164 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.32, Need To Buy Laptop..? Please Come In

gigigigi99
post Jun 4 2020, 07:57 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Jun 4 2020, 02:48 PM)
Hello sifu, would like a laptop recommendation.

1. Budget : RM3-4k
2. Usage  : Gaming (mainly CSGO) and uni work mainly
3. Requirements (display size, battery life, weight etc) :
Display size (prefer 17 inch if possiblem but if it's too much of a compromise then 15inch should be good), battery should be okay for some uni classes as well

Thank you!
Asus TUF - AMD ryzen biggrin.gif
HayateAyakasi8
post Jun 4 2020, 09:48 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(shrade @ Jun 4 2020, 05:48 PM)
Acer nitro 5 AN515-52-50WX 15.6 inch. price might be lower than your budget but should be able to cater to your needs
Ah yes, saw this one just need to get a 16gb RAM kit and should be good to go. Thanks!

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 4 2020, 06:13 PM)
you're welcome

min how many hours for battery life? (rough figures will do)

no preference on weight?
Maybe 4-5hrs?
Weight, shouldn't be too heavy. 2-3kg im guessing

QUOTE(gigigigi99 @ Jun 4 2020, 07:57 PM)
Asus TUF - AMD ryzen biggrin.gif
Which model boss? Also, what are the specs for that one?

This post has been edited by HayateAyakasi8: Jun 4 2020, 09:49 PM
Djkarut
post Jun 5 2020, 09:29 AM

266 posts

Hello otais, helping a friend to look for new laptop. Thank you in advance biggrin.gif

1. Budget : max 3k
2. Usage : Microsoft office, CATIA, SOLIDWORK
atleast 480gb storage

ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 11:07 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(HayateAyakasi8 @ Jun 4 2020, 09:48 PM)
Maybe 4-5hrs?
Weight, shouldn't be too heavy. 2-3kg im guessing
Lenovo Legion 5i 17 customize / 82B3002FMJ: apply code LENXCIMB
QUOTE(Djkarut @ Jun 5 2020, 09:29 AM)
Hello otais, helping a friend to look for new laptop. Thank you in advance  biggrin.gif

1. Budget : max 3k
2. Usage : Microsoft office, CATIA, SOLIDWORK
atleast 480gb storage
No preferences on weight and battery life?
starry-starry
post Jun 5 2020, 11:23 AM

918 posts

With the budget around RM2.5k, which model of the following model do you recommend?

1) Acer Swift 3 SF314-42-R8A9 https://www.acer.com/ac/en/MY/content/model/NX.HSESM.001
- AMD Ryzen 5 4500U
- 8GB DDR4 RAM
- 512GB NVMe SSD
- AMD Radeon Graphics
- Windows 10 Home
- 14” Full HD IPS Display (1080p)

2) Thankpad E495
- AMD Ryzen 5 3500U Processor (2.10GHz 2MB) https://www.lenovo.com/my/en/laptops/thinkp...ASAAEgKRePD_BwE
- 8.0GB PC4-19200 DDR4 SODIMM 2400MHz
- 256GB SSD PCIe
- AMD Radeon Vega8 Graphics
- Windows 10 Home 64
- 14.0"LED Backlit HD AntiGlare 1366 x 768

Thank you!!!

This post has been edited by starry-starry: Jun 5 2020, 11:32 AM
shrade
post Jun 5 2020, 11:32 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(starry-starry @ Jun 5 2020, 11:23 AM)
With the budget around RM2.5k, which model of the following model do you recommend?

1) Acer Swift 3 SF314-42-R8A9
- AMD Ryzen 5 4500U
- 8GB DDR4 RAM
- 512GB NVMe SSD
- AMD Radeon Graphics
- Windows 10 Home
- 14” Full HD IPS Display (1080p)

2) Thankpad E495
- AMD Ryzen 5 3500U Processor (2.10GHz 2MB)
- 8.0GB PC4-19200 DDR4 SODIMM 2400MHz
- 256GB SSD PCIe
- AMD Radeon Vega8 Graphics
- Windows 10 Home 64
- 14.0"LED Backlit HD AntiGlare 1366 x 768

Thank you!!!
acer swift 3, bigger storage, resolution and most importantly, sleek look biggrin.gif
Djkarut
post Jun 5 2020, 12:11 PM

266 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 4 2020, 08:07 PM)
Lenovo Legion 5i 17 customize / 82B3002FMJ: apply code LENXCIMB

No preferences on weight and battery life?
Nopee
ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 12:37 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Djkarut @ Jun 5 2020, 12:11 PM)
Nopee
Can consider Nitro 5 (9300H version) but in order to have acceptable thermals, you must on max fans when laptop is under load (eg gaming)
Dextrolidin
post Jun 5 2020, 01:29 PM

31 posts

Hello, I am currently using hp spectre x 360 (2018 edition) it does have a thunderbolt slot. May I know if it suitable to use for Razer Core X Chroma? or am I better off buying new laptop?

But I like the light weight of my current laptop. Can advice please?
ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 01:59 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Dextrolidin @ Jun 5 2020, 01:29 PM)
Hello, I am currently using hp spectre x 360 (2018 edition) it does have a thunderbolt slot. May I know if it suitable to use for Razer Core X Chroma? or am I better off buying new laptop?

But I like the light weight of my current laptop. Can advice please?
eGPU cost isn't cheap, for that price you might want to get a gaming laptop aldy. If you need GPU power on the go, eGPU might not be an ideal solution since it's quite heavy. Only consider it if you want a ultra portable laptop to bring around, not needing GPU power when on the go.

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 5 2020, 02:01 PM
Dextrolidin
post Jun 5 2020, 02:17 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 01:59 PM)
eGPU cost isn't cheap, for that price you might want to get a gaming laptop aldy. If you need GPU power on the go, eGPU might not be an ideal solution since it's quite heavy. Only consider it if you want a ultra portable laptop to bring around, not needing GPU power when on the go.
Thank you so much for the advice. Yup my work requires me to move around so prefer ultra portable and leave the gaming distraction at home.

Does eGPU works as long as your laptop have thunderbolt 3?

Also may I know if there is any recommended place I can purchase Razer Core X chroma? Thank you.
ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 02:19 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Dextrolidin @ Jun 5 2020, 02:17 PM)
Does eGPU works as long as your laptop have thunderbolt 3?

Also may I know if there is any recommended place I can purchase Razer Core X chroma? Thank you.
Technically yes, however the process is not as straight forward from what I know, since there might be compatibility and driver related issues

Tech Armory do sell Razer Core X.
Dextrolidin
post Jun 5 2020, 04:07 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 02:19 PM)
Technically yes, however the process is not as straight forward from what I know, since there might be compatibility and driver related issues

okay, thank you so much for your advice! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
niicklim P
post Jun 5 2020, 05:54 PM

Probation
15 posts

Hi sifu, actually I had go thru this forums and your replies. Agak agak know what are the good laptops for my need within budget of RM3000 (Nitro 5, X395, Acer Swift 3, Illegear Raven SE (is this still around RM3k?), E595, Legion Y530, Y540, Y7000, etc.)

Still, I want a double confirm because I don't want to choose a wrong laptop for my girlfriend. Also, I don't really understand Malaysia laptop market (i researched thru reddit at first, but realized malaysia don't have alot US laptops), that's why I came to here.

Details:
1. Budget: Max RM3000 (unless it is really worth it, can further to RM3500 max)
2. Usage: MS Office (college use), chrome multiple tabs, digital illustration, gaming (dota 2, might try to play new games)
3. Requirement:
- Preferable 14-15"
- 3-5 hrs battery life (always attached to it, so it's okay if weaker)
- Preferable to be light, don't too heavy - below 2.4kg (this is for my girlfriend, she need to carry around the college after MCO)
- 4GB RAM is fine
- Min storage 512GB SSD (coz wan to use for at least 3 years)
- GPU prefer to be 4GB to hav better game performance (I know below 3k hardly hav 4GB dGPU - is it really worth it to top up to RM3000-3500 for better GPU? If the difference is huge I will convince my girlfriend to invest for the better one.)
- high sRGB (for digital illustration purpose, the color need to be right)

So far we are considering Nitro 5 + RAM (as you suggested the same to a-lot other ppl previously), but it is with AMD processor.

My girlfriend is very skeptical to AMD processors and GPU, and skeptical to lenovo's quality (because it's from china) when I suggested Y540 to her. i explained to her but she still quite skeptical about it.

If you don't mind, can you explain the pros and cons of AMD processors & GPU here?

Also, reading thru your replies I learnt about some companies like Level51 (Forge51), Techarmory (Commandos Glock 5) & Illegear (Raven SE). Are these companies reliable? Coz their products look so attractive to me but my girlfriend demn skeptical about them. sweat.gif

Want to hear some words about them from you. smile.gif

Hope to listen from you soon sifu, thanks smile.gif
ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 08:37 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(Dextrolidin @ Jun 5 2020, 04:07 PM)
okay, thank you so much for your advice!  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
you're welcome
QUOTE(niicklim @ Jun 5 2020, 05:54 PM)
Details:
snip
I would strongly suggest upping budget to around RM3.5k (although it's still not ideal since 1650 GPU doesn't have good price per performance)

Nowadays every laptops are from China, and from recent trend Lenovo is putting effort in making laptops (after getting bashed for years) unlike some brands

Since it's for college use, I would suggest getting something with bigger battery (no need to bring around charger, unless need to do heavy task). Consider Legion 5 / 5i / 5Pi with 300nits 60Hz panel, best if you can spec the 80Wh battery (you won't find any other gaming laptop with such big battery in this price bracket), although it does comes with some extra cost. Use code LENXCIMB

Weight is around 2.3-2.4kg. Get 16GB RAM.

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jun 5 2020, 08:47 PM
niicklim P
post Jun 5 2020, 08:54 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 08:37 PM)
you're welcome

I would strongly suggest upping budget to around RM3.5k (although it's still not ideal since 1650 GPU doesn't have good price per performance)

Nowadays every laptops are from China, and from recent trend Lenovo is putting effort in making laptops (after getting bashed for years) unlike some brands

Since it's for college use, I would suggest getting something with bigger battery (no need to bring around charger, unless need to do heavy task). Consider Legion 5 / 5i / 5Pi with 300nits 60Hz panel, best if you can spec the 80Wh battery, although it does comes with some extra cost. Use code LENXCIMB

Weight is around 2.3-2.4kg. Get 16GB RAM.
Thanks for replying me.
I got 2 more questions.

1) Since it's around that the similar price range for Legion 5 / 5i / 5Pi, would it better to still go for Legion 5 series or consider Illegear Raven SE?
I introduced Illegear Raven SE to her and she seems to like it, but it is very pricey.

2) Also,
Is there any laptops that is around this details? (I marked-down some of the requirement)
I want prepare some backup plan for my girlfriend, still I will convince her to invest for the best within RM3500 instead turn for below RM3000.

Details:
1. Budget: Max RM3000 (preferable to be within RM2500-3000)
2. Usage: MS Office (college use), chrome multiple tabs, digital illustration, gaming (dota 2, might try to play new games)
3. Requirement:
- Preferable 14-15"
- Preferable to be light, don't too heavy - below 2.4kg (this is for my girlfriend, she need to carry around the college after MCO)
- 4GB RAM is fine
- ok GPU, as long as it's not just Intel Integrated GPU

Thank you again. notworthy.gif

ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 10:32 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(niicklim @ Jun 5 2020, 08:54 PM)
Thanks for replying me.
I got 2 more questions.

1) Since it's around that the similar price range for Legion 5 / 5i / 5Pi, would it better to still go for Legion 5 series or consider Illegear Raven SE?
I introduced Illegear Raven SE to her and she seems to like it, but it is very pricey.

2) Also,
Is there any laptops that is around this details? (I marked-down some of the requirement)
I want prepare some backup plan for my girlfriend, still I will convince her to invest for the best within RM3500 instead turn for below RM3000.

Details:
1. Budget: Max RM3000 (preferable to be within RM2500-3000)
3. Requirement:
- Preferable 14-15"
- 4GB RAM is fine
- ok GPU, as long as it's not just Intel Integrated GPU

Thank you again.  notworthy.gif
1. Only get Raven SE if you need the slightly lighter weight

2. Fine with non gaming laptop?
niicklim P
post Jun 5 2020, 10:37 PM

Probation
15 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 10:32 PM)
1. Only get Raven SE if you need the slightly lighter weight

2. Fine with non gaming laptop?
1. So more or less Legion 5 series and Raven SE are the same in term of value for money, but just that Raven SE is lighter, is that right?

2. Yea it's okay for non-gaming laptop.
ZM Fong
post Jun 5 2020, 10:47 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(niicklim @ Jun 5 2020, 10:37 PM)
1. So more or less Legion 5 series and Raven SE are the same in term of value for money, but just that Raven SE is lighter, is that right?

2. Yea it's okay for non-gaming laptop.
1. There are other differences too like details in chassis quality, after sales (onsite vs carry in), cooling performance etc

2. Acer Swift 3 SF314-55G-55DX, not the most ideal choice but choices are limited
chocobo7779
post Jun 6 2020, 09:45 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jun 5 2020, 02:19 PM)

Also the CPU may end up bottlenecking the GPU, considering most ultraportables have quite underpowered ULV CPUs sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jun 6 2020, 09:59 AM

164 Pages « < 143 144 145 146 147 > » Top

0.0573sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:55 AM