Huawei B618 Router V2, We are back!

cute_boboi
post Apr 2 2020, 01:21 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Want so ask sifu-sifu sekalian ... assume budget 1k

For now, should I get Huawei B618-65d or the newer B818 ? Or other model ? hmm.gif

Plan to use with my existing Maxis sim card. Currently using low-end 4G LTE/MiFi , can right ?

Is B818 fully compatible and higher spec as compared to B618 ? How about the upcoming 5G in Malaysia ?

Thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Apr 14 2020, 10:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

What are the current big quota/unlimited package as hotspot/tether ?

Standalone
TM Unifi Air - RM79/month (sim only)
DiGi i150 - RM150/month

Package
Maxis One Prime broadband/unlimited - RM89 + RM98 + + + expensive yo!

hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Jun 16 2020, 04:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jun 16 2020, 04:06 AM)
Yeah, bundled one. Can ask Celcom to change the address?
Call Celcom, ask them to reset/change your location, you may need to provide your Ipoh address so they can lock it to the telco towers there. You can only do this once/twice per year. Hope you are not going back to Subang Jaya or else where very soon.

cute_boboi
post Jun 27 2020, 12:58 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Jun 27 2020, 08:28 AM)
Hmmmm. GG if they lock based on address.

Anyway,b818 anyone bought one yet?
brows.gif

cute_boboi
post Jun 27 2020, 04:56 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 27 2020, 01:31 PM)
This one Taiwan set.
Mine is International one.
😁
Yes, but doesn't matter, still works. A lot of people scared about firmware upgrade lock, but firmware upgrade can disable in settings.

cute_boboi
post Jun 27 2020, 11:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 27 2020, 06:34 PM)
What is your opinion about the modem?
I don’t know why but I feel that the WiFi sucks.
My old Asus N66U connect to B818 router seems better in terms of speed stability and signal.
Yes, the 5GHz wifi is very weak or maybe my walls are thick. Anyway I don't have B618 or other equivalent stronger WiFi AP to compare.
The 2.4GHz also weaker compared to my older AP
Too bad currently my area is congested, so far cannot get >80Mbps d/l even at non-peak hour, but I have not tried 2am-7am.
Also a lot of interference due to urban area, SINR always between -1 and 2 only. RSRP, RSRQ and RSSI those are green. I wonder how some people can get SINR >10
I'm only about 300-400m direct distance from two towers that I regularly able to connect. I've been spending some time using CellMapper to map my area.
Lock B3+B7 Maxis

Stability and strength wise, definitely better than my previous lower grade modems.

cute_boboi
post Jun 28 2020, 05:40 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 27 2020, 11:31 PM)
So it confirms that it is not me only.
The WiFi B818 is kinda bad in terms of signal coverage and stability.
A bit worse than my old Asus RT-N66U.
Luckily I got that router to expand my coverage.

But overall I am satisfied with my B818 with the 4G signal stability and speed.
Constant 50 Mbps and above always.
Use other WiFi AP plug into B818 as modem since you have stronger one. Disable WiFi in B818

Yes, B818 definitely can "tarik" signal compared to my cheap modem by 2x-4x especially with 4G+ 2CA

cute_boboi
post Jun 29 2020, 12:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Jun 29 2020, 11:42 AM)
did u own b618 before?

hows different between both

the price also
I never own B618 before, but from what I learn/read, B818 performance is equivalent or 10% better from few who has done the comparison.

Current day price wise for 4G/LTE modems from what I saw:
B818-263 about RM600 +/-
B618-22 Celcom lock about RM200-300
B618-65 Unifi Air about RM400-600+
B618-65 m0dded price inflated to RM750-1k due to TM change to ZTE modem

There is a better one for the upcoming 5G : H112 / H122 brows.gif price RM1.2k up.

cute_boboi
post Sep 15 2020, 10:26 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Sep 15 2020, 12:06 AM)
i was recommended this.

i got data sim card

i got desktop at home. i wish to use wired connection for stable-est condition

i got a mobile which i need the data sim to carry around

what's my solution?

this device cant go with me when im on the move
Not just this device. There are other home-based modems that has 4G SIM slots. Buy a SIM extender cable so you can easily swap the SIM between your modem and mobile.
Otherwise, depending on your telco package, you can request additional multi-sim for data only. Need to pay RM10-15 extra monthly. It will share the data from your existing line.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Sep 21 2020, 11:47 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Sep 21 2020, 04:17 PM)
Has anyone tried this method to make "portable" 4G CPE router?
The description said B310, and powered up using powerbank.
[attachmentid=10592861][attachmentid=10592862]
Those are 1A output for 525/310/etc.
B618/818/+++ all requires 2A.
Some will use power delivery powerbank with minimum 18W output.

I'm still searching for a proper 2A output or something I can piggyback into fuse-box. Insufficient power may cause brownout and intermittent modem reboot. However, there are some who says they have been using it without issue for years, etc.

I'm not going to risk my unit yet ...

cute_boboi
post Apr 6 2021, 11:35 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Bishop @ Apr 6 2021, 11:31 PM)
Hi. Wanna ask can I use my B618 as a WiFi extender/repeater? Just got unifi installed but the router signal can’t reach upstairs.

Any sifu can help?
Sell the B618. Get proper mesh wifi

cute_boboi
post Jul 31 2021, 12:19 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wisla @ Jul 31 2021, 02:26 AM)
to celcom-locked b618 modem user, did any of u use parabolic antenna?

im using one but somehow da signal reading n internet speed r almost identical.. sometime da built-in antenna produced better reading.. ~15Mbps no green in huawei manager app

someone told me dat b618's antennas r alredy superior, is it true?
Quite a lot of technicalities to get it right.
- para pointing to the correct telco tower
- para height - as high as possible
- dual antenna cable type and length = signal degrade/loss
- connectors

Have you manually check to set external antenna to On in your B618 (192.168.8.1) ?

Could be congested as well. Try 1am-6am comparison.
icon_rolleyes.gif

cute_boboi
post Jul 31 2021, 07:44 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(wisla @ Jul 31 2021, 02:03 PM)
i did try to point to a tower but still not dat gud so had to rotate till get the strongest reading + i put it kinda high as well, high enuff over the roof of my house ( my roof kinda high too)
i did but yeah.. seems indifferent with sumtim internal antenna performing better..
I believe you use hmanager to check the SINR, RSRQ, RQRP and twist/turn the antenna while on the roof to get the strongest signal ?

Just wondering are you in city urban/suburban or in kampung area/plantation ? hmm.gif

Most of the time (if not all the time), para or dual-LDPA will perform better than the internal antennas.
- bigger antenna = stronger dBi/dBm
- externally located

Also if cheap/low-end cable and the length is >=15m will cause a lot of signal loss also, which may equal to not performing better.
Recommended are LMR400, 200, RG6, 8, 58 (if I remember correctly)
Also the connectors if too many joins. Or if cable<->connector joins are poor quality will cause a lot of signal loss also.

There is a B618 FB group you can join and ask also, many experts there.
icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0488sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:18 PM