Huawei B618 Router V2, We are back!

vin6
post Jul 22 2021, 03:16 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(KopiChia @ Jul 13 2021, 11:10 AM)
V5 doesn't show its b3 b7 etc just show 1800 td fd etc. Better get 4.2.1 older version. All can be found in Google search or telegram groups
THanks bro managed to get in local fb group. awesome modem...i bought it unlocked but didnt realize it was modded also ( but im using unlimited plan so no diff for me)
thales.of.miletus
post Jul 27 2021, 05:25 PM

94 posts

What form of tinkering with the device would be recommended (if any), once my 2-year contract with unifi air ends soon (this month or next).

I'd assume (and hope) my device is unlocked.
alextan99
post Jul 28 2021, 12:15 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

QUOTE(thales.of.miletus @ Jul 27 2021, 05:25 PM)
What form of tinkering with the device would be recommended (if any), once my 2-year contract with unifi air ends soon (this month or next).

I'd assume (and hope) my device is unlocked.
no need to hope, just insert a sim card from other provider and if you don't get any signal or connect then you know its locked to Unifi sim only
wisla
post Jul 31 2021, 02:26 AM

111 posts

to celcom-locked b618 modem user, did any of u use parabolic antenna?

im using one but somehow da signal reading n internet speed r almost identical.. sometime da built-in antenna produced better reading.. ~15Mbps no green in huawei manager app

someone told me dat b618's antennas r alredy superior, is it true?
cute_boboi
post Jul 31 2021, 12:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wisla @ Jul 31 2021, 02:26 AM)
to celcom-locked b618 modem user, did any of u use parabolic antenna?

im using one but somehow da signal reading n internet speed r almost identical.. sometime da built-in antenna produced better reading.. ~15Mbps no green in huawei manager app

someone told me dat b618's antennas r alredy superior, is it true?
Quite a lot of technicalities to get it right.
- para pointing to the correct telco tower
- para height - as high as possible
- dual antenna cable type and length = signal degrade/loss
- connectors

Have you manually check to set external antenna to On in your B618 (192.168.8.1) ?

Could be congested as well. Try 1am-6am comparison.
icon_rolleyes.gif

wisla
post Jul 31 2021, 02:03 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 31 2021, 12:19 PM)
Quite a lot of technicalities to get it right.
- para pointing to the correct telco tower
- para height - as high as possible
- dual antenna cable type and length = signal degrade/loss
- connectors

i did try to point to a tower but still not dat gud so had to rotate till get the strongest reading + i put it kinda high as well, high enuff over the roof of my house ( my roof kinda high too)

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jul 31 2021, 12:19 PM)

Have you manually check to set external antenna to On in your B618 (192.168.8.1) ?

i did but yeah.. seems indifferent with sumtim internal antenna performing better..
cute_boboi
post Jul 31 2021, 07:44 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wisla @ Jul 31 2021, 02:03 PM)
i did try to point to a tower but still not dat gud so had to rotate till get the strongest reading + i put it kinda high as well, high enuff over the roof of my house ( my roof kinda high too)
i did but yeah.. seems indifferent with sumtim internal antenna performing better..
I believe you use hmanager to check the SINR, RSRQ, RQRP and twist/turn the antenna while on the roof to get the strongest signal ?

Just wondering are you in city urban/suburban or in kampung area/plantation ? hmm.gif

Most of the time (if not all the time), para or dual-LDPA will perform better than the internal antennas.
- bigger antenna = stronger dBi/dBm
- externally located

Also if cheap/low-end cable and the length is >=15m will cause a lot of signal loss also, which may equal to not performing better.
Recommended are LMR400, 200, RG6, 8, 58 (if I remember correctly)
Also the connectors if too many joins. Or if cable<->connector joins are poor quality will cause a lot of signal loss also.

There is a B618 FB group you can join and ask also, many experts there.
icon_rolleyes.gif

carlitofreak
post Aug 1 2021, 06:34 PM

4* M a d r i d i s t a
929 posts

Is this mean my modem is sim-locked?

post Aug 2 2021, 09:24 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Aug 1 2021, 06:34 PM)
Is this mean my modem is sim-locked?

yes. already locked.cannot use from other telco.
ckwhy
post Aug 11 2021, 10:14 AM

367 posts

I recently bought the 4G LTE CPE 300 from shopee and its working great

Check out my unboxing and test video
https://youtu.be/N2tpxpVr1AM
TSfadzly
post Aug 12 2021, 01:58 PM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Aug 11 2021, 10:14 AM)
I recently bought the 4G LTE CPE 300 from shopee and its working great

Check out my unboxing and test video
https://youtu.be/N2tpxpVr1AM
wrong place bro
Reyz
post Oct 3 2021, 10:13 PM

321 posts

Anyone of you who owned the 22D and 65D can check whether the wifi bandwith for both unit is difference?my 65D just max to 20Mhz but my 22D can go up to 80Mhz

lwk523
post Oct 8 2021, 01:23 PM

Premium Q Trader
1,040 posts

Does any user here still using Maxis backup sim card ?

TSfadzly
post Oct 10 2021, 11:51 AM

1,757 posts

QUOTE(lwk523 @ Oct 8 2021, 01:23 PM)
Does any user here still using Maxis backup sim card ?
no. because maxis prime has already made our mobile line become unlimited.
zain_azmira94
post Oct 17 2021, 11:54 AM

107 posts

Hi, I just want to know, if unlocked b618-56d unlocked (not telco lock) v81 can be m0dified ?
Dozz
post Nov 5 2021, 01:48 PM

2,149 posts

Hi
Does unifi mobile 99 unlimited SIM work with this router? 65D
dark_axl21
post Nov 5 2021, 01:51 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 5 2021, 01:48 PM)
Hi
Does unifi mobile 99 unlimited SIM work with this router? 65D
If you have the 65d version, then yeah.
Because Band 5 is crucial.

But I remember there is a 10GB hotspot for the plan?

This post has been edited by dark_axl21: Nov 5 2021, 01:52 PM
Dozz
post Nov 5 2021, 01:57 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(dark_axl21 @ Nov 5 2021, 01:51 PM)
If you have the 65d version, then yeah.
Because Band 5 is crucial.

But I remember there is a 10GB hotspot for the plan?
Yeah I'm using 65D version. Just got the SIM today. I put it into 65D, in the router's main page it show connected and 65D lights all green, but somehow it no internet. I reset the router to default but doesn't help.

Any idea why ?
dark_axl21
post Nov 5 2021, 02:00 PM

TUKANG
660 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Nov 5 2021, 01:57 PM)
Yeah I'm using 65D version. Just got the SIM today. I put it into 65D, in the router's main page it show connected and 65D lights all green, but somehow it no internet. I reset the router to default but doesn't help.

Any idea why ?
Is your modem locked?
Not too sure about it, if everything else is green, it should be good to go?
Dozz
post Nov 5 2021, 02:09 PM

2,149 posts

My modem 65D is unlocked

Yeah I was headache and not sure what's wrong with it

Will be appreciated if anyone here able to advise me further.

63 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 >Top

0.0267sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:06 AM