8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 07:06 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 27 2020, 06:56 PM)
my friend says, if your bank account already drained to near zero...might as well keep it there until they resolve it. Some kind of return path?
you mean a record of your bank acc no. for them to refund to you?
I thought your bank acc no. can be maintained on the separated personal info screen on stashaway (i did so).

And i didn't opt for the auto debit from the start due to similar experience with one of the local GLC, headache dealing with these issue. I would rather set a reminder in my calendar and i will debit the money manually laugh.gif
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 08:01 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 27 2020, 08:00 PM)
WTF are they using some new background job system that keep looping that shit
they should have stop the service when they were notified of such issue. Fire fighting in financial industry 101.
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:03 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 27 2020, 08:57 PM)
vendor issue la ni..
i duno why u guys keep say is SAMY issue..lol
if takut tis wan baik jgn invest samy,wahed,ete etec which got direct debit
vendor like fuck up big time..either satu bug trigger or wat i not sure
to be frank, as someone in the financial industry, the consumers are dealing with the financial institute not the underlying vendors. Yes, the problem is with the vendor, there should be contract obligation and fine in place, but in terms of reputation damage, SAMY taking it fully on them, because consumers deal with SAMY, not the vendor.

this is what banks face normally.

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jul 27 2020, 09:04 PM
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:06 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 08:56 PM)
i had auto debit payment for my Streamyx a/c, Tenaga, waterbill, astro, credit card and loan repayment....should i be scared?  hmm.gif
btw, do you have any of this on Auto debit too?
i had one duplicated auto debit with one of the GLC in your list, in the end, call my bank, call the GLC, both just push to each other, took me awhile to sort it out, in the end, i decided that no more auto debit for any services. laugh.gif
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:08 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 27 2020, 09:06 PM)
problem customer duno about this actual problem is vendor..but in the end SAMY kena gao gao..SAMY can request damage from vendor if they want to....if got written contract..
let them solve the issue 1st la..else if u skeptical, remove auto debit is the solution.. 
this so call vendor..in stock market malaysia happen few time
normally this sort of cases would trigger the governing body (this is what i experienced before in bank with BNM), not sure if SC going to investigate on the security issue with the auto debit now.
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:36 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 09:30 PM)
hope you guys has a "next" person(s) to follow on your reocurring payment schedule and know what had to be done, just in case the main person that always do it is on emergency leaves.
for some loan imposed heavy penalty on missed repayment.
with the banking app, it can be done la no matter where i am laugh.gif
besides i dont settle my debt right on the deadline, but few days/weeks ahead, right after i get my salary

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jul 27 2020, 09:36 PM
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:39 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 09:37 PM)
icu emergency also can?  notworthy.gif
you mean if i am in ICU? other than mortgage and hire purchase, the rest has a buffer (deposit), wouldn't be penalized so early.
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:45 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 09:41 PM)
then your CC or car loans also has buffer in the a/c, i suppose  thumbsup.gif
CC settlement has 1 month grace period, i always pay my car loan 1 month in advance

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jul 27 2020, 09:46 PM
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 09:52 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 09:48 PM)
thumbsup.gif
then what about those that you don't have buffer in that a/c?
and in case you are on emergency leaves, hope you have a next head of finance in place to take over while you are on emergency holidays
based on the current commitment i have
all of it can be handled thru banking app, no issue, as long as i am not in coma.

gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 10:00 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 27 2020, 09:56 PM)
good  thumbup.gif
if "Coma" is your trigger point for now, and not others less minor one like, stroke or heart attack or car accidents
hey, you may continue with your auto debit practice for however long you want.
for me, i don't trust it, that's it.
gundamsp01
post Jul 27 2020, 10:21 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 27 2020, 10:09 PM)
major no no for an investment - pantang.
once trust is lost.. imagine FSM or PB autodebit went nuts like this. good lordy
and
IMHO - what, "6 months freebie"? totally nuts especially if a customer has other payments/usage for the cash auto-sucked out.

Sigh.. makes me regret recommending SA to friends and family coz they are on autodebit, such basic screw-up can happen. i've asked them to write in officially to SA & CC SC. bangwall.gif
yea, they have to ensure the incident should never happen again, and let the customers know how they are going to ensure that as what lee82gx mentioned.
The current mitigation given also not really satisfying, they didn't pull the plug of the auto debit to avoid further damage, but instead asking customers to wait for resolution and the refund will be done latest by 11pm tomorrow (seriously? I thought this needs to be settled like today? now? or latest before the start of next business day?)

the 6 months freebie also feel like the way domino's pizza does it, but i give them that, since other than this, no other compensation that they can give to those who affected.

gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 12:17 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jul 28 2020, 12:12 PM)
Anyone who wants to exit SAMY due to this issue but got the voucher please share with me ya.
as a matter of fact, me too, pls share with me as well laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jul 28 2020, 12:17 PM
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 02:02 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(majorarmstrong @ Jul 28 2020, 01:54 PM)
i think i gonna give up SAMY
i only have 8k++ and gain a little over 120
seriously this is just ridiculous
i calculated your internal rate of return, since you said you invested around early July?
and i assume that you put your 8k++ as lump sum instead of accumulated at different point of time.

You have an internal rate of return of close to 20%, which is somewhat higher than average trend which is around 8% - 10% per year on average.

If you treating this sort of passive investment as fast money generator, sorry, you better research more on investment, instead of setting unrealistic expectation.
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 02:04 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 28 2020, 01:56 PM)
one fintech company rely on another fintech company to operate... i wonder why can't go to normal banks to do it. i agree with you. another stupid f-up. biggrin.gif
you mean normal bank to provide direct debit interface and service? Sorry even we as bank also rely on vendors. laugh.gif
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 02:24 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Jul 28 2020, 02:18 PM)
wth....please don't scare me so much, in my mind direct debit and auto direct debit has never failed in this way, ever in Malaysia.

We cannot help but equate this to the newness of this curlec vendor and Stashaway management and practice.
we of coz will go for reputable one (depending on budget and experience of the company), and tons of approvals with BNM, but anyway, there were times with system error which causes money to go haywire from account to account, we always handle it internally throughout the night before the the next business day. Which is why i find it unbelievable when SA's procedure doesn't pull the plug like we banks do.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jul 28 2020, 02:18 PM)
hmmm now i know. means semua pakai vendor? no wonder... but fintech rely on fintech still sound fishy, no?

i'm also observer like you. suddenly everyone interested to know how auto debit really work.
It is not fishy, everything is about cost and reputation (of coz, sometimes depends on the relationship and networking). Most importantly is how they handle the situation, which i find it strange.
But anyway, if you recall the octopus internet banking incident, well, kind of notice even bank also not that reliable.

This post has been edited by gundamsp01: Jul 28 2020, 02:26 PM
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 02:31 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jul 28 2020, 02:30 PM)
Maybe BNM need to enter the picture to investigate as well.
if i am not wrong, BNM only regulate banks, stashaway is not one of it.
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 02:38 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Jul 28 2020, 02:36 PM)
Yes, but if Curlec is the one handling the direct debit for SA, then BNM should investigate Curlec, since it involves banking accounts in Malaysian banks.
well, SC is already involved, as they are considered as BNM equivalent for the capital market, just let them do the investigation
gundamsp01
post Jul 28 2020, 03:35 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Jul 28 2020, 03:34 PM)
Sekali the market really drop after you exit
i really wish the market to drop or better, crash, for me to bulk buy laugh.gif
gundamsp01
post Jul 29 2020, 11:00 AM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

wow, still on this auto debit issue?
my view is that SC has been notified, SC will do the necessary to SA if required by the regulation. That's it.

Besides, SA already fixing the issue albeit not immediately and will issue a statement on what happened in these few days.
Yes, there is reputation damage to SA and customers' confidence level affected. Normal for financial institution if things like this happen.

That's it end of story, if you don't like it, you can leave, if you ok with it, then continue, the choice is yours. Why keep harping on the issue?

CIMB has worse happened to them and denied the incident, in the end, CIMB still able to be the top 10 bank brands in Asia in 2020, that's it.
https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/m...ost-to-scammers

gundamsp01
post Jul 29 2020, 01:03 PM

gunpla procrastinator
900 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 29 2020, 12:53 PM)
they did not have a protocol or a system in place to test run it, verify it for error detection or error diagnostic whatever program or changes made before implementing it full scale in public? They just rely on the developer?  hmm.gif
There are SIT/UAT (and maybe pilot phase) for system launch in financial industry, but no matter what, there could be error that may occurs in production environment no matter how detailed you tested in pre-launch phase.
Case like now, it could be caused by a newly deployed patch that caused the error, or it could be data that caused the error.

What i want to say is, as long as it is developed by human, there is a risk that it may have error. Thing is, do they have a thorough mitigation plan/workflow to handle any error.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.4418sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 07:57 AM