is sintered stone better thn quartz? quality vs price?
Kitchen Cabinet V4 (Heart of the House)
Sep 3 2024, 07:30 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
35 posts Joined: Sep 2022 |
is sintered stone better thn quartz? quality vs price?
Sep 5 2024, 08:34 AM
2,610 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(New_Zekk @ Sep 3 2024, 07:30 PM) Sintered Stone✅ Has a more natural, organic look as it is made entirely with natural materials (quartz is minerals suspended in resin) ✅ Has superior heat resistance, will not show burn marks as easily if accidentally put a hot pan on the surface ✅ Durable – more resistant to scratches than quartz ✅ Easy to maintain ✅ Versatile – can be used for floors, walls, and even furniture pieces. ✅ More water resistant and UV resistant - will not fade and discolor compared to quartz, can be used in sunny rooms or outdoors 🟰 More eco-friendly (on paper) - uses recycled mineral materials to develop, but the heat and pressure requires might cancel that recycled aspect out because of energy costs ❌ More expensive, although prices now getting lower as it becomes more common ❌ Less design options, because it is a natural material, less easy to dye/color Quartz ✅ Has more design options, the resin allows manufacturer to add colors and dyes that can give strong "unnatural" colors ✅ More affordable than sintered stone (unless buy premium brands) ✅ Durable ✅ Easy to maintain ❌ Not as resistant to heat ❌ Not as resistant to scratches This post has been edited by DragonReine: Sep 5 2024, 08:35 AM |
Sep 6 2024, 09:32 PM
35 posts Joined: Sep 2022 |
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Sep 5 2024, 08:34 AM) Sintered Stone Thanks a lot.. What make me puzzled is, some claimed their 6ft dining table to be using sintered stone, but selling around Rm1k only? i wonder the price gap between sintered stone and quartz...✅ Has a more natural, organic look as it is made entirely with natural materials (quartz is minerals suspended in resin) ✅ Has superior heat resistance, will not show burn marks as easily if accidentally put a hot pan on the surface ✅ Durable – more resistant to scratches than quartz ✅ Easy to maintain ✅ Versatile – can be used for floors, walls, and even furniture pieces. ✅ More water resistant and UV resistant - will not fade and discolor compared to quartz, can be used in sunny rooms or outdoors 🟰 More eco-friendly (on paper) - uses recycled mineral materials to develop, but the heat and pressure requires might cancel that recycled aspect out because of energy costs ❌ More expensive, although prices now getting lower as it becomes more common ❌ Less design options, because it is a natural material, less easy to dye/color Quartz ✅ Has more design options, the resin allows manufacturer to add colors and dyes that can give strong "unnatural" colors ✅ More affordable than sintered stone (unless buy premium brands) ✅ Durable ✅ Easy to maintain ❌ Not as resistant to heat ❌ Not as resistant to scratches |
Sep 8 2024, 11:56 PM
2,610 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(New_Zekk @ Sep 6 2024, 09:32 PM) Thanks a lot.. What make me puzzled is, some claimed their 6ft dining table to be using sintered stone, but selling around Rm1k only? i wonder the price gap between sintered stone and quartz... Tables benefit from mass production "discount" (factory only produces certain tables design in the hundreds of thousands, they just need to fabricate same size without need to customised). Cannot compare to countertops which usually require customisation and adjustments depending on client.Price overall depends heavily on design (ugly/unpopular color cheaper) and branding, but can see in sample pricing from one shop's quartz and sintered stone cheapest products, sintered stone is RM15++ more expensive per sqft: https://www.sinnostone.com.my/shop?order=li...+asc&category=1 https://www.sinnostone.com.my/shop?order=li...+asc&category=3 That price difference adds up quickly per sqft ordered This post has been edited by DragonReine: Sep 8 2024, 11:56 PM |
Sep 24 2024, 03:07 PM
5,574 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Anyone know what is the market price now for quartz kitchen cabinet? Was quoted for 3.9k (not inclusive of sink) for 6ft kc and wall cabinet. ehwee liked this post
Sep 26 2024, 04:01 PM
695 posts Joined: Apr 2010 |
Any good kitchen cabinet shop to recommend? Need to redo my kitchen cabinets.
Kl/selangor. This post has been edited by jason1986: Sep 26 2024, 06:28 PM |
Jan 17 2025, 12:17 AM
12 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Hi, any kitchen cabinet designer/contractor to recommend for ACP cabinets? Looking to re-do my cabinets for a small wet kitchen.
Mar 24 2025, 10:34 PM
2,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Hi guys, wanna ask if anyone has same experience as mine before able to share some advice. Can you spot the difference?
Before my renovation project handover to me, I noticed some cabinet door got damaged and some has color different and I asked ID to rectify it. After rectification, the cabinet door that they replaced all has color different and their reason is different batch sure got color different, impossible make it same. If bring this matter to tribunal, chances of winning the case won’t be high also I guess. ![]() This post has been edited by nles: Mar 24 2025, 10:35 PM |
Mar 24 2025, 11:22 PM
48 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
QUOTE(nles @ Mar 24 2025, 10:34 PM) Hi guys, wanna ask if anyone has same experience as mine before able to share some advice. Can you spot the difference? From the pictures attached I can't really tell the colour difference. However, if there is really a stark colour difference and you can take proper pictures to prove it, highly likely you would win the case as consumer tribunal quite favourable to consumers. However, getting the jusgement enforced is another issue altogether.Before my renovation project handover to me, I noticed some cabinet door got damaged and some has color different and I asked ID to rectify it. After rectification, the cabinet door that they replaced all has color different and their reason is different batch sure got color different, impossible make it same. If bring this matter to tribunal, chances of winning the case won’t be high also I guess. ![]() This post has been edited by Potato!?: Mar 24 2025, 11:23 PM |
Mar 24 2025, 11:30 PM
2,125 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Potato!? @ Mar 24 2025, 11:22 PM) From the pictures attached I can't really tell the colour difference. However, if there is really a stark colour difference and you can take proper pictures to prove it, highly likely you would win the case as consumer tribunal quite favourable to consumers. However, getting the jusgement enforced is another issue altogether. Is the two door at the L corner, darker with green tone to it. Obvious under certain lighting condition. |
Mar 25 2025, 12:16 AM
48 posts Joined: Aug 2020 |
Apr 11 2025, 12:29 AM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2019 |
Bought a subsale house, typical 22x75. Living room downstairs all the way to the dry kitchen at the back already have 2x2 white-ish tiles, plus a old built-in kitchen cabinet at the dry kitchen.
However, the condition of the tiles doesen't look clean (even now I'm walking on the tiles with my shoes, haven't clean yet). I doubt if doing a through washing and cleaning of the living room will manage to clear away all the accumulated dust, stains and discoloring of the tiles...the dirt looks like it's permanent already at this point lol. Too long never clean. And to re-do the tiles, will probably have to re-do a new kitchen cabinet for the dry kitchen as well. I don't really mind making a new kitchen cabinet, as the this old kitchen cabinet probably outdated design and it's dark brown color (not my preferred color). Plus, not sure what material it's made out of. Only thing I'm concerned is cost. Paying slightly more if the quality is good long-term is fine too, but not too overly expensive I hope. Any recommendations for kitchen cabinet? I'm assuming it will be upwards of RM20k? Or can I get it for cheaper? Where you all suggest? Will places like Unity Kitchen be more expensive? This post has been edited by ItsJustheOne: Apr 11 2025, 12:32 AM |
Apr 12 2025, 10:40 AM
17 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I'm thinking of getting Nyatoh wood and spray paint. But someone mentioned about warping and paint cracks too.
Anyone have any experience with this? How bad is it really? Or just a myth? |
May 7 2025, 04:07 PM
155 posts Joined: Aug 2011 From: Klang Valley |
QUOTE(ItsJustheOne @ Apr 11 2025, 01:29 AM) Bought a subsale house, typical 22x75. Living room downstairs all the way to the dry kitchen at the back already have 2x2 white-ish tiles, plus a old built-in kitchen cabinet at the dry kitchen. i also just bought a subsales 22x70 house.... my base unit estimated at 40 ft and wall unit 35ft (Dry + wet kitchen) .... looking for kitchen cabinet from Unity also.... and i have a quote from Kitchen Direct when i visited the home fair in Pyramid..... anyone installed their cabinets with Kitchen Direct before? Unity kitchen is everywhere..... can see reviews from google.... i wish to see some user experience with Kitchen Direct.... thanksHowever, the condition of the tiles doesen't look clean (even now I'm walking on the tiles with my shoes, haven't clean yet). I doubt if doing a through washing and cleaning of the living room will manage to clear away all the accumulated dust, stains and discoloring of the tiles...the dirt looks like it's permanent already at this point lol. Too long never clean. And to re-do the tiles, will probably have to re-do a new kitchen cabinet for the dry kitchen as well. I don't really mind making a new kitchen cabinet, as the this old kitchen cabinet probably outdated design and it's dark brown color (not my preferred color). Plus, not sure what material it's made out of. Only thing I'm concerned is cost. Paying slightly more if the quality is good long-term is fine too, but not too overly expensive I hope. Any recommendations for kitchen cabinet? I'm assuming it will be upwards of RM20k? Or can I get it for cheaper? Where you all suggest? Will places like Unity Kitchen be more expensive? |
May 25 2025, 08:48 PM
40 posts Joined: Apr 2018 |
Hi guys,
I’m moving into a subsale condo unit and planning to ask my renovation contractor to install a 3D anti-oil sticker on the tiles (at Cooking area) My main intention is to protect the tiles from oil stains and for aesthetic purposes. However, I’m having second thoughts — I’m not sure if removing the sticker in the future will be difficult and messy. Is there a better method to protect the tiles without causing issues later on? Appreciate any advice! |
Jun 19 2025, 06:35 PM
8,287 posts Joined: Feb 2014 |
Just sharing this tweet.
QUOTE Haritu i ada nampak orang tanya apa penyesalan terbesar lepas renovate kitchen. And here i nak share antara penyesalan mereka supaya korang pun tak buat silap yang sama 👌 1. Sinki warna hitam Kelemahan cepat kotor and warna cepat pudar nanti akan lekat tompok2 putih kalau tak jaga kebersihan. Sampai satu tahap warna akan lusuh 🫢 2. Sinki jenis pulas macam ni Red flag, cepat rosak and menyusahkan. Cepat terkopek dan kalau tangan berminyak buat kerja susah nak buka. Cuba search ramai yang menyesal buat sinki ni 🤣 3. Jenis material kabinet So far ada 5 material yang best and tahan lama 1. Nyatoh 2. MDF 3. HPL 4. 4G Glass 5. Melamine Selain dari tu kurang elok dan akan cepat rosak. Invest mahal sikit takpe asalkan tahan lama 4. Material table top yang tak tahan lama ' Compressed Quartz ' i tengok ada this girl post 5 tahun je meja terus tak cantik lekat kesan kunyit & paling parah corak marbel pun hilang 🤣 Elakkan material ni tapi ramai ambil sebab murah lama2 menyesal. 5. ID Claim material lain tapi bagi material lain Ramai ye kena macam ni. Dia cakap dia bagi material Quartz Stone tapi dia bagi Compressed Quartz. Macam mana nak detect ? Harga dia murah tak masuk akal senab Quartz Stone agak mahal 👌 6. Plug point sikit/ tinggi sangat Plug dekat dapur la sebenarnya kena banyak sebab nak guna untuk periuk nasi, microwave, peti ais dll. Ramai menyesal tak focus banyakkan Plug dekat kitchen 7. Lantai @ mozek matte finish Why ? Sebab nanti tak sedap pijak and rasa berpasir je. Beli jenis glossy cantik and kaki sedap pijak. 8. Tak pasang exhaust fan Untuk serap haba and bau masakan kita keluar dari rumah. Time musim panas on kipas ni terus sejuk rumah sebab dia sedut udara panas keluar dari rumah. Kalau takde bajet beli jenis ni je letak dekat tingkap nako pun boleh 9. Tak buat hidden plug Ni khas untuk yang nak kitchen bebas wire. Nak guna tekan keluar je. Boleh request dekat ID sekali cakap nak buat 👌 Or kalau ada table top jenis kayu dekat dapur boleh je buat sendiri guna tools nak tebuk table top tu. |
Jun 21 2025, 01:38 AM
248 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
Jun 29 2025, 05:25 AM
3,599 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: MYBoleh.NET |
I am looking for a granite sink, majority of the granite sink in the market is either black or dark grey in colour.
I am looking for something that's lighter in colour. So far only found HCE sink. Other than this sink, is there any other brands that have colourful or similar colour granite sink? My problem is, most of them the depth is less than 220mm, unless buy really big 1. I see most only 190-200mm. So i am looking for granite sink that is deeper to avoid water from splashing out. Something like 600x470x220mm like that. So far I found cavarro got the size i wanted but only black / grey Cavarro G5750 Granite Sink - (570x500x220mm) (only grey and black) ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Jun 29 2025, 06:13 AM |
Jun 30 2025, 11:36 AM
1,051 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Petaling Jaya |
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Blanco? Expensive though. MasBoleh! liked this post
Jun 30 2025, 12:02 PM
178 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
I was looking at granite sink for dry kitchen as well, buy decided against it for limited options in the market without burning a hole in wallet.
| Change to: | 0.0180sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:19 AM |