Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Ramjade
post Sep 2 2019, 01:42 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(Krv23490 @ Sep 2 2019, 12:13 PM)
Very nicely stated.

When will you sell your dividend stocks ? Any timeline or age you plan to hold it until ?

Looking to start a dividend portfolio as well . Looking at HSBC atm
Why sell? Only sell when fundamentals have changed. If you sell you need another replacement. Why do you need a replacement if current company is good unless you are too free. Like I said as long as I don't sell money will definitely come in.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 2 2019, 01:43 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 9 2019, 07:53 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Sep 6 2019, 12:29 PM)
A valid question here.
When your portfolio is making a profit and you deposit more money into the portfolio in the same period, does that mean you're buying it at a "high point" (like stock market) and the returns of your new funds will be risked / minimized?
Can say yes. But high can go higher.

QUOTE(xcxa23 @ Sep 6 2019, 12:58 PM)
When we invest, we want it to be on uptrend
And so the phrase buy high seller higher

since we does not know when it will up and down, DCA is always a good option
As long as you believe your choice will on the uptrend.
Not true. We want it to be at low price which means it must be - negative. If got g up means is expensive. Now for a simple eg. Google the price of gold. Look at it during past weeks and now. Which one do you Wan to buy at? Last few weeks or these few days?

For me will be last few days as price is already cheaper than last few weeks. You cannot buy at the lowest but you can buy when is low enough.

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 7 2019, 12:39 PM)
Is SA MY same as SA SG??

they invest in exactly the same thing given the same risk profile?
Yes. But MY slower case money needs to travel to SG first.
Ramjade
post Sep 11 2019, 04:30 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Sep 11 2019, 03:54 PM)
hi guys, im interested in joining SA. saw many ads and people saying this related to this. Was wondering what is the first deposit amount in order to see nice return. something like if you want put RM100, might as well as dont put. Asking for the right amount. Plan to park min 3 years at least.
SA is basically auto pilot. No need for research/homework, no need for monitoring suitable.
Nice returns in your case asentiomed is subjective.
A 10% return on say RM1000 = RM100
A 10% return on say RM10k = RM1k
A 10% return on say RM100k = RM10k
A 10% return on say RM 1m = RM100k

So as you can see from the example above a 10% return is the same. What matters is amount of digits you are putting in/what's the limit on your bank account. tongue.gif
Amount = how much are you going to put.
If you want put in RM10k = RM1m, go find crypto.

Ramjade
post Sep 12 2019, 07:12 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Sep 12 2019, 02:08 PM)
US withholding tax we all kena, but since u invest in SGD, are you subjected to any withholding tax by MAS or SASG on the profits made since u are a malaysian?
No tax by Singapore government.
Ramjade
post Sep 12 2019, 07:56 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Sep 12 2019, 07:51 PM)
If so, any advantage to take out from MY and put into SG?
SG faster processing time. Supports SRS. SAMY does not have support of PRS yet.
In SG got other robos like Endowus which is worth a look.
Ramjade
post Sep 12 2019, 08:28 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 12 2019, 08:24 PM)
No. Just leave it in SAMY, but start contributing to SASG if it doesnt cost you extra to convert to SGD.
If he's on the way to be SG citizen, means he is working in SG.
Ramjade
post Sep 12 2019, 11:07 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 12 2019, 10:58 PM)
Tax residency is not PR/citizen.

I was one.
What I meant is most likely he already worked in SG, have SG bank account and thus no need for SAMY. He can go straight into SASG.
Singapore does not have capital gain or dividend tax.
But 30% US tax on dividend still applies.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 12:43 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(Aghi @ Sep 17 2019, 12:29 AM)
Yes. Need to spent rm2000 in 2 month. Maybe I just transfer to big pay and then transfer from BP to SA.
How are you going to use bigpay to pay when they dont even accept transaction via cards?
Methods of payment IBG and Jompay.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 05:39 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(whycanot323 @ Sep 17 2019, 04:40 PM)
anyone losing money in stashaway? im just done registration
Kindly know the reason is making loss. ETF investing tracks the market. So if market down, expect your returns to also be down. To avoid being down either pick a lower risk (you enjoy less upside) or hold on to cash.

Thank you.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 08:36 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Sep 17 2019, 07:37 PM)
hmm.gif  ahhh 4 k a month into stashaway..
16 k spare tongue.gif  rclxm9.gif

Jokes aside, Stashaway is currently my only investment vehicle.  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
I hope this is a good way to accumulate, then can move to SReit tongue.gif  mega_shok.gif
Just pick either Stashaway MY or SG. No need for both.
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 09:19 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Sep 17 2019, 09:02 PM)
I maintain my holdings in SA MY and started topping up at SA SG.
If there is big changes in Forex, then I move from MY to SG..
Is basically the same thing. If is me, I will pick SASG.
1. Faster transaction

Money put into SAMY can be used to divert to SASG.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Sep 17 2019, 09:23 PM
Ramjade
post Sep 17 2019, 09:30 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(woonsc @ Sep 17 2019, 09:28 PM)
Yes, same day money received from SA SG..
I will see.. since the underlying asset is USD hedge..
hmm.gif  No difference, just hassle to have two accounts..

Plus the 30% witholdiong tax refund at the end of the year.,  rclxub.gif
Make your life simple. SAMY is for those without SG bank account, want nothing to do with SG.
Ramjade
post Sep 27 2019, 08:20 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Sep 27 2019, 05:12 AM)
SA portfolio is only based on risk index?
Based on risk index and your goal.
But basically that's how most investment products work. They will categorise you into few category based in age and your duration.
Ramjade
post Oct 4 2019, 04:25 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Oct 4 2019, 03:04 PM)
you guys should be happy when the market tanks, you can buy more on the cheap. unless you have no more bullets left
People all cannot tahan losses. Hence all feeling sad. For those who can tahan losses, it's shopping time.
Ramjade
post Oct 5 2019, 08:12 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 5 2019, 05:40 AM)
So your perseverance finally pay off and time to go in? Are u also investing in SA, tot u r more of the DIY type picking up individual stock/SREITs?
I just look at the S&p 500 chart but it is on the uptrend, Dec2018 was at low of 2400+ and now 2900+.
I don't do Stashaway or ETFs.
I stick with my principles. Buy when is cheap. So far I am happy with the results. Drop further = buy more.

Whether one is using Stashaway or just DIY ETF, is the same. Don't blindly buy in when price is super expensive. Well that's just me.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 5 2019, 08:15 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 11 2019, 12:04 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(Kar Weng @ Oct 10 2019, 11:48 PM)
In that case if I don't do DCA and went lump sum when things were expensive (making quite a loss now), will I forever be at the losing end?  dry.gif
Not necessary as etf over 10-20 years will go up.
Ramjade
post Oct 29 2019, 08:40 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Oct 29 2019, 02:34 PM)
Last 2 week the trend is bullish.... Should we stop dca during bullish trend?
Depends on what you want. If you are ok with buying regardless of price, then DCA. If you want to get more value for money, then reduce or stop DCA, save it up, when market is down pump more in

Both way works.

QUOTE(neverfap @ Oct 29 2019, 03:13 PM)
Depend on yourself

Some might think, so bullish... Conlan7firm bear incoming so they stop Dca.

And some might think, so bullish... Pump more in

Above these 2 type carry the traits of gamblers. Why say gamblers? Coz they just based on feeling, sixth sense.
Unless they did research on the individual stocks to determine if its over priced or a good price to buy more.

If long term investment, just Dca consistently no matter bull, bear or kangaroo.
Actually is not gambler traits. I my self practice that. When things are expensive, I don't buy anything. When things are cheaper, I buy. Is basic grocery shopping 101. I don't believed in overpaying for stuff.

**NOT A FAN OF DCA**
Ramjade
post Oct 30 2019, 01:03 AM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(iqlas @ Oct 29 2019, 09:13 PM)
https://youtu.be/fwe-PjrX23o

Hi, i was watching the video above. Based on my understanding, the closest that we have to an index fund in malaysia is etf and stashaway is one of the platform that we can use to invest easily in etf correct? Any other better alternative platform for etf other than stashaway? Im just looking to diversify my investment other than epf and asb.
Yes. DIY ETF investing.
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3396549

A few topics started by Yggdrasil

You have to keep in mind most overseas investment are not shahriah compliant. If there's an issue, might be hard for you. If no issue, then no issue.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 30 2019, 01:05 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 30 2019, 06:37 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(chenkiong @ Oct 30 2019, 03:33 PM)
Hi sifu, im new to investment. after research my own about financial free at age 55, i introduce by stashaway. Anyone use this app? does it really help in investment?currently im worry few issue :-
1. will my hard earn money gone if i store my money inside stashaway?(trashaway)
2. Will my money growth steady like it commencial ads?
3. will i achieved financial free using this app?

Thanks for reading my long post
Best regard
Ayam
1. Nope won't be gone. Is kept under a trust account. In the event Stashaway is no longer in operation, your money is held in your under with Saxo.
2. Nope. That's just marketting. Why? Because the underlying stuff are stocks and bonds. In a severe bear market (eg 2008) everything drop. So say 20 years later you wish to withdraw the money and say you have bad luck a similar event happened like in 2008 your portfolio/nett worth could be down by 50%.

Of course by 20 years, you should have at least 100-200% returns. So even if down by 50%, nett down is 50-150%
3. Define your definition of financial freedom. Can be yes and no. Depends on so many factors. How much you put in, how much is your return, How much is your final amount inside. How much you spend. To get the money out you need to sell your investment. There's no other way.
Ramjade
post Oct 31 2019, 11:53 PM

24,326 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Oct 31 2019, 05:21 PM)
For you sifu is a different ball game. You can see what we normies can't.

As for the general public, DCA is the way to go, its the most efficient and effective way to build your portfolio, because you only need to put an incredibly small amount of effort to achieve similar (though slightly lesser) returns than the average seasoned investor out there.
Yup I agreed for normal people DCA is the way to go. For me I need to make sure my money works harder. So no choice. Need to do some timing a little. sad.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1916sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:05 AM