6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

LYN Dashcam Discussion V2 | Dashcam Talk Malaysia, Everything related to dashcam!

Chrix
post Jul 5 2023, 03:15 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Jul 1 2023, 12:43 AM)
Have never through that in bright daylight, my stupid QHD dashcam failed to capture the car number plate clearly.

Was right behind a car, which broke the red light and almost hit me, and I thought I can easily capture the evidence and number plate being right behind the car after that, closest distance between me and the car was like 5m, both car moving.

Now I'm so dilemma if this is common or it's my dashcam problem.
dashcam make & model
post video here
Chrix
post Jul 10 2023, 04:42 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jul 10 2023, 02:00 PM)
Some basic questions.

1. Can any normal front dashcam be used as a rear dashcam?
2. Is it advisable to go with standard dashcam option by car manufacturer (for rear dashcam) to minimise hassle since it will be installed in the factory, or go with aftermarket one which uses different app to control since the front dashcam is already included with the vehicle using the car manufacturer's app?

For me, as long as the dash camera can take clear pictures of the number plate, that's good enough for me. Don't need any fancy features but was just curious about the pros and cons of having an integrated app to control both front and rear dashcams, or 2 different apps to control the front and rear dashcams separately since they come from different brands/manufacturers.
1. Yes. the cam does not know where it is mounted, you may even use it to record inside the vehicle (altho, focal length & FOV may not be ideal).
2. Thus far, to my knowledge (I dont research, as I dont buy cars new) the solution provided by car manufacturers are inferior to established dashcam companies.

How clear the video is is also influenced by the environment in which it is operating in, including but not limited to clarity of windscreen, glare from other light sources, amount of useable light, etc. Just like your phone camera, on a sunny day outdoors it takes great pictures, but not so in dark & backlit or multiple light sources from behind your subject.

App wise, you dont need to monitor them constantly. I have 2 apps on my phone for both my cars which using different makes.
Chrix
post Jul 17 2023, 11:28 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 16 2023, 01:51 PM)
just install ddpai z50 (front and rear)

find it very annoying as everytime start car, the ddpai display will turn on. any way to permanently turn it off?
serious anal stuff there, but you can set a timeout for it to turn off...
Chrix
post Jul 18 2023, 08:16 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Frostlord @ Jul 17 2023, 01:35 PM)
any non-troll suggestion? this is not kopitiam

i looked online for user manual/guide but it is very short and the setting options in the app is very limited
Please report replies which you deem as trolling.

Just because replies are not a solution that you are looking for, means its trolling?

Then manufacturer also trolling by not having that features to completely disable the screen.
Chrix
post Jul 28 2023, 10:49 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(arkana @ Jul 27 2023, 08:37 PM)
Hi ... need help.

Which one should I go for between

70MAI A500 & DDPAI Z50.

Thanks in advance for your feedback.
There are many comparison for these two models, and general brands. Just perform a simple search.

For me, its always capasitor rather than battery.

This post has been edited by Chrix: Jul 28 2023, 10:49 AM
Chrix
post Aug 8 2023, 05:45 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Aug 8 2023, 12:20 PM)
Hi sifus good morning. I would like to ask if any dashcam is suitable just to keep on the dashboard (maybe with double sided tape). This means the bottom part is mostly flat so it can sit on the dashboard. My needs are just to record forward (and maybe rear) view, nothing fancy. Thanks.
record front and/or rear is not fancy, literally the sole purpose of this device.

as for mounting on flat surface, other than that surface possibly being damaged due to the adhesive, should be fine.

Depending on cam model, some design maybe can direct mount...some cant due to suction cup, but you can use suction cup as a means to mount it instead.

however, you may want to reconsider this method, as the low position of the cam may:
1. Wipers or other parts of windscreen blocking most of the useable FOV
2. Glare from sun due to the vast majority of the FOV will be sky
3. depending on type of vehicle, glare from dashboard

Chrix
post Sep 5 2023, 08:46 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(15cm @ Sep 4 2023, 10:10 PM)
all the ones i see out there in store has a screen.

my opinion is i dont need to see the screen. i just need to know its recording, a red LED for indicator. Its not like i am going to look up and see the screen when i am driving, even if i see, its too small for any use. I may need to watch the recording If i get into accident, like 0.1 % of the time ( so far has never happened) , but even then i prefer to view it on a larger screen.

and those with screen is pretty heavy if you dont stick it properly it will always drop.

i am looking for a dashcam that

has

no screen
front and rear recording
has a video output to connect to a larger screen from a tablet.
preferably tiny and light.

any recommend?
ddpai for example has models without screen......front & back.

never had my z40 drop from windscreen, i think your case is user problem.

nowdays almost non have direct output to external screen, thats what the app is for. thus this is a edge case
Chrix
post Sep 19 2023, 08:41 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(lemonkaki @ Sep 18 2023, 08:47 PM)
Ddpai z40 still good ? For budget use
Buy what you can afford from reputable manufacturers, a dashcam is better than none at all.

If you find z40 is best you can get, then go for it.
Chrix
post Sep 22 2023, 09:03 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(lemonkaki @ Sep 21 2023, 08:59 PM)
Just bought DDpai Z40, any sifu can let me know if it is normal for the time to not sync after each power up and have to use phone app to sync every single time ?

*mine dont hv parking mode, just buy standard front and rear cam only. no gps no hardware kit
i cant recall was it in this thread or other place, another user complaint of exact same problem.

best to perform a warranty claim with seller
Chrix
post Sep 29 2023, 01:20 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Sep 29 2023, 10:49 AM)
this is interesting. i'm tired with bulky dashcams
Established brands already have slim models to choose from.

Heck even B1W is slim and its from years ago
Chrix
post Sep 30 2023, 02:04 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(fookhing @ Sep 30 2023, 11:36 AM)
Are old cars advisable to use dashcams? Will it be stolen? if say the car has a manual key lock/unlock without alarm system.
If your really worried about it, find a model which has easily removeable mount.

I am using a dashcam in my 1984 car with manual locks.
Chrix
post Oct 13 2023, 08:05 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(arabella @ Oct 12 2023, 09:44 PM)
Any idea how to record the sides of the car?
Install cameras at the areas which you wish to record.

Practical: no
Possible: yes

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Oct 13 2023, 07:19 AM)
Has anyone encountered an experience whereby the dashcam failed to record the video during a collision? My colleague's Mai70 failed to record just that particular video clip in that instant when the collision happened. Not too sure what happened but that 1 minute clip was missing but the rest of the video clips before and after were intact. Only that one video clip was completely missing.

Has anyone experienced this before whereby in the most crucial moment when the collision happened and the video of the accident is required, that video went missing.
Does not sound like an intended feature, is either:

user accidentally deleted the file
user did not manage to properly locate the file
collision detection turned off or wrong setting
issues with dashcam and/or memory card

I've never had that happen to any 3 of my dashcam since 2014, however I also have no been in such a collision as what you described, and also consumer products may have defects or issues.

At most the user can do now is to try replicate the incident (ofcourse not actual accident, rather impact the cam see if it triggers).

Personlly at times I trigger or press the record button as sanity check to ensure its functioning properly, same like how one would perform regular checks on a safety system.

This post has been edited by Chrix: Oct 13 2023, 08:05 AM
Chrix
post Oct 18 2023, 08:28 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 17 2023, 08:53 PM)
Hi guys,

Want ask if the dashcam that uses battery (as compared with capacitor) is still bad for our hot weather? My car will be parked under the hot sun when at work.

Had bad experience with previous dash cam that was using battery. Until i changed to my current set that's using capacitor. Lasted me for 6 years before it broke down. So time to look for a new one.

Thought of getting the 70mai A810. But it is using battery...

So, any thoughts....?
Let me get this straight:

you confessed bad experience with battery powered units, and you are aware of capasitor ones but still asking if battery units still viable?

So question is, Why do you eye those specific models which batterty & not other make/model with caps? Any underlying reason? (familiar with that brand apps, dont want change brand? , etc etc)

In my opinion, capasitor & battery units are priced similarly, alot are even similarly spec'ed & number of well know/reputable brands available. Why not just go with the cap ones?
Chrix
post Oct 18 2023, 10:15 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(kelvyn @ Oct 18 2023, 09:42 PM)
Just wanted to know if those battery powered dashcam has improved over the years. I see many using the 70mai. So just curious. If no more issue with the heat, thought of trying it.
My current dashcam is iroad v9 which has served me for many years and have since broken down. So time to get a replacement and looking to change to another brand. Looking for something below RM1k
I've only owned cap units G1W, B1W, Z40.

Can look at what ddpai has to offer, many form factors, single or dual cam.
Chrix
post Oct 28 2023, 11:40 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Gadget_Freak @ Oct 26 2023, 10:35 PM)
And anyone ever install rear dashcam on convertible? Where to mount the rear cam?
find a place or custom simple mount/flat surface on rear seat rests/head rests
Chrix
post Nov 8 2023, 08:42 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Nov 7 2023, 10:29 PM)
Yes, similarly he told me he found the video in the "special folder". I didn't update the thread as i thought no one would be interested to know. Apart from the video of the collision where the strong impact had triggered the video to be sent and stored in that special folder, he also found videos of his car being driven into the workshop for repair. He found it weird as there wouldn't be any collision and yet the videos of the vehicle driven around the workshop were recorded and stored in that special folder.
Case of user problem, failure to read user manual or understand how the product work.
Chrix
post Nov 12 2023, 06:37 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(PowerGadget @ Nov 12 2023, 04:12 PM)
Hello everywhere, I bought a VIOFO A129 plus after following this thread but I involved in car accident twice and two times also the camera just don’t save the moment accident. So frustrated. It record well for all event except the moment of accident the file sure gone..
read the manual, ensure you understand the product first.

alternatively, you can simulate an event by tapping on the unit to trigger it and see if it performs as intended.
Chrix
post Dec 19 2023, 01:35 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(Ku9 @ Dec 18 2023, 08:45 PM)
Any rear Dashcam alone? For Toyota cross hybrid
A dashcam is not aware where it is installed. Any dashcam can be mounted at the rear.

But end up need power, seperate app, etc as its standalone.

Chrix
post Jan 24 2024, 09:42 AM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 24 2024, 08:00 AM)
Would like to ask, is anyone using the 70Mai M300? Can this dashcam be used at both front and rear of the vehicle? I presume the performance of this one is decent?

Also, what is the difference between hardwire and plugging the unit(s) into the cigarette lighter charger? Is the hardwire any good? I've plugged the dashcam to the cigarrette lighter all this while. I'm currently using the 70Mai basic dashcam but it failed to work recently after 4 or 5 years so it's time for a new one. The 70Mai M300 costs RM175 at the moment.
https://dashcam.70mai.com/m300/
Isnt the m300 a single cam device?, how could it record both front & rear?
A what is called "2 channel" or "dual channel" or "front & rear" model is required if want to record 2 different views.

Typically, a hardwire would usually mean it has constant recording regardless if the vehicle is turned on, however it all depends on where the source of power is taken. Usually cig lighter is only active when vehicle is turned on (or ACC). But one can still hardwire without 24/7 recording if tap into an ACC source instead of constant/BATT.

Chrix
post Jan 24 2024, 04:47 PM

1,187 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 24 2024, 11:42 AM)
Thanks for the response. I am aware the M300 is a single camera. My understanding is to have 2 cameras, one at the front windscreen while another one at the rear windscreen to take videos at the front and rear, or my understanding is flawed?
A dashcam is not aware there it is placed, so yea. But a proper 2channel solution would be ideal. Only 1 power source, method of access, storage, etc.

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Jan 24 2024, 11:42 AM)
Ok understood on the concept of hardwiring, thanks. So hardwire will enable 24/7 recording even though the vehicle is turned off, parked anywhere. So by plugging the device into the cigarette lighter, the dash cam will not take any videos if the vehicle is turned off. I presume hardwire will involve connecting the wiring from the dash cam to the battery of the vehicle. Since the M300 has 24H Smart Parking Surveillance feature which the basic 70Mai model doesn't have, I guess it needs to be hardwired instead of getting plugged into the cigarette lighter to enable the 24H recording feature.
Yes correct, and proper device would have a voltage cutoff to prevent completely draining the battery.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.1500sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:06 AM