17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSyklooi
post Mar 27 2020, 11:15 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Mar 27 2020, 11:11 AM)
Is this worth investing? What are the risks guys
while waiting for their responses,..
from what i had read here for the past few weeks,...
I think I can summarise some of the available risk.....
losing about 30% of the capital in a short period of 2 weeks
having emotional problems due to unable to sleep and work well for the money and the "dream" gone haywire in a short term
unknown as to when can recover the losses.
etc etc
SUSyklooi
post Mar 27 2020, 11:26 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(xAmdx @ Mar 27 2020, 11:18 AM)
I think not just stashaway, some UT funds drop 30% as well depending which portfolio its ties to. I think if had bullet, can DCA. End of the day, invest what you can afford to lose.
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif
SUSyklooi
post Mar 27 2020, 11:28 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Bendan520 @ Mar 27 2020, 11:25 AM)
So it is more volatile than our unit trust?
it depends on what you selected...same for UT and Stashaway too

SUSyklooi
post Mar 27 2020, 02:26 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 27 2020, 02:18 PM)
I just started investing with StashAway 2 weeks ago and I'm seeing a a slight return already, very interesting.

16% Risk profile sees a TWR +4.9%; MWR +10.25%
22% Risk profile sees a TWR +8.28%; MWR +10.20%
good for you,....

bcos of just 2 weeks, just curious about the numbers....
the actual returns in % (total now - total initial investment)......
is it the SAME as the TWR % value?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Mar 27 2020, 02:29 PM
SUSyklooi
post Mar 27 2020, 02:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(awyongcarl @ Mar 27 2020, 02:31 PM)
Yeah that's true, jumped in at the right time haha.
It's different, the actual total return is about 5.1%.
thanks for sharing....

SUSyklooi
post Apr 22 2020, 12:01 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Apr 21 2020, 11:58 PM)
Wondering how old is that manager?
From thd textbook theory,... Age plays a part in determining risk level.
I think the % of amount invested in relation to the total asset also plays a part too
SUSyklooi
post Jun 22 2020, 08:47 AM

8,188 posts

hmm.gif as per their website...

"Our recommendation only serves as a gauge of your risk appetite. You’re free to select an SRI level that is higher or lower than the recommendation. And you can always change it along the way, as we understand that your financial needs might change at different phases of your life.

https://www.stashaway.my/r/which-stashaway-...ould-you-choose

SUSyklooi
post Jun 28 2020, 06:20 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jun 28 2020, 06:12 PM)
Am i correct to believe that you never invested in equity or stock market before, you can actually lose all your money if the company goes bankrupt and delisted. Of course that is by using cash account and not even talking about margin ......
if you looked at his/her previous posts...he/she mentioned something like

Hi all sifu, im still new to the trading market. I've just registered with rakutentrade as my broker.

Hi all sifu, new to Contra account and would appreciate if someone can explain to me my most recent transaction. I decided to register for Contra because of the day trade rebates.

why I kena stamp duty even though RT exempt for small/mid cap?

etc etc....
SUSyklooi
post Jun 30 2020, 09:59 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(joshtlk1 @ Jun 30 2020, 09:54 AM)
Just deposit another lump sum into stashaway simple. Good way to hold my extra emergency funds and savings.
me too but i use FSM cash account for storage of some emergency cash...
but have to wait few hours to get it into my bank a/c
SUSyklooi
post Jun 30 2020, 09:44 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Jun 30 2020, 09:41 PM)
Which doesnt make sense right? full withdrawal means you withdraw whatever is in the portfolio regardless of what the value is when the instruction to sell reaches the broker. so how can it be insufficient? If he said partial withdrawal then understandable but he said he did a full withdrawal.
maybe, just maybe...
if one just has GBP 100 to sell....that GBP value is not the minimum require to transact for the broker....
(as per his story in the post)??
so most probably have to wait for other sellers of GBP portfolios so can accumulate into an above the minimum transact amount.

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jun 30 2020, 09:47 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 1 2020, 03:34 PM

8,188 posts

this simple buy into EIMM UT fund...
just think of how the MM rewards its investor
think how it do the monthly distribution....
then maybe you can know whether it is daily or compounded or any calculation method use....
ex for normal UT fund, buy in at 1.000 on 1 July, end of the July it goes up by 0.25%
then distribution in the form of extra units...
SUSyklooi
post Jul 6 2020, 09:45 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(chiangth @ Jul 6 2020, 09:40 AM)
I think you mean all. Got what investment is confirm profit 1? Even in FD it can't profit over inflation.

Everyone needs to know that nothing is sure-profit, ESPECIALLY in investment. If anyone told you it's sure-profit, I'm sure it's a scam.
What about ASNB fixed price fund n epf (if over age 55)?

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 6 2020, 09:47 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 6 2020, 10:38 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jul 6 2020, 10:28 AM)
ASNB is capital guaranteed. Not profit guaranteed.
historically for the past abt 30 yrs what is the minimum rate?
at what % chances of getting that rate?

on this argumentative subject...
even if has guaranteed returns....like chiangth posted "... it can't profit over inflation".
EPF like for example has...minimum rate...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 6 2020, 10:42 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 7 2020, 11:42 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sheemmet @ Jul 7 2020, 11:37 AM)
My testing of SA simple from last month ... better than putting fixed deposit for now
icon_idea.gif 
good that you managed to test it last month...
if you had tested it in Feb~March, you will sing a very different tune then tongue.gif

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 7 2020, 11:50 AM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 7 2020, 04:20 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(joshtlk1 @ Jul 7 2020, 03:40 PM)
BNM cuts OPR by 25 basis points to 1.75%. I guess Simple will be updated too
there was a previous posting by MUM showing historical relationship between OPR movement and the target fund of Simple...
see post 7349, page 368
SUSyklooi
post Jul 10 2020, 07:30 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 10 2020, 07:24 PM)
china retail investor is the biggest group of investor in the market if i not mistaken. dont underestimate human greed.
thumbsup.gif
from that article....
"One retail investor said she made the most of Friday’s losses to load up on more shares.

“It’s still just the middle of the rally,” said 30-year-old Jess Huang, who works at a state-owned enterprise in Beijing."

"...........authorities appear keen to engineer a steady bull market rather than a repeat of the bubble that ended in a $5 trillion crash five years ago."....
engineer a steady bull market....thus got more to go after this pull back ?? bruce.gif

SUSyklooi
post Jul 12 2020, 08:27 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jul 12 2020, 08:18 PM)
Thanks for the advice. I never intended to treat it like a trading platform, my plan is to DCA investing for 12-20 years and after that take ~0.5% every month out as part of my retirement fund while keeping the rest inside to roll.
using the % as in your post...
0.5% every month....1 year is 6%, 15 yrs is 90%...thus about 17 yrs to use in retirement thumbsup.gif
SUSyklooi
post Jul 12 2020, 08:32 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jul 12 2020, 08:30 PM)
If the portfolio can have averagely more than 6% returns a year, wouldn't it mean the fund will never runs out?
oh, it is 0.5% of the expected returns per month, NOT 0.5% pm of the expected available sum in the a/c

thus just have to include the sump of the monthly DCA amount x 20 yrs, to see if this 0.5% returns pm at the end of 20 yrs is enough for you...

This post has been edited by yklooi: Jul 12 2020, 08:38 PM
SUSyklooi
post Jul 12 2020, 10:21 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jul 12 2020, 09:51 PM)
Sorry I'm confused. Isn't 0.5% return equals to 0.5% of available sum of fund?
one has to depends on the available of returns and the other one no need ..
SUSyklooi
post Jul 13 2020, 10:49 AM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(jeushyun @ Jul 13 2020, 10:37 AM)
For new user, is there any advice for me to follow? I am 22 currently and felt like my FD rate (1.85) is not worth keeping in the bank.
hmm.gif if 1.85% is not worth keeping in the bank, may i know at what % is worth doing it in investment after taking all the risk involved and the possibility of some losses?
after knowing your expected number, maybe SA sifus can suggest some alternatvies for you.

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0374sec    0.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:54 AM