126 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Model Kits Model Kits/Toys Painting, Building, Modding Thread, Q&A about tips and technique here

SWATwolf
post Oct 14 2007, 10:36 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(fyire @ Oct 14 2007, 03:26 AM)
Ergh.. that sucks. Actually, the spray is not exactly wrong, I suspect its more to do with how u spray it on.

Its likely that u held the spray too close to the model. Those spray cans has got a pretty high velocity, as well as a high volume output, so u need to hold the can from at least 12 inches away. This' why I tend to regard those spray cans as rather wasteful, but well, if u dun have an airbrush, then no choice lar...
I see. 12 inch eh... tat kinda waste... sweat.gif but nvm, learned my lesson this time.
kurz
post Oct 14 2007, 02:15 PM

176 posts

guys..what size is this metal thruster?
i wanna add it to my G-defenser too.

edit: image from keita's site smile.gif
guys..u know bout this?

dante_cool
post Oct 15 2007, 05:54 AM

hey guys,

Got a question. How do you actually remove the decals ?

I plan to refurbish ( tongue.gif ) my Freedom Gundam. Going to get some extra decals and re-do it again, cause that was my first MG and I pretty much a noob at it. Most of the decals are all falling apart.

Can someone please advise the best course of action.

dante_cool
sunnyboy
post Oct 15 2007, 09:00 AM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Oct 14 2007, 01:13 AM)
oh dear... i think i bought the wrong spray....

top coat spray is out of stock... hence the shop intro me this mr.hobby: mr. super clear (semi gloss)

when i spray on my gundam... the color melt off. T_T now i have to repaint all over again.
abang...u paint it thick la...must remeber that the paint itself contain thinner as well, when u paint it too think, the thinner will "thin" the color underneath it.

hav to spray it in thin layer....

wink.gif
fyire
post Oct 15 2007, 11:12 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Oct 14 2007, 10:36 AM)
I see. 12 inch eh... tat kinda waste...  sweat.gif but nvm, learned my lesson this time.
12 inch is just a rough guide lar.. apply your normal paint on a few scrap pieces of plastic, then experiment with the top coat on those pieces first. Start off with 12 inches, then slowly adjust closer or further on those scrap plastic until you find the distance that works best for you. Also, the longer u use the same spray can, the more the pressure will reduce, so you'll need to compensate for that too later, especially when the can is finishing
kenny B
post Oct 15 2007, 02:38 PM

846 posts

um guys, how do you get paint off the surface?
acidentally got dark red on a white surface, so cannot cover up i guess sad.gif
post Oct 15 2007, 02:46 PM

1,447 posts

I used hobby thinner and a tissue to wipe them off! It works for me!
kenny B
post Oct 15 2007, 02:58 PM

846 posts

i thought thinner will dissolve the plastic?
ok will try later. very hard to spray 2 colours on a same surface for a newb like me.
sunnyboy
post Oct 15 2007, 03:07 PM

1,446 posts

QUOTE(kenny B @ Oct 15 2007, 02:58 PM)
i thought thinner will dissolve the plastic?
ok will try later. very hard to spray 2 colours on a same surface for a newb like me.
he meant thinner for hobby 1, for from industrial
chriswoo
post Oct 16 2007, 12:38 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(k33vin @ Oct 16 2007, 12:01 AM)
STICKER?!?.. thts s_x!!

anyway.. the NG version should be a better buy?.. since is bigger size, the painting should be done more accurately rite?

cheers~  notworthy.gif
well NG version still need to paint if u want 100% accurate color other than tat is just look like a platic toy color other then that i recommend u buy the model with golden letter 'MG' becox it won't need to color and give u the satifaction u need after builded ^.^
Doomsday
post Oct 16 2007, 03:24 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 16 2007, 12:38 AM)
well NG version still need to paint if u want 100% accurate color other than tat is just look like a platic toy color other then that i recommend u buy the model with golden letter 'MG' becox it won't need to color and give u the satifaction u need after builded ^.^
MG no need to paint unlike HG does?

This post has been edited by Doomsday: Oct 16 2007, 08:52 AM
chriswoo
post Oct 16 2007, 03:36 AM

98 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Oct 16 2007, 03:24 AM)
MG no need to paint like HG does?
yup no need at all unless u want custom color of couse but other than tat it OOB that mean u see wat u get at the box picture
Doomsday
post Oct 16 2007, 08:53 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 16 2007, 03:36 AM)
yup no need at all unless u want custom color of couse but other than tat it OOB that mean u see wat u get at the box picture
now I know most of the Gundam collect why choose MG over HG
Endless9930
post Oct 16 2007, 09:12 AM

757 posts

QUOTE(Doomsday @ Oct 16 2007, 08:53 AM)
now I know most of the Gundam collect why choose MG over HG
HAHA

Ya, MG is lots better than HG, not only in details on the outside, but the inside too!!!

But higher in price.........
polimof
post Oct 16 2007, 09:50 AM

QUOTE(k33vin @ Oct 16 2007, 12:01 AM)
STICKER?!?.. thts s_x!!

anyway.. the NG version should be a better buy?.. since is bigger size, the painting should be done more accurately rite?

cheers~  notworthy.gif
try not to buy from jusco except when sale tongue.gif .. their price is way too high for gundam kit.. you can buy from toys shop like graffiti at times square or u can buy from lyn garage sale.. there are some sellers who sell gundam kit cheaper than jusco.. such as edisson and his agents..
SWATwolf
post Oct 16 2007, 12:14 PM

431 posts

i think there some parts on MG still need to paint.
IMHO only la... tongue.gif
chriswoo
post Oct 16 2007, 01:41 PM

98 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Oct 16 2007, 12:14 PM)
i think there some parts on MG still need to paint.
IMHO only la... tongue.gif
well just a little 1 like pilot and base stand nia other than tat i think no need already for sure unless u want repaint everything of cause but otherwise is 100% no need paint and look very nice after u do panel lining
whoami123
post Oct 16 2007, 02:21 PM

Wee Wang Wang ~~~
1,117 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 16 2007, 01:41 PM)
well just a little 1 like pilot and base stand nia other than tat i think no need already for sure unless u want repaint everything of cause but otherwise is 100% no need paint and look very nice after u do panel lining
You still need to paint the whole MG if you want it to look like the one shown on the MG box
TSVincC454
post Oct 16 2007, 02:34 PM

...i'm a dreamer
4,077 posts

^ true...fully painted if you want to look exactly like the one on the box...not only that...but also to cover all the seam lines.

well....if you can go with the plastic feel of your kit...then its ok not to paint at all...even with flat topcoat without any paint...it still feel toyish plastic
kurz
post Oct 16 2007, 03:23 PM

176 posts

waa relax r..he stil new..heh
me oso havent learn paint..
neway handpaint sould be the best start yea?
unless u can buy AB

126 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0267sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:59 PM