Investment Put fund into Ameritrade

Ziet Inv
post Sep 5 2020, 12:08 PM

650 posts

May i know if anyone recently funded their TDA SG account from Malaysia?

Can I know the exact steps to do so?

I've just opened a TDA SG account.

Cheers
MUM
post Sep 5 2020, 12:16 PM

14,948 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Sep 5 2020, 12:08 PM)

Cheers
while waiting for responses, you can try read last page.....
i think i saw some methods posted.
cucumber
post Sep 6 2020, 10:49 PM

821 posts

The signing up process is very annoying & the website is not very intuitive.

Where is the option for me to choose between cash & margin account?
BlueTulipKL P
post Sep 12 2020, 07:58 AM

Probation

Registered an account two years back. Still find the platform interface very confusing. Going through their manual and some Youtubes also don't seem to help. Any pointers would be very helpful.
marcelino84 P
post Sep 28 2020, 11:48 PM

Probation

Does TDASG difficult to withdraw money from trading account to Hong leong bank? I haven’t open account yet, just want to know more about withdrawals process, does it takes time?

Solskjaer66
post Sep 30 2020, 06:24 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Ziet Inv @ Sep 5 2020, 01:08 PM)

Cheers
How long it takes to approve your application? i submitted mine 2 weeks ago and sent a chaser this week....they told me processing time 30 to 45 days!! OMG....... by the time they approve mine....US may already got a new president.... biggrin.gif
Eurobeater
post Sep 30 2020, 11:19 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

Would it be a good idea for me to use this broker? I have cash in a spare UK bank account that I can move around as the bank transfers internationally with Transferwise. The money is in GBP.

I also want to just buy some ETFs and just sit on it for the next few years. Currently, I use Trading212, but I don't like the fact that it has no fundamental data on any of the stocks/ETF I want to buy. Also I have to go through 2 currency conversions since the account's base currency is in Euro and the ETFs I want to buy is in GBP.

Considering TD Ameritrade, but got trading fees? I thought is free?
Ziet Inv
post Oct 1 2020, 04:57 PM

650 posts

QUOTE(Solskjaer66 @ Sep 30 2020, 06:24 PM)
How long it takes to approve your application? i submitted mine 2 weeks ago and sent a chaser this week....they told me processing time 30 to 45 days!! OMG.......  by the time they approve mine....US may already got a new president....  biggrin.gif
Hi, what I meant was I registered and waiting for approval (almost 1 month+ now)

Some forumer said they got it in 2 months time.

Sorry for the misunderstanding!

dwRK
post Oct 2 2020, 08:40 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Sep 30 2020, 11:19 PM)
Would it be a good idea for me to use this broker? I have cash in a spare UK bank account that I can move around as the bank transfers internationally with Transferwise. The money is in GBP.

I also want to just buy some ETFs and just sit on it for the next few years. Currently, I use Trading212, but I don't like the fact that it has no fundamental data on any of the stocks/ETF I want to buy. Also I have to go through 2 currency conversions since the account's base currency is in Euro and the ETFs I want to buy is in GBP.

does not meet your needs. tdameritrade trade US market only.

try Yahoo finance or Morningstar for fundamental data

zero commission started 1-2 months ago
Ramjade
post Oct 2 2020, 08:50 AM

24,406 posts

QUOTE(marcelino84 @ Sep 28 2020, 11:48 PM)
Does TDASG difficult to withdraw money from trading account to Hong leong bank? I haven’t open account yet, just want to know more about withdrawals process, does it takes time?

Depends on what's your definition of difficult. Can you swallow a USD25 each time you withdraw money?
Not to mention agent fees, bank fees, higher conversion rates by banks.

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Sep 30 2020, 11:19 PM)

Cannot. TD only deals in US market.
There's a section in trading212 for fundamentals.
I have seen it.

You don't need 2 currency conversion.
Deposit into trading212 in euro using TransferWise.
Only convert to GBP once you really want to sell.
Eurobeater
post Oct 2 2020, 02:33 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 2 2020, 08:40 AM)
does not meet your needs. tdameritrade trade US market only.

try Yahoo finance or Morningstar for fundamental data

zero commission started 1-2 months ago
I do want to buy US ETFs. Right now, the ETF I have bought in T212 is the Vanguard S&P500 ETF, but denominated in GBP only.

The only thing I'm considering is that 30% witholding tax only
dwRK
post Oct 2 2020, 02:58 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Oct 2 2020, 02:33 PM)
I do want to buy US ETFs. Right now, the ETF I have bought in T212 is the Vanguard S&P500 ETF, but denominated in GBP only.

The only thing I'm considering is that 30% witholding tax only
alright... also remember withdrawal fee $25 from tda... if wire goes through intermediary bank maybe another $25...
Eurobeater
post Oct 2 2020, 03:04 PM

Kancil Dorifto!
1,190 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 2 2020, 02:58 PM)
alright... also remember withdrawal fee $25 from tda... if wire goes through intermediary bank maybe another $25...
Wah so high withdrawal fee?

Then I guess TD is indeed not for me. I don't have a lot to make that $25 be like peanuts lol
dwRK
post Oct 2 2020, 03:43 PM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(Eurobeater @ Oct 2 2020, 03:04 PM)
Wah so high withdrawal fee?

Then I guess TD is indeed not for me. I don't have a lot to make that $25 be like peanuts lol
yeah...hope in future they reduce or eliminate it
yuiopoiuy
post Oct 2 2020, 09:31 PM

117 posts

Chipping in about Trading212 cause i didn't see other thread about it. I just did transfer to T212'S EUR account using instarem, and i just got an email saying that they cannot receive fund from third party account and that they are going to return the fund unless they have proof that it is a joint account. How to prove that the account is indeed mine or should i just use transferwise instead?
dwRK
post Oct 3 2020, 06:51 AM

the consummate chartist
6,247 posts

QUOTE(yuiopoiuy @ Oct 2 2020, 09:31 PM)
Chipping in about Trading212 cause i didn't see other thread about it. I just did transfer to T212'S EUR account using instarem, and i just got an email saying that they cannot receive fund from third party account and that they are going to return the fund unless they have proof that it is a joint account. How to prove that the account is indeed mine or should i just use transferwise instead?
send them bank xfer and instarem xfer records...
yuiopoiuy
post Oct 3 2020, 07:08 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 3 2020, 06:51 AM)
send them bank xfer and instarem xfer records...
I sent them the email already, but still yet to get reply from them. Anyhow i hope this works..
Tctan
post Oct 24 2020, 08:29 PM

Hi guys, anyway are we able to purchase China stocks via these broker?

I'm actually in the process of applying for Ameritrade and Interactive Brokers.

It is not definitely a fast process...... =(
allhafiez P
post Oct 29 2020, 04:57 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Investwise @ Aug 7 2020, 04:54 PM)

Also remember to put your name and your TDASG 9 digits account no. at the payment remarks there.

Payment Remarks:
For further credit to: ''your name'' / ''123456789''

I'm not sure why I cant find the payment remarks in my Cimbclicks.. So I tried Affinonline.

Hopefully can pass thru

https://pictr.com/images/2020/10/29/7MvjUc.md.jpg
allhafiez P
post Nov 6 2020, 07:05 AM

Probation

QUOTE(allhafiez @ Oct 29 2020, 04:57 PM)
I'm not sure why I cant find the payment remarks in my Cimbclicks.. So I tried Affinonline.
Hopefully can pass thru
<a href='https://pictr.com/images/2020/10/29/7MvjUc.md.jpg' target='_blank'>https://pictr.com/images/2020/10/29/7MvjUc.md.jpg </a>
AffinOnline transaction failed.. the Bank call me asking me stupid question like what's the proof that I would use the fund for purchase of stocks instead of Forex.
I told the officer that I need to transfer the fund into my trading account first before I can purchase the stock. She said the Bank had to reject the TT because it's not allowed by BNM bangwall.gif

So I tried CIMBClick again and put my Trading account and my name in the NRIC/Passport column as ss below:

Luckily this time it was succesful rclxm9.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:44 AM