Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(chenkiong @ Jul 27 2020, 01:55 PM) Afternoon all sifu, im newbie here. start invest stashaway since octorber 2019. till now 10% return. i had few question 1. Will this stashaway collapse and our money sink in sea 1 days? 2. If no, where can i get my money back after stashaway disappear 3. Im chinese in malaysia, which no entitle to any bumiputra benefit like asb. Stashaway give me a very bright in sight, i plan to deposit every week into it like many sifu suggest. Around Rm50-100. So in long term i get interest return. Is it ok to do so? 4. Can i put my 25% saving into this stashaway? im just worry hard earn money going to sea bed. Thanks you sifuS  1. Very unlikely 2. No one knows 3. Sure, it’s forced savings and you get decent return 4. Aside from StashAway, you can diversify to other investment vehicle.
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 27 2020, 04:48 PM) my CIMB got debited until nothing left...crap.... Wtf haha, I already stopped auto debit, transfer from Simple now
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 06:56 PM
Omg, feel so sorry for all of you affected.
I understand how frustrating it is to have rationed all your salary nicely for your monthly expense and investment, just to have some fk up in the middle.
Sure StashAway will refund the money, but the damages has been done And the users will have to look for ways to tide through until they refund.
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 07:26 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 27 2020, 07:20 PM) wow 1 day interest gone, providing the money is returned tomorrow. Impossible is one day, they’ll need time to reverse the charges. It’s less about the interest not earned, to some people the extra money debited can be their meal money, loan repayment, big purchases and etc.
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 08:58 PM
Will those who are not affected get the voucher applied as well haha
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jul 27 2020, 09:00 PM) dont be too happy cause just now i receive some money from someone 4.8k then immediately i go transfer out else this 4.8k will all go into SAMY again their fee  How are you affected by their fee?
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 09:12 PM
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 27 2020, 09:06 PM) problem customer duno about this actual problem is vendor..but in the end SAMY kena gao gao..SAMY can request damage from vendor if they want to....if got written contract.. let them solve the issue 1st la..else if u skeptical, remove auto debit is the solution.. this so call vendor..in stock market malaysia happen few time SAMY is the one who chose them so it’s only normal they face the brunt of the damage. SAMY will surely have service level agreement (SLA) with their vendor, it’s up to SAMY to deal with them
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 10:47 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 27 2020, 10:43 PM) yup, after this fiasco, perhaps we should. I’m sorry, but why should we as the user create another account just to avoid auto debit fkups by StashAway or others? We were promised one auto debit per month, and system should behave as such. Why is the responsibility being pushed to the users to avoid mishaps by others?
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 27 2020, 10:51 PM) because we cannot control f/ups by others. others can promise heaven and earth, but if shit happens it happens. Sorry I can tolerate fups in other areas, but not the financial sectors.
victorian
Jul 27 2020, 10:56 PM
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jul 27 2020, 10:33 PM) not saying they are not wrong but actually, emergency funds shouldn't be in SAMY in the first place. Doesn’t matter if emergency funds should be in SAMY or not, that’s not up to us to decide. This is entirely Stashaway’s fault, not the user.
victorian
Jul 28 2020, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Jul 28 2020, 08:40 AM) From my pov You give consent to your bank to initiate auto payment/recurring payment as per your instruction, say once a month. By right the auto payment should have completed as per standing instruction but the bank does not stop or rather still authorized for more auto payment Imo, bank should be much more secure and strict security procedure, for this case only allow auto payment as per standing instruction regardless of how many times samy "request" for the payment. Apparently this unlimited auto debit happen across variety of banks, imo is huge security flaw/breach. Nope once you give consent to the bank when setting up auto debit, SAMY can deduct as they wish. Ever tried putting in lump sum using direct debit? Because auto debit is already set up, no further verification is required. This post has been edited by victorian: Jul 28 2020, 08:45 AM
victorian
Jul 28 2020, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(chenkiong @ Jul 28 2020, 09:28 AM) 1 noob question from me. how to unlink auto debit from stashaway? can do with the app?
Just delete your recurring deposit
victorian
Jul 28 2020, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(chenkiong @ Jul 28 2020, 09:35 AM) but my direct debit bank accounts detail still there. example maybank 1248214987 maxim rm 10000 per deposit . possible SAMY can withdraw my money anytime they like? since they already have my direct debit bank account info.tq Settings>Bank Accounts> Delete
victorian
Jul 28 2020, 12:16 PM
victorian
Jul 28 2020, 03:46 PM
QUOTE(Zenph @ Jul 28 2020, 03:40 PM) Guys, want to ask about annual fee rate. I have about 30k inside stashaway. and below 50k will have 0.8% annual fee rate. So meaning i got charged about 2.4k every year? Where can I see it being charged? Rm240
victorian
Jul 30 2020, 11:05 AM
QUOTE(yeeck @ Jul 30 2020, 10:55 AM) Simple is capital guaranteed? That's new to me. I thought the risk is just much less than equities, but no such thing as capital guaranteed of any sort. Nope not capital guaranteed. It can go to negative, but that’s very unlikely.
victorian
Jul 30 2020, 03:48 PM
QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Jul 30 2020, 03:26 PM) MYR getting stronger against USD. Good news I see this as another layer of DCA, USD stronger means our investment goes up, but we buy less; USD weaker means our investment goes down, but we can buy more.
victorian
Aug 4 2020, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(4eyeco @ Aug 4 2020, 09:29 AM) Guys, sorry noob question. After you inserted the referral code during registration. Do u get free management fee for 6 months? Or 50% off management fee for 6 months? I realised mine is 50% off for 6 months. Is this correct? Or am I missing something? Is totally free for 6 months. Maybe you can post your screenshot here.
victorian
Aug 4 2020, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(chenkiong @ Aug 4 2020, 09:49 AM) can i DCA every day? which way is more efficient. daily, weekly or monthly? which working days your guys prefer? friday? tq No point overdoing your DCA, since DCA is only there to minimize your loss/gain. Weekly should be good enough.
victorian
Aug 4 2020, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(tsutsugami86 @ Aug 4 2020, 12:47 PM) I registered SA since Mar 2020 but didn't use any promo code. I lose few month of fee, but luckily my investment amount not huge. For 0.8% 30k fee waiver for 6 months, the maximum fee you can save is RM120. If you are investing 10k, you are saving rm40. If you are investing only 1k, it’s only rm4. Market returns can easily return you that.