Kitchen Cabinet V4 (Heart of the House)

SUSceo684
post May 31 2021, 12:04 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ May 31 2021, 09:05 AM)
Standard Rumawip sink, planning to buy a smaller bowl sink, how much does it cost to install KC (assemble myself, but need service to glue the kitchen cabinet against the ground, remove old sink, install new sink etc)

[attachmentid=10898145]
Oh FOC sink lol. I tot u got a fancy sink. Generally ikea kitcab is hung on the wall. Doesnt require gluing to floor.

My case the dev dont install this FOC sink since most ppl also throw away laugh.gif but if ppl want they will install.
SUSceo684
post Jun 13 2021, 12:06 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 12 2021, 07:56 PM)
hi all,
notice there are a lot kitchen cabinet pricing but all comes with different spec.. I am looking at what they claim full aluminium kitchen cost about $10k with quartz top .. but I am also looking at option to built concrete table top with tiles and aluminium cabinet..

which option should I go for? which one is more less hassle maintenance and more robust usage?
Do full alu kitchen cabinet with some stone top will look nicer..
Concrete top is the (no offense) elcheapo option coz it will look very thick.. and not to mention look a bit dated.
SUSceo684
post Jun 13 2021, 02:51 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 13 2021, 10:18 AM)
thanks again everyone for your input..

just another opinion.. do you guys put ceiling fan on your kitchen?
No for me as it tend to make it too windy for stove. In windy condition the stove flame won't stay pointed straight up but end up senget to the side meaning only heat the side of the pan and heating the handle and air...but the pan not getting hot.

Big exhaust fan 12" draw out the heat to the outside is better. Normal 12" KDK exhaust will do. Else if want safer abit (depending if the fan is low) can use the KDK raku raku with the mesh grille so finger wont get chopped. U can see those commercial kitchen setup..nobody use ceiling fan there..they use duct for extracting heat out.

Same for the hood..recirc type is compromise solution for apartment.
If vented type, blow out to outside is better. There are people who can core out the 6in DVD size hole nicely..else old school method of drilling many polka dot holes to form the outline and chisel out the hole also can.
SUSceo684
post Jun 15 2021, 10:38 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(dalaroix @ Jun 15 2021, 09:59 PM)
Is it possible to know what kind of material used in this table top? There are
some stains on it, and I am wondering if I can remove it with some chemical or cleaning agent?

You can try dishwash and see if the marker pen graffiti comes out.
The rest look like tape residue OR aftermath of tape ripping off the surface?
SUSceo684
post Jun 16 2021, 11:49 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Jun 16 2021, 10:18 PM)
Hi all, would appreciate comment from the experts.

I recently ordered a IKEA Knoxhult KC online and I'm planning to assemble myself. The place that I plan to put this KC is around 1.9m with an existing pipe at around 1.2 m mark. I'm planning to get a plumber to install the cabinet for me and cut the counter top to install another sink.

My question is, will it be an issue if the piping (1.2 m mark) is the same place as my kitchen frame? In this case, can I ask the plumber to move the piping to slightly right so that the pipe can sits at the right cabinet? Thanks sifu

Its not a structural wall where the drain pipe sits at, due to the large window there.. so it should be hackable and editable if needed.

The Knoxhult chassis has a "structural leg" there at 120cm point.. depending on the bottom "main frame" piece, you should be able to test-fit (dry-fit temporarily that piece and that leg) just to see whether the 120cm point leg will be clashing with the sink drain pipe or not.

For making holes that fit the drain pipe and sink water hose cun cun.. a laser line will be nice..
else old school method prop up the cabinet to desired height and use a L-ruler mark the back side of the cabinet against actual positions from the wall, and use those wood hole saw (for door knob) bore 1 big, 1 small hole (per the doorknob hole kit) icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jun 16 2021, 11:49 PM
SUSceo684
post Jun 19 2021, 10:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Aidenmori @ Jun 17 2021, 12:15 PM)
Hi, I'm a first-time house owner and on a budget. My kitchen is small and a simple KC would do. The Hood n Hob, sink I can outsource myself. Would you guys suggest Ikea KC or not? Is it cheaper?
Ready made ikea one ie the KNOXHULT below 2k..or add another 600 or so for installation.
This is a non customisable unit for the most part. Built for pricepoint.

If its for own stay a customised METOD full fledged for 8ft will run you about 6 to 7k with drawers all on the bottom half. Ikea got 0pc EPP up to 24 months laugh.gif

It also depends on your kitchen layout as well. If long kitchen like 15ft then it will cost more.
SUSceo684
post Jun 24 2021, 02:42 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Lieblingsmonster @ Jun 24 2021, 11:23 AM)
Hi, I am planning the KC for my new house. Originally I want to do a concrete kitchen counter and then install the plywood cabinet. But I’ve seen many samples and they are very ugly because the counter top part will be very thick.
Do you guys have any idea to protect the kitchen cabinet from water damage? Cause worry that maybe wanna wash the floors or something in the future
If full alu is full alu 100% then it should be able to tahan aquarium flooding.
Generally ikea metod one is standing on plastic lega and suspended about 8cm AGL so u can wash the floors.. may need to remove the plinth plastic cover strip.
SUSceo684
post Aug 27 2021, 02:44 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kapalterbang_737 @ Aug 25 2021, 10:38 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice regarding wiring
I bought a built in oven for my cabinet, and it doesn't come with plug head
Is it safe if i use normal 13A plug head? Or it needs to be hard-wired? Asked the seller (Shopee) but he said need to ask contractor

Over is rated at 3000W (written inside oven)
Plug head rated max 3250W (written on packaging)

Built in oven at 3000W is running at over redline 2990W for that 13A socket. We use 230V. Officially when it does not come from factory with a 13A plug means it was not meant to be used with a 13A plug. It is meant for fixed installation. Your oven, uses as much power as a water heater so it is best to use fixed installation method using 20A-rated components that are safely in range.

You can use one of these isolators as the control for switching it on and off:
see https://s.lazada.com.my/s.dDXLo "one stop solution" coz box and all fit nicely in one. everything has its proper position and place to be.

cheaper way use the MK water heater switch (20A), add box and cable gland. Get the MK 20A switch becoz it has two terminals for joining the earth wires.

It may be possible to convert over an existing 13A wall socket to the oven's isolator.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Aug 27 2021, 03:02 AM
SUSceo684
post Aug 28 2021, 11:08 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Aug 27 2021, 09:33 PM)
Hi sifu-sifu, can someone share some thoughts about this quotation below where I just got quoted by a Capenter. Carcass using plywood, KC height 8ft tall.

1. Kitchen L-11ft wall unit & base unit = RM9,900
2. Kitchen L-2ft Tall Unit = RM1,500
3. Island L-7ft x W-2.2ft = RM4,200
4. Kitchen Fridge Cabinet L x 3ft = RM1,800
5. Quartz stone kitchentop 11ft for base unit + 7ft for island = RM3,680

Above quotation included one vertical row of drawers at base unit, all soft close door, door hinges & open hole on kitchentop. Total 21k and 50% deposit needed upon confirming. Is this quotation sound reasonable? icon_question.gif
Fridge cabinet 900mm wide can support most two door but SBS range limiter ya. Ensure enough clearance vs the fridge you intend to buy for width and height.
SUSceo684
post Aug 28 2021, 11:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(tony_mw @ Aug 28 2021, 11:20 PM)
Can I know what's SBS range limiter Sensei? The fridge that I intend to get is 855mm so I guess it's enough for the fridge cabinet. Thanks for highlighting that out! tongue.gif

Btw, what do you think about the quotation? I've made a similar layout plan in Ikea app and it cost around 12k without installations and kitchentop(So I assumed it will be around 16-17k in the end). However, I know Ikea used better quality of chipboard & hardware(compared to most of the local carpenter offer) but will it last longer than plywood that local carpenter using in long term?  hmm.gif
Sorry, I typed on phone, it supposed to be limited. A lot of SBS fridge is wide at 900+ width.

For Ikea Metod and all non-alu kitcab in that price range the common enemy is water. brows.gif It will be easier to change bits like drawer fronts and stuff from Ikea coz its standardised measurement. I have an old door from non ikea cabinet (ie the door under the sink) needing replacement but this was made in 1997 so its hard to get replacement.

Personally I use ikea metod for my own place and keep it dry, no problem.
SUSceo684
post Sep 7 2021, 02:49 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Sep 4 2021, 12:00 PM)
this one kitchen cabinet

My comment on practicality: Your layout need to allocate some space to park dishes whilst cooking and/or after washing as well. Unless you are planning to have those above sink kinda dish rack for drying.
SUSceo684
post Sep 7 2021, 11:57 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 7 2021, 10:29 PM)
Hello All, I'm asking about the "Toilet sink cabinet" here, since I think it should be similar to kitchen sink?`.

Would like to install a simple cabinet below the toilet sink, and not too sure if the Ikea base cabinet, must it use together with Ikea sink? or it can be fit with the existing sink?

Does anyone of you have experience on this before?

Ikea base cabinet
https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/nysjoen-wash-b...white-20470858/
Existing sink
Many thanks
Looks like existing sink will be smaller and D shaped..the ikea sink is actually more squarish so it will avoid gap. The base cabinet CAN-use lah with existing sink but there will be a funny gap ya. Check pipe runs in X Y axis from the water point and drain point so the planned drill holes do not clash with the pipe runs.
SUSceo684
post Sep 8 2021, 12:11 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 8 2021, 12:07 AM)
from ur experience, is it advisable to buy a new ikea sink, or look for people to "custom made" the small cabinet ya?

Seems like option 1 cheaper
Option one confirm fit well. smile.gif

Custom made can be variable quality as its not that "easy" to trace the outline of a 3D curved object like the existing sink to do rounded cuts.
SUSceo684
post Sep 27 2021, 12:42 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(1234_4321 @ Sep 26 2021, 08:55 PM)
Thanks for sharing bro.
If I'm going to replace the sink, usually how to handle the old sink ya?
Can it resell? or got people collect one? or directly to the trash?
Sis here bruce.gif u can give it away in fb like buy nothing project (klang valley) if still usable..else its considered renovation waste n need to dump in roro bin

QUOTE(XweienX @ Sep 26 2021, 11:49 PM)
Hi sifus, I might be planning to buy subsale house.

I wanna ask ya, if the house already got KC like in the picture, but I don't like the color, is it possible to keep the frames but just change the doors and hinges?

I believe that's much cheaper than paying to break down the whole thing and rebuild right?

Also, is it possible to change the tiles in between the top and bottom KC without too much trouble?

Thanks sifus in advance!

Possible but the hard part is to get a KC maker to make new doors following existing dimensions. If ikea sizing ones then should be easier to replace whole "look".

Tiles removal need a rotary hammer (to chisel out). The headache is it wont be cost effective to engage a tiling contractor to do small job..if they wanna do. U can explore possibility of DIY sticking tiles with sika tile cement (premixed cement mix) with those tile spacers + spirit/laser line level. Complexity also depends on whether the existing tiles are decorative in between top n bottom cabinet ONLY, or theres tiles behind existing cabinets..
SUSceo684
post Sep 28 2021, 09:28 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sparty @ Sep 28 2021, 09:14 PM)
Hi. My unit just VP. Looking for quotation for basic kitchen cabinet.

I plan to rent it ASAP. Most of kitchen cabinet contractor/company that I contacted nowadays cant commit to do the job ASAP. Most of them got que until 2-3 months. Cant wait that long.

Location  : Desapark city
Type : Apartment 862 sq ft

I have 5 friends looking to do kitchen cabinet too. If can do fast and reasonable price, please pm me.

Ahmad.
Ahh that is normal cuz now they're taking up the pent up demand from previous months PKB PKP KBKP lol.

So if want fast.. get stuff from ikea kitcab.. if for rental the cheap and condemnable Knoxhult series modules for 8 ft shud be under 2k.

If want good will be Metod series for 8 ft can range around 5k to 7k depending on fittings and door choices.

Delivery only RM49 for ikea truck.

Once u get the barang already..can call independent installer to install for u. So happen he has the same name as u smile.gif

INDEPENDENT INSTALLER SUGGESTIONS
for complete installation around Klang Valley can try this guy: 014-3331765 (Mr Ahmad). I think he has more or less the right tools for the job, perhaps a few too many drills but should be fine. https://www.facebook.com/ikeahandymanmy/pho...401254973300020

His past work can be found on his page

https://www.facebook.com/ikeahandymanmy
SUSceo684
post Oct 1 2021, 11:54 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Oct 1 2021, 03:13 PM)
in 2 years, a few of my kitchen cabinet doors no longer aligned. is there anything that i can do to fix this?
Adjust the screws. Depending on the hinge some will adjust XY axes only, some better hinges adjust XYZ axes.
SUSceo684
post Oct 16 2021, 02:43 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kimmyrulez @ Oct 15 2021, 04:36 PM)
Hi Sifus out there,

Wanted to find out about Kitchenwares.

Anyone heard of/used/installed Ecoware before?

https://ecoware.com.my/#

Got introduced from one of the ID suppliers out there for Kitchen renovation.

Their price is almost double of what is selling out there in shopee, lazada.

Material used either polish chrome/stainless steel.

But there is 3 years warranty for that premium price.

Some comparison of pricing of the particular same item.

Welcome for anyone to share their experiences using these types of kitchenware, durable or not. thanks!

Size wise looks tiny. The ikea one seems to allow more usability of the corner space. https://www.ikea.com/my/en/p/utrusta-crnr-b...tting-70271272/
SUSceo684
post Oct 24 2021, 01:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Oct 24 2021, 12:52 PM)
Am doing a new kitchen cabinet for new house.
Now the outlet drain pipe from developer is 2 feet (~60cm) from ground.

The kitchen cabinet ID keep ask to change the outlet drain pipe location to 1 feet from ground instead. They say with undermount sink its not possible to do without changing outlet pipe to 1 feet from ground.

But i do not wish to change the pipe as its full wall tile and hack the wall tile will be quite messy.

I don't mind a shallower sink.
Need you all advice.
Could it be done with 2 feet outlet pipe from ground?

If it could be done i will insist not to move the outlet pipe and remain 2 feet from ground instead.
U can barely pass that 2 feet if ur using Euro style outlet drain pipe (ikea or teka sink); I did it with v small slope gradient. Must not throw solids into drain.
SUSceo684
post Dec 9 2021, 01:32 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(theproblemkid @ Dec 7 2021, 02:05 PM)
Anyone have experience with PVC Foam board material? Wondering what are the pro and cons
Boss, pvc =/= foam. PVC is not very flammable but foam may be fire hazard. Pls check accordingly.
SUSceo684
post Dec 9 2021, 10:45 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(replayx @ Dec 9 2021, 11:46 AM)
hi all biggrin.gif anyone using kompacplus table top? can share some review?
Renotalk SG forum got quite a few T-blogs using it. U can check em out too.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0563sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:44 PM