Chubby Hamsters V5, Fun little furballs

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 20 2007, 09:40 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(dj.eRicZzz @ Nov 20 2007, 06:54 PM)
father and one of his son

separated daughter

i want to ask ah..is it okay to share the food bowls? like i put mealworms in bowl A and put into the cage and later use bowl A again to feed those mealworms to other hamster?
Ah, nice pics... you use blue lighting? So blue heheheh...

Anyway, you can use the same bowl. No problem. It would only be a problem if you are letting hamsters share the bowl when 1 is sick.... that can spread sickness.

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Nov 20 2007, 09:25 PM)
sifus, what should i feed my hammy to make it fat and cute, and look like bear bear?
Veggie. Give a variety of veggie.... then introduce protein from dog kibbles/dry dogfood. You can give cooked egg. Hamsters enjoy scrambled eggs than hardboiled eggs coz when scrambled, egg yolk and egg white are mixed together, giving all the nutrients and protein that is needed. Sometimes I give cooked fish too. Like if you eat sushi, keep a piece of sashimi and when you get home, cook it and give it to them. tongue.gif

Along with a good brand of hamster mix like Prestige, sure hamster can grow fat. Once awhile, a little yogurt and cheese is good. If you want to feed milk, only feed lactose free pet milk. That's how I got my 2 little baby Syrians fat now, if I didn't feed them milk, I think they would be smaller and look deformed hahahh.... but yours I assume is mature already rite? Then you don't need to feed lactose free milk everyday lah, as a treat is ok.

Do stay away from those hamster treats sold.... like yogurt drops.... won't do much good and it contains preservatives.... stick with natural foods.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 20 2007, 11:16 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Nov 20 2007, 10:49 PM)
i'm using pine shavings and my hammy's sneezing all the time... how ler???
Oh, pine is bad.... what brand? Change to corn cob or Breeder's Celect. Both sold at PetShack too.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 01:15 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 21 2007, 12:55 AM)
my all 3 hamsters sick adi....  cry.gif

my female... bloated abdomen... vet also say he can do nothing... physical inspection, suspected diarrhoea or mayb bladder infection.... her abdomen feels cold, suspected no blood circulation to her bottom... hind legs barely active... most of the time jz lie down and sleep...  sad.gif

second hamster, skin disease... he is bald already... lately i notice his skin is getting thinner n thinner, exposing his flesh... alwiz got cecair coming from his skin... i tried numerous oil products recommended by vet, but his condition still deteriorates...

third hamster, following second hamster footsteps.... hair getting less n less... skin starts to kedut... less active....
cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  all my hamsters are dying  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Wah.... all 3 fall sick, poor things. Well, small animals are like that, because of their short lifespan, they have higher chances of falling sick and hard to medicate too.

At least you gave them a good life, when it is time, then it's time. Your pets do appreciate your care and concern.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 02:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Nov 21 2007, 02:01 PM)
oh ... perfume? perfume that use by girl is it? never tot got this way one.
Yah.... just 1 small dot... don't spray the whole hamster lah hahahah.... this was a method that I read from one of my few hamster care books.

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 21 2007, 02:05 PM)
walao..how much u spent on ur mansion?how often u clean them off?
btw jus got maze n rope thingy from crazymouse...let them play in the maze till them pening d rclxub.gif ..
crazymouse can i giv them some milk daily?i mean once a day?
You go Pet Safari lah. I saw that large blue cage, about Rm125 I think.... but now got 30% discount heheheh.... not bad, I do like the cage coz big and not many cages are big enough for Syrians.

Milk.... you must buy lactose free milk wor.... expensive also. Pets Own is safe, about RM6.90 for 1 packet and after you open, can only last for like 4 days in the fridge, then will have to throw heheheh....

Milk, for growing young hamsters and pregnant/nursing females...
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 07:51 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 21 2007, 07:21 PM)
Hi evryone and sifus!
I need some advice  nod.gif I just got 2 dwarf hamsters last weekend. I was told they are WW but after much research and reading, I think one is hybrid and one is a possible WW Pearl. Out of stupidity, I got a pair, which I sorely regret sad.gif because I don't want to breed them at all!!! Sigh. I am worried now but I don't want to part with them, they are the cutest thing ever!!!

But then, I read that WW Pearl cud be infertile and I know this sound like harsh but I really pray that it will be infertile for his own good (also for my own good). Or maybe both are females because I don't know how to see, but the seller said they are a pair. So here is a picture, can the sifu tell is he a WW Pearl? The other one is a definite hybrid right, Winter Gold? Or maybe both also hybrid?

user posted image user posted image

I also love the syrian. Someone adviced me that I shud get a syrian instead of dwarfs. I never had any experience with hamsters  blush.gif only helping out friends and admiring from far. But now that I got two of this baby, I can't wait to get home from work! Their temperament is great, no biting... maybe because they are still small. I also learning to tame them by touching them everyday... at least now they take treats for me and I hope that is a good sign.

I also just bought a nice house for them smile.gif some Japanese brand. I wanted to buy Habitrail Mini but I thot this one is more spacious and bit cool, hehe.

I'm feeding them fresh fruits and Prestige Hamster Mix. For chewing I'm giving them dried alfafa. I'm using pine shaving, hmmm don't remember the brand but it's sold evrywhere. They seemed to like it and bury themselves inside it when they sleep until I was really worried last night cos I thot they got out, haha.

Advices are very much appreciated! smile.gif
Well, congrats on getting hamsters. One thing alot of people do hear is to listen to petshops at getting a pair... never listen to a petshop. If they say a pair, always say you one either both males or both females. When a petshop says they are a pair, means 1 male and 1 female.

Best advice..... Separate them or give 1 away. You have to learn how to sex your own hamsters. Read up, Google it, you would find pictures there.

The winter gold.... it is called a Pudding, popular in Singapore and right now the colour is orangy.... but wait, once it grows older and mature, the colour would fade to a little brown.... then as old age comes, it would fade to a very pale brown.... that's why they are hybrids. The 3 pure WW colours never fade.

Cut down on fruits, feed more green veggies coz fruits contain high in sugar and water. Watermelon should be given in very small amounts coz too much may cause them to get diarrhea. Go for a fruit with more fiber... apples, pear, guava, persimmon....

Pine is dangerous..... what brand? If you said found everywhere, it could be the cheap kinds that produce more phenols than other shavings. Switch to something safer like Breeder's Celect or Healthy Pet or Kaytee or Delikate or any brand of Corn Cob bedding.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 08:45 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 21 2007, 08:42 PM)
Would the Wodent Wheel Sr be too much for a Syrian? Planning on getting this. But there is no Wodent Wheel Jr for sale. Hm...
Yah.... a bit too big hahahah.... get a Whisper Wheel or a Silent wheel. Both are also safe and good wheels. I use a Whisper Wheel and gonna get a Silent Wheel soon. 8 inches is good. Or the Habitrail Wheels are ok too, just no stand so either fixed with a suction cup or attach to the cage.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 21 2007, 09:49 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(missgeek @ Nov 21 2007, 09:33 PM)
sad.gif have to give one away? Sob sob.  cry.gif Will check their sex when they are a bit older, they are really really small... size like small cotton ball only. I think I will separate them instead of give one away la... so sad want to give away, already love them.

Hmmm is the other one WW Pearl? Momo looks very similar to the ones in the pics I google tho...

Ok, will give them veggies and fruits with fiber  nod.gif

The pine bedding I use is Living World by Hagen. I thot it's a good brand? It's the same brand that produced Habitrail. It is ok or will harm my babies?
Yah, separate them better. Get another cage smile.gif

Yes, that is a WW Pearl.

Living World.... that is not a good bedding to use. Pine.... try and picture this.... do you know that most floor cleaners, disinfectants for hospitals and some air fresheners are pine? They use the oil, the phenols. Now imagine smelling that pine smell for 24/7.... you can actually get either lung infection, breathing disorder or liver failure. Experiments were done before to find out. Put a mouse in pine shavings, and a mouse in some other bedding. The one in pine shavings dies earlier and when dissected, the lungs are damaged.... This is why we must use bedding that is not pine. Chipsi uses Fir and spruce, slightly better than pine. Delikate, another type of softwood but is not pine for it has no pine smell. Kaytee Pine is specially produced to get rid of the phenols. The best type of bedding is Aspen but none available in Malaysia, if there are, it would be hard to find.

Did you read the 1st page? Read it if you did not, there is a bedding review there.

Not everything produced by Habitrail are good. Their food is of so-so quality.... only their cages are not bad. If Prestige, only certain pet food are ok, their bedding is super dusty. The only pine shavings safe is Kaytee.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 22 2007, 10:21 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Nov 22 2007, 10:04 AM)
sogo ... havent got time to take pics yet ... will try later ...

nezu ... icic ... got such way somemore ... tqtq ... the ww i saw in petshop when i try touch them ady they want jump n bite me .... aiiii .... so ganas ... but the bear gal seem really like the wheel ... keep running through the night ... keeping fit ka?
Hahahah..... Syrian hamster is like that wan. Normally I would tap the hidebox for them to come out then when they wake up and see me, I touch them then only pick up. Dwarf is more scaredy cat wan.... especially petshop hamsters.... so always look at the condition they are kept and ask the shopkeeper or owner to show you how they pick up. If they ganas ganas just grab, then that means it is not tame loh.

Now.... I got so many Syrians hahahah.... 8 Syrians so 8 cages..... Then got 2 WW, 3 robos, 8 RC.... must get a few more WW coz my last 2 WW are the most good looking WW from my old line.... sob sob.... I see if I can get a pc, so round hahhah.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 23 2007, 11:02 PM

12,047 posts

Wah, nice bungalos heheheh.... your Remy, Jery and Jack Jack sure will have a good time.

I guess he is just trying out his new home, my female also did that, chew the water bottle more.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 23 2007, 11:40 PM

12,047 posts

To me, looks like cinnamon....

Yah, sure got discounts wan heheheh....

Yah, the wheels are normally more expensive if we get those big comfortable wheels....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 24 2007, 11:07 AM

12,047 posts

Hahah... Kembara cannot play with dogs loh....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 26 2007, 09:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Nov 26 2007, 04:38 PM)
I'm thinking of making a platform for Jack Jack in the tank for a upper deck. Anyone made one before? Need some ideas... And what can be use and safe for hamsters.

Hm... sweat.gif
You can use acrylic... is the same material as your tank but it is hard to cut so you should get the shop to help you cut it if they have the equipment. If you can't find that, then I suggest you go IKEA, go find those stationary section, got those little racks and stands made of metal, you can use that and it is easier to clean.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 09:34 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 27 2007, 10:26 PM)
They bathed already. But dunno why the male still bite others. They smelled then suddenly fight. Why like this?
You bath with water?

Firstly, a water bath stresses them. Secondly, hamsters recognize each other by smell. By bathing away their scent, other hamsters would get confused. Never ever bath with water and shampoo.

QUOTE(Crackers @ Nov 27 2007, 10:37 PM)
The shopkeeper persuaded me to get the shampoo cos sandbath cannot remove the body odour of those hammies, is it true?  unsure.gif or she said that is bcos selling the hammie shampoo makes more profit than the sandbath  vmad.gif
Fyi, i'm new in taking care of hamsters, just got my robos few days back..

The shop is inside kepong carefour, the name of the petshop is PetsMore (or smth like that).. I was told that they've got a branch in Petaling street..  sweat.gif
Goodness... why you don't ask people here? Petsmore gives the worst advice and service..... they know nothing about hamster care and would advice you to buy unnecessary things. Giving a wet bath is dangerous and bad for hamster's health. Robos should never be bath in water. Their fur got protective oils but sometimes too oily so they need a SAND BATH to get rid of the extra oils and also body odour.

Robos are one of the few hamsters that have no body odour.... so if yours are smelly, it could be something is wrong with them.

I only bath my hamsters when they are very dirty like after diarrhea, when they are soaked in pee..... but if smelly, I won't bath them, just let them have a sand bath.

Added on November 28, 2007, 9:37 am
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 28 2007, 12:46 AM)
I saw those bedding like wool...Is this kind better or the wood shave better?

EDIT : Now they also bite the cages even I put in those wooden stick  sad.gif  sad.gif
Wool is dangerous, it can get caught in their claws, it can suffocate them and cause injuries. Stick with wood shavings. If you need a list of bedding types, please READ the 1st page.

Hamster bite cages coz they are bored. Cage bars are easier to bite and the metalic taste makes it interesting than wood. Soon the metal would become rusty and cause health problems too. Cage biting is a habit of boredom too..... if you want that to stop, change your cage to a tank. We mostly use tanks and got no such problem, they live better and healthier too.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 28 2007, 09:37 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 09:46 AM

12,047 posts

Oh yah.... like what Jas said..... if carefresh or healthy pet brand, is ok. Coz it is recycled paper that is turned into bedding.

I kept thinking of the Hagen wool blanket bedding that my brother got it last time..... really is wool and so dangerous to use.

Edit: Carefresh and Healthy Pet are very good at absorbing smell and is very clean.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 28 2007, 09:47 AM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 10:16 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(holyghost @ Nov 28 2007, 10:08 AM)
i ady have a 7" wheel, a bowl, a house n a toilet in my tank. is it enough for my bear girl? if its not, what else can i get for her to play cause it seems abit crowded.
Should be enough. You can make make a second floor for her.

You can DIY a swing
Take out the hamster house and put in a brick and flower pot.
You can make rope ladders and a hammock
You can but some cardboard rolls
You can tie some pasta on a string and hang it so your hamster can nibble it.
You can tie veggie treats up and see your hamster jump to get them.

Just use your creativity to give a little activity to your hamster.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 07:38 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 28 2007, 07:04 PM)
They don't bite the polysterine? Got those "squeak squeak" sound?
All glass aquariums come with the polystyrene for the base coz it is heavy, the polystyrene cushions the glass tank so that it is less likely to break from the water force. So I don't think he meant inside the tank but underneath it.

QUOTE(holyghost @ Nov 28 2007, 07:34 PM)
does hamster hiccup? if it does, is it a normal or bad sign?
They can.... it will go away. Just give a piece of veggie for it to munch.

Added on November 28, 2007, 8:22 pmHere are some pics of my 2 Syrians that have turned I think 5 weeks old. Already the female got her 1st heat today hahaha.

The female

The male

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Nov 28 2007, 08:22 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 28 2007, 08:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Nov 28 2007, 08:48 PM)
heat means haid???
Yups. Means can get pregnant liao. Hamsters reach sexual maturity at 5 weeks old.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2007, 12:20 AM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 28 2007, 10:30 PM)
maybe no space for cats..if got space they sure sell all type of  tongue.gif animals
ya like crazymouse said its underneath the aquarium to prevent the glass from breaking
they so comel...are u gonna sell those? wub.gif  wub.gif
Hahaha... no loh... not selling... maybe in the future if I do breed Syrians heheheh.... but cute rite? Both are so tame, have very soft velvet fur..... Good Syrians are actually nicer than dwarfs, in a way lah.

QUOTE(whailun @ Nov 28 2007, 10:54 PM)
hi everybody..
i'm reporting in..
just bought 3 hamsters yesterday..
it's dwarf+siberian..
welcome. Dwarf+siberian? You sure? LOL

Read the 1st page to know your species.

QUOTE(dien @ Nov 29 2007, 12:12 AM)
blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
just wondering..
why i cant see page 87 onwards..
sweat.gif  cry.gif  sad.gif

----------
edited:
after posting this post, suddenlythe pages appeared..
Forum now back on track. thumbup.gif
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2007, 10:53 AM

12,047 posts

Har? They drill a hole for you? So nice!

Hahah.... clear plastic tanks can easily get from any petshop that sells small animals or fishes.... of course price is not really stable, some are RM35, some RM50... so depends on where you get it.

Hoho... my female Syrian so stinky now. Heat heat....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Nov 29 2007, 06:04 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(siokjinlim @ Nov 29 2007, 12:44 PM)
heat = stinky ?? eh, i should've got a male hammy leh.. (no offence to all females out there  unsure.gif )
Hahaha.... humans have period.... hamsters comes in season by producing a smell. Animals, we don't call it period... normally we use the word in heat.

The smell only last for a few days.... but they do get frequent heats, just that we won't smell it unless we hold them and sniff them heheeh. The genital area would be wet with a whitish liquid that is smelly, now that is the heat discharge.

QUOTE(sogoatticus @ Nov 29 2007, 03:47 PM)
how to tell when they got their heat thing?i nvr noticed from my hammy
Only Syrians can notice.... dwarfs.... you can't see or smell it coz in the wild, they live in communities, so they do not need strong smells to attract males. Syrians are solitary, so they need to attract males far away.

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Nov 29 2007, 05:11 PM)
My hamsters already heated 3 times. 1 of that times unsuccessful = dead eaten by the previous babies. Now the 3rd time I placed them into a shoe box until they fully grown up.
doh.gif That is not heat lah..... you make me laugh man. How can coming in season be unsuccessful? LOL..... I never mention birth also, only said on heat.

QUOTE(hooverbell @ Nov 29 2007, 05:38 PM)
Eeeeeee.... soooo cute and they are so tame, let u carry like that without running away? Mine, they cannot stay on my palm for so long, sure move here and there... heheheee...

So far, only Sappy is very very tame and let us play around.

Hammy also quite ok but hardly get to carry him coz he alwys hide in one hole to sleep and only wake up when i went to bed.  sweat.gif

As for my Baby, hmmmm... he is still quite scare when i wanted to take him out from the cage. Once got him out from the cage, he is ok... biggrin.gif

Enjoying playing with them so much...  laugh.gif

They won't run away. Coz I got them before their eyes were open, so I fostered them till now, they see me as food and milk giver LOL.... used to me scent and touch so whatever I do with them, they won't object.

Petshop ones would always be a little hard to handle and tame coz their stocks are from commercial suppliers, who have never ever laid a kind finger on them. So these commercially bred Syrians would always be harder to hold, slightly harder to trust but it is possible.

If you get from breeders, they become super tame. I can pick my other syrians that I got from breeders really well and they can sit in my palm for a longer time.

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0513sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:42 AM