139 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

ILLEGEAR Custom Performance Laptops v.4, AMD RYZEN 4800H with FREE AC Valhalla

foxboro21
post Jul 18 2019, 10:36 AM

raven se-r or prodigy?both almost same price.which more worth ?
very tempting to buy prodigy because i prefer more slimmer laptop and i only play Path Of Exile and Dota 2.

TSPrince J
post Jul 18 2019, 12:03 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(dejiar @ Jul 17 2019, 08:39 PM)
sad..my raven SE has been delayed more than a months..and yet to receive...
can we ask for refund or smth? was not really happy after all
Sorry for the long waiting time. We are working very hard with the manufacturer to restock RAVEN SE, Prodigy and Rogue. Will notify you once the goods have arrived.

QUOTE(dylan_chng @ Jul 17 2019, 10:45 PM)
bro be patient. I also had to wait over a month for my Raven. I ordered during my semestar and the laptop for me only arrived once my semestar break started. Once it will arrive, you won't regret.

It's one of these Illegear failed to predict the popularity and customer response scenario again.
Hi Dylan,

We appreciate your feedback and we indeed didn't expect the demand of the RAVEN SE to be so huge. We are working very hard with the manufacturer to re-stock as many stock as we can.
SUSwongth7
post Jul 18 2019, 04:11 PM

440 posts

the normal Raven dont have the extended mid year promo?
huislaw
post Jul 18 2019, 05:23 PM

1,343 posts

Currently comparing PRODIGY & RAVEN SE-R

Seems to like PRODIGY better.

Is there a big different between Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660Ti 6GB GDDR6 and
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6 ?
ZM Fong
post Jul 18 2019, 05:24 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(huislaw @ Jul 18 2019, 05:23 PM)
Is there a big different between Nvidia GeForce GTX 1660Ti 6GB GDDR6 and
Nvidia GeForce RTX 2060 6GB GDDR6 ?
2060 80w is slightly faster than 1660Ti 80w
TSPrince J
post Jul 18 2019, 05:57 PM

1,272 posts

QUOTE(wongth7 @ Jul 18 2019, 04:11 PM)
the normal Raven dont have the extended mid year promo?
We might have it next month!
TSPrince J
post Jul 19 2019, 02:18 PM

1,272 posts

Due to popular demand, we are now extending our MID YEAR MEGA SALE! 🔥 If you have missed out the chance to grab a gaming laptop or PC with unbeatable deals, now is the last time to strike! 🥳

Visit our webstore at www.illegear.com for customizations and save up to *RM666* from configuring our gaming laptops & desktops with RAM, SSD and many more!

Promotion lasts till 3rd August 2019 or until stock lasts!

Frenzy Ng P
post Jul 21 2019, 07:20 PM

Probation

QUOTE(sw1314 @ Jul 10 2019, 10:42 AM)
saw Onyx lite return silencely.. is it still a good choice? like its finishing and keyboard compare Raven and Prodigy
Is there any difference between Onyx and Onyx lite? Especially the appearance of keyboard which i think there are some diff.. other than the cpu and gpu part
STEVE@ILLEGEAR
post Jul 22 2019, 04:10 PM

QUOTE(Frenzy Ng @ Jul 21 2019, 07:20 PM)
Is there any difference between Onyx and Onyx lite? Especially the appearance of keyboard which i think there are some diff.. other than the cpu and gpu part
Hi Frenzy Ng, the main difference between Onyx and Onyx Lite is the processor, graphics card and also the screen display. Onyx Lite is equipped with 8th gen processor and GTX series graphics card, while Onyx is equipped with 9th Gen processor with RTX series graphics card. In addition, Onyx is equipped with FHD IPS 100% sRGB 144hz screen display while Onyx Lite is equipped with FHD IPS 92% sRGB 144hz screen display. Both keyboards are the same actually for Onyx and Onyx Lite. Shall pm regarding on the inquiries as well.
t3n
post Jul 24 2019, 08:54 AM

1,418 posts

Rougue, Raven SE-R, Onyx.. which is value for money?
Ryan@ILLEGEAR P
post Jul 24 2019, 04:49 PM

Probation

QUOTE(t3n @ Jul 24 2019, 08:54 AM)

Hi, done PM you ya. Kindly check your inbox ya.
sleyer
post Jul 25 2019, 07:17 PM

782 posts

QUOTE(t3n @ Jul 24 2019, 08:54 AM)
same question confused.gif confused.gif
TheLegend27
post Jul 26 2019, 02:22 PM

1,653 posts

chiclet keyboard same like thinkpad?
ZM Fong
post Jul 26 2019, 02:34 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Jul 26 2019, 02:22 PM)
chiclet keyboard same like thinkpad?
Of course not
TheLegend27
post Jul 27 2019, 09:31 AM

1,653 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Jul 26 2019, 03:34 PM)
Of course not
thinkpad better or illegear chiclet? thinkpad also chiclet right?
wmk92
post Jul 27 2019, 03:11 PM

88 posts

Hello all, mine Raven is i7-8750H, may i know how many ram slot does it have? and if i want to add G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB 16GB (8GBx2) DDR4 3200MHz MEMORY RAM into it. will it works?
ZM Fong
post Jul 27 2019, 05:05 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(wmk92 @ Jul 27 2019, 03:11 PM)
Hello all, mine Raven is i7-8750H, may i know how many ram slot does it have? and if i want to add G.SKILL TRIDENT Z RGB 16GB (8GBx2) DDR4 3200MHz MEMORY RAM into it. will it works?
2 slots

I don't think it supports XMP profile, just stick to 2666

edit: it's a desktop RAM....

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Jul 28 2019, 01:22 PM
SaiyanGoku
post Jul 28 2019, 11:50 AM

QUOTE(wmk92 @ Jul 27 2019, 12:41 PM)
You can't use desktop ram in laptops. Slots are different.
skzisghost
post Jul 29 2019, 02:41 PM

267 posts

im abit pissed now with the delay, order made 6th july, then you guys said ETA was mid july.

Then mid july say ETA end july, okay i wait.

And i didn't realize ETA actually mean arrival, not ready to collect.

Now say ETA early August and it take another few weeks after that to setup.

I expect i will get my laptop end of august or worst september.

What the hell is this delay? Its okay if your ETA is inaccurate for a week, ETA delay for 1 month really?

I don't like my money stuck in your wallet and i get all the bs ETA dates.

Either you give me a non bs - acceptable ETA date or can you just refund.

Thank you very much.
tigery
post Jul 29 2019, 04:03 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Apr 25 2019, 12:20 PM)
Illegear Selenite review

Main specs:

A few notes before reading:
1. This is a quick review; thus, not everything will be covered in here
2. This review will mainly focus on thermals instead of performance
3. I will often compare this model with its smaller brother – Onyx

Product page: Illegear Selenite 9th gen, Illegear Selenite

Part 1: Build quality, input devices
Build quality is excellent overall, only just slightly behind Onyx. The lid has aluminium brush on top of it. There is only little flex when force is applied at the center. There is some flex when the lid is twisted, but not as much compared to Onyx. The lid has a bit of wobbling. You can open the lid with 1 hand. The body is all hard-plastic+soft touch build. Despite that, there is no flex on the entire keyboard deck and it cannot be twisted with force.

The mechanical keyboard (GENESWITCH v2, cap 2, brown switch) has low actuation force (slightly lower than the one in Onyx) and 2mm key travel. The switches are surprisingly quiet when pressed. Should be usable in quiet conditions such as in library. There is one complaint: The keycaps have some wobbling which makes typing a little uncomfortable (update: another unit doesn't have wobbling keycaps). Like the Raven, the layout is a bit special (especially right CTRL and SHIFT keys) and I can sometimes mistype the up key when trying to press right shift. You can set the effect, brightness and speed of the keyboard lighting via the Control Center software.

The large Clickpad has Precision driver. The plastic surface has satisfactory smoothness but can be a bit rough when you have wet/oily fingers. Like the Onyx, you can disable the clickpad by double tapping the left top corner of the clickpad. The L/R click feel is OK, nothing special. Take note that the clickpad is located directly below the space bar; therefore, it’s aligned more to the left side. One minor issue: The clickpad has some noise when tapped hard on it.

Part 2: Display, Audio, Battery
The display is a 144Hz IPS panel from BOE (display ID BOE07B6). As you can expect from a high refresh rate panel, everything feels smooth. It gets bright enough, colours are vibrant and has good contrast.

The 2 down firing speakers has good audio (with a bit of bass too); however, you need to tune the audio via Sound Blaster software (otherwise the sound quality is terrible). Tuned audio profile: Music profile, bass 0, treble 3, surround 80, crystalizer 50, bass 40, smart vol 0, dialog+ off. Volume is a bit soft/quiet. Overall, the sound quality is slightly worse than the one in Onyx (with tuned audio profile too).

I don’t have time to test the battery life, however don’t expect much from the 46.74Wh battery.

Part 3: Cooling performance
The cooling design consists of 3 heatpipes with 1 shared on CPU+GPU. The heatsink is stretched to both left and right.

Notes on all thermal testing:

CPU Undervolt profile: -100mv on core and cache
Blue highlighted part is CPU undervolted result

CPU temp - Cinebench R15 multi core
Max 95C, ~3.4-3.6GHz, ~80W
Max 95C, 3.8-3.9GHz, 82-85W, 1200+cb
Almost full fans for both

CPU temp - Aida64 FPU 70W
Max 90C, 3.0-3.1GHz
Max 90C, 3.3-3.4GHz
Almost max fans for both

GPU temp - Unigine Valley (extreme HD profile)
Clock speed fluctuates, at least 100MHz higher than boost clock (1440MHz)
Max 75C, max 125W
Slightly reduced fans (compared to almost max fans)

FPU (with undervolt) + Valley (extreme HD) with max fans
CPU: Max 94C, 3.0-3.1GHz, ~50W
GPU: Max 75C, same clock speed behaviour, ~120W

Apex Legends 1080p all max, 6GB budget, 90 FOV (with undervolt)
Mid 70s, clock speed fluctuates at 3+GHz, 20-25W (see video below for explanation of the clock speed fluctuation)
GPU: Max 75C, clock speed fluctuates mostly sit at 1500-1600MHz range, 115+W
Slightly reduced fans

Unigine Valley benchmark (extreme HD, 1 run only)
FPS: 95.9
Score: 4011

The chassis stay quite cool when it’s under load. Core temp differential is ~10C

In Illegear Command Center, there are 2 modes to choose from: Game mode or office mode. Office mode gives you access to control fan speed but has a 35W CPU power limit.

There are also 4 power profiles to choose from:

Here's a good video on how all the power setting works. Very informative. Basically, just keep it to game mode and equilibrium

The included power adapter is a 230W unit from Chicony. Take note that temps might be a little higher when running dual channel memory.

Part 4: Miscellaneous
The laptop is very portable for a 17-inch gaming laptop while not sacrificing thickness for cooling room – 2.35kg and 25mm thickness. The footprint is also relatively small, just like typical 15 inch device.

You need to press about 2 seconds to power on the laptop.

For the pictures of positioning of ports, cooling solution etc, you can refer Notebookcheck review on XMG Neo 17

Other settings in Illegear Command Center:

Update: i7-9750H model

Update: 2080MQ model

Conclusion: Well-cooled and well-built 17 inch RTX light weight gaming laptop

Pros:

Cons:

Sifu, want to ask, is it all the custom made laptop have bad audio? Or how bad eventually it is?
I saw your review on illeager/level51, both Cons also with "Audio need tuning".

139 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:15 PM