> Is Fedex scamming me? Custom Tax issue

SUSmy phone was on silent
post Apr 9 2019, 12:52 PM, updated 7y ago

so this is what happen

I bought a earphone from Jays sweden.

The earphone costed 79usd which is about Rm350, plus shipping of 19 usd, about RM 60++.

However I kena tax of RM73!! which is about 20%.

So I check the receipt,

it shows that the freight cost RM 346.35.

How come???

the tax now they charge 10%, but 10% of RM674, so it is RM 67 + 5(free commercial zone, duno whats that) = RM 72!!!!

So wtf???

They just simply add the shipping cost so they can tax me more???

This is unacceptable!!

I wanna ask /k for opinion, am I being scammed here?

If so, I will go to their office and shout,

and ask their freaking manager come out talk to LIMBEH!!!

Will probably ask my friend to record me making a scene and post on /k.

Thank you sifus of /k, please advise 🙏

This post has been edited by my phone was on silent: Apr 9 2019, 12:54 PM
ohman
post Apr 9 2019, 12:54 PM

1,178 posts

I think you got raped.

No tax brows.gif

This post has been edited by ohman: Apr 9 2019, 12:56 PM
post Apr 9 2019, 12:56 PM

QUOTE(ohman @ Apr 9 2019, 12:54 PM)
I think you got raped.
i think so too! vmad.gif

that parcel guy look so happy when i pay him the money

i wonder if he got a cut from this scam?
munak991
post Apr 9 2019, 12:58 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

FYI custom duty charge ur shipping fees.
u go check electronics, the HS code from custom
on top of that they have handling fee which is X amount plus SST

I once bought a kitchen electronics
Tax about RM 250, handling fee RM50+6%

from an items RM750 become RM 1100+

it's very luck dependent , they random check, if u unlucky and they want to charge u, u just bad luck.

U lucky it's FED EX Door to door service. if custom hold ur item good luck Q and talking to custom

This post has been edited by munak991: Apr 9 2019, 01:00 PM
post Apr 9 2019, 01:02 PM

QUOTE(munak991 @ Apr 9 2019, 12:58 PM)
FYI custom duty charge ur shipping fees.
u go check electronics, the HS code from custom
on top of that they have handling fee which is X amount plus SST

I once bought a kitchen electronics
Tax about RM 250, handling fee RM50+6%

from an items RM750 become RM 1100+

it's very luck dependent , they random check, if u unlucky and they want to charge u, u just bad luck.

U lucky it's FED EX Door to door service. if custom hold ur item good luck Q and talking to custom
Thanks for ur information.

But my problem here is,

Yes the tax includes the shipping fee.

But the shipping fee in the receipt is RM 346,

I only paid RM 60+ for the shipping fee,

I don't know where the RM 346 shipping fee comes from

munak991
post Apr 9 2019, 01:04 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(my phone was on silent @ Apr 9 2019, 01:02 PM)

But my problem here is,

didn't call FED ex for clarify?
eclectice
post Apr 9 2019, 01:04 PM

2,734 posts

Did you mention a shipping cost of USD19? It is supposed to be your freight cost. If the shipping cost is left empty in your CIF form, then Customs will use its Freight database by country of origin to calculate your freight cost. Usually, the freight cost under a minimum freight weight is the highest, depending on the country of origin.
blanket84
post Apr 9 2019, 01:08 PM

1,520 posts

But my problem here is,

Fedex have a special table with fixed shipping rate, so they take that rate instead of the actual rate. I kena once too. Lesson learned, ask the seller don’t use fedex. I never kena when using DHL or UPS.
ar188
post Apr 9 2019, 01:09 PM

9,206 posts

But my problem here is,

lol
that shipping fee is what the sender charged you. he could be subsidizing it or he could have extra discounts from fedex.
go to fedex website and download the official freight charge from fedex. then use that as reference.
post Apr 9 2019, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(eclectice @ Apr 9 2019, 01:04 PM)
Did you mention a shipping cost of USD19? It is supposed to be your freight cost. If the shipping cost is left empty in your CIF form, then Customs will use its Freight database by country of origin to calculate your freight cost. Usually, the freight cost under a minimum freight weight is the highest, depending on the country of origin.
You are right, shipping cost of USD19.

Freight cost in the Commercial Invoice is 0.00

the weight of my item is 0.3kg.

how come freight cost under a minimum freight weight is the highest?
post Apr 9 2019, 01:12 PM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 9 2019, 01:09 PM)
lol
that shipping fee is what the sender charged you. he could be subsidizing it or he could have extra discounts from fedex.
go to fedex website and download the official freight charge from fedex. then use that as reference.
I see, now I understand!

Thank you! smile.gif
post Apr 9 2019, 01:13 PM

QUOTE(ohman @ Apr 9 2019, 12:54 PM)
I think you got raped.

No tax brows.gif

i ordered many times internationally, china, US, etc.

items that are more expensive,

and never get taxed before.
SUSAngelic Layer
post Apr 9 2019, 01:15 PM

91 posts

AMD processor have a warrantee return FOC account with FEDEX.
And I ask for a boot kit for the new RYZEN 2200G and the Custom tried to scam me for taxes when the boot chip will be returned, FEDEX call 3 times a week, and I ask AMD send in a invoice, only they release.
When I return the processor to their Singapore HQ, Customs tried to scam me for taxes, luckily I kept the invoice copy, and they release it after 3 days.

When you have a corrupt system, everyone involves in the system are corrupted.
Rusty Nail
post Apr 9 2019, 01:16 PM

Why am I still here?
4,882 posts

My company was using tnt before being taken over by FedEx. Since takeover simply charge tax without contacting me. My imports supposed to be tax-free.
Long story short, I refused to pay, the suspend my account. Then proceeded to cancel all pending imports and switch to DHL. Didn't look back since.
Forgotoldaccount
post Apr 9 2019, 01:18 PM

31 posts

You are taxed based on nilai CIF, cost + fright + insurance. So yes, shipping cost included in deriving the import tax payable
Jas2davir
post Apr 9 2019, 01:19 PM

461 posts

back in BN gov i barely kena customs tax, almost like it was never enforced now with PH sini tax sana tax, babi betul this gov i want to vote for BN next election
skloda
post Apr 9 2019, 01:21 PM

Keep Calm , You Only Live Once
1,895 posts

custom duties + sst
SnaCkxZ
post Apr 9 2019, 01:33 PM

61 posts

blame your shipper for not declaring the freight cost laugh.gif
cofin
post Apr 9 2019, 01:51 PM

Finally
1,727 posts

i use FedeX always kena TAX ....knnccb one

I use DHL or others never kena tax also ....fark FeDeX
ApocalypseSoon
post Apr 9 2019, 01:55 PM

214 posts

That receipt was from Kastam, so u better go to Kastam Office & made a scene.
Cynox
post Apr 9 2019, 01:57 PM

Back to AMD camp!!!
5,362 posts

QUOTE(cofin @ Apr 9 2019, 01:51 PM)
i use FedeX always kena TAX ....knnccb one

I use DHL or others never kena tax also ....fark FeDeX
yes, very true. Dun use Fedex if you can opt for other courier. Fedex will try to get your items taxed so that they can charge you handling and other charges. But DHL sometime will kena too, not always though. Best is to use Poslaju, i.e. US Postal service, etc. similar to Poslaju. biggrin.gif They will take longer, 7-21 days but normally won't get taxed. *** touchwood ***
seather
post Apr 9 2019, 02:10 PM

xXxXxXxXx
1,335 posts

simple answer.. KASTAM thinks u under-declare

eclectice
post Apr 9 2019, 02:14 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(Mavs @ Apr 9 2019, 01:48 PM)
Malmo-Kuala Lumpur  mininum IATA rate is only RM150

Where that fedex guy got that 346.35 from ?
Its only 0.3 kgs so , its falls under minimum , and minimum charges never have cents at the back , usually RM100 , RM150 , RM75 like that ...

Its either that guy template this from previous custom form and forgot to change the freight value .
That freight cost comes from Customs Freight Cost Database and it will be used by Customs officer if the shipping cost is not properly declared in the CIF form he receives.
ApocalypseSoon
post Apr 9 2019, 02:18 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(eclectice @ Apr 9 2019, 02:14 PM)
That freight cost comes from Customs Freight Cost Database and it will be used by Customs officer if the shipping cost is not properly declared in the CIF form he receives.
Based on my experience if Custom decided to tax your parcel, they will ignore the actual Freight Cost stated in the invoice and used their own Freight Cost based on what inside Custom Database.
Exiled_Gundam
post Apr 9 2019, 02:21 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 9 2019, 01:08 PM)
Fedex have a special table with fixed shipping rate, so they take that rate instead of the actual rate. I kena once too. Lesson learned, ask the seller don’t use fedex. I never kena when using DHL or UPS.
I always kena every time i use dhl to ship stuff from Japan. And i kena the same case as ts; shipping cost paid to online shop is much lower than what stated on custom invoice.
blanket84
post Apr 9 2019, 02:25 PM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Apr 9 2019, 02:21 PM)
I always kena every time i use dhl to ship stuff from Japan. And i kena the same case as ts; shipping cost paid to online shop is much lower than what stated on custom invoice.
Your shipment came through subang or KLIA? Total value including shipment more than 500 or less?
HuorEarfalas
post Apr 9 2019, 02:31 PM

382 posts

Dunno how close u are to supplier... for me, i ask them to declare it as repair item with lowest value.
junsheng
post Apr 9 2019, 02:35 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

i feel fedex songlap moneh
bcauz DHL & USpos & ukmail not always got tax 1
but fedex always tax
Exiled_Gundam
post Apr 9 2019, 06:12 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 9 2019, 02:25 PM)
Your shipment came through subang or KLIA? Total value including shipment more than 500 or less?
Total plus shipping did exceed 500, but, I paid the online shop around 1600yen for shipping, which roughly around rm 60. The custom invoice stated my shipping cost was over rm 200, and they taxed me based on item price + rm 200++ shipping cost. Summore need to pay dhl agent around rm 90 to deal with kastam, which i can do by myself for cheaper
TheEvilMan
post Apr 9 2019, 06:19 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

TODEI MY DHL SUDDENLY TAHAN BY KASTAM, I TOT DIE LIAO THIS TIME MY GANDUM CONLANFIRM KENA TAXED BUT CUKUR JUST NOW 5.00 ANOTHER UPDATE SAY CUSTOM CLEAR LIAO TMR ONLY DELIVER
TheEvilMan
post Apr 9 2019, 06:21 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Apr 9 2019, 02:35 PM)
i feel fedex songlap moneh
bcauz DHL & USpos & ukmail not always got tax 1
but fedex always tax
IZZIT TRUE
I USE THEM ONCE NIA FOR OVERSEA, BOUGHT RM1500, BUT THE SELLER DECLARE SAMPLE AND 30USD, SO IT WENT THRU, STILL SCARE ONE DAY KENA SURE GAO GAO
pisces88
post Apr 9 2019, 06:23 PM

3,968 posts

exact same thing happen to me, also by fedex.

they add the farking shipping fee, and charge the tax on it as well. total was 25% of item+shipping feee = RM600+
G_KeN
post Apr 9 2019, 06:26 PM

~~Cheers love <3~~
1,453 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 9 2019, 06:21 PM)
IZZIT TRUE
I USE THEM ONCE NIA FOR OVERSEA, BOUGHT RM1500, BUT THE SELLER DECLARE SAMPLE AND 30USD, SO IT WENT THRU, STILL SCARE ONE DAY KENA SURE GAO GAO
they charge based on what is declared lor.
just that if item is missing, u can only claim usd30 lor lol
TheEvilMan
post Apr 9 2019, 06:37 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(G_KeN @ Apr 9 2019, 06:26 PM)
they charge based on what is declared lor.
just that if item is missing, u can only claim usd30 lor lol
BUT THAT SHITTY HK SITE ONLY USE FEDEX THATS WHY I ASK THEM UNDERDECLARE GUESS THEY ALSO KNOW FEDEX STYLE OF SIMPLY CHARGE PPL FREIGHT RATE, IN THEIR EMAIL THEU EVEN PROVIDE ME ALL THE DOCUMENTS, AS IF THEY WANT ME TO GET READY IF FEDEX PLAY TRICKS
junsheng
post Apr 9 2019, 11:01 PM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 9 2019, 06:21 PM)
IZZIT TRUE
lul like tat also can, ermmm yes fedex always kena tax 1

This post has been edited by junsheng: Apr 9 2019, 11:02 PM
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2019, 06:56 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(junsheng @ Apr 9 2019, 11:01 PM)
lul like tat also can, ermmm yes fedex always kena tax 1
KNS THE STATUS SAID RELEASE BUT I GOT EMAIL THIS MORNING DEMANDING TAX COS THEY RELEASE ON BEHALF OF ME, PAY RM114 bangwall.gif

1ST TIME KENA, NOW SKED LIAO, LAST TIME BUY RM 700-900 ALSO NO KENA, THIS TIME 600 INCLUDE SHIPPING TERUS KENA

This post has been edited by TheEvilMan: Apr 10 2019, 07:01 AM

absorb-d
post Apr 10 2019, 07:17 AM

1,115 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 10 2019, 06:56 AM)
KNS  THE STATUS SAID RELEASE BUT I GOT EMAIL THIS MORNING DEMANDING TAX COS THEY RELEASE ON BEHALF OF ME, PAY RM114  bangwall.gif

1ST TIME KENA, NOW SKED LIAO, LAST TIME BUY RM 700-900 ALSO NO KENA, THIS TIME 600 INCLUDE SHIPPING TERUS KENA
At least yours us rightfully, unlike TS
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2019, 07:20 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(absorb-d @ Apr 10 2019, 07:17 AM)
At least yours us rightfully, unlike TS
BUT STILL, DAMMIT SEEMS LIKE THE KASTAM IS GETTING ACTIVE THESE DAY bangwall.gif
:3mushy:3
post Apr 10 2019, 07:24 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 10 2019, 07:20 AM)
BUT STILL, DAMMIT SEEMS LIKE THE KASTAM IS GETTING ACTIVE THESE DAY bangwall.gif
Gandum got no tax whistling.gif
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2019, 07:56 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Apr 10 2019, 07:24 AM)
Gandum got no tax whistling.gif
I WONDER HOW SHEPHARD86 SMUGGLE IN HIS HENTAI FIGURE mad.gif
IlikePanadol
post Apr 10 2019, 07:57 AM

57 posts

TS, you have the right to represent yourself when disputing the charges. Inform Fedex that you are disputing the CIF value and will personally come to speak to the PK (Pegawai Kastam). Bring your actual shipping invoices that showed the freight cost.

I know what I am talking about.
I did it before and I am also in the logistics industry.
Blunt
post Apr 10 2019, 08:05 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Apr 9 2019, 01:08 PM)
LMAO never kene using DHL?!! You're just lucky. This issue plagues every courier services in malaysia.

It turns out the one who dictates your shipping fee amount is kastam themselves. I've oncedordered stuffs from ireland and it cost only rm300 but suddenly i got taxed rm120 because customs out my shipping cost value at rm400.

I even complained to DHL ireland and after consultation with DHL malaysia, they said there's nothing they can do about it because customs have the final say. They said, you should have just reject the shipments so that you don't have to pay the tax and then reordered it again. The next shipment "could" went through untaxed.

Excellent logic.

This post has been edited by Blunt: Apr 10 2019, 08:07 AM
blanket84
post Apr 10 2019, 09:05 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Blunt @ Apr 10 2019, 08:05 AM)
LMAO never kene using DHL?!! You're just lucky. This issue plagues every courier services in malaysia.

It turns out the one who dictates your shipping fee amount is kastam themselves. I've oncedordered stuffs from ireland and it cost only rm300 but suddenly i got taxed rm120 because customs out my shipping cost value at rm400.

I even complained to DHL ireland and after consultation with DHL malaysia, they said there's nothing they can do about it because customs have the final say. They said, you should have just reject the shipments so that you don't have to pay the tax and then reordered it again. The next shipment "could" went through untaxed.

Excellent logic.
Yeah i think I’m just lucky with DHL and unlucky with Fedex. 3 times i user fedex 3 times kena despite the actual CIF is below RM500. More than 10x I used fedex, never once kena. I think the entry point also plays a part. All fedex shipment came through KLIA and DHL came through Subang.
SUSshephard86
post Apr 10 2019, 11:41 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 10 2019, 07:56 AM)
I WONDER HOW SHEPHARD86 SMUGGLE IN HIS HENTAI FIGURE mad.gif
MY HENTAI FIGURE ALL BOUGHT FROM MY FREN WHO IS A FIGURE SELLER. DIA ADA KAKI AT KASTAM SO SAVE ME FROM ALL THOSE TROUBLE. BUT THE PRICE EXPENSIVE A BIT LA......
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2019, 11:43 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(shephard86 @ Apr 10 2019, 11:41 AM)
MY HENTAI FIGURE ALL BOUGHT FROM MY FREN WHO IS A FIGURE SELLER. DIA ADA KAKI AT KASTAM SO SAVE ME FROM ALL THOSE TROUBLE. BUT THE PRICE EXPENSIVE A BIT LA......
I DAMN DULAN OUR COUNTRY NO HAVE PROPER SELLER FOR DIE CATS GANDUM ETC, SOMETIME SHOP A CARRY SOMETIME SHOP B CARRY
SOMEMORE VERY SLOW, 2 MONTHS LIAO ALSO HAVEN'T REACH WTF mad.gif
SUSshephard86
post Apr 10 2019, 11:49 AM

244 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Apr 10 2019, 11:43 AM)
I DAMN DULAN OUR COUNTRY NO HAVE PROPER SELLER FOR DIE CATS GANDUM ETC, SOMETIME SHOP A CARRY SOMETIME SHOP B CARRY
SOMEMORE VERY SLOW, 2 MONTHS LIAO ALSO HAVEN'T REACH WTF  mad.gif
U KAMCHENG KAMCHENG A BIT WITH THE BOSS I THINK THEY USUALLY WILLING TO HELP. BUT STILL MONEY TALKS LA... U WANT EXOTIC ITEM U NEED TO PAY LO......
loki
post Apr 10 2019, 11:54 AM

2,109 posts

QUOTE(Jas2davir @ Apr 9 2019, 01:19 PM)
back in BN gov i barely kena customs tax, almost like it was never enforced now with PH sini tax sana tax, babi betul this gov i want to vote for BN next election
don't be stupid and turn it political...
TheEvilMan
post Apr 10 2019, 11:57 AM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(shephard86 @ Apr 10 2019, 11:49 AM)
U KAMCHENG KAMCHENG A BIT WITH THE BOSS I THINK THEY USUALLY WILLING TO HELP. BUT STILL MONEY TALKS LA... U WANT EXOTIC ITEM U NEED TO PAY LO......
I PAY FULL TO SECURE ITEM BUT PROBLEM IS ARRIVAL TAKE DARN LONG, CHEAPER SLIGHTLY ONLY SOMEMORE, IF NOT KASTAM SURE BUY OVERSEA LIAO
Alidavidsun
post Apr 10 2019, 12:06 PM

190 posts

Happened to me with DHL. I bought a pair of shoes from Europe with free shipping, paid RM300+ in total for it. However when arrived Malaysia DHL called me and say I have to pay RM120 in taxes + handling fee.

When I saw the receipt the shipping cost invoice was almost RM300 although I paid nothing for it. FML
Jas2davir
post Apr 10 2019, 12:51 PM

461 posts

QUOTE(loki @ Apr 10 2019, 11:54 AM)
don't be stupid and turn it political...
why are you so triggered, is PH so weak that the mere fact someone brings up bn you guys trembling at your knees?
SnaCkxZ
post Apr 10 2019, 01:05 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Alidavidsun @ Apr 10 2019, 01:06 PM)
Happened to me with DHL. I bought a pair of shoes from Europe with free shipping, paid RM300+ in total for it. However when arrived Malaysia DHL called me and say I have to pay RM120 in taxes + handling fee.

When I saw the receipt the shipping cost invoice was almost RM300 although I paid nothing for it. FML
how much u paid is not important... declaration will be done using the invoice prepared by shipper
ApocalypseSoon
post Apr 10 2019, 01:26 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(Blunt @ Apr 10 2019, 08:05 AM)

Excellent logic.
What they (DHL) said indeed true. Kastam actually randomly taxing people, I repeat randomly taxing people. Serious, no joke.
I ordered 5 times, all valued around RM350++ per order including freight from IHerb every few months, kena taxed 3 times and 2 times passed through no tax. It passed through JB Kastam office.

Each time I kena taxed, the Kastam will put RM400++ as the Freight Cost even thou the parcel already comes with attached IHerb invoices with the actual Freight Cost clearly stated.

This post has been edited by ApocalypseSoon: Apr 10 2019, 01:38 PM
Blunt
post Apr 10 2019, 01:53 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Apr 10 2019, 01:26 PM)
What they (DHL) said indeed true. Kastam actually randomly taxing people, I repeat randomly taxing people. Serious, no joke.
I ordered 5 times, all valued around RM350++ per order including freight from IHerb every few months, kena taxed 3 times and 2 times passed through no tax. It passed through JB Kastam office.

Each time I kena taxed, the Kastam will put RM400++ as the Freight Cost even thou the parcel already comes with attached IHerb invoices with the actual Freight Cost clearly stated.
I figured as much. Now if there’s a tax request i just reject the shipping and ordered it again. Being DHL they are a bit efficient and usually the next shipment arrived in 5 days. Bad part is, I have to pay 10% restocking fee. But better than giving customs my money I said.
Alidavidsun
post Apr 10 2019, 04:47 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(SnaCkxZ @ Apr 10 2019, 01:05 PM)
how much u paid is not important... declaration will be done using the invoice prepared by shipper
Yes. Learned my lesson after that
kshen
post Apr 27 2019, 09:48 AM

If only these stars are edilbe
702 posts

Hi guys, just curious will I kena tax based on these description?

I bought an item from US and sent it through a forwarder (hopshopgo)

FeDex International economy
Weight : 0.32kg
Cost declare : $30 (excluding hopshopgo shipment fee which is $18 afte rround off) , total $48 .
Item description : kitchenware
*seller didn't include any form of invoice*

Now...how screwed am I? If screed, how much ?

Also, does fedex pass theough KLIA/ICCT or Subang?

This post has been edited by kshen: Apr 27 2019, 09:49 AM
post May 29 2019, 10:49 AM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

Let me bump this thread up.

Recently purchased a watch using Fedex as well.

as usual, sure got tax wan.

But once I found out in the shipping fees column from kastam quotation, the value is nowhere near the converted value.

RM 118 vs RM 364 ?

It is almost 3 fold.

deejay_krish
post May 29 2019, 11:05 AM

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,015 posts

Exactly why i only use DHL always. Used so many times, till today no kena tax.

0.0255sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:03 AM