep saying its the weight je thats a pain.

side note, i dont know if u have encountered those jejantas moto (bike only bridges) do NOT attempt to go up those on a big bike... was such a pain, big bike could not make the tight turns, mad the mistake of not clearing while nose down.. fuhh cannot reverse up the ramp, heart attack moment

29 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0242sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:03 AM