6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Quazacolt
post May 31 2020, 09:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MiKE7LIM @ May 31 2020, 09:10 PM)
Looking at US situation and SAMY portfolio have around 50% on US share market .... should we withdraw our investment?
SAMY isn't for Short term sentiments
Quazacolt
post Jul 13 2020, 10:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(joshtlk1 @ Jul 13 2020, 07:51 PM)
lol guys, I agree it sounds shady. But actually just wanted to share with the individual about a youtube video I made explaining about StashAway Simple, and didn't think it was appropriated to sound my horn or advertise my videos here in this forum. That's all  biggrin.gif
that stashaway guide from here?
https://www.youtube.com/user/joshconsultancy/videos
Quazacolt
post Aug 6 2020, 10:09 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Aug 6 2020, 02:45 PM)
All of Gen Z I met scolded me that personal insurance policy is totally waste of money and time.
They said got company insurance to cover what.
If touch wood anything does happen, you're not going to claim from your personal medical card pun.
I was like ...
QUOTE(chiangth @ Aug 6 2020, 02:58 PM)
Yes, what you said is spot on. What these people do not realise is that corporate insurances have limited coverage. Even if they know that, almost all of them did not even bother finding out what's covered and what's not. When the need arises and they found out it's not covered or only partially-covered, they will complain why company did not cover this and that. I am in HR so I know very well situations like this happens often. In fact, just encountered 1 last week. LOL.
Maybe I was fortunate to have my mom as an agent.

I really experienced maximize company claim on a hospitalization incident of 50k and thankfully I have my own personal insurance to take over coverages.

Total was about 60 to 70k

Gen Z or strawberry gen etc etc are already struggling with parents comfort zone and rising cost of everything + social media presentation.

No surprises insurance to cover unfortunates that may not happen?
The issue is what if it does happen?
Quazacolt
post Aug 26 2020, 08:06 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 25 2020, 06:45 PM)
If you like to drive manual so much, might as well use IBKR or TD Ameritrade. Plenty of low fee ETFs to choose from.
Using driving analogy, maybe some people wanna drive manual but cannot use the clutch pedal? Cannot deal with traffic jam?

So use SAMY auto lo?
Lol
Quazacolt
post Sep 12 2020, 01:58 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Sep 12 2020, 12:08 AM)
Small potholes on ur way up genting highlands
where got potholes la
Quazacolt
post Sep 21 2020, 02:17 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Sep 21 2020, 01:42 AM)
Note: I am also a 5 figure SA user. Ponzi schemes thrive with lack of transparency.
since SA is lacking transparency without disclosing their AUM, what gives you the confidence to continue with SA especially having 5 figures?
Quazacolt
post Sep 21 2020, 04:21 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(TheEquatorian @ Sep 21 2020, 02:54 AM)
5 figures isn’t confidence from my end, I see it as a gamble I am willing to loose. 6 figures would be confidence.

More users need to ask the pertinent question of AUM. As long as SA does not disclose it, I doubt investors will maintain 6 figure funds with them.

Take Moneyfarm as an example:

https://www.businessinsider.com/robo-adviso...017-8?r=US&IR=T

Based on what they said in 2017 above and reality in 2020 below (they still disclose AUM though unlike SA)

https://citywire.co.uk/wealth-manager/news/...m-loss/a1396193
yeah i agree with what you said.

the news you've shared is indeed interesting considering moneyfarm (i am not aware of that robo until you shared it) seemed very solid even having Allianz holding stake and crazy amount of AUM, and yet it has been in the reds for years and project to still be in reds until year end.
Quazacolt
post Oct 27 2020, 10:47 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(red streak @ Oct 26 2020, 10:26 PM)
Point 1 is already wrong. The minimum order for ETFs is $200 (RM800+). You can play around with the practice account and see for yourself. It's $25 for commodities, $50 for shares, and $200 for ETFs. Pretty simple and easy to remember. But you're not entirely wrong in that it sucks if you're trying to DCA and you want to dump money into various ETFs. SA was pretty sweet since you could invest fractions of your deposit into various ETFs.
actually (i am also new so i have to do some reading) https://etoro.tw/3jCGVAB
B. Users residing in Russia, China, India and South East Asia who registered their accounts on or after 2 April 2017:
1. Currencies, commodities and indices: $1,000
2. ETFs: $500
3. Stocks: $50
4. Cryptocurrencies: $25
C. Users who registered their accounts before 2 April 2017 based on the ***invested amount:
1. Currencies, cryptocurrencies and commodities: $25
2. Stocks: $50
3. Indices and ETFs: $200
Finally, the minimum amount required to copy another trader is $200.
Quazacolt
post Nov 3 2020, 09:10 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 3 2020, 08:26 PM)
Jump to 8:36 if lazy to watch whole thing laugh.gif

lol the names of the fictional characters 😂

time code: https://youtu.be/kyomDza-hS8?t=513
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2020, 01:41 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 6 2020, 01:00 AM)
the reason why my sudden interest in StashAway scrapper so that I only have to open my excel once every month to key in transactions.
My excel is also open source so feel free to poke around and use anything you find useful.
impressive details on your blog and superb transparency especially your portfolios. notworthy.gif

i'll slowly digest them among all the other financial information i've recently picked up laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 6 2020, 09:45 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 6 2020, 09:26 AM)
notworthy.gif thank you!! Just finally decided to do my blog after procrastinating forever laugh.gif
"should have". tongue.gif  it's always hard to time the market so I just avoid it
hold my master race card laugh.gif

and humans being emotional, despite my brain know it doesn't matter, one can't always help it but FOMO all the time.
worse when you have no bullet/cash ready and just stand on the sidelines weeping.
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2020, 12:35 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ironman16 @ Nov 13 2020, 08:47 PM)
totally not boring  thumbup.gif
to me boring because nothing to do.
no difference if doing nothing.
Quazacolt
post Nov 14 2020, 10:53 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 14 2020, 04:23 PM)
I am very uncomfortable when stocks are doing so well when we are not out of the shit yet
Warren Buffett is selling
Quazacolt
post Nov 18 2020, 09:26 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Nov 18 2020, 09:18 PM)

Honestly I dont know how they count. Theoretically MWR should be same with XIRR. Maybe I am using "my cash flow" (my deposits/withdrawal if any) but they are using "their cash flow" (i.e. actual investment/dividends/withdrawals)
your graph shows that time in market really beat timing market notworthy.gif
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2020, 11:44 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Cardios95 @ Nov 25 2020, 10:33 AM)
Well, understandable, and I aint paying 30% to cover a personal loan lol
Huh?
Quazacolt
post Nov 25 2020, 12:40 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Nov 25 2020, 11:50 AM)
well, that was from part of his initial posting where he wanted to borrow 15k for a year and payback 3% interest pa.
that initial post and some replies were "removed"...except that "last" one.
Ah thanks for clarifying.

For a long term investment/savings plan (hence name StashAway, some people forgotten that or what? Lol), taking up a loan to do this is a bit, for the lack of words that aren't too harsh - unwise.
Quazacolt
post Dec 14 2020, 04:16 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

Soon ™
Quazacolt
post Dec 14 2020, 11:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Iscream @ Dec 14 2020, 11:08 PM)
Alright. I've read the post, seems like is better to not change the current SRI, as it will sell off current ETFs and buy in again, which may lead to losses.

So it is advisable to open a new portfolio than changing the SRI?

Correct me if I'm wrong.
diversify too much (having many portfolios) may lead to lesser gains over all as well as you have many buy/sell maintaining multiple portfolios
or portfolio a have different ETF and those ETF are earning less than say, portfolio b, then you have emotional unbalances "i should have put everything in a!"

ultimately it is your decision, no right or wrong.
personally IMHO, as my investments are not even breaching 5 figures, ill only maintain 1 port and a SRI of my preference doesn't matter what %
if i have 5 or 6 figures, maybe then i may have multiple ports just to satiate my curiosity as to what port allocates what ETF and which ETF is more profitable etc etc.
Quazacolt
post Dec 21 2020, 01:40 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(encikbuta @ Dec 21 2020, 12:16 AM)

To start off, CF Lieu is an independent financial advisor who can offer mutual funds from practically all the fund houses in Malaysia. Think of him as FundSupermart Managed Portfolio but with A LOT more funds. So it is understandable that he is on a warpath to keep mutual funds on top and RoboAdvisors six feet under.

Thanks!
let me try to do a TLDR/TLDW summary:

CF Lieu: "STASHAWAY IS RUBBISH PLEASE BUY MUTUAL FUNDS FROM ME BESTEST!"
Quazacolt
post Dec 21 2020, 01:33 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Dec 21 2020, 12:13 PM)
I used to enjoy some of his contents but the latest one I really cannot sweat.gif

On one hand he's been nitpicking about the underlying assets of StashAway blah blah blah - those, while legit, but also applies to mutual funds equally. Among many other things doh.gif
Constructive/objective review and feedback is always welcomed.

Like many said, SAMY also has risk and pit/downfalls issues etc, however to paint a skewered picture cherry/nitpicking is just very sad.

Yes, understandably, people when threatened will get defensive. If my rice bowl is under threat, I won't be surprised if I acted as low as CF guy did. Though of course, (and again, yes talk is very easy) I'll try to take a step back and re evaluate things and most importantly try to settle with any emotional attachments first. (Yes I've gone through retrenchment/VSS however at the end of the day I've found better opportunities elsewhere and career growth biggrin.gif )

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0756sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:16 PM