cherroy
post Feb 3 2010, 12:03 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 2 2010, 08:15 PM)
What is the meaning of "last date of lodgement "?

I repost this since no one reply.
Last date of lodgement is the last date you must register your share.

But since after CDS and electronic transferred nowadays and automatically register as shareholder already, it is irrelevant to most investors out there.

But still they need it, as this is the official last date the share must register in order to entitle the dividend, as one must remember, although it is full CDS now, shareholders can still demand physical share paper/cert being issued to them as well.
Gregory
post Feb 3 2010, 12:54 AM

After round of calculation, i still didn't get 90% income distribution from BSDREIT.

There are up to 69mil translate around 12.4 sen for distribution to unit holder. But they only allocated 51.8 mil ~ 9.3 sen.

By rough calculation, that translate approximately 75% of the net profit which contradict with 90% reit policy which to exempt from income tax act 1967.

is it possible they take out the performance based rent income and gain on disposal of investment properties?? but that is consider taxable income correct me if i wrong. BSDREIT website also stated they may distribute as bonus dividend.

this issue has been cracking my head this few days. Anyone can help me on this. Thousand TQ
cherroy
post Feb 3 2010, 01:05 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gregory @ Feb 3 2010, 12:54 AM)
After round of calculation, i still didn't get 90% income distribution from BSDREIT.

There are up to 69mil translate around 12.4 sen for distribution to unit holder. But they only allocated 51.8 mil ~ 9.3 sen.

By rough calculation, that translate approximately 75% of the net profit which contradict with 90% reit policy which to exempt from income tax act 1967.

is it possible they take out the performance based rent income and gain on disposal of investment properties?? but that is consider taxable income correct me if i wrong. BSDREIT website also stated they may distribute as bonus dividend.

this issue has been cracking my head this few days. Anyone can help me on this. Thousand TQ
Under the tax exempted law/ruling, 90% of reit income must be distributed, while those income is based on rental or operation income. Gain in disposal of investment properties is excluded.

Correct me if I am wrong.
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 08:11 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

SIFU Cherroy,

I plan to enter some UOAREIT this week. Been eyeing this counter for quite sometimes. Any comment for this counter? You are holding some UOAREITS right?

1. OPR will probably goes up during march 2010 i am afraid this will affect UOA net profit as more $$ will be going into servicing interest hence will affect the reits pricing i believe. Other concern is when interest rates go up normally means cool down inflation which may leads to properties price come down. All these factors will have impact on reits pricing. Correct me if wrong.

2. Where can i get the latest debts to equity ratio among the reits ?

As i only manage to check on the latest yield and NAV of each reit.

http://m-reit.blogspot.com/

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Feb 3 2010, 08:26 AM
jasonkwk
post Feb 3 2010, 09:39 AM

Self Improvement is Masturbation
10,596 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 3 2010, 12:03 AM)
Last date of lodgement is the last date you must register your share.

But since after CDS and electronic transferred nowadays and automatically register as shareholder already, it is irrelevant to most investors out there.

But still they need it, as this is the official last date the share must register in order to entitle the dividend, as one must remember, although it is full CDS now, shareholders can still demand physical share paper/cert being issued to them as well.
in other words, If I buy share on the last date of lodgement, since it is register automatically, do I still entitled to the dividend?
okyjace
post Feb 3 2010, 10:30 AM

230 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 3 2010, 10:39 AM)
in other words, If I buy share on the last date of lodgement, since it is register automatically, do I still entitled to the dividend?
Yes. The payment of dividend should not leave you any worse off.

cherroy
post Feb 3 2010, 10:46 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 08:11 AM)
SIFU Cherroy,

I plan to enter some UOAREIT this week. Been eyeing this counter for quite sometimes. Any comment for this counter? You are holding some UOAREITS right?

1. OPR will probably goes up during march 2010 i am afraid this will affect UOA net profit as more $$ will be going into servicing interest hence will affect the reits pricing i believe. Other concern is when interest rates go up normally means cool down inflation which may leads to properties price come down. All these factors will have impact on reits pricing. Correct me if wrong.

2. Where can i get the latest debts to equity ratio among the reits ?

As i only manage to check on the latest yield and NAV of each reit.

http://m-reit.blogspot.com/
Check the respective reit website, there are details info inside their financial report. Every reit has their own website.

I have no comment much on it although I hold some.

OPR won't be going too much, my view, it won't be raised more than 0.5% for 2010.
Yes, high OPR means higher interest charges on borrowing.

Based on experience and opinion, BNM won't raise too much on interest rate, as even last time when petrol price being raised to Rm2.70 and inflation rampant time, BNM only raise merely a few basic point only. Economy growth and recovery is overwrite inflation risk for most central banks around the world, sadly to say. Actually I am more lean or favourable central banks to raise interest rate to cool down and pre-emptied the inflation risk, although I am holding reit.

I am more concern about new and more supply office space coming out in the next 2-3 years, which could depress the rental as well as competition wise to get tenants.

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 3 2010, 09:39 AM)
No, you must buy before ex-date, not lodgement date.

Lodgement date is 2 business days after ex-date which is to facilitate the transfer of share in CDS. For eg. you buy today, today your CDS account won't be credited with the purchased shares. It is after 2 business date of ex-date, then the share is credited into your CDS.
So share registrar will use lodgement date for identify the shareholder.

But you must buy before ex-date, not lodgement date
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 04:32 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

Enter 4,000 unit of UOA REITS biggrin.gif
jasonkwk
post Feb 3 2010, 04:51 PM

10,596 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:32 PM)
Enter 4,000 unit of UOA REITS  biggrin.gif
bought some UOA yesterday, today 0.79% return biggrin.gif
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 04:53 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 3 2010, 05:51 PM)
bought some UOA yesterday, today 0.79% return  biggrin.gif
What price you enter ? RM 1.25?

jasonkwk
post Feb 3 2010, 04:54 PM

10,596 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:53 PM)
What price you enter ? RM 1.25?
1.26 smile.gif
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 04:56 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 3 2010, 05:54 PM)
1.26 smile.gif
Me 1.27 sad.gif
jasonkwk
post Feb 3 2010, 04:59 PM

10,596 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:56 PM)
Me 1.27  sad.gif
tongue.gif YTLP dividend can cover , I though it will go down today , but go up.now wait and see this 6 month, whether want to go in or not, because this REIT is not too liquid compared to other REIT.
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 05:06 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Feb 3 2010, 05:59 PM)
tongue.gif YTLP dividend can cover , I though it will go down today , but go up.now wait and see this 6 month, whether want to go in or not, because this REIT is not too liquid compared to other REIT.
This type of counter can buy but don buy too many as if you dispose it in big amount you may not find enough buyers unlike ytlpower which has high liquidity. But UOA reits have better DY compare with YTLP.

smartly
post Feb 3 2010, 05:10 PM

2,148 posts

To me, buy either small or big volume should not matter much, if one is aiming for DY.
darkknight81
post Feb 3 2010, 05:11 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Feb 3 2010, 06:10 PM)
To me, buy either small or big volume should not matter much, if one is aiming for DY.
What i mean is if you want to cash out for reits is quite hard if you want to sell in big volume. You might have to sell at low price. That is the issue you need to take note when buying low liquidity stocks.
You have to consider if you want to sell at big lots in case of any bad news than you may have to suffer bigger lose.

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Feb 3 2010, 05:13 PM
protonw
post Feb 3 2010, 11:09 PM

5,191 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 04:32 PM)
Enter 4,000 unit of UOA REITS  biggrin.gif
Wah, your YTLp divvy can help you start accumulating other counter liao.... thumbup.gif
cherroy
post Feb 3 2010, 11:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Feb 3 2010, 05:11 PM)
What i mean is if you want to cash out for reits is quite hard if you want to sell in big volume. You might have to sell at low price. That is the issue you need to take note when buying low liquidity stocks.
You have to consider if you want to sell at big lots in case of any bad news than you may have to suffer bigger lose.
Anything within 1,000 lots should be no problem for disposing. Buyer might not be showing up, but if put 1,000 lot at a few cents lower, can easily being 'eaten' away quickly.

Gregory
post Feb 3 2010, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 3 2010, 01:05 AM)
Under the tax exempted law/ruling, 90% of reit income must be distributed, while those income is based on rental or operation income. Gain in disposal of investment properties is excluded.

Correct me if I am wrong.
agreed on gain in disposal of investment properties, how about performance based income?

according to 4qtr report, 69 mil (realised operating profit) minus 6.5 mil will get 62.5 mil, yet still less than 90% distribution.

and TQ for yr help Cherroy.

This post has been edited by Gregory: Feb 3 2010, 11:59 PM
cherroy
post Feb 4 2010, 12:31 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gregory @ Feb 3 2010, 11:53 PM)
agreed on gain in disposal of investment properties, how about performance based income?

according to 4qtr report, 69 mil (realised operating profit) minus 6.5 mil will get 62.5 mil, yet still less than 90% distribution.

and TQ for yr help Cherroy.
I am not familiar with this reit, this plantation reit is a bit complex than the rest ordinary office/industrial/retail reit.

But do read the fine clause in the income tax act.
Pursuant to to S61of Income Tax Act 1967, the fund/reit will be exempted from income tax on all its income as the fund intends to distribute at least 90% of its taxable profit to unit holder.

The key word is taxable profit, if the performance based income is not classified as taxable profit (Sorry I don't know or sure about it, may be other can clarify on this issue) or being granted exempted status or whatever special clause, then 90% need to work out based on taxable profit figure.

That's why gain in disposal of properties is not included in 90% calculation because capital gain is not a taxable income/profit.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 4 2010, 12:32 AM

126 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:42 AM