37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

SUSxander83
post Feb 11 2021, 02:37 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 10 2021, 11:05 PM)
Highly likely is due to the assets or etfs drop in value by the time they were sold. Fx is 1%, no doubt. Which is why, kids, please stay invested and only sell when you can beat daily fluctuations. This is not a trading platform. Even if it is, I wouldn’t advise FX on small or too frequent transactions.
Withdraw in small amounts is better to take profit than lump sum because FX rate calculations where more gains are to be seen than losses rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 11 2021, 06:04 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 11 2021, 05:21 PM)
dude, one day i will understand you but as of now, I totally don't...can you share an example calculation or transaction?

No offense just trying to learn.
You can go try withdraw small amounts of less than RM1 then you know how much the difference. I been putting in lump sum in xxxx and withdraw daily in small amounts of less than RM1 when the MYRUSD price alert trigger on my dashboard

You wouldn’t understand unless you have trade FX derived FI and MMF, FX and ETF directly hence you wouldn’t understand when to take profit at the right time rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by xander83: Feb 11 2021, 06:10 PM
SUSxander83
post Feb 11 2021, 06:09 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Oklahoma @ Feb 11 2021, 05:31 PM)
Guys, possible to use credit card to direct debit into stashaway? Trying to get reward points.
Will never happen as SC and BNM doesn’t allowed it due to bad self financial management as banks are would not allow credits to be taken to make money by its customer

The reason why credit card is created so that ppl is enslaved to the banks when the defaulted credits into loans then it becomes debt if one doesn’t able to manage the credit properly doh.gif

The possibility of debit cards is look promisingly soon coupled ewallet with some regulation and adjustment will be seen soon rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 12 2021, 01:08 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 11 2021, 08:18 PM)
My question is whether you have calculated whether you make more by not withdrawing at all, or at the a later time.
I will calculate to withdraw small amounts when the ringgit is weak and it depends on a week to week calculation based on USDMYR movements just like last week because I hit my target profit with my gains only not the base investments

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Feb 11 2021, 09:29 PM)
Sorry ya interested but not very financially literate... do you mean withdraw whenever ringgit is weak? e.g. last week withdraw RM1 will deduct 0.26USD from fund so better don't, today withdraw RM1 only deduct 0.24USD from fund so more value? mixing forex trade style action into withdrawing earnings?
Yes I withdraw small amounts on the gains only when MYRUSD hit a certain target point just like last week it was trading at 4.0621

Ringgit has never hit below 0.26usd as it means it was trading at USDMYR at 3.846 which it has been never been hit for almost 3 years last week rate was at 0.2462 which is a total 4.06 when my entry was at 0.2496 on Jan 2

You have to buy when ringgit is strong and withdraw when the ringgit is weak to maximise the gains as you can see these 2 days price gains are small as compared due to strengthening ringgit which takes off almost 1% gains compared to price of ETFs rclxms.gif

SUSxander83
post Feb 12 2021, 09:41 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(poooky @ Feb 12 2021, 09:36 AM)
How do you time your withdrawals to maximise the exchange rate gains? It is based on spot spot price at the time of submitting the withdrawal?
Based on daily spot rate, ETFs price and timing on short tail in MYR movements
SUSxander83
post Feb 12 2021, 04:52 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 12 2021, 02:36 PM)
Nice. Do you have a name for this strategy? How about "keropok lekor system" - because each trade you make is worth about 1 piece of keropok lekor.
You can call it what you want but there’s a name for it

When you put in 4 figures and slowly withdraw in a small amount of less than hundreds you know that you can gain at the right time

To me SA is FD for my usage as it is the pool money that I parked here knowingly I won’t make a loss rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 13 2021, 03:17 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(highflier @ Feb 13 2021, 01:04 PM)
Notice that last night a small portion of KWEB was being sold and I understand that because it has exceeded the target weight too much.
My portfolio is 16%, and the target weight for KWEB is 8%, before yesterday the actual weight was 9+%
What concern me is that I have set to transfer money from Simple to this portfolio on weekly basis, running for months already, and the amount is almost same with the KWEB portion that was being sold last night. Actually based on previous records, this week investment should be done on Thursday or Friday, but i think because of holiday, it didn't kick in. If that happens, I think the platform won't sell the KWEB that much. And now I believe high chances that in coming weeks I will buy KWEB again, in higher price, due to the weekly deposit.
Instead of using Simple, perhaps I should just manual transfer money to the portfolio.
Don’t worry too much on KWEB because the breakout happens during this time of the year on KWEB

Wait XLP, XLY and XLV for breakout soon which you thank the algorithm for it

If you worry too much stop DCA and manual lump sum because MYR is currently being dictated by oil price hence next week will see a short rally in equities and long rally on currencies till March then the magic happens again rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 13 2021, 09:33 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Feb 13 2021, 07:38 PM)
Hi all,

Question about SA's conversion rate - I don't like what I'm seeing but I might be wrong in this. Here's a snapshot of my SA transaction history:
The transfer fee was USD37.0581, considering SA's exchange rate displayed there, there was a hidden processing fee of 37.0581 USD.

Now to reverse engineer to find out what was the MYR>USD rate on 3 Aug 2020:
Today (13 Feb), 1MYR = 0.2473718USD
On 3 Aug, 1MYR = 0.2473718 - 0.0047429 = 0.2426289
user posted imageuser posted image
But of course, I have no way to reverse engineer fintech's or bank's offers so I went to Instarem and TransferWise to check the rates, and plotted them onto my own transfer rate calculator (Special thanks to a forumer who did a sheet like this himself, I made my own copy with some additional functions). Google finance is the benchmark, and the various fintechs are more realistic values:
TW and Instarem:
user posted imageuser posted image

Excel comparison:
RHS: Today's exchange. I'm taking 27.67 USD as the actual charge incurred for the exchange and put that into 3 Aug sheet (LHS). Meaning, if I did the transfer on 3 Aug instead using TransferWise, I would've receive approx 4825 USD instead. That is 100 USD spread from SA's conversion compared to other fintechs! Did I miss out something or is SA conversion rate really that bad?

inb4 "Why are you trying to reverse engineer this?"
I didn't know what I was doing back then, now I want to know if I should continue keeping my money in SA or take it out to invest manually. Frankly speaking, the performance has been disappointing, and I want to know why.
On top of that, there's a 3+USD conversion back to RM to pay the management fee every month, so shitty conversion rate would really hurt investments in SA.

OR, if anyone is going to make a deposit into SA soon, please do me a favour and compare your post-conversion amount to other fintechs? Thank you!
Did you factor in conversion rate of additional 0.1% against spot rate charged by Citibank when you deposit?

At that time your rate should be around there as you cannot compare financial instructional spot rate versus those transfer fintech specialist as the spot rate has been imposed to merchant which bear the cost/commission by them

Management fee is so minisicule 0.0125% per month which is nothing for your account base and you didn’t currency will fluctuate/appreciate on daily basis which is wrong comparison

If you wanna save better with your money go buy direct ETFs with your kinda money then you will how much charges when it comes to brokerage, conversion etc which is impossible when you factor in 0.5% versus 0.8% on yearly basis
SUSxander83
post Feb 14 2021, 02:35 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Feb 13 2021, 09:54 PM)
Any idea why you say the stocks going down again in March? Curious
Correction, rotation and seasonal adjustment because usually March it is slow month after reporting season is over for major developed countries indices

Currently most indeces are at all major highs waiting for catalyst most likely stimulus only whether it is gonna be another trillion in US to go higher

Buckle up this few weeks because RM it is try to break below RM4 and it is right timing to go long for at least next 6 to 8 months

To those who 36 just keep an eye on KWEB, 50DMA already breakout waiting slight pullback to match the rally of 200DMA which is coming soon hitting 115 soon rclxms.gif

SUSxander83
post Feb 16 2021, 05:43 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(Noob Boy 1996 @ Feb 16 2021, 01:40 AM)
yes the money has been deducted from my bank account. I even received an email about they received my funds and will take 2-3 working days to invest...but stiill no money in the app. Will whatsapp them about it. Maybe because of CNY their progress are quite slow...
Nothing to do with CNY because markets at all time high and the buy order will be executing by this Wednesday or Thursday when the markets starts to correct itself and rebalance their portfolio

Your money is already converted to USD and it is only small amount of rm100 which is difficult for it to execute the buy order most ETFs at its portfolio because most of it are being priced in the market at least of USD45 to USD178

In order for it work better you should at least deposit about USD100 or RM405 in order for it to execute the buy smoothly
SUSxander83
post Feb 16 2021, 06:00 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(kiba84 @ Feb 16 2021, 05:43 AM)
Hi all, I just started with SA. After the assessment, it shows me 6.5% risk and when I check here, we have so many people with 36% risk assessment. When I check to change the risk, for some reason it only allowing up to 22%. What is the best way to do this? I'm looking for a long term investment. So is it better to stick with 6.5% as the automated risk says and create a new portfolio for 22%? Any advise? Not sure how to get 36% portfolio thou.
The other way is buy into 22% 1st for 1 month then next month you can adjust the risk to 36

It all depends on the capital you start as you can grow buying multi portfolio in StashAway without risking all eggs in one baskets but for your situation if you are using the money for long term put in 80% into 22 and 20% into 8 for emergency liquidity
SUSxander83
post Feb 16 2021, 07:46 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(amateurinvestor @ Feb 16 2021, 12:54 PM)
Hey just curious on what do you mean wed & thurs will correct itself? Is it a trend for markets to correct themselves around end of week? And is this in relation to us markets or equity markets in general?
Coz if tats the usual trend then it makes sense to top
up around end of week yes?
Thanks haha 😆
This week markets are at all time high carryover from last few weeks gain hence this week Wed and Thurs the market will correct or even stagnant only this week you just google and you know why

Markets can correct itself anytime due to anything sensitive to data or news related not necessary end of the week and it can happen anytime and anywhere in the world.

If you trade based on trend using SA be careful because you will get hit by the sudden movement of the markets because of the fluidity of their ETFs as it can be seen in KWEB and IJR which is already on breakout trend

If you top up at the wrong week with high USD and high price of ETFs be prepared to hold on longer to ride on the gains only will happen on bullish trend like now and only top up when the USD is falling and markets are dipping if you’re into the long hold

SUSxander83
post Feb 18 2021, 01:56 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

KWEB and IJR signals re entering coming soon
SUSxander83
post Feb 20 2021, 02:23 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Feb 20 2021, 01:08 AM)
Like I mentioned, SA came in at the right time and got the right people doing the marketing+funding laugh.gif Pandemic only spurred further interest in the concept of AI and doing things via phone to most investors with deep pockets. Malaysia and Singapore society are both very conservative in general especially when it comes to finance and wealth management. Majority of the big money movers are more likely to invest in mutual funds, real estate, or shares. SA's target market are mostly Millenial generation who can't yet provide the high amounts of investment the way that older people can, unless they're the lucky few with rich inheritance or have made a successful business early.

Whether they'll be able to succeed and survive is still up in the air, and hopefully other people who use them as an investment platform knows that. Even studying banking history or recent fintech companies like e-pay/e-wallets etc., it takes years before can see if a company makes enough to survive, much less profit to the startup investors. Eventually market will start to consolidate and mergers/takeovers will happen etc.

Four years is really too early to predict or decide if something as new as robo-advisors in the ASEAN region is going to do well or not.
Just wait and when they can accelerate funding access by using wallets which looks like coming soon by q3 pending SC and BNM approval

Coupled with their MENA market access most likely AUM 2billion in next 2 years is highly likely rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 20 2021, 09:46 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Feb 20 2021, 06:24 PM)

There is only 1 direct mention of AI in the entire StashAway site.

I think we just somehow deduced "robo" to "artificial intelligence". The actual robo part of stashaway is just when you create goals. The portfolios of different risk levels, I believe they are all manual works done by the portfolio manager or CIO.
Don’t forget the most important buy and sell order it is trigger by ERAA philosophy being feed into their AI to determine buy and sell price based on the risk assessment calculation

Just wondering what platform they are using as Wahed is running on AWS but stillness a lot manual grunt work going as the processes are slow on that platform
SUSxander83
post Feb 20 2021, 10:09 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(stormseeker92 @ Feb 20 2021, 09:56 PM)
Anyone knows when they execute buy order during the period of market open? It is exactly when the market opened, or when it was the lowest, or any specific time set?
1stly it depends on when you deposit is being processed and accepted

2nd buy order will only happen within the next day or 2 and it depends on ERAA robo calculated the buy price based on your deposits and allocated risks to it

So there is no specific time only based on buy order price being triggered by the market price and hence it’s become your assets just like typical ETFs or share price on the market being bought as there is no Waybuloo you can control price movements unless you’re the big whale or market movers
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 05:38 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 21 2021, 10:09 PM)
Just made my virgin transfer to SA. HAHA!
Your Virgin buy will be happening on Wed rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 09:22 AM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(GrumpyNooby @ Feb 22 2021, 09:18 AM)
What is Virgin? New product from SAMY?

I know Vagina only.
Prophetjul latest v transfer rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 06:18 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Feb 22 2021, 05:04 PM)
US stock market is worth $85 trillion. The whole crypto is $700 billion. what do you think?
the bull run is spurred by unlimited money printing. due for correction soon.
Correction is happening since last week which I have predicted earlier on after Feb12 so no surprises yet as I have already cash out and waiting to buy in soon

Stimulus talks will be the key on Friday waiting next week gonna be ballsy as another roller coaster of 10% easily correction with crypto gonna fall at least the double percentage soon rclxms.gif
SUSxander83
post Feb 22 2021, 09:01 PM

Blast off like a rocket
6,427 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Feb 22 2021, 07:43 PM)
how long is the "processing verfication" recently? mine seems stucked for like a week or so now. deposit still under processing.
Should be your trust account still processing hence which is why still pending

QUOTE(lee82gx @ Feb 22 2021, 08:46 PM)
Dude, the day you put in some punctuations, I will send you voucher.
You can send me some bucks better. rclxms.gif

37 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.4838sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:34 AM