TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 29 2007, 10:22 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 29 2007, 09:07 PM)
I didn't know that time when I bought Safari. Only got to know about it when I throughly read through here sweat.gif noob sweat.gif

Now hunting for a waterer since Safari doesn't include it.
Ohh... normally pet shops also recommend the mini one for Robos.... anyway, nevermind, is ok wan, still can use.

Waterer? Just get a normal drinking bottle lah. Habitrail also got. Do not get the Mushroom drinker coz to me, it is not that practical and it gets dirty fast. A normal drinking bottle would do.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 30 2007, 10:51 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Oct 29 2007, 10:25 PM)
Well apparently that Pet Safari is divided into different departments. Bought the robos from the small animals sections then Safari, food, bedding, etc in the center area where they got the accessories. The attendants wasn't helpful at all but luckily read through the 1st few post earlier.
Ahh... yah, the staff there are quite outdated with their knowledge.... but what to do? They got no urge to update themselves, no urge to learn.... only work there for salary hahahah.... Anyway, if you got any problems can ask here lah.

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Oct 29 2007, 10:29 PM)
My robos are really short so I use one of those waterers for them. If use bottle I think have to hang really low coz they are still small.

Really small la, I'm always afraid I'm gonna crush them
Aiyoh, so small tongue.gif But then Robos are that small. I prefer WW and campbell but if got White Face Robos, I don't mind getting coz they look really cute as whitish robos.

QUOTE(NeaRDeatH @ Oct 30 2007, 04:46 AM)
thx for the advice crazymouse_yyh... but juz now i notice that my female pudding is figthing the male sapphire... cry.gif  cry.gif huhu...at first they were ok playing together...but now seem like i must separate them sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Fight is normally because they do not like each other or the female is pregnant. I suggest you remove the male coz you are risking breeding a hybrid with a pure.... don't make more hybrids out lah....

But 1 thing many people dunno about is that Dwarf hamsters are the hardest to pair.... you see, is like humans, we also don't like certain people rite? So if you pair them up and they hate each other, of course they would fight. That is why it is always best to get siblings..... safer and also easier. If you can't get siblings, might as well keep them singly. Dwarf hamsters can live solitary lives....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 30 2007, 12:52 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(NeaRDeatH @ Oct 30 2007, 12:31 PM)
owh...thx again...i'm really a noob here  doh.gif ..i'll separate them but do u know where is the places to get cheap plastic tank?? at my place at gombak there are selling pretty expensive  sweat.gif
Gombak sure expensive, I live at Setapak I also go else where to buy hahahah.... if you can, visit Petaling Street or Pudu.... you can get cheap ones.

Say a 1.5ft, you may get Rm25 for it.... but in Gombak, people mark it to RM30-Rm35
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 31 2007, 08:15 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(lapsap @ Oct 31 2007, 06:20 AM)
which jalan pasar? any landmarks?

guys.. just wanna ask..whats the most active time for the hamster that you all have?
i read most article that they have nocturnal lifestyle.but mine is the opposite 1.. he wake at 5 am, then go back sleep at 6 pm.
I depends on your lighting and room temperature. But it doesn't really matter if they are up in the day or night, majority are asleep during the day.

QUOTE(jaswwp @ Oct 31 2007, 11:55 AM)
Maybe the hamster gets mixed up by the lights in our house? My hamsters also not really nocturnal, at night they are mostly sleeping
You won't know, maybe 4am awake then later play play sleep then play again....

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Oct 31 2007, 04:36 PM)
would there be any disadv if they breed from their own siblings?will they get h*rny from each other?  hmm.gif
Erm, common sense ok? When you get siblings means brothers or sisters.... if your were force to get married to your sister and ask you to have children, is that right? Humans can think and won't do such thing unless sick in the head, but animals would breed coz they do not know they are related to each other..... why are you asking such a thing lah? This is like..... so common sense loh.... doh.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 31 2007, 09:15 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(won @ Oct 31 2007, 08:48 PM)
Found momo asleep in her toilet one afternoon.....

sweat.gif  sweat.gif  tongue.gif
Hahaha... sleep in the toilet. So round....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Oct 31 2007, 10:32 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(lilcatty @ Oct 31 2007, 10:07 PM)
hey there~ anyone bought hamsters from Petsmore at Kepong before?

my friend bought twice from there, both female, both died with the same reason, the hamster started to be in normal status, then slowly it'll walk in an unstable situation, then die D:
I bought before 3 hamsters from Petsmore at Petaling Street.... the1st petsmore lah.... they died also.... die from virus.... the hamster stock they get are unhealthy, so better get hamsters elsewhere than from them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 1 2007, 09:06 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 1 2007, 12:03 PM)
erks..they animals..u cant compare to human common sense just like that..can u say 'giv them roti canai la..common sense la we human all eat roti canai ma'?u study biology?u know the reason y cant we married siblings?erks..nvm la i dun wan argue  this is a nice thread..notworthy.gif rclxm9.gif
Comparing with roti canai.... we humans know roti canai is unhealthy, but then many people still eat it rite? i know some people feed their pets Roti Canai also because they think is a nice treat but never think of the consequences.

I'm saying common sense. You do know human brother and sister should not have kids together, that is the same with animals. We got emotion and a brain that can think and we got knowledge. What an animal has? Only instinct, which is to survive and breed or be eaten and die. You think a Male hamster would know his sons and daughters? No, it won't. He will see his sons as competition for breeding and he would see his daughters as potential mates. Same with siblings. If you put opposite sex hamster siblings together, of course they would breed. I wouldn't use the word Horny too coz that's more for humans.... animals breed on instinct to survive.

I don't study biology, but I study animal behaviour and also rodent breeding....

QUOTE(jy14 @ Nov 1 2007, 12:38 PM)
Nice, my female robos oso like to climb on around my shirt. lucky i'm sitting on my bed when it does that, if not it'll hit the floor hard if i miss to catch it when it tries to decends my back. feels weird having it running around my back.
From my 30day experience, get a hammy from breeders, they r so much more tame and u can really interact with it as u spend more time with it. The male robos that i received was kinda "fierce", likes to bite my fingers and hands when i try to play with it. The female robos that i got from a shop recommended by Nezu, awesome breed, its much bigger in size, nice to play with and very tame. Thanks to Nezu for the great recommendation. thumbup.gif
Hahah.... is true. Animals from proper breeders are always better and worth the money. Cheap hamsters are not always that great.

QUOTE(nixk @ Nov 1 2007, 01:48 PM)
nope..yogi bear not jump down.she just moving from left shoulder to right shoulder and vice versa.
i always put her on my shoulder when i playing computer games.  biggrin.gif

To avoid she got injured cause of fell down, i put "lite bed" behind my chair,so in case she fell down,she will fell down on that bed.but of course she never felt down,and she will not jump because she scare to jump over coz it's high,and if u want to try,please wear a tshirt so that her hand can grab ur t-shirt quickly if she felt down.so she just keep playing by moving from shoulder side to next shoulder side.sometimes she playing my hair.  rclxm9.gif

p/s: My hamster tame,so do not do like this if ur hamster is fierce or she will bite ur ears.hehe  tongue.gif
Wah, your Yogi Bear can balance very well. My hamsters are clumsy and would fall off after a while, same goes with some of my gerbils LOL>

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2007, 10:43 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Nov 2 2007, 10:36 AM)
Guys.. i couldnt find any prestige brand food from Pets Wonderland Mid Valley. Ask the guys there they oso duno. Do u know where i can get it in Penang?

Btw my hamster pup is around 21 Days old.. they oledi started to run around actively, currently i giv them eat slice carrots as their diets, i think they are still feeding on their mum.

Question.. how long do i need to wait till i can take them out and train them?
Why you go Pets Wonderland MidValley? Useless to get quality food there lah. Prestige are only found at Pet Safari (Ikano), Petsmore, Pet Shack and certain small petshops.... I don't think you can find it in Penang, try looking at the large petshops around Penang but what I think is that mostly found at KL coz got more demand.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2007, 11:12 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Nov 2 2007, 10:55 AM)
Coz thats the only Petshop that i know how to go when im in KL  sweat.gif
Aiyoh, pity you. If you want, PM me lah, I can postlaju to you if you like hahahah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 2 2007, 11:20 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Cloudx @ Nov 2 2007, 02:51 PM)
How much perpack?
Coz the hamster food is kinda big for those tiny mouth thats y i scared to giv them eat sweat.gif
Well, what Nezu is saying is that why not you feed more varieties of fresh foods.... don't stick with carrots.... it is high in sugar and also can cause Vitamin A intoxication. You can feed stuff like Sawi, kangkung, parsley, a bit of apple, boiled potato or steam sweet potato, cooked brown rice, bak choy, cabbage.

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Nov 2 2007, 06:09 PM)
hi everyone! i'm new in this thread, usually hang out in the snake thread  tongue.gif

anyway, lately i fell in love with hammy's... not sure which to get, as all are equally cute.. if i want one that is easy to handle, and extremely tame(dont simply bite me) which type of hammy should i go for? syrian,ww or robo leh??

thanks yea
Syrian.... 100% get a Syrian but do get from a breeder or hobbyist... then you would not regret and fully enjoy a tame hamster. Petshops sell untame ones, some are panicky, some are timid and some are biters but from breeders or hobbyist, you won't experience any of those. Contact Nezu lah, she may have 1 or 2 for sale....

Actually, Winter White, Russian Campbell and Robos are normally tame and won't simply bite if you get from breeders. Only those from petshops will. So far none of my campbells bite, all nice and tame... they may nip to test or taste but never bite hard unless you provoke them.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 3 2007, 01:24 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(NeaRDeatH @ Nov 3 2007, 01:02 PM)
how can i differenciate between RC n WW...i mean agouti type of both seem alike rite??
The features are different. The facial features, stripe and side arches are different.

Campbells got slightly smaller eyes and shorter face. They do not have prominent side arches like WW. Their stripe on their backs are not as dark.

Agouti Campbells.

Winter Whites got a darker stripe. They got a prominent side arch and their body is more bullet shaped and rounder than campbells.

Agouti WW

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 3 2007, 04:43 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(nixk @ Nov 3 2007, 03:18 PM)
soo cute,they all small like this?
That's when young.... They will grow slightly bigger when mature. Not big, that's why people like dwarfs more....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 4 2007, 01:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(NeaRDeatH @ Nov 4 2007, 12:04 PM)
btol btol btol...that right...dont disturb them or else the mom will follow her instinct n bite u...recently got bite when i wanna give her food...huhuhu

here another question...does WW is a type of very choosy in eating?? coz i saw that my WW dunt like to eat much of corn n pallet..huhu sweat.gif  sweat.gif
That is normal. Normally most rodents do not like to eat dried corn... anyway, it is good also since it is high in phosphorus and also in fat. The pellets, those dark green longish kind are alfalfa pellets, they are fiber and protein pellets... doesn't contain much taste so not every pellet is eaten.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 5 2007, 06:00 PM

12,047 posts

Sigh, all also new price liao.... see till eyes wanna cry LOL.... it is ok for small time keepers.... but me, goodness, I spend about Rm200 a month on hamster supplies.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 6 2007, 05:46 PM

12,047 posts

Pearl is rare coz males are normally infertile, cannot breed. Only a few males can breed and females have to breed with Agouti or Sapphire.... but then out of the whole litter, only 1 or 2 is pearl.... so it is rare.

Hybrid is WW mix with RC. 1st page have it.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 6 2007, 08:21 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(eq8all @ Nov 6 2007, 06:42 PM)
Allo to all! Noob and 1st post in hammies thread ere! So please be gentle >.<::: Posting this latest pic on behalf of my younger sis' bloated furball. It's name is Jeremy (Winter White..unless proven otherwise as that's what my sis told me..) and I have a few questions for Hun and also all of you hamster gurus here:-

1. Just got back from work and only today had I noticed that the bugger got noticeably huge? (Or is it???) In comparison to his wheel there, is he really a tad oversized or I'm just worrying too much? For the record, my lil sis just hysterically laughed at me when I wanted to post about it here.

2. My sis just bought him a female mate named Jenny 3 days ago and she's like (LOL..) a 'quarter' of his size? Again I only knew about this today when my sis excitedly shown her to me and needless to say I'm buggered to ask if it's really err...'safe' for Jenny (being tiny and all)? I had properly asked my sis if she had made sure that they were the same types and did she double checked with the pet shop staff (she did brought Jeremy along to that pet shop at 1-Utama area).Somehow I'm still not convinced.

Please advise ty!  notworthy.gif
Your Jeremy does look like a Pearl WW.... but yah, he is big. Got a pic of his top view and side view? Also, a pic of your new hamster would be good too. Do not ever trust Pet Shops like Pets Wonderland or Pet Safari... their info are wrong and Pet Safari got a reputation for wrongly sexing their rodents.

Do not put Jenny with Jeremy yet, she is too young but she can still get pregnant. If she does, it would spoil her health and growth, stunt her and endanger her pregnancy as well. Wait for 4 months before introducing them for mating.

Again, Jeremy is a pearl... most Pearl WW are infertile, if you are lucky, he may be one of the odd ones that can produce but for me, my experience is that not all WW can father babies....

Also, what colour is Jenny?

PIctures, again would be great and better to confirm.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 7 2007, 09:55 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 6 2007, 09:43 PM)
my hamster is sick... her rectum has internal bleeding... according to the vet, if no medication given, it could be fatal... her rectum might burst... no wonder i see she getting fatter n fatter... inside got internal bleeding rupanya...  doh.gif
Aiyoh.... so now how?

QUOTE(eq8all @ Nov 6 2007, 11:23 PM)
@crazymouse_yyh
A Pearl WW eh? o_O I'd better read up some more on those. Also thank you very much for the heads up about the additional pics. Additions will be made as soon as time allows me. I'm still curious on what type is it (Jeremy) and also I'll be sure to prep up a few of Jenny's as well.

Some pretty scary inputs you got there about those shop? Wondering how Pet Safari can get away with that? I'll be sure to have some serious double checks with my sis again.

Infertile for the majority of pearls, interesting info there... Hmm I don't think I'd really mind about that plus your advices on precautions for Jenny made excellent points. Still...4 months roughly means that it's actually OK to wait out a bit longer (say about 3 weeks+?) than that right?

Luckily my sis has a spare Habitrail lying around and that calls for me to schedule a rearrangement ASAP. *need to wash my hands 1st though, Jeremy doesn't like male human hands it seems*

TYTY so much Hun!

@the_catacombs
Don't let it burst bro! ~>.<~
When you have more pics of Jeremy, it would be easier to tell the species... but I'm certain he is a Pearl WW coz his facial features do not look like a RC.... you can check my past post, I think a few pages behind or something where I put pictures on how to see a normal RC and a normal WW.

Anyway, majority of Pearls are infertile. I had 1 Pearl male who was fertile....then he had a pearl son, who also was fertile and produced outstanding WW that are very pretty with rounded features. Bought a Pearl male to try and breed but for 1 year, no pups at all. So it means he is infertile. There is only a small percentage of fertile Pearls.... that is why there are not many for sale in the market coz suppliers do not read about genetics and breedings, they just simply chuck a few females to a male, hoping they produce and later ship out the young to petshops.

Better separate Jenny.... she can breed once she is around 5 months old, that is the best age lah. But never breed her if she is near 1 year old coz there is a risk of her getting complications during gestation and also during birth.

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 7 2007, 02:53 PM)
i found a white hammy at a shop near my office..
got 3 and they all white..saw 1 of them got a little bit grey stripes on its back..
the other 2 inside house..so cant see them..
the size quite small (like 1month old)like the size of robo..
i asked the shopper they said Austrailian hamster and small type of size...
got such kind aa?what kind of hammy?could it be WW pearl?RC?it cant be ww coz it still small to change their coat..

cant get the pic of them coz they hid inside the house when i take out my phone to snap..

Grey stripe on back is Pearl.... White RCs do not have stripes.

http://www.angelfire.com/wv2/woodview_hams...warfcolors.html
http://www.geocities.com/aaahamsters/DilutePlat.html
http://purplekatkritters.tripod.com/dwarf/campcolors.html#sa

Albino, BEW and REW do not have the dorsal stripe....

Australian hamster? Lie to you lah..... it is illegal to own gerbils and hamsters in Australia unless you are a laboratory and use for experiments.

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...30090532AA6MDOg

Do not listen to petshops, they will tell all sorts of stories to get you to buy the animal.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 8 2007, 03:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 8 2007, 12:37 PM)
i thought pearl WW doesnt hav any color on their bodies except white..hmm i will try take the pic..if its pearl then  i will get them all.. rclxm9.gif
You mistaken lah. Pearl got stripe. WW Pearl got stripe. White RC no stripe. Pearl no stripe is non-standard.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 9 2007, 10:38 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 9 2007, 10:29 AM)
i think im gonna get them..but the shop sell at RM20 each..RM20 x 3 = RM60  sad.gif 

anyone stay near puchong and looking for a hammy i recommend to take these cute white hammy..kesian them stayed in an lousy aquarium shop..they need a caring owner  icon_idea.gif
Faster get loh hahahah.... but Rm20 is ok lah... compared to other places, RM25 or Rm30.... Which shop at Puchong?
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 9 2007, 08:41 PM

12,047 posts

Breeding takes some reading.... worms.... it is not normal.... I have no idea what worms they are if you do not post any pictures but it could have been deformed babies....

It could have been stress, they fought, and things happen. Breeding is not easy, they are not like humans where a father and mother can be happy and joyful with their kids.... a male hamster and female hamster got no such emotions but to breed for repopulation and caring for the young to survive.

15 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0537sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 02:32 AM