Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

vanitas
post Jul 29 2020, 10:34 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(heartache @ Jul 29 2020, 10:15 AM)
everyone has their right on how to view this issue.
Person A may think SAMY handle this crisis fast and efficient based on returning the money next day by 11pm
Person B may think this should not have happened in the first place thus what is there to praise for SAMY handle it efficiently. they are just fixing the problem that should not have arise due to their inefficiency.

Overall if you are bystanders of this issue you can easily say they handled it "fast" but as a victim myself, looking at my account got drained from evening and this goes on till late night and even the next morning (still trying to deduct my money), i find it quite ridiculous.
Also for them to only publicly announced it in their facebook the late afternoon despite huge uproar in LY and SAMY forum FB page previous nite, i find it this is not "fast"

anyway, i have gotten my money back and will still continue to invest but i really want them to give all of us a good explanation and solution. i personally will join the ask me live webinar to question them.
Unauthorized transaction is a much smaller issue than website down.. most websites down also no explanation.. no need explanation for this small issue la.. (according to most people here)
vanitas
post Jul 30 2020, 11:48 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Jul 30 2020, 11:25 AM)
Never mind. Just want to see how silly he is. See how he reply in OPUS also fun.
I think SA did fine in the issue because I know RT response is bad.
SA suck it up and refund the money.
I know this thing isn’t supposed to happen at first but the damage control by them is fine for me.
Maybe I am more alert to have separate account that have auto debit.
I think for RT a lot of people rant, some switched to M+ etc, some don't recommend / bad mouth RT to anyone seeking trading platform.

But seldom got people defend them hard like saying this is small issue, switch is too much, other platform also hang, bursa also down etc.

Think about this.
vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 10:11 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(chenkiong @ Aug 10 2020, 08:50 AM)
i see. i just started etoro actually. inspire by a very young talent man name spark liang. sound like a sparkling name. Brainwashed after saw his few videos. Damn spark the fire in my heart. lucky i just invest like 300 usd try water. damn should not ever believe a person name spark again.
Thanks for advise
There is risk in stashaway too, make sure you invest with your risk appetite. And of course etoro got bigger risk (and bigger reward) as you may invest on a few companies directly instead of ETF.
vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 10:22 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Aug 10 2020, 09:38 AM)
sc say etoro illegal
QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 10 2020, 09:47 AM)
StashAway is still one of the few investment vehicles that actively inform users of the risk they undertake.

Etoro is a bucket shop that dont hold underlying securities, avoid.
https://dividendmagic.com.my/etoro-malaysia-review/
I don't invest via etoro, but according to the article above, it is licensed on Australia and some Europe countries. It is unauthorized by SC, I am not sure what will be the risk on that, invest at your own risk.

One of the biggest crypto exchange Binance also not licensed and posted by SC on its website as per my knowledge, but doesn't mean it was a scam, just unauthorised to operate here.

And you may buy the underlying securities instead of CFD, according to the article.

vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 10:27 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(chenkiong @ Aug 10 2020, 10:24 AM)
holy mama.... but his face look so honest and innocent.... damn cant judge a guys with appearance ......sparkling liang...
As per my knowledge, he will receive some money from etoro if got people copy trading his portfolio.

So keep this in mind and understand why he recommended that tool.
vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 11:47 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Aug 10 2020, 11:38 AM)
the risk would be, if there is any dispute or issue with the service provider that is not recognised by SC, you will not be able to get back your capital as it is not protected in the first place. hence, the risk is there is no local regulator to assist you in case of dispute.

moreover, if this is outside of jurisdiction of SC, no matter how many times you report to local authorities, nothing can be done if eToro or Binance decided to take away your money for good. not saying they are illegal or what, just that you need to understand from the perspective of regulators.
Can you seek Australia's SC to dispute in etoro case? Afaik, I don't think popular brokers like IB, TD Ameritrade is licensed here as well, but I think TD Ameritrade is licensed in SG. So my question is more to will oversea authorities help foreigner to dispute if needed?

Also for risky investment like cryptocurrency, if Luno get hacked, all their bitcoins get stolen, do you think we can get back our capital since it is licensed by SC?
vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 12:10 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 11:56 AM)
on that, i think most probably cannot as it happens outside of Australia ontop of it you are not an Australian
a recent case i recalled reading....investors in China got scammed in China by a M'sia company......
Chinese in Malaysia told not to protest amid 'investment scam' anger
https://www.msn.com/en-my/money/topstories/...nger/ar-AAJmZoH
Hmm, then it is quite risky.

Anyway, I found answer for Luno - https://www.luno.com/en/legal/risks - Point 4,
Luno’s Supported Cryptocurrencies are not considered legal tender and are not backed by any government. Accounts and value balances are not subject to any government-backed deposit insurance or any other government protections.
A special note for our Malaysian customers: Any losses resulting from your trading and/or investment in cryptocurrency are not covered by the Capital Market Compensation Fund.
vanitas
post Aug 10 2020, 08:08 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Aug 10 2020, 07:56 PM)
hmm.gif in 2 months he get 2% in Simple
what if he stayed for another 2 more months?...will the 2% doubled?
if no, wondering what is the best effective duration to put in and pull out?
QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Aug 10 2020, 07:58 PM)
2.09% for merely 2 months.
If annualized it, it'll be close to 12.5%.
This is indeed a good replacement investment instrument over conventional saving account.
Internal rate of return (IRR) is an estimate of a future ANNUAL rate of return.

2.09% is annual rate, not 2 months rate.
vanitas
post Aug 11 2020, 11:09 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Aug 11 2020, 11:01 PM)
Investment is not gambling. If you take a punt on today's hot stock like say Tesla or glove makers you can make  50% or maybe lose 50%. Maybe that can be considered gambling. But investing is NOT gambling. There are a few ways you can invest. You can invest in safe dividend stocks - even if the stock price does not increase at all, if you can get a dividend of 5% p.a. that's way better than any FD. Normaly there would be stock price increase as well, so your total returns would be better than 5%.

You can also invest in individual stocks, if you know what you're doing. However, if you don't know how to buy stocks or think that's too risky, you can buy a whole basket of stocks. i.e. an ETF that tracks an index / group of companies. Warren Buffet has said when he dies to put his money into low cost index funds. This is precisely what Stashaway is doing. It is helping you diversify even more by investing in a mixture of ETFs.

Look at the chart below of the S&P500. What do you see, it is just an upward line. Where's the recent covid crash, or the GFC crash? It is barely a blip in the overall picture. That's why invest for the long term and stop trying to time the market by trying to buy at the lowest, or someone earlier mentioned sell now. Just stay invested. S&P historical returns has been 7-10% p.a. over the past 100 years.

I bet the diagram is from 2010 to 2020 (best case scenario).
Now try to check s&p 500 diagram from 2000 to 2010 (worst case scenario).
Edit: it seems to be all time chart, sorry for the mistake.
But I wanted to point out there could be a long lag (up to 10 years) during economy downtime which literally return nothing.

This post has been edited by vanitas: Aug 11 2020, 11:12 PM
vanitas
post Aug 11 2020, 11:42 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Aug 11 2020, 11:17 PM)
That diagram is for the past 100+ years.
And yes, 2000 was the lost decade, where prices at 2000 crashed and took a decade to recover. But if you're willing to invest long term, look at what happened from 2010 to 2020, it went on a super bull run and gained 200+% in the next 10 years.

I think most people here are young. So just DCA in and don't withdraw until retirement. I'm 100% certain you'll be way better off than keeping cash or putting in FD. If you're young (in your 20s-30s) you should put all into 36%, and as you get older you slowly lower your risk
Your advise isn't wrong, but keep DCA if the investment didn't move for up to 10 years is sounds easy, very difficult to do.

Anyway, I am just wanted to point out the time horizon to DCA might need way longer than expected if invest on the wrong decade.

Not an apple to apple comparison, I think Public Mutual selling some mutual funds to invest China / Asia ex Japan many many years ago (that time not much options), and many give up due to low or negative return. And the return only rewarding in recent years. I think back on that time those agents also telling customers to keep DCA.

Food for thought, you think the customer should actually keep DCA or jump into other investment option? Or you think only s&p 500 will give positive return in long run forever?
vanitas
post Aug 12 2020, 12:06 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 11 2020, 11:56 PM)
why not easy? during March crash my portfolio got 22% paper loss. just dca as usual and today it is +17%. you can see over the years with each major crash, the financial systems fix their shit or just simply dump more money into the index to support the shares. it has never gotten worse.

even our own KLCI which had been on a free fall since May 2018 could also bounce back to pre-covid levels.

mutual fund is different. from the start you already lose money due to the high annual agent fees. SAMY at 0.8% annual is laughable.
That's a sharp decline and quick recover. I am talking about a possible no profits (financial crisis / great recession) for up to 10 years, not months or 1-2 years. On top of that, one may have cash flow problem.

This post has been edited by vanitas: Aug 12 2020, 12:14 AM
vanitas
post Aug 12 2020, 05:57 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Aug 12 2020, 05:53 PM)
i hope by then actual international ETF is finally available to retail investors in Malaysia.
Should be zero fee international ETF available to retail investors first before StashAway gone.

By then I don't think anyone would want to pay 0.8% annual fee if the reason to invest robo advisor is want to access ETF.

vanitas
post Aug 12 2020, 10:13 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(mr_tuzki @ Aug 12 2020, 09:56 PM)
Haha this is precisely correct. I don't understand people who track every cent and daily fluctuations. It's just shiok sendiri.
Btw, those who have so much time to do all these, if you have a big enough capital, you could even create your own Stashaway fund by buying the same ETFs that Stashaway buys, while saving the 0.8% fee. You just have to count brokerage costs. If you DCA often / not a big enough capital, brokerage costs could end up being > 0.8%. But for those that have big enough capital something you can consider doing.
That would only have happened if you lump sum and invested 100% all in at the peak. If you had DCA'd in continuously over the years, your entry price would have been much lower.
When you invest in one stock or just one industry, the risks are higher, you can make 30% p.a. or lose 30% p.a. Whereas when you buy an ETF, you're buying the average of many many companies. You get average returns, but lower risk. And long run the economy / stock market as a whole always goes up.
You talk on too much theories.

Reality:
1. You might have high salary increase or business went big in short term, or windfall money suddenly. Do you still want to let your money idle and slowly DCA? Or vice versa lose job and no money to feed family, still DCA?
2. The economy is down for several years (more than 3 years), even FD beat your DCA, do you still have the diligence to DCA?
3. US having long term war suddenly with some big countries, you still believe S&P 500 and keep DCA?
4. You saw good opportunity (market is really down) to lump sum, do you still insist to DCA?
5. There is newer fintech that can claimed can beat robo advisor or ETF, still DCA?

Human is not robot, if you still able to keep DCA despite any change in reality, then congratulations to you. I think I will quit half way, or do lump sum here and there, maybe I am not a good investor then.
vanitas
post Aug 14 2020, 07:40 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Aug 14 2020, 06:28 PM)
Simple™ competitor?

Versa Collaborates With Affin Hwang To Launch New Digital Cash Management Solution

Versa Asia has collaborated with Affin Hwang Asset Management to launch a new cash management mobile app that allows Malaysians to earn returns similar to fixed deposit rates on their invested money through money market funds. It also offers them the flexibility of being able to access their funds at any time, with no lock-ins and hidden terms.

Versa works like a savings account, but with returns on par with FD interest rates – and without the need to visit a bank. Once you’ve registered an account with Versa, you can then deposit an amount of money into it, which will be invested into Affin Hwang’s Enhanced Deposit Fund. Returns will then be re-deposited into your account and re-invested until you decide to withdraw them.

Versa allows you to start saving at a minimum of RM100, and it charges no hidden fees, including management, transfer, and exit fees. You can also withdraw your money anytime without penalty, with income distribution calculated up to the day of withdrawal.

Article link: https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/investment/...abYeXgKSc5RxZKA

Versa link: https://versa.asia/
Interested to know the withdrawal time. So far Opus > Simple. Wish to see T or T+1 on this one too.

"Versa joins a relatively small pool of cash management solutions, which includes the recent StashAway Simple and lesser-known alternatives from investment banks such as RHB, Opus, and Nomura."

Anyway, do you know what is the cash management solutions mentioned in the article for RHB and Nomura?

vanitas
post Aug 30 2020, 12:36 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(omegaoracle @ Aug 30 2020, 12:28 PM)
Don't know how to create a poll here, but here's the hypothetical..

If you feel a market crash is coming, do you:

A) Make donno, keep DCA. Rebalance portfolio at best
B) Do a profit taking now. Withdraw and keep bullets for market crash re-entry
If I know there is a market crash soon, then choose B.
If I "feel" only then choose A. And this is not make don't know, is really don't know.
vanitas
post Sep 1 2020, 12:40 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Sep 1 2020, 12:02 AM)
Tomorrow I'll be withdrawing half my funds in ASB to park in SAMY and Wahed. wish me luck lol
Lump sum?
vanitas
post Jan 25 2021, 11:52 AM

785 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 25 2021, 11:17 AM)
on a side note...just for comparison purposes...

Affin Hwang asset mgt in Malaysia manages over RM60 billion (as at 30 June 2020) in assets for retail and professional clients.
And that's with up to 5.5% sales charge, and up to 2% annual management fee.

Any idea on how much AUM does StashAway need to have for sustainable business?
vanitas
post Jan 25 2021, 07:55 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(taiping... @ Jan 25 2021, 07:28 PM)
Hi sifu2 kalian

Need ur advice

Am planning to sell all my ASNB and put it into Stashaway. It is in lower six digit starting from number 1 lol

It may not b a significant number to some, but its a significant number to me

Is it advisable to switch?

Thanks in advance!
Short answer, not advisable, you won't able to sleep well if market crashed.
vanitas
post Jan 31 2021, 08:49 PM

785 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Jan 31 2021, 08:15 PM)
Not wrong if you believe in AAPL, i believe in it too, but is it ok for you to be significantly exposed to just AAPL rather than choosing ETF which cover a basket of stock?

I believe in Maybank, BIMB and Tenaga  but i dont unnecessarily DCA and increase my exposure to this company

Since u mention Bursa, now lets talk about nasdaq listed cisco,it never recover to its previous peak even after more than 20 years. Even microsoft took more than 10 years to recover and exceed it previous peak during the dotcom buble.
Since you mention this, as a comparison, how about ETF performance during dotcom bubble?
vanitas
post Jan 31 2021, 09:19 PM

785 posts

For comparison, a good stock vs s&p500 etf.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.3205sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:37 AM