Jordy
post May 12 2009, 06:58 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ May 12 2009, 01:37 PM)
I ask about reits and from what I gather the divident is very low now at the range of 4 - 5% PA, is this true? Any reits owner can verify...thank you
Hardly REITs will be giving out 4% - 5% dividend because they are leasing out prime properties. Even layman like us can gain higher income if we were to just buy an apartment to rent it out. Furthermore these REITs will have to distribute at least 90% of their income in order for them to escape from being taxed. Therefore, if they were to distribute 5%, their income would only be 5.6% PA. Perhaps your friend bought it when the counter peaked. Even so, he would be receiving at least 6% net dividend. Better find out from him which counter he bought to make a better judgment.

From my experience, a person would never discourage someone from buying REITs, unless:
- he is an agent for unit trust/insurance/MLM/investment scams
- he is an aggressive person who only believes in getting quick profits

Sorry if my assumption is wrong. I never meant to degrade your friend, just voicing out my view smile.gif

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 12 2009, 05:23 PM)
cherroy, UOAREIT Q1 report is out.

are they giving 2.9 sens?
Pana,

Yes, it seems that they are paying higher this year at 2.9sen. But it's weird that there's no transaction today hmm.gif
Jordy
post May 13 2009, 12:28 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 12 2009, 07:45 PM)
No income distribution was declared for the quarter under review but provision was made to distribute
95% of the income before tax (unaudited) for the quarter ended 31 March 2009 to be distributed by end
of August 2009
as described under Section B12, Income Distribution.

+

A provision was made to distribute RM7,126,543 as income distribution for 1st Quarter ended 31 March
2009. This translates into approximately 2.90 sen per unit for the quarter under review and includes a
non-taxable portion of approximately 0.49 sen per unit (representing 16.90% of the gross distribution)
deriving mainly from utilisation of capital allowances. Provision for income distribution for the quarter
under review is 35.51% higher than corresponding period last year (2.14 sen per unit).
So, yea no dividend this quarter. They're only paying the dividend in August which is 2.9sen + income from Q2 ended June. Probably this explains why there wasn't any transaction today. But definately huge improvement in performance.
Btw Cherroy, if you look at UOA's Q1 report, their Borrowings increased by RM8mil. Why is that? They didnt mention anything about using RM8mil.  hmm.gif
Oh my, sorry for the mistake tongue.gif I didn't read the whole report. But according to normal practices, prices of stocks would increase should there be increase in profit. Guess the case is different with REITs smile.gif

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 12 2009, 09:16 PM)
This counter very hard to trade one, liquidity is severe low, less than 1000 shareholders (including major shareholders), just a reminder, just in case you are interested.
Cherroy, even if the liquidity is low, I think it should not deter people from investing in REITs because we will be expecting sustainable income through REITs. So normally when we buy REIT counters, we would not think of selling them UNLESS the company becomes insolvent.

This is just my two cents though, but I believe different people would have different perspectives. But I think your perspective on REITs should be similar to mine, so why worry about liquidity issues here? smile.gif
Jordy
post May 13 2009, 01:03 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 13 2009, 12:44 AM)
Yes, I don't care much about liquidity as long as company able to pay handsome dividend or distribution. In fact a lot of my stocks are/were low liquidity one aka seldom trade much.  tongue.gif

Just as a reminder, just in case people hope for price appreciation side  smile.gif
Lol, true. Sometimes it is quite tempting to sell the REIT counters. I did once on AXREIT, bought at 1.18 and sold at 1.36, later bought back at 1.28 until now. I kept reminding myself not to sell it even when the price hit 1.50 because now I am on accumulation phase. My aim is to accumulate as much as possible since the price is still low. Now the stubborn AXREIT is not going below 1.40 tongue.gif, so I might be looking to diversify into either UOAREIT or AMFIRST.

I see UOAREIT as more of a gem because of their expertise from their Australian counterpart. Not really so into AMFIRST because of their investment in Summit. It is a place which I don't really like to visit (except for climbing gym tongue.gif)
Jordy
post May 14 2009, 09:04 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

I have shortlisted the few probable targets for PKNS:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA
ALAQAR
BSDREIT

Take your pick tongue.gif
Jordy
post May 15 2009, 02:15 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Malefic @ May 14 2009, 10:04 PM)
PKNS is looking to buy a controlling stake-lah. They will then dump some of their properties into the REIT.
Buying controlling stake does not mean their management will change. They may be controlling the company, but the management could still be the same. I don't think their intention is to run the REIT company, but just to leave the company on auto-pilot while they earn without doing anything.

QUOTE(hocklai8 @ May 14 2009, 10:07 PM)
I do share the same sentiment... I don't think the yield of PKNS assets will boost the REIT that it will inject into. I fear it would bring more negativity than positivitity. In my opinion, I feel PKNS is just dumping their assets into the REIT to cash out since most of it are quite run-down. Just my 2 cents smile.gif
That could be one of the reasons smile.gif Any idea on how much are PKNS properties yielding?

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 15 2009, 02:09 AM)
PKNS injecting Malls and some buildings.

Al Aqar is only hospitals..so maybe can strike out

Bsdreit is only plantation..maybe can strike it out too.. wink.gif
You could be right. So what's left now would be:

AXREIT
HEKTAR
QCAPITA

And could they be only eyeing REITs concentrating in Selangor? Since they are owned by Selangor state, they might be buying stakes into REITs with properties in Selangor. Just a thought smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 15 2009, 02:19 AM
Jordy
post May 15 2009, 04:10 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 15 2009, 02:26 AM)

Added on May 15, 2009, 2:28 am

maybe can strike hektar too...cause Hektar is only into Malls.... 

Qcapita has 800m of assets ( not in the range of 600m) & their largest unitholder is HSBC 30% & quill about 23%...dun think HSBC & quill will let someone else take control that easily.

I think , Most probably its Axreit , cause their assets about 600m and they are quite diversified in their properties ( so, mall can be absorbed) + EPF is the 2nd largest unit holder...baiduri only have about 13%(largest unitholder)..
In my humble opinion, AXREIT is the least probable target (at least the in the major shareholders' concern) because the four partners worked hard to build their empire. It is very unlikely that they will let go of their stake (especially in Lee Lao's case). Unlike HSBC, Baiduri has no other primary businesses, if they let go of their one and only primary business, they will be out of business tongue.gif PKNS can never gain the controlling stake (Baiduri + Lee Lao + Tew + Abas has a combined stake of 27.8% while EPF + Valuecap has a combined stake of only 13.5%).

In QCAPITA's case, even if HSBC lets go of their stake, they still can focus on their finance business. Real estate is not HSBC's primary business, they invested in QCAPITA only for profit. So if PKNS is able to pay at high premium, I believe HSBC would let go. I am not very familiar with Quill though, so I don't know if they would sell their stake.

"Selangor State Development Corp is said to be negotiating to buy a controlling stake in a listed REIT with total assets worth more than RM600 million"
As a reminder, they stated that the total assets are worth more than RM600 million, so it doesn't necessarily be within that RM600 million range. RM800 million is still more than RM600 million. So it is still right to say QCAPITA is in the running as well smile.gif
Jordy
post May 15 2009, 01:16 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 15 2009, 12:39 PM)
would it affect its dividend for the coming Q3 & Q4 '09, since nestle house is no longer renting the place.  unsure.gif

nestle house & nestle warehouse, same same?

Nestle House has been vacated since December last year, so it is not affecting its earnings because we can see a stronger income in Q1. Q1's earnings was without Nestle House I believe, so Q2, Q3 and Q4 should be the same smile.gif
Jordy
post May 17 2009, 03:00 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(asambuffett @ May 17 2009, 12:34 PM)
reading the article & related...maybe  TA Global will just b a property company..something the like of Glomac Mah Sing etc...

Added on May 17, 2009, 2:51 pmthe properties that PKNS would like to inject into the Mysterious REIT are

1)Wisma PKNS ( offices )
http://www.streetdirectory.net.my/malaysia.../travel_site_1/

2)Kompleks PKNS (offices + retails)
http://pknsshahalam.com/index.html

3) Shah Alam City Centre mall (mall)
http://www.saccmall.com.my/

4) Shah Alam convention centre (convention center)
accross the Shah Alam city center
This PKNS will really disappoint us if they buys AXREIT. NONE of their properties is yield-accretive. These 4 properties will simply jeopardize our investments. I just hope that the 3 partners will consider the minorities and not sell their stakes sad.gif
Jordy
post May 17 2009, 06:52 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 17 2009, 05:37 PM)
Sigh... if inject into Axreit, then hopefully is injected at a very low price.
For sure they will inject at premium because PKNS won't play the losing game sad.gif
Jordy
post May 18 2009, 10:34 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

Now I am considering whether to hold or to sell since I am still in the money. Didn't sell at 1.47, if not I have more cash to buy back at this point sad.gif
Jordy
post May 18 2009, 12:13 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 18 2009, 11:18 AM)
so sad to see Axreit price coming down to 1.34

me & kinwawa sold our Axreit at 1.39 on last friday, after seeing the price being beaten down fierecely.
Haha, since I've missed the selling opportunity at 1.47, I am queuing to buy at 1.34. This will make my average price up a bit but I want to accumulate as much as possible smile.gif
Jordy
post May 18 2009, 05:21 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 18 2009, 12:23 PM)
good for you, meantime i shall hold the cash and look out for other cheap bargains with high yields. biggrin.gif
Couldn't get it at 1.34, so I bought 10 lots at 1.35 biggrin.gif I'm on the view that tomorrow it should rise again. There is no reason the price got beaten so low.

If you want other high yield REITs, consider AMFIRST. The yield looks ok at its price today (9.3%) and still has room to grow. Its NAV stands at 1.325 now (discount of 30%).

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 18 2009, 05:29 PM
Jordy
post May 18 2009, 06:53 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ May 18 2009, 05:51 PM)
i guess every1 is waiting for PKNS to reveal their "mysterious" REIT b4 making any move tongue.gif
QUOTE(harrychoo @ May 18 2009, 05:55 PM)
Haha, u are right, thats why i hold my move on AXREIT 1st since i feel the highest possiblity will be AXREIT.
Oh my, you guys want to wait for 6 months and lose on 2 interim distributions? I will still go with AXREIT for now (for distribution), unless PKNS revealed that AXREIT has accepted their terms. I trust that AXREIT management will not sell smile.gif
Jordy
post May 20 2009, 01:45 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 19 2009, 03:00 PM)
good rebound on axreit. am i being over reacted??
Remember what I said yesterday? No reason for the price to go down smile.gif

QUOTE(Jordy @ May 18 2009, 05:21 PM)
Couldn't get it at 1.34, so I bought 10 lots at 1.35 biggrin.gif I'm on the view that tomorrow it should rise again. There is no reason the price got beaten so low.
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 19 2009, 08:50 PM)
Nobody watching Qcapital lately?

Price become more interesting now.
I am eyeing UOAREIT. It is getting as stubborn as AXREIT now yawn.gif
Jordy
post May 20 2009, 08:29 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 20 2009, 05:08 PM)
yeah true. i guess msia reits didnt behave like US, aussie, sg reits. msia reits did show some sign of struggle (nestle house - axreit, ceva - atrium) but overall they seem pretty tankish. They even had +ve rental revisions!

QCAP 0.835.. down somemore and ill going in biggrin.gif
I guess we can applaud our Malaysian system at times like this. Those economies with property bubbles are facing the music now for their greed (namely US, Europe, Australia). That is why our REITs still stable. On why our REITs plunged when property bubbles burst and global recession, is because of fear. It's common for people to fear. Just like yesterday when AXREIT dropped, people scatter. Fearless people who bought at 1.35 yesterday can already earn 5sen today smile.gif

So we can easily predict REITs, that is why I am sticking with REITs. I am not going to get involved with normal stocks until I have extra cash smile.gif

P.S. I even sent an article to Personal Money "Question of the Month" section on REITs, due to release for next month's issue. I hope I can be one of the featured article tongue.gif

On QCAPITA, I think some of you might want to rethink your decisions. A rough study on the annual report tells me that they are holding to some low-yielding properties (as low as 1% pa). So, I don't really have faith in its management as their cash is not utilized efficiently. I will do a more thorough study on its property yields and post it here later.

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 20 2009, 08:35 PM
Jordy
post May 21 2009, 04:42 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ May 20 2009, 08:59 PM)
Alamak! Really ka?

Please give any info if you dig out anything. I just bought some today!  doh.gif
QUOTE(cherroy @ May 21 2009, 10:34 AM)
Please share with us the analysis later on.
Many thanks
Done a thorough analysis on some of its properties today (couldn't do more because the management did not disclose the income on other 5 properties). Here are the results:

Wisma Technip

Date purchased: 3 September 2007
Annual income (a): RM 11,542,653
Annual maintenance (b): RM 5,251,008
Annual net income ©, (a - b): RM 6,291,645
Purchase price (d): RM 122,606,299
Annual yield (c / d * 100%): 5.13%

Plaza Mont Kiara

Date purchased: 3 September 2007
Annual income (a): RM 6,600,000
Annual maintenance (b): RM 12,000
Annual net income ©, (a - b): RM 6,588,000
Purchase price (d): RM 90,000,000
Annual yield (c / d * 100%): 7.32%

DHL XPJ

Date purchased: 25 March 2008
Annual income (a): RM 2,085,438
Annual maintenance (b): RM 207,956
Annual net income ©, (a - b): RM 1,877,482
Purchase price (d): RM 28,800,000
Annual yield (c / d * 100%): 6.52%

HSBC Section 13

Date purchased: 25 March 2008
Annual income (a): RM 1,718,514
Annual maintenance (b): RM 187,228
Annual net income ©, (a - b): RM 1,531,286
Purchase price (d): RM 22,740,000
Annual yield (c / d * 100%): 6.73%

Tesco Penang

Date purchased: 7 November 2008
Annual income (a): RM 16,336,188
Annual maintenance (b): RM 1,055,976
Annual net income ©, (a - b): RM 15,280,212
Purchase price (d): RM 132,000,000
Annual yield (c / d * 100%): 11.58%

By looking at the results, we can see 4 properties out of 5 analyzed were receiving low yields. These 5 properties have an average yield of only 7.46% (below average yield for REITs).

Let us take a look at the average yield of the other 5 properties:

Net total annual income (a): RM 12,706,037
Total purchase price (b): RM 319,000,000
Average yield (a / b * 100%): 3.98%

Well, this simply means that the average yield on all 10 properties is (7.46% + 3.98% / 2) = 5.72% (still well below average for REITs).

Anyhow, this yield is just an estimate by using some calculated assumptions based on FY2008's figures. The yield should not increase unless there are positive reversions done this year. Otherwise, we will be seeing another year of low yield.

I am only wondering how did they manage to pay its investors a gross yield of 8.16% (net yield 7.35%) for FY2008 while it is earning a net yield of only 5.72%. Still, if they were able to maintain 7.51 cents distribution for FY2009, those who bought at 0.84 would only be yielding a net of 8.05%.

If any of you who have also conducted a study on QCAPITA and found a mistake in my analysis, please do correct me. I am just hoping everybody would be informed of the actual situation before someone really gets stuck with QCAPITA.

P.S. Just to add onto my comments, another reason I do not have faith in its management is due to the fact that they are not being fully transparent in their report. A good management team would disclose the full breakdown of their income in its annual report. This must be taken into consideration before choosing the stocks to buy.

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 21 2009, 04:52 PM
Jordy
post May 21 2009, 05:02 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 21 2009, 04:47 PM)
I have no problem with yield around 7-8% if those tenants are going to stay long and paid up on times.

Compared to yield of 10% on Atrium warehouse, while potential lose tenants in between. I would take the 7% for long term play.

Anyway, me invested little nia.
Your statement is correct, but many of their properties are yielding below 7%, while its average yield for all 10 properties is only 5.72%. I am just worried that its management team's ability in sustaining its growth.
Jordy
post May 21 2009, 05:23 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ May 21 2009, 05:10 PM)
Assuming all your data are correct.. please consider this:

Q capital NTA = 1.2094
Current Price = 0.84
Discount 31% against NTA
Because all of your calculation is basis Purchase price, hence u are using NTA to calculate...

yes base on price of 1.2094, u will get around 8.05% distrubution
but now price is 0.84, hence you will get around 9.6% dividend

Conclusion, price of 0.84 has already taken into account their low yielding property
Hi Neo,

Why I used purchase price to calculate? Simple. Because I want to calculate its ROI (initial purchase price = initial investment). NTA is not a good base of calculation because it has taken into account the revaluation, therefore we will not see the real picture smile.gif

The initial investment for all 10 properties is RM 715,146,000, while after their revaluation, the assets now are worth RM 816,013,468. The only risk is on its management's inefficiency and transparency. But I do agree with your argument that at 0.84, our friends here are buying at a discount of 31%, which creates a very comfortable buffer smile.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: May 21 2009, 05:28 PM
Jordy
post May 22 2009, 02:02 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ May 22 2009, 10:20 AM)
Yup, I am not interested to buy when it is at 1.00 or above.

I calculated the potential DPU of 7.x cents, then dividend by 0.84 = 8.xx % which after witholding tax translate it into around 8% net, that's why I am comfortable with the risk.

Anyway, appreciated your analysis, many thanks.  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(darkknight81 @ May 22 2009, 12:37 PM)
Jordy,

Thanks a lot for your information. Really appreciate it  as i am eyeing on axreit and qcapita now  notworthy.gif
Great! I don't think that was a lot of help, but seeing my fellow investors here are better informed now gave me a great satisfaction biggrin.gif
Jordy
post May 23 2009, 09:33 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 23 2009, 09:12 PM)
But the report at KLSE doesn't have all those photos, and not so detailed. Isn't there a single file that combines all the 12 separate pdf files?
http://www.axis-reit.com.my/section.cfm?id=25
It is under KLSE "Annual Reports" and NOT "Announcements". You can find it at http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/li...ports/index.jsp.

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0235sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:53 AM