QUOTE(xander83 @ Dec 16 2021, 04:31 PM)
yes by total.. stated at the top of your stashaway home page once u login.Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!
Dec 16 2021, 04:54 PM
3,520 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 21 2021, 09:58 AM
Dec 21 2021, 03:54 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 21 2021, 10:15 AM) Yea December started. Other two thematic portfolios also got invest a bit.. sad see them both go down now..Give it a few years see how. QUOTE(huhulala @ Dec 21 2021, 02:18 PM) This year, I invested in S&P500 every month and made more than 20%. Only Stashaway lost money. I don't care what algorithm they use, I only know that it caused me to lose tens of thousands this year. Index funds have better returns than it, there is no point to continue to park my money here. FAREWELL. GOOD LUCK MY FRIENDS. Yea i got invest in CSPX also.. That also not doing so good now but confident long term it will keep go up. Most US stocks and ETFs will keep go up. As long no war and no more another Donald Trump president.Stashaway just testing waters. If not good will self invest next time in US market. Just hope that dumb FSI tax get scrapped. |
Dec 22 2021, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(JJ93 @ Dec 22 2021, 07:49 PM) Starting to question why is he so pro China. Most investors trying to get out of China now, with major news being US gonna delist many china stocks in 3 years time:https://www.cnbc.com/2021/12/15/us-china-mo...-tcw-group.html https://www.reuters.com/markets/europe/stay...cks-2021-12-17/ Chinese companies starting to list in HK instead: https://www.bbc.com/news/business-59514800 |
Dec 22 2021, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Dec 22 2021, 10:13 PM) when a stock or ETF no longer listed on US market, will definitely reduce the number of investors holding it. Many US investors would definitely mass sell them as per the article. China stocks will then need to rely on the players in China or HK, or majority of Asia more for them to buy the stocks. Just see how lackluster our Bursa is with little foreigners investing in it. Market being manipulated by operators and rich investors buying few hundred K stocks then selling them in a few days time for short term profit. Try invest in Bursa to get what I mean. PRC is asking for it with their stubborn stance on the islands in South China Sea, building of bases there and bullying other countries. Earlier went to war with India at their border. Then now talks of war against Taiwan with planes circling their skies. Thanks to Xi Jinping living in his own world thinking China is all powerful and can simply exert dominance. Locally he's also launching all sort of weird policies to make China into some sort of police state - e.g. banning of crypto, forcing China to focus more on manufacturing etc. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 22 2021, 10:30 PM |
Dec 23 2021, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 22 2021, 11:36 PM) In all investment everyone is entitled to their opinion. The long held stance that US market power the world market is slowly being challenged by China. Just this year China sneeze almost all Asia stocks are affected in a way. if Xi Jinping is more wise with his policies, more open and modern, and building relationships with others, then yea I would be more relaxed with my investments in China. So far he has proven he's not. As for ETF the US dominance is strong I agree but I will support ETF listed in HKEX instead. Reason is simple when I was young 1 USD give me 2+ SGD. Now 1 USD give me 1.3+ SGD. In contrast look at RMB SGD. The trend is there. I not pro PRC more pro monies. It is the same why Msian open acct in Spore becuz SGD strong can get 3+ MYR that is a lot who knows next time 5+ MYR? could be a timebomb waiting to explode any day with 1 wrong move, e.g. war with Taiwan |
Dec 23 2021, 09:36 AM
Dec 23 2021, 10:22 AM
yea just saw it at transactions > general investing. will take note of that next time. Thanks.
Dec 23 2021, 03:11 PM
thanks for sharing insight..
anyhow their support at Whatsapp answered me this: "Hi David! As you just changed it back shortly, there looks to be no market orders generated yet. So the portfolio will not be affected by any change." Changed it back to previous. If change before buy order executed it will cancel off the change. Good they give us 2 days before executing change for the risk. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 23 2021, 03:11 PM |
Dec 23 2021, 06:05 PM
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Dec 23 2021, 04:12 PM) what time did you change it back? normally auto-cutoff time is 2pm, so anything before that isn't finalised yea it was within an hour after I changed.QUOTE(lee82gx @ Dec 23 2021, 04:15 PM) Yes, but to say reits etf donāt grow in value because it is always a dividend only perhaps is not accurate. problem is the differences in 36% vs 30%.. I prefer the investments to be more on the equities side and more focus on US. If 30% will make US related dropped to no. 2 for general investing portfolio. So will hang on to 36% and hopeful later VNQI will recover. Yet another weird example of weird choice by StashAway. I mean so many reits in the world and they choose one with lower dividend yield and no capital appreciation. agree so many ETFs to choose from why pick VNQI.. really hope they remove this next time. QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 23 2021, 04:43 PM) I believe very early on when one decide to invest with SA they know ETF is not DIY and investor put the faith in SA doing the correct investing. If such issues keep coming up perhaps to look for SA alternative is better. Syfe I know have Custom theme where investor get to DIY their own ETF based on the list offered. However I read once you create this custom theme portfolio and put into play, subsequently you want to add,remove ETF from the portfolio is not doable. Haven't personally verified this news. Syfe rates is lower than SA and now Syfe offer US stock trading too (5 free trades per month). Is about ease of depositing money and SC approved, especially if auto DCA monthly. PS I am not a SA nor Syfe investor so above is purely on the features offered by different investment companies. If Syfe can't FPX direct via Msia banks, need convert money transfer to SG etc before can deposit into Syfe. Additional fees involved. Also, I later learn to buy ETFs and stocks direct via IBKR.. planning to build my main portfolio there in future instead of relying on SA. Then we already dip our toe into Stashaway.. continue first la until earn more. My main reason in joining Stashaway is to have some diversification earlier, also to test water see how good it is after a year or two. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 23 2021, 06:06 PM KingArthurVI and sgh liked this post
Dec 27 2021, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 27 2021, 06:29 PM) My total return is negative in USD but positive in ringgit. Means my return is actually positive or negative? Click one time into your portfolio e.g. General Investing and see Total Returns (MYR) there. If gaining will see positive for that portfolio if losing will see negative amount there. Right now thematic portfolio especially Healthcare seem to be earning the most for me. The other two Technology Enablers and Future of Consumer Tech also earning. I set them at 45% risk to focus more on equity. For General investing 36% risk lost a bit due to KWEB and VNQI. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 27 2021, 06:58 PM |
Dec 30 2021, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(thesoothsayer @ Dec 30 2021, 04:40 AM) What do you mean by switched to US Stocks? Possible to do that in Stashaway? Thought the asset allocation is determined based on the risk profile? DIY self investing is best.. can see exactly how much up down everyday and have full control. I do it via IBKR. Rakuten will soon allow us to buy US stocks/ETFs starting Jan 2021 can compare the rates there also. starting to sell my Stashaway portfolios once they make money. Got 2 more left. I wanna pick better ETFs for myself, rather than depending on Stashaway simply choose as they like and still charge 0.8% yearly fee. Went and check every ETFs that they are investing in and realize some are not performing well in YTD/5 years. So decided to go DIY. lee82gx and gundamsp01 liked this post
Dec 30 2021, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Dec 30 2021, 08:58 AM) hope it'll go up soon.. when there's down there's always up.. don't think majority of KWEB portfolios are bad performing.. rating for KWEB is 5/5. Wait all the China news sensation cool down and earnings report release for the companies, then it should go up: https://www.etf.com/KWEB?liw=QUJfMl9VSU8=#overview unless if buy crypto or forex then really hard to say when will up latest news: https://seekingalpha.com/news/3776967-chine...-a-20-month-low This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 30 2021, 11:48 AM |
Dec 30 2021, 02:59 PM
Healthcare Innovation and Technology Enablers doing quite well.
Dec 30 2021, 10:55 PM
Foreign source income tax canceled for individuals. Yayyyy.. Dont have to worry about invest overseas liao š
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/mof-...nsourced-income |
Dec 31 2021, 02:59 PM
Yea just hold on first. Wanna sell your stashaway portfolio also at least wait get some profits dulu. If not urgent need money just leave it there.
Jan 3 2022, 11:52 PM
For those in thematic portfolio āfuture of consumer techā. This is why FINX dropping like mad now, US regulatory circling:
https://seekingalpha.com/news/3778921-why-d...-new-regulation Graph in TradingView: https://www.tradingview.com/symbols/NASDAQ-FINX/ would suggest to check on each and every ETF before investing into any Stashaway portfolios. Many of them have unstable or strong downward trends. KWEB one of them now. remaining 2 portfolios I had placed in Stashaway Simple to recover my losses (from KWEB and FINX). Later will think where to invest. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 4 2022, 01:00 AM |
Jan 5 2022, 09:17 AM
DIY investing via IBKR is best. Full control.
Already read comments here and there peopleās stashaway in negative growth. Lost like 50 bucks donāt wanna lose further. Kweb keep nose dive gonna be long before they recover. All china stocks affected by the new strict regulations by both China and US. Ownself invest if you choose great ETFs like CSPX or VWRA in same time frame of 5 years will earn much more. If still wanna stick with Stashaway reduce your holdings with kweb by adjusting risk. Agree those thematic portfolios ETFs looks nice when go up.. but they go down easily too. One year growth doesnāt look good. So far only good ETFs with solid returns in Stashaway I notice is XLP, XLE, IJR, VNQ. Can read more about them to see if worth to invest directly as Malaysians or not. Stashaway should focus more on these great performing ETFs. Maybe Stashaway paid by these companies to list ETFs on their page, we never know. Ways to earn more income. Thatās why all type of bad ones in the portfolios also. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 5 2022, 09:30 AM |
Jan 5 2022, 10:00 AM
Search for best performing ETFs and invest DIY. Wanna hodl also safer:
https://www.etfstream.com/news/best-performing-etfs-of-2021/ They have higher expense ratio but with such growths will cover the expense. Still cheaper than Stashaway 0.8% a year lol. Most of these ETFs the most charge 0.50% a year. This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Jan 5 2022, 10:03 AM |
Jan 5 2022, 10:02 AM
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jan 5 2022, 09:43 AM) i guess the takeaway here is, if someone suggests to HODL, ask them if they already have skin in the game (don't worry, there's quite a few here who's holding out for the long run) IMO if being lazy and leave money to others to simply invest (likely they have their own interests) then is losing out on the long run.I started investing last year, considered late at my mid 30s. Hence why passionate now to educate others to make wiser moves with their money. |
| Change to: | 1.1921sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:51 AM |