4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Jitty
post Mar 23 2020, 08:13 PM

1,046 posts

my MWR suffer quite bad at 39%.

but i will continue to hold.

Just a quick questions, if i pump in new fund now, how can it help to DCA for my stastaway.

As i am not so clear with how stashaway works for DCA comparing to stock and unit trust.
Jitty
post Mar 24 2020, 01:02 PM

1,046 posts

it is better to DCA into stashaway now or DCA into my etoro account.

Sorry guys, noob here which not that sure how STASHAWAY for ROBO ETF Works.

For example, i have 8 units of Disney at average buy price of 92.18USD.

The price now is 85.76 USD per units

So, if i buy another 8 units of DISNEY now at 85.76USD, using DCA strategy, my average buy price for disney now dropped from 92.18USD to 88.97USD.

But what about Stashaway, it is a ROBO ETF, the robo will decide what to buy? it will buy the ETF at lower price and DCA my average ETF?

Thanks bros.
Jitty
post Apr 1 2020, 09:59 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Apr 1 2020, 06:39 PM)
We just discussed this a few days back. actually Stashaway has a trustee account with Saxo Capital Markets. So if they go under, our money stays with the trustee and there should be some arrangement for them to sell our stocks and return back the money to us. Stashaway cant touch our money in the trustee account.

Correct me if I'm wrong.  thumbsup.gif
+1 wish to understand more on this as well.

Jitty
post Apr 11 2020, 09:55 PM

1,046 posts

What is the different between TWR and MWR?

Jitty
post Apr 13 2020, 12:18 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Apr 11 2020, 09:56 PM)
What is Time-weighted Return?
Time-weighted Return (TWR) is the most commonly-used way to calculate returns in the financial industry, and it's an easy metric to compare returns between different portfolios.

By tracking the portfolio’s performance from your first deposit, a portfolio’s TWR removes the distortions that various cash inflows and outflows create. In essence, TWR measures the portfolio manager’s ability to generate returns, not the effects of an individual’s deposit and withdrawal behaviours.

What is Money-weighted Return?
Money-weighted Return (MWR) assigns a weight to each of your deposits and withdrawals. So, a deposit of RM1,000 has a lesser effect on your portfolio’s return figure than a deposit of RM100,000.

This approach helps to gauge the impact and effectiveness of an individual’s timing of deposits and withdrawals. As a result, due to the emphasis of deposits and withdrawals, MWR may naturally overweight or underweight the returns, as well as distort the performance of the portfolio manager and their investment strategy.

MWR can potentially inflate your returns if you deposit when the markets are going up, or similarly understate your performance when you deposit while the markets are going down. It will also assign a larger weight to a lump sum deposit.

MWR’s merit lies in that it clarifies the impact of the individual investor’s investment decisions (e.g., when you deposit and withdraw).

So, unless your portfolio manager determines when to deposit or withdraw funds from your portfolio, MWR doesn’t effectively measure your portfolio manager’s performance. You should only use MWR to compare two different portfolios if you have the exact same deposit and withdrawal behaviors for both portfolios.

https://www.stashaway.my/r/how-stashaway-calculates-returns
Thank you so much biggrin.gif

Jitty
post Apr 20 2020, 12:06 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Apr 17 2020, 09:26 AM)
there are many places to use the EPF account 2 though. Housing, education, children's education. it should be also your goal to stay as healthy as possible to touch the funds.
Any guide how to transfer the fund from account 2 to stasgaway?

Jitty
post Oct 29 2020, 11:33 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Oct 29 2020, 04:46 PM)
If you use jom pay, make sure you transfer in the morning. Alternatively, can transfer tonight as well, just to be sure.
jompay vs GIRO, which 1 faster ya bro? biggrin.gif
Jitty
post Nov 5 2020, 12:51 AM

1,046 posts

i read through MWA and TWA. but i dont understand the terms described by SAMY.

Anyone can explain TWA and MWA in easy term?

Thanks sifus
Jitty
post Nov 5 2020, 10:01 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 5 2020, 09:23 PM)
DCA the best. Just close one eye and go with flow laugh.gif
you guys will DCA every month for the same amount?

Jitty
post Dec 4 2020, 10:08 AM

1,046 posts

both of my 20% & 36% seem to be very quiet this days.
Jitty
post Dec 5 2020, 09:20 AM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(gundamsp01 @ Dec 4 2020, 04:23 PM)
recently i thought of a question, is there anything about handling of my investment in SA if there is anything happens to me? (ie: death etc)
+1 wish to know too confused.gif
Jitty
post Dec 5 2020, 10:35 AM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 5 2020, 09:32 AM)
Never invest in what you don't know or understand.
Don't put all your eggs in a basket.
Stay invested.
(Don't get too greedy).
Invest as much as you can as soon as you can as long as you can.
agree. diversify your investment.
from low rest to high risk
invest based on your style and appetite.
from
ETF, CRYPTO, stock, bonds, funds
Jitty
post Dec 6 2020, 10:41 AM

1,046 posts

finally 36% is moving positively
Jitty
post Dec 9 2020, 09:04 AM

1,046 posts

let SAMY do the job.
just relax and let money work for you.
focus on primary income to pump more into SAMY via DCA monthly method.
and come and look back 1 yr later.

TIME IN THE MARKET > TIMING THE MARKET
Jitty
post Dec 15 2020, 09:42 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(kkkw80 @ Dec 14 2020, 06:53 PM)
Now think good time to dump more into Stashaway?
why ya bro? confused.gif
Jitty
post Jan 11 2021, 01:14 PM

1,046 posts

want to check with all pros and sifus here.

usually your MWR or TWR higher?

higher by how much ?

3-5% ?
5-10% ?
Jitty
post Jan 25 2021, 10:39 AM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(xander83 @ Jan 20 2021, 09:24 PM)
Did you try changing to USD and see whether it works?

Otherwise drop them a message for them to fix it  rclxms.gif
dint work for me too cry.gif
Jitty
post Jan 26 2021, 05:40 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(chichabom @ Jan 26 2021, 10:00 AM)
3months doesnt provide any meaningful input imo. And some have also mentioned that 2020 is completely an outlier year due to covid and doesnt represent the norm.

And if you have compared 3months period from jan 2020 to march 2020, you would probably say SAMY is a complete scam and stay out of it forever.
agree. Stashaway is for long term. 5yr or 10yr.
keep DCA and don't look back.
Look back to your account in 5-10yr time and you will be shocked with the profit.

Jitty
post Jan 27 2021, 01:28 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(Silfer @ Jan 27 2021, 01:03 PM)
I started around April 2019. DCA monthly rm50. Now got around 900 deposit. Return around rm150. Quite ok right? Risk at 22%
seem not bad.
can I know what is you MWR & TWR?

i started around September 2019 too.
my method also consider DCA at that time.
but I dint do it monthly or weekly. i do it when I feel I got enough budget or cashflow. then I pump in extra 1 shot.
nowdays, quite lazy to do it anymore.
i just follow all this sifus here and in FB and DCA all the way
I do it on every 7,14,21 & 28 of everymonth.

Jitty
post Jan 27 2021, 01:30 PM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jan 26 2021, 12:52 PM)
right now, the among shares, UT, and stashaway, I honestly think SA is the safest instrument in such a hot market.

But, that does not mean I am literally stashing all my cash here. I just think that the methodology proposed is safe - when all are greedy be careful.
For me,

my basket

ROBOT - ETF - 30%
US STOCK - 30%
MY STOCK - 10%
FSM Unit Trust - 10%
Cryptocurrency - 15%
Bank & FD - 0% (USELESS)
Contigency Cash - 5%

surprisingly, the best result are STASHAWAY, follow by US Stock market, follow by crypto, follow by FSM.

the only negative are MALAYSIA Stock market. which 1 don't have luck in it.
mad.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0460sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:03 AM