157 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Buying directly from Lenovo Malaysia website?

ZM Fong
post Dec 15 2020, 12:31 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 15 2020, 12:27 PM)
This promo code better than GIVINGUP?
Or GIVINGUP ady expired?
GIVINGUP code is based on base price instead of sale price, base price of T14 AMD is super high so GIVINGUP will give higher price than before discount
sHawTY
post Dec 15 2020, 12:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(averagevic @ Dec 15 2020, 12:19 PM)
I use DEC1212 with legion 5
Cancel your order and re-order again using GIVINGUP
I've just tested, GIVINGUP gives higher discount than DEC1212

averagevic
post Dec 15 2020, 02:22 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 15 2020, 12:33 PM)
Cancel your order and re-order again using GIVINGUP
I've just tested, GIVINGUP gives higher discount than DEC1212

I talked to Lenovo chat. When they hear i want to cancel order, they stop replying. lol

sHawTY
post Dec 15 2020, 02:33 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(averagevic @ Dec 15 2020, 02:22 PM)
I talked to Lenovo chat. When they hear i want to cancel order, they stop replying. lol
Send an email to mycs@lenovo.com
They will proceed to cancel your order but will ask you several time though to confirm that you want to cancel the order
df569
post Dec 15 2020, 02:59 PM

112 posts

Hi sifus, I'm looking to buy a T14 AMD from Lenovo Malaysia website and I stumbled across this forum about the overall experience and CS. So basically this is a laptop my parents are buying me for uni and they're a little bit skeptical about buying expensive electronics online. Should I go ahead and order? Seems like alot of hassle to deal with shipping problems with Lenovo Malaysia. I stay near Shah Alam if that helps.

If I order are there any steps I need to take? Not in a hurry to receive the laptop, just want to make sure it arrives in 1 piece. If there are problems upon arrival, where do I take it to? First time buying expensive electronics online, esp since its not my own money I'm afraid of the risks. Thanks in advance.
sHawTY
post Dec 15 2020, 04:45 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Dec 15 2020, 02:59 PM)
So basically this is a laptop my parents are buying me for uni
What are you going to use it for?
T14 for studies? A waste of money I would say
To me, ThinkPad & ThinkBook is more suited for working-class people

I would advise you to go for Legion 5 instead
Yeah it's heavy, but it's also heavy-duty which you can use not just for studying, you can also use it for gaming as well

And the cooling power of the Legion 5 is leaps and bounds better than any ThinkPad / ThinkBook
df569
post Dec 15 2020, 05:16 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Dec 15 2020, 04:45 PM)
What are you going to use it for?
T14 for studies? A waste of money I would say
To me, ThinkPad & ThinkBook is more suited for working-class people

I would advise you to go for Legion 5 instead
Yeah it's heavy, but it's also heavy-duty which you can use not just for studying, you can also use it for gaming as well

And the cooling power of the Legion 5 is leaps and bounds better than any ThinkPad / ThinkBook
But I'm skeptical about the 60wh battery, upgrading to the 80wh battery option is quite a bit more expensive. I have considered Legion 5 15 but afraid of it's battery life.

Using it for college, planning to head for engineering undergrad. Also I see that you recommend the on site repair option upgrade from the base warranty right?
sHawTY
post Dec 15 2020, 05:56 PM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Dec 15 2020, 05:16 PM)
But I'm skeptical about the 60wh battery, upgrading to the 80wh battery option is quite a bit more expensive. I have considered Legion 5 15 but afraid of it's battery life.

Using it for college, planning to head for engineering undergrad. Also I see that you recommend the on site repair option upgrade from the base warranty right?
You worry too much about the battery life
The original 60wH battery is enough, it's just that the 80wH battery even longer battery life, that's all
Ofcourse you can't expect long battery life when you game LOL. Normal usage should last you around 4 hours, depending on the specs you get
My younger brother played Netflix on his laptop and it pass 5 hours before the battery dipped to 5%
The model that I bought for him is with Ryzen 5 4600H + GTX 1650 (non-Ti). Ryzen 7 4800H + GTX 1650 Ti / GTX 1660 Ti / RTX 2060 would last even shorter ofcourse

Yes, onsite warranty is very important both for personal & commercial use
Even more so when you are a student, you don't want your laptop to be down for a very long time right?
With onsite warranty, you just have to call Lenovo helpline, state your issue, follow the troubleshooting guide by Lenovo, then if the troubleshooting guide by Lenovo fails, they will send their engineer on the next working day

Without onsite warranty, you will have to send the laptop to Lenovo service center and wait between 14 ~ 30 working days for them to repair it
Even worse if they don't have the stock for the replacement part, you might have to wait up to 60 days

This post has been edited by sHawTY: Dec 15 2020, 05:58 PM
Autocountstick
post Dec 15 2020, 06:01 PM

654 posts

i almost done transaction 7K last i cancelled it cause i saw 8weeks,
how come expensive stuff slow than cheap stuff delivery
Mr Gray
post Dec 15 2020, 10:17 PM

924 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Dec 15 2020, 02:59 PM)
Hi sifus, I'm looking to buy a T14 AMD from Lenovo Malaysia website and I stumbled across this forum about the overall experience and CS. So basically this is a laptop my parents are buying me for uni and they're a little bit skeptical about buying expensive electronics online. Should I go ahead and order? Seems like alot of hassle to deal with shipping problems with Lenovo Malaysia. I stay near Shah Alam if that helps.

If I order are there any steps I need to take? Not in a hurry to receive the laptop, just want to make sure it arrives in 1 piece. If there are problems upon arrival, where do I take it to? First time buying expensive electronics online, esp since its not my own money I'm afraid of the risks. Thanks in advance.
Go ahead. T14 amd is more than good enough for studies. I got myself T14S, a slimmer and lighter version with longer battery life. Very happy with it thus far. Super fast, and crazy long battery life. Or if you're at it, you might wanna look at x13 too.

Once you use thinkpad keyboard, you'll never want to use other laptop keyboard anymore.

Everything else is quite smooth. The only thing is very long shipping time. Expect 1-2 months. If you're very lucky, you will get it in less than a month.

Unless you're a gamer, you can go for legion. I don't play serious games, more towards word, excel, photoshop. So thinkpad t14s works perfectly.
df569
post Dec 16 2020, 11:00 AM

112 posts

QUOTE(Mr Gray @ Dec 15 2020, 10:17 PM)
Go ahead. T14 amd is more than good enough for studies. I got myself T14S, a slimmer and lighter version with longer battery life. Very happy with it thus far. Super fast, and crazy long battery life. Or if you're at it, you might wanna look at x13 too.

Once you use thinkpad keyboard, you'll never want to use other laptop keyboard anymore.

Everything else is quite smooth. The only thing is very long shipping time. Expect 1-2 months. If you're very lucky, you will get it in less than a month.

Unless you're a gamer, you can go for legion. I don't play serious games, more towards word, excel, photoshop. So thinkpad t14s works perfectly.
Agreed, the only thing is that I know I'm going to use some light AutoCAD in a few years time, that's why I'm considering the Legion 5 along with the T14. I actually don't play any games, my only form of entertainment is YouTube or PDF books, so the GPU on the Legion 5 won't be utilised until I come across simulator stuff in the future.

Currently I'm looking at these 2
T14 AMD
Ryzen 7 4650 Pro
16GB ram
512GB SSD
14.0" 400nits display
RM4200~

Legion 5
Ryzen 5 4600H
16GB ram
512GB SSD
15.6" 144Hz 5ms display
Nvidia 1650Ti GPU
RM4200~

They are almost the same exact price, but the T14 has WWAN function which allows me to utilize my data plan. (I have a really old phone with bad battery life that I use for Google Meet/Zoom classes) That way I don't have to turn my phone into a data hotspot for every online class.
karheng
post Dec 16 2020, 11:07 AM

934 posts

Schedule updated again:

Expected to Ship
First est. Feb 3
2nd update Jan 14
Latest : Dec 29

blur19755
post Dec 16 2020, 11:17 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Dec 16 2020, 11:07 AM)
Schedule updated again:

Expected to Ship
First est. Feb 3
2nd update Jan 14

we are on the same pace bro.
In fact, it actually changed the delivery date a few times

This post has been edited by blur19755: Dec 16 2020, 11:17 AM
ZM Fong
post Dec 16 2020, 11:54 AM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Dec 16 2020, 11:00 AM)
Agreed, the only thing is that I know I'm going to use some light AutoCAD in a few years time, that's why I'm considering the Legion 5 along with the T14. I actually don't play any games, my only form of entertainment is YouTube or PDF books, so the GPU on the Legion 5 won't be utilised until I come across simulator stuff in the future.

Currently I'm looking at these 2
T14 AMD
Ryzen 7 4650 Pro
16GB ram
512GB SSD
14.0" 400nits display
RM4200~

Legion 5
Ryzen 5 4600H
16GB ram
512GB SSD
15.6" 144Hz 5ms display
Nvidia 1650Ti GPU
RM4200~

They are almost the same exact price, but the T14 has WWAN function which allows me to utilize my data plan. (I have a really old phone with bad battery life that I use for Google Meet/Zoom classes) That way I don't have to turn my phone into a data hotspot for every online class.
you can get L5 prebuilt with R5+1650 for under RM3.5k with coupon...(1650Ti not worth)
averagevic
post Dec 16 2020, 11:57 AM

130 posts

I order legion 5 on Dec 14, Today it is shipped to Singapore. Cannot cancel the order.
df569
post Dec 16 2020, 12:28 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 16 2020, 11:54 AM)
you can get L5 prebuilt with R5+1650 for under RM3.5k with coupon...(1650Ti not worth)
60wh battery is too poor for me....I can imagine searching for power outlets at campus is going to be a headache. Unless you have any solutions for it? Need some help picking between the 2 options.
ZM Fong
post Dec 16 2020, 12:52 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(df569 @ Dec 16 2020, 12:28 PM)
60wh battery is too poor for me....I can imagine searching for power outlets at campus is going to be a headache. Unless you have any solutions for it? Need some help picking between the 2 options.
do you play games? if yes what games?
df569
post Dec 16 2020, 12:55 PM

112 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Dec 16 2020, 12:52 PM)
do you play games? if yes what games?
uh no, only YouTube and reading online books. I haven't touch games since I was 15 and i don't see myself playing games in the future. But i do spend alot of time on YouTube heh
Travaller
post Dec 16 2020, 01:02 PM

269 posts

I got my laptop 2 days ago and my FIL saw it and say wanna replace his very old laptop. So I order L14 AMD for him coz he say 15 like so big. 😂😂.. Here goes the waiting time again.
s_d_n_10
post Dec 16 2020, 01:30 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(karheng @ Dec 16 2020, 11:07 AM)
Schedule updated again:

Expected to Ship
First est. Feb 3
2nd update Jan 14

Same as me also.