REIT, real estate investment...

Jordy
post May 24 2009, 12:02 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ May 23 2009, 09:43 PM)
Hahahaha, thank you very much. Just downloaded. Never knew KLSE has Annual Reports section.
Not a problem, but you should really explore and learn more if you are really into investing.
Jordy
post May 27 2009, 11:50 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ May 27 2009, 01:35 PM)
Queing UOAREIT at RM 1.09 , 1.08 anyone eyeing this counter?
I'm only buying it if the price goes back to less than 1.00 smile.gif
Jordy
post May 29 2009, 08:26 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ May 28 2009, 11:21 AM)
not worth to buy at above RM1.00?
It is not worth for me because I aim to achieve at least 9% net yield.

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ May 29 2009, 01:00 PM)
Then why atrium does not move much compare to other reits? Any other bad news?
ATRIUM has liquidity issues and it has always been a quiet counter. Investors rather wait and see what they can do to improve the company portfolio rather than throwing money in to see another Ceva case.
Jordy
post Jun 1 2009, 03:25 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ May 31 2009, 10:54 PM)
I beliv all the reits have low liquidity issues... and they have secure the ceva logistic tenants for the next 3 years ....

I beliv the current price weakness for atrium are due to their single portfolio of their properties... which is in warehouses only... .if economy turn worst ... whixch means all import and export will be affected... so can they still renew thweir tenant which are going to due next year....But at least i know 1 out of 4 properties tenants already renewed and with higher rate compare with last time from ceva of approximately 40k extra per month.......However.Risk is there for atrium...

but i made up my mind to enter 1100 lots of atrium at 0.64 and 0.645 sen last friday... one of the reits fans now  biggrin.gif with dividend of 8 sen ... the DY is 12 - 13% ....but not sure can sustain or not in future as worries for their 3 properties tenants which are going to expire next year.....
1100 lots? You bought that many? tongue.gif
I'm holding only 10 lots bought last year, which I don't think I'm going to add unless they diversify.
I am only aiming to accumulate more AXREIT or UOAREIT.

QUOTE(tanmat @ Jun 1 2009, 12:16 AM)
say someone buying at that prices last week and wondering who was that. ?? :-)

I've been looking at this counter for some time, there is still ongoing dumping though. for what reasons not sure.

Also, current yield is more like 10% as the last payout was only 1.6cents vs their normal 2cents +-
Only 1.6 cents this time around? Well this is really going to dampen investors' confidence.
Jordy
post Jun 1 2009, 08:02 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 1 2009, 12:59 PM)
If the revaluation results in paper gain, then how do they distribute the earnings? Is the distribution by cash, or they give you additional units? How's the DPU calculated?

Operation earnings: 40
Revaluation earnings: 60
Net earnings: 100

Distribution 90%: 90

Since the 60 paper gain is non-cash gain, where is the REIT going to find the cash to distibute? (PS: I'm looking at this like I'm seeing how companies distribute dividends.)
simplesmile,

Easier way to look at it is to look at the two types of earnings they get:-
- Realised income (income received from rental or capital gain)
- Unrealised income (paper gain through revaluation of properties)

Meaning to say that the 90% is based on the realised income. Note that the net income comes from both realised and unrealised incomes.
Jordy
post Jun 9 2009, 11:46 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

The success of AXREIT securing the long term loan really has a great effect on its price. Today AXREIT flying smile.gif
Jordy
post Jun 9 2009, 03:27 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jun 9 2009, 03:16 PM)
Can they use their rental to service their loan? and reduce in term of dividend?
If they do not pay out the minimum of 90% of their earnings as dividend, they will be subject to tax. And by the way, I think their rental income is definitely not enough to pay their loans in one lump sum.
Jordy
post Jun 9 2009, 10:37 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Jun 9 2009, 08:43 PM)
Ops sorry my mistake  blush.gif

But i wonder y reits will find hard to refinance their loan eventhough some of their debts level are high. as long as their business can sustained and able to service their loan or pay their bond to their bond holders....As long as the company fundamental still maintain strong should be not hard to find loan .
That is the point. REITs with good fundamentals can secure a refinancing loan. That is why you see AXREIT investors are seeing this a positive sign. From here on, I think AXREIT is only going up as investors are anticipating another increase in profit end of next month.
Jordy
post Jun 10 2009, 06:10 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(ooyah98 @ Jun 10 2009, 11:50 AM)
hi all,
Noticed Tower REIT on a strong up trend since last 2weeks.
Could you kindly share what is motivating the buying?

Early this year they have some risk of getting new tenants since HL group decided to move out of one the building.
Did they manage to secure a new tenant?      ~Thanks a lot.
TWRREIR's biggest shareholder is HLG if I am not mistaken. So, if they decided to move out of the building, it should mean that they have secured a new tenant. You could check the archived news from Bursa's website for the information.
Jordy
post Jun 11 2009, 03:45 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 11 2009, 01:05 PM)
I'm thinking of putting money in a REIT for the first time, so I took some time today to read up some stuff on them. Since I was curious about their leverage and the total size of the various funds, I went ahead and calculated them. Leverage I calculated as Borrowings / Total Assets while sizes I calculated as Units in Circulation x Unit Price. I got Unit Price and Yield from http://mreit.blogspot.com/

Here are my results:

CODE

NAME          LEVERAGE  YIELD    SIZE

AMFIRST       39.31% 10.011%  290 Million
UOA           23.47%  9.831%  383 Million
HEKTAR        40.80% 10.608%  289 Million
AMANAHRAYA    33.62%  9.541%  310 Million
AXIS          31.73% 10.400%  383 Million
AL-AQAR       33.29%  6.452%  398 Million
ATRIUM        24.71%  9.925%   80 Million
QUILL CAPITAL 14.18%  8.761%  355 Million
AL-HAHARAH    11.23%  6.066%  673 Million
TOWER         17.85%  8.878%  274 Million

My biggest surprise was that Atrium is really tiny! Plus some of these funds have really low leverage. I believe that the maximum leverage they're allowed is 50%.

Finally, I don't understand why they are all trading at a discount to their NAV. Is it because investors don't believe in the valuations of their properties?
"My biggest surprise was that Atrium is really tiny!"
There is no surprise at all as it has only 4 warehouses under its stable.

"I don't understand why they are all trading at a discount to their NAV"
Market's fear of a prolonged recession has hit REITs quite hard as property prices are very sensitive to recession. As soon as the crisis is clear, we should see REITs trading near/over its NAV.

As to why some of them have low borrowings, I am not too sure about them because I am not interested in them. Perhaps they were able to repay their loans due to the issuance of new units. This practice is common among REITs.
Jordy
post Jun 12 2009, 11:18 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 12 2009, 10:29 AM)
Any particular reason why you're not interested in them? Do you mean the low-geared REITs or REITs in general?
The low-geared REITs. I have no interest in looking into them at the moment.
Jordy
post Jun 16 2009, 12:45 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Jun 15 2009, 01:31 PM)
ok thanks for the info, I'm super noob at this, i see you pick atrium sure good one rclxms.gif
moorish,

Please, please for goodness sake, KNOW what you are buying instead of just merely following. I know a few veteran members and I have been repeating this over and over again.
Jordy
post Jun 16 2009, 09:53 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(moorish @ Jun 16 2009, 08:41 AM)
I'm trying to learn, dig out some data from many blog about local reits and seem all are quite competitive. I'm not familiar with the industry, some I know are more on office, some on shopping and atrium I did study has 4 ware house their client mainly DHL as it took up 2 warehouse. And what attract me is they've full occupancy no empty warehouse and best part is the price has not jump yet.

Anyway now I'm stuck with DIALOG which I bought yesterday doh.gif , lets see how things goes this week.
What I am trying to say is that don't just look at the "covers", look at the details. Do some simple calculations and analysis to see if the buildings are yielding reasonable income. In the case of ATRIUM, it has advantage and disadvantage. It could either have 100% occupancy, or 0% occupancy because its warehouses only house 1 tenant most of the time (except for one of its warehouses if I am not mistaken).

QUOTE(ts1 @ Jun 16 2009, 05:32 PM)
axreit drop, it is time to grab more?
Such a small drop, doesn't excite me tongue.gif I will only start accumulating again if the price EVER goes back down to 1.38 (which I think not anytime soon).
Jordy
post Jun 17 2009, 03:18 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Jun 17 2009, 12:49 PM)
I got hektar, atrium and qcapita. waiting for axreit to come down.
AXREIT is one stubborn counter. It's near distribution time again, so got to wait until next month for it to come down sad.gif
How much is your average on QCAPITA?
Jordy
post Jun 18 2009, 07:07 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 18 2009, 04:40 PM)
i bought !@1.48 liow..

if market goes down to 1050 point. time for some high beta stock.. nibble and nibble..

if goes down to 1000 point, time to bite!!!!
So soon? Thought you would have waited a little longer, perhaps below 1.40 tongue.gif
My TP stays at 1.38.

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Jun 18 2009, 05:39 PM)
Thanks for the tip. Will save my bullet until it reaches 1,000 points. I'm now 1/2 cash, 1/2 stock.
I sold my AXREIT today @ 1.50, may buy back again tomorrow... if it goes below 1.47
Come to think of it, you are losing on brokerage if you do that (unless you are buying in excess of 20,000 units). Invest smarter next time.

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jun 18 2009, 07:08 PM
Jordy
post Jun 19 2009, 01:25 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Jun 18 2009, 08:23 PM)
Today, I received my hektar's dividend. rclxms.gif
What's your net yield on HEKTAR and your average cost?
Jordy
post Jun 19 2009, 04:16 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Jun 19 2009, 07:57 AM)
11.4% and RM0.892
Net yield girl, not gross yield smile.gif

Congrats Neo, you don't have to work for 2 months now tongue.gif
Jordy
post Jun 19 2009, 05:56 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 19 2009, 05:01 PM)
i have 660k in REIT share leh..hahaha...

so every 3 month, i will receive bout

RM16000 leh
Average out you earn RM 1,300 just by shaking leg. Aiyah, retire now la, no need to work anymore tongue.gif
Currently I am only getting a quarter of that yawn.gif

This post has been edited by Jordy: Jun 19 2009, 05:57 PM
Jordy
post Jun 20 2009, 02:16 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(espree @ Jun 19 2009, 06:33 PM)
RM16000 in every 3 mth, right? that means 5k+ every mth,.
Oops, my mistake. I thought I saw RM 16,000 annually tongue.gif So that's even more reason for him to shake leg.

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 19 2009, 07:02 PM)
Mind letting us know what percentage of your net worth that constitutes? I could match that if I wanted to, but it would be like 95% of my net worth and the risk would scare me so much I wouldn't be able to sleep at night.

Also, with your huge stake in the REITs, I'm sure everyone here would appreciate it if you gave a warning if you ever decide to unload it.
Why worry? Price go down I'm happier. Everyday I was hoping for AXREIT and UOAREIT to go down more icon_rolleyes.gif
Jordy
post Jun 20 2009, 09:58 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(wankongyew @ Jun 20 2009, 09:33 AM)
Yeah, but you need to actually be in a position to be able to buy them when the price goes down. It would be nice to have a couple of days warning for example so that I could move some money from a unit trust fund or something to free up money to buy REITs. On the other hand, if there are other people already planning to unload their stakes for whatever reason, I''m sure they wouldn't appreciate Neo dumping a whole load of them onto the market at the same time.
Lol, you are saying as if Neo is the ONLY one having a large stake. If for whatever reason Neo decides to dump it, I believe the other major shareholders would dump as well (could be due to change in prospect or fundamentals). So, doesn't make any difference smile.gif That is the beauty of stock market, a survival of the fittest, a fight between demand and supply.

Big investors do not really warn the market when they are going to do a huge transaction. Life doesn't go that easily. That is why people always say, stock market is not for the faint hearted.

15 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0505sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:39 AM