39 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

My Movie Review Thread V3, Got a movie to review ? post it here !

Veteran director Martin Scorsese recently criticised review aggregator websites for pushing the idea that "every image is there to be instantly judged and dismissed without giving audiences time to see it." Do reviews online reduce value of cine

Judgement is fast in the social media age and film-makers should get used to it. [ 20 ] ** [27.40%]
Reviewing a movie should be left to experts. [ 7 ] ** [9.59%]
Viewers take their own decisions irrespective of quick reviews. [ 46 ] ** [63.01%]
Total Votes: 73
Guests cannot vote 

skylinelover
post Oct 30 2022, 09:58 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Aug 2 2022, 09:41 PM)
DC League of Super-Pets (2022)

Honestly, I did not expect me to say this walking into the cinema.

I had absolutely no expectation for the movie.

Zero.

Nada.

I LOVE this movie.

I absolutely love it to bits!

I have pets most of my life.

Do I anthropomorphize my pets>

You betcha.

Animations had done it for awhile now.

I am always of the school of thought, a good movie, starts with a good storyline.

Does this have a good storyline?

Yes. A simple story, true. Well told nevertheless.

Did they get the right cast?

Yes, yes they did! I don't know who Kate McKinnon is and have to add, her Lulu is simply deliciously devious!

The way the movie characterize the super heroes are hilarious!

Is this movie going to knock the Mavericks, the Jurassic and other big big budget movies off their pedestal?

Maybe not. I do think that if exhibitors are patient, this movie may have long legs in the theaters.

This movie has everything for every age group (well, maybe not the elderly).

I really enjoyed and laughed out loud throughout the movie.

I pleasantly submit to you, my two sen.
Not watching black adam? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Oct 31 2022, 02:35 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Oct 30 2022, 09:58 AM)
Not watching black adam? laugh.gif laugh.gif
Dah...

Afraid I would cause a "riot" if I reviewed it here....

sweat.gif
skylinelover
post Nov 3 2022, 11:57 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Oct 31 2022, 02:35 PM)
Dah...

Afraid I would cause a "riot" if I reviewed it here....

sweat.gif
1 more week Black Panther 2 laugh.gif

Confirmed not banned unlike Love and Thunda rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 10 2022, 04:36 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (2022)

Black Panther (2018) made money. It made alot money than even Disney expected. So it is not a surprise that a sequel was announced and the audience waited eagerly.

How can you talk about the sequel without touching on Chadwick Boseman passing away in in the middle of 2020...

Even more surprise Marvel announced that the sequel would go on and that T'Challa (Chadwick Boseman role) will not be reprise. They would not even create a CGI version of the character!

Audiences were sad and yet curious about how Marvel will pull that off.

The wait is over. The sequel is upon us and it is...

I am getting ahead of myself.

Marvel wasted no time addressing the lost of T'Challa.

The main focus of this movie is Shuri (Letitia Wright) and Queen Ramon(Angela Bassett) wept as would the audience.

The movie than sprinted to the core storyline of the movie.

The director kept his promise, expanding the Black Panther world.

Plot threads from the first movie do get expanded on here.

New characters are introduced.

I can see how some would complained that this movie is "WOKE".

I on the other hand would argue that this movie is "woke" done correctly.

Focusing on the strength of the characters, rather than demanding everyone to respect the characters feminity...

I hope I am making sense.

Yes, on of the new character is Namor (Tenoch Huerta). I like the back story of this character and his world.

So, can Shuri hold up the whole movie on her slender shoulders.

Saying that this is a Shuri centric movie maybe a little misleading.

This movie is very much an assemble movie.

Almost every character has his/her moment to shine.

I do have two grumbles concerning this movie.

The last battle lack..... ooomph...

This movie is very very long... 2 hours 41 minutes!!!

Can scene could have definitely been summarised...

The above, like always, is just my two sen...
Mickey C
post Nov 13 2022, 04:32 PM

616 posts

Code Name Banshee (2022) - No good at all
Prey (2022) - Worth watching, so good. thumbup.gif

skylinelover
post Nov 13 2022, 08:22 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 10 2022, 04:36 PM)
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (2022)

Black Panther (2018) made money. It made alot money than even Disney expected. So it is not a surprise that a sequel was announced and the audience waited eagerly.

How can you talk about the sequel without touching on Chadwick Boseman  passing away in in the middle of 2020...

Even more surprise Marvel announced that the sequel would go on and that T'Challa (Chadwick Boseman role) will not be reprise. They would not even create a CGI version of the character!

Audiences were sad and yet curious about how Marvel will pull that off.

The wait is over. The sequel is upon us and it is...

I am getting ahead of myself.

Marvel wasted no time addressing the lost of T'Challa.

The main focus of this movie is Shuri (Letitia Wright) and Queen Ramon(Angela Bassett) wept as would the audience.

The movie than sprinted to the core storyline of the movie.

The director kept his promise, expanding the Black Panther world.

Plot threads from the first movie do get expanded on here.

New characters are introduced.

I can see how some would complained that this movie is "WOKE".

I on the other hand would argue that this movie is "woke" done correctly.

Focusing on the strength of the characters, rather than demanding everyone to respect the characters feminity...

I hope I am making sense.

Yes, on of the new character is Namor (Tenoch Huerta). I like the back story of this character and his world.

So, can Shuri hold up the whole movie on her slender shoulders.

Saying that this is a Shuri centric movie maybe a little misleading.

This movie is very much an assemble movie.

Almost every character has his/her moment to shine.

I do have two grumbles concerning this movie.

The last battle lack..... ooomph...

This movie is very very long... 2 hours 41 minutes!!!

Can scene could have definitely been summarised...

The above, like always, is just my two sen...
So 1st movie finale still better? laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
Mov_freak
post Nov 23 2022, 07:07 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

The Menu (2022)

Woah!

Calling this movie a black comedy is REAL understatement.

This is a dark DARK movie.

The cast is great.

The cinematography is immaculate.

It has been ages that I had seen Judith Light in anything. Though she is severely underused here.

Not surprising.

You have Ralph Fiennes, Anya Taylor-Joy, Nicholas Hoult & John Leguizamo (another underused character) all stealing their scenes.

We just came out from a pandemic.

Everyone is sick (mentally and physically) of being confined in one place.

There are some really decent movies released so far in 2022. From huge productions like the Marvel and DC films, to film from India (RRR anyone), to the pleasantly surprisingly good (Prey), to the missed opportunity (I am looking at you Nope!???), to the absolute bizarre (Everything Everywhere All at Once, what the...), to the bleak (The Northman, shame on you Shakespeare) and of course the crowd pleaser of the year (Tope Gun Maverick) that gives us a reason to goto the movies.

I seriously am hoping I am not misleading you by stating the other movies here. I am not sure is I would strongly urge you to go to this one.

Truth to be told, I and still processing this movie.

I still have not decided if it is brilliant or madness.

If I have not made it clear is is a very very bleak movie.

If this movie is to be believe, there really isn't good or bad people in the world.

I do wish some charaters are more fleash out. Or at the very least have their motivation made more apparent.

I really don't know if I can say anything more about the movie...

With the above, I present, my two sens....
skylinelover
post Nov 30 2022, 02:18 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Nov 23 2022, 07:07 PM)
The Menu (2022)

Woah!

Calling this movie a black comedy is REAL understatement.

This is a dark DARK movie.

The cast is great.

The cinematography is immaculate.

It has been ages that I had seen Judith Light in anything. Though she is severely underused here.

Not surprising.

You have Ralph Fiennes, Anya Taylor-Joy, Nicholas Hoult & John Leguizamo (another underused character) all stealing their scenes.

We just came out from a pandemic.

Everyone is sick (mentally and physically) of being confined in one place.

There are some really decent movies released so far in 2022. From huge productions like the Marvel and DC films, to film from India (RRR anyone), to the pleasantly surprisingly good (Prey), to the missed opportunity (I am looking at you Nope!???), to the absolute bizarre (Everything Everywhere All at Once, what the...), to the bleak (The Northman, shame on you Shakespeare) and of course the crowd pleaser of the year (Tope Gun Maverick) that gives us a reason to goto the movies.

I seriously am hoping I am not misleading you by stating the other movies here. I am not sure is I would strongly urge you to go to this one.

Truth to be told, I and still processing this movie.

I still have not decided if it is brilliant or madness.

If I have not made it clear is is a very very bleak movie.

If this movie is to be believe, there really isn't good or bad people in the world.

I do wish some charaters are more fleash out. Or at the very least have their motivation made more apparent.

I really don't know if I can say anything more about the movie...

With the above, I present, my two sens....
Haha here i still waiting Avatar 2 laugh.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 1 2022, 09:48 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Nov 30 2022, 02:18 PM)
Haha here i still waiting Avatar 2 laugh.gif
I am cautiously optimistic about Avatar 2....

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 1 2022, 09:48 AM
Mov_freak
post Dec 4 2022, 06:57 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Violent Night (2022)

In 1990, they pushed Kevin too far...

In 2022, they did it to Santa...

Something is gonna hit the fan...

First of all, this is a very VERY violent movie.

The weird thing is our censorship board, blanked out the swear words and left of the minute details of acts of violence.... Hmmmm..... hmm.gif

Second of all

Most of the characters in this movie, has no dimension.

What you know about the characters are what is shown and no more.

Which makes relating to the people difficult.

Third of all

I have very very mix feels about this movie

The production quality is A-Okay

The story...

The violence...

I was expecting a slightly elevated Home Alone violence.

What I got was a very R-rated violence.

I blame it on the trailer.

They sold me apples and I got oranges....

Final thoughts.... This is a very very mix movie.

David Harbour did his best with the material he got.

Everyone else very two dimensional....

I can see why people can enjoy this movie.

I just like parts of it.

I just hope extremist do not take note on how to cause violence...

My Two Sen.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Dec 4 2022, 09:15 PM
skylinelover
post Dec 5 2022, 01:21 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Dec 1 2022, 09:48 AM)
I am cautiously optimistic about Avatar 2....
Haha okie

1st format i plan 2 watch on is 3D hahahaha
Mov_freak
post Dec 15 2022, 01:23 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

13 years ladies and gentlemen.

We waited 13 years for this.

Is it worth the wait?

In a word, YES!

Go watch it.

You know you want to.

My Two Sen
tzxsean
post Dec 15 2022, 09:22 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Dec 15 2022, 01:23 AM)

13 years ladies and gentlemen.

We waited 13 years for this.

Is it worth the wait?

In a word, YES!

Go watch it.

You know you want to.

My Two Sen
IMAX or normal hall will do?
skylinelover
post Dec 15 2022, 11:40 AM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 15 2022, 09:22 AM)
IMAX 3D hahahaha no 3D no deal laugh.gif icon_idea.gif
Mov_freak
post Dec 21 2022, 11:16 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 15 2022, 09:22 AM)
I watched it at MBO Big Screen...

Quite good (Barco Laser Projector)

No access to IMAX at this point in time
GravityFi3ld
post Dec 22 2022, 04:18 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

Emancipation (2022)
Went into to this film without any prior hint of what it is about.

I think Will Smith's stunt at the Oscars left a bad taste in my subconscious. Had a less than positive feel of the film when he appeared sweat.gif

The film overall, while shares the same "Slavery" theme as 12 Years (A Slave) - is very much its own thing.
I did enjoy that the film was in Black n White.
Plot/Story-wise - some scenes were well executed and others dragged out a tad too much.

I'd say in short, it's a mix of 12 Years (2013) + Revenant (2015) laugh.gif But 100% do not feel it is Oscar worthy, at all. #SemuaSalahSmithSlap
skylinelover
post Jan 2 2023, 01:46 PM

11,244 posts

Happy new year fellow reviewers laugh.gif rclxms.gif
Mov_freak
post Jan 16 2023, 09:52 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Puss in Boots: The Last Wish (2022)

Life creeps onto you...

So does, apparently, good movies.

I put off watching this movie, because my assumption was it was going to be meh.

I am eating humble pie.

This is a bloody good movie.

Dreamworks had proven that they can turn fairy-tale (or Nursery Rhyme) on it's head and make it bloody entertaining and dare I say original!

2022 turns out to be a very good year for good movies.

This is the cherry on the pie, I kid you not.

If you have not watched this, please do, as I had stated, it is bloody good.

My Two Sen.
Mov_freak
post Jan 17 2023, 11:21 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Sakra 天龍八部之喬峯傳 (2023)

I can think of at least 4 TV series and two movies based of this book.

Donnie Yen wears many hats in this one.

I have to say that the first fight scene is AMAZING!!!

Breathtaking really.

I have to mainly agree with the casting.

Because Donnie Yen is involved, the fighting scenes are a gamut of good to FREAKING AMAZING.

This is based on a well loved book.

This is where the movie stumble....

Many a people had tried to bring this book into a movie.

Namely

The Battle Wizard (1977) by Shaw Brothers the biggest Chinese cinema producers at the time. It was... funky. The emphasis is place on kungfu special effects instead of getting all the story into a movie.

Dragon Chronicles: The Maidens of Heavenly Mountain (1994) that was very ambitious and had Jackie Chan and Stephen Chow signed on for part 2 and 3 and have to add the movie was SOOOOOOOOOO far removed from the source material, movie goers avoided the movie like the plague (did not make money) causing the 2nd and 3rd movie to be scrapped.

So what I am trying to state here is that many a people had tried and not succeed to adapt this book to a movie.

The books concentrated on 3 main characters that was quite interwoven (story wise) to one another.

Isolating to only one character.... did not do the movie any favours.

The hardest sell is that movie wants to have an open mind about the artistic license it took with the story yet, if you are not familiar with the original story, you may not understand what had happened!!!

A catch 22 indeed.

Looking at the ending, they are hoping this does well do that sequels (about the other two characters) can be made.

We shall see if this movie does enough at the box office to justify that

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jan 17 2023, 01:31 PM
skylinelover
post Jan 18 2023, 01:33 PM

11,244 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jan 17 2023, 11:21 AM)
Sakra 天龍八部之喬峯傳 (2023)

I can think of at least 4 TV series and two movies based of this book.

Donnie Yen wears many hats in this one.

I have to say that the first fight scene is AMAZING!!!

Breathtaking really.

I have to mainly agree with the casting.

Because Donnie Yen is involved, the fighting scenes are a gamut of good to FREAKING AMAZING.

This is based on a well loved book.

This is where the movie stumble....

Many a people had tried to bring this book into a movie.

Namely

The Battle Wizard (1977) by Shaw Brothers the biggest Chinese cinema producers at the time. It was... funky. The emphasis is place on kungfu special effects instead of getting all the story into a movie.

Dragon Chronicles: The Maidens of Heavenly Mountain (1994) that was very ambitious and had Jackie Chan and Stephen Chow signed on for part 2 and 3 and have to add the movie was SOOOOOOOOOO far removed from the source material, movie goers avoided the movie like the plague (did not make money) causing the 2nd and 3rd movie to be scrapped.

So what I am trying to state here is that many a people had tried and not succeed to adapt this book to a movie.

The books concentrated on 3 main characters that was quite interwoven (story wise) to one another.

Isolating to only one character.... did not do the movie any favours.

The hardest sell is that movie wants to have an open mind about the artistic license it took with the story yet, if you are not familiar with the original story, you may not understand what had happened!!!

A catch 22 indeed.

Looking at the ending, they are hoping this does well do that sequels (about the other two characters) can be made.

We shall see if this movie does enough at the box office to justify that

My Two Sen
This definitely better than Dragon Tiger Gate, another adaptation laugh.gif rclxms.gif

39 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0684sec    0.68    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:28 AM