164 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

zafrulx
post Jun 6 2020, 01:21 PM

13 posts

Hi everyone.

I'm helping a friend who are visually impaired buying a laptop.
His current laptop is Lenovo Yoga 2 Pro.

Looking for new laptop with the exact same keyboard layout but with better spec such as
- Intel i5
- SSD 256/ 512GB
- RAM 6GB
Budget around RM 2,500.

The keyboard layout is important as he is used to the layout and the spec is important to run heavy software for visually impaired person.

Thank you for suggestions and recommendation.
ZM Fong
post Jun 6 2020, 01:40 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(zafrulx @ Jun 6 2020, 01:21 PM)
exact same keyboard layout
Unfortunately most 14 inch laptops nowadays feature full sized shift with smaller up/down arrow keys
starry-starry
post Jun 6 2020, 02:10 PM

918 posts

QUOTE(shrade @ Jun 5 2020, 11:32 AM)
acer swift 3, bigger storage, resolution and most importantly, sleek look biggrin.gif
deleted.

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Jun 6 2020, 02:26 PM
niicklim P
post Jun 6 2020, 04:32 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 10:47 PM)
1. There are other differences too like details in chassis quality, after sales (onsite vs carry in), cooling performance etc

2. Acer Swift 3 SF314-55G-55DX, not the most ideal choice but choices are limited
Hi, thanks you sifu for your recommendation.
Spent some time to compare the specs of Raven SE & Legion 5 15, and we realized Legion 5 15 worth the money more.
My girlfriend in the end bought Lenovo Legion 5 15 with LENXCIMB at RM3340 by topping up to 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD & 300nits 100%RGB display.

Thank you again. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

For the other differences you mentioned, I am quite interested to know for my own knowledge purpose.
Can you explain to me? sweat.gif

ZM Fong
post Jun 6 2020, 05:54 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(niicklim @ Jun 6 2020, 04:32 PM)
Thank you again.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

For the other differences you mentioned, I am quite interested to know for my own knowledge purpose.
Can you explain to me?  sweat.gif
You're welcome, feel free to join discussions here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4750900/

I aldy listed the differences, there might be other differences but for now I can't think of them
Chan3 P
post Jun 6 2020, 06:59 PM

Probation

Hi sifus,

Looking for laptop to start my engineering degree, hoping to use it for next 4~5 yrs.

1. Budget : 2.5 ~ 3.5k
2. Usage : Primarily for studies eg MS Office and expecting some engineering applications. Some entertainment eg movies, YouTube and moderate gaming (Dota 2, civ 6 etc ok with compromise graphics settings)
3. Requirements
- Display size: 13" to 15"
- Battery life: best possible, no specific preference
- Weight: Light, not too heavy
- min 8GB RAM and min storage 256GB SSD
- Windows OS

Not needed urgently. Would like a few recommendations, thanks!
torres09
post Jun 6 2020, 08:34 PM

577 posts

Looking for budget laptop 1600-1800.
At least i3 with 4gb RAM. Can be SSD or HDD.
No dedicated graphics card needed and screen size prefer 14" or smaller.
Just for basic use and won't be multitasking much.
Thanks sifus.
zeint
post Jun 6 2020, 10:31 PM

51 posts

Hi, sifus!

I'm looking for a laptop for my foundation and degree studies. Course for the degree is probably engineering or computer science. The laptop should've no problem to be used in South Korea since I will further my studies there. So the laptop should be last for 5-6 years

1. Budget : 3k - 4k
2. Usage: Mainly university usage, Microsoft office, engineering and programming applications, video editing (I love to edit video), watching movies. (Gaming are not so important, I rarely play games but some of the game that I play are Paladins and CSGO)
3. Requirements:
Display: Maybe around 14-16 inch?
Weight: Preferable lightweight
Battery: Long last
Storage: Bigger is better I think because im still not familiar with cloud storage.
But I also would love a fast laptop ... dilemma..

p/s: I'm attracted to Macbook Pro because of this thread: https://twitter.com/omarqe/status/1111466602766036993 (maybe you could find some info why Im attracted to it?)
but I think it is pricey for me.

Thank you very much!! biggrin.gif

ZM Fong
post Jun 6 2020, 11:42 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chan3 @ Jun 6 2020, 06:59 PM)
Hi sifus,

Looking for laptop to start my engineering degree, hoping to use it for next 4~5 yrs.

1. Budget : 2.5 ~ 3.5k
2. Usage : Primarily for studies eg MS Office and expecting some engineering applications. Some entertainment eg movies, YouTube and moderate gaming (Dota 2, civ 6 etc ok with compromise graphics settings)
3. Requirements
- Display size: 13" to 15"
- Battery life: best possible, no specific preference
- Weight: Light, not too heavy
- min 8GB RAM and min storage 256GB SSD
- Windows OS

Not needed urgently. Would like a few recommendations, thanks!
Which engineering programs you'll be using? (if you know any)

Max weight in kg? Min battery life in hours?
QUOTE(torres09 @ Jun 6 2020, 08:34 PM)
Looking for budget laptop 1600-1800.
At least i3 with 4gb RAM. Can be SSD or HDD.
No dedicated graphics card needed and screen size prefer 14" or smaller.
Just for basic use and won't be multitasking much.
Thanks sifus.
Can up to around RM2k? Since there isn't a single decent model around that budget
QUOTE(zeint @ Jun 6 2020, 10:31 PM)
Hi, sifus!

I'm looking for a laptop for my foundation and degree studies. Course for the degree is probably engineering or computer science. The laptop should've no problem to be used in South Korea since I will further my studies there. So the laptop should be last for 5-6 years

1. Budget : 3k - 4k
2. Usage: Mainly university usage, Microsoft office, engineering and programming applications, video editing (I love to edit video), watching movies. (Gaming are not so important, I rarely play games but some of the game that I play are Paladins and CSGO)
3. Requirements:
Display: Maybe around 14-16 inch?
Weight: Preferable lightweight
Battery: Long last
Storage: Bigger is better I think because im still not familiar with cloud storage.
But I also would love a fast laptop ... dilemma..

Chan3 P
post Jun 7 2020, 12:04 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 6 2020, 11:42 PM)

Not sure but I'm guessing something like AutoCAD?

Weight<2kg, battery>6 hours, lighter weight and longer battery life would be better.

No preference on the display. Any laptop will do (ultrabook/gaming).
zeint
post Jun 7 2020, 12:13 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 6 2020, 11:42 PM)

I don't know about the engineering programs yet,
something that related to robotic engineering?
maybe autoCad too.

The lighter weight the better, I've been carrying 3kg bagpack since f1 till f5, it's not really a problem.
Battery hours can be used from morning to evening maybe from 9-5 (if any).

ZM Fong
post Jun 7 2020, 03:45 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chan3 @ Jun 7 2020, 12:04 PM)
Not sure but I'm guessing something like AutoCAD?

Weight<2kg, battery>6 hours, lighter weight and longer battery life would be better.

No preference on the display. Any laptop will do (ultrabook/gaming).
I would strongly suggest either sacrificing weight or battery life a little for a gaming laptop due to more powerful specs
QUOTE(zeint @ Jun 7 2020, 12:13 PM)
I don't know about the engineering programs yet,
something that related to robotic engineering?
maybe autoCad too.

The lighter weight the better, I've been carrying 3kg bagpack since f1 till f5, it's not really a problem.
Battery hours can be used from morning to evening maybe from 9-5 (if any).
Legion 5 customize: apply code LENXCIMB (RM4032.20)
R7-4800H, GTX1650, 16GB RAM, 512GB/1TB SSD (first storage, can add SSD in second M.2 slot later), 300nits 60Hz, 80Wh battery

R5-4600H is also fine if you want to save some money
Chan3 P
post Jun 7 2020, 04:39 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 7 2020, 03:45 PM)
I would strongly suggest either sacrificing weight or battery life a little for a gaming laptop due to more powerful specs

Sure, pls recommend for both compromise on weight and battery life. Any viable options for non-gaming laptops as well?
ZM Fong
post Jun 7 2020, 05:24 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chan3 @ Jun 7 2020, 04:39 PM)
Sure, pls recommend for both compromise on weight and battery life. Any viable options for non-gaming laptops as well?
You can refer to this post:
R7-4800H, GTX1650, 16GB RAM, 512GB/1TB SSD (first storage, can add SSD in second M.2 slot later), 300nits 60Hz, 80Wh battery
For your requirements and budget, get R5-4600H. Get 120Hz 45% if you often game, otherwise 300nits 60Hz.

For non gaming laptop, you might want to consider laptops with Ryzen 4600U/4700U/4800U. So far there's only 1 option for that - Ideapad Flex 5.
R7-4700U, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, RM3410 with LENXCIMB code
zeint
post Jun 7 2020, 06:32 PM

51 posts

R5-4600H is also fine if you want to save some money
Is it legion 5 15 customize?
ZM Fong
post Jun 7 2020, 07:00 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(zeint @ Jun 7 2020, 06:32 PM)
Is it legion 5 15 customize?
yes
Chan3 P
post Jun 7 2020, 09:41 PM

Probation

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 7 2020, 05:24 PM)
You can refer to this post:

For your requirements and budget, get R5-4600H. Get 120Hz 45% if you often game, otherwise 300nits 60Hz.

For non gaming laptop, you might want to consider laptops with Ryzen 4600U/4700U/4800U. So far there's only 1 option for that - Ideapad Flex 5.
R7-4700U, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD, RM3410 with LENXCIMB code
May I know how the Acer Swift 3 compares with both the Legion and Ideapad?
ZM Fong
post Jun 7 2020, 09:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Chan3 @ Jun 7 2020, 09:41 PM)
May I know how the Acer Swift 3 compares with both the Legion and Ideapad?
You mean the one with Ryzen 4500U? (SF314-42)

Swift 3 isn't a performance orientated Ultrabook and IMO your workload require good CPU performance
Fortunatus
post Jun 7 2020, 10:38 PM

47 posts

1. Budget : Up to 4k
2. Usage : Zoom class, touchscreen drawing
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
- display size <14 with touchscreen
- weight < 2 kg
- battery life long, at least 8 hours if possible
- for my son zoom class, not for game, graphic is totally optional
Webcam and mic -must have

This post has been edited by Fortunatus: Jun 7 2020, 10:59 PM
catchmeifyoucan
post Jun 7 2020, 10:46 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(niicklim @ Jun 6 2020, 04:32 PM)
Hi, thanks you sifu for your recommendation.
Spent some time to compare the specs of Raven SE & Legion 5 15, and we realized Legion 5 15 worth the money more.
My girlfriend in the end bought Lenovo Legion 5 15 with LENXCIMB at RM3340 by topping up to 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD & 300nits 100%RGB display.

Thank you again.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Can you explain to me?  sweat.gif
How did you manage to get it for RM3340 only? Used LENXCIMB at it was cheaper to use the code WEEKEND. However the price is still higher and came up to RM3,690.

164 Pages « < 144 145 146 147 148 > » Top

0.0446sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:10 PM