8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

xander2k8
post Jun 1 2023, 01:33 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jun 1 2023, 01:21 PM)
SA should charge lower fees, their performance just not good enough.
How low you think they can charge 🤦‍♀️ at 0.3% they barely covering the cost while you think lower fees is good it is bad because ultimately when they go bust they will sell your ETFs at losses 🤦‍♀️

What SA is should do is they either can change allocation committee and commit to a very long term instead of just using the reopt as now they defeating the purpose by buying ISAC now
xander2k8
post Jun 1 2023, 01:36 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jun 1 2023, 01:34 PM)
less 0.1%
Not possible in the 1st place 🤦‍♀️ because they have to pay brokerage and trustee fee already cost more than that

If you want cheap buy yourself DIY instead rather than paying the fees to their fund manager
xander2k8
post Jun 11 2023, 09:45 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Jun 10 2023, 01:06 PM)
I actually already have IBKR account. But not really want to do all the manual things to topup, etc. And no local broker seems to offer access to london stock exchange.

Stashaway I can buy ISAC with 0.3% fee but benefit from 15% WHT all gone to the sad.gif

Since Rakuten uses IBKR, they can't offer London Stock?
Even if Rakuten uses doesn’t mean they can offer LSE because they don’t have brokerage license from UK 😂 the only way for them to offer is that Rakuten has to have an office in UK and apply for the brokerage license over there
xander2k8
post Jun 11 2023, 09:53 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(nightpipper @ Jun 11 2023, 09:48 AM)
Hello all, just want to share my journey of SA

Started May 2020 at SRI 22%, DCA weekly up until March 2022
Results until end of february was a minor gain so i wasn't too disatisfied, the plan was to continue DCA for the long term.
As we are all aware KWEB was falling like a rock from peak Feb 2021.
SA continued to have faith in KWEB throughout the fall stating that long term tech growth prospects in china were solid.
End of Feb 2022, Ukraine war started and markets went down in general except for oil and gas.
SA were spooked that china might get secondary sanctions by helping russia and dumped KWEB.
In hindsight this was the right decision to dump KWEB as it has gone sideways since.
SA reoptimized, sold and bought assets in bulk at a fixed price.
This meant DCA was for nothing, at this point I decided to stop DCA and just hold.
From March 2022 until Dec 2022, SRI 22% was just moving down and sideways.
I had invested RM248k at this point, losses fluctuated between -RM30k at its peak and -RM12k at the lowest.
Then from Jan 2023 until June 2023, the ringgit fell from aroung 4.20 until current price 4.60.
This meant that even though i was holding a substantial loss in USD of aroung 5-6k, i had made a small gain in RM terms.
Made a full withdrawal on the morning of June 7, received funds on June 9 in the evening.
Overall made RM2.3k after 3 years. After staring at a loss of rm30k at one point, just glad to get out.
Might use SA simple for parking short term funds, but would rather DCA myself than invest in SA again.

At least you got out with a gain and thankfully you DCA not lump sum as if you have lump sum the losses might go beyond 20% of your losses at peak
xander2k8
post Jun 11 2023, 09:16 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(nightpipper @ Jun 11 2023, 09:57 AM)
Yes, you are right
DCA and the fact that SRI 22% wasn't as exposed to KWEB as SRI 36%
Just treat it a lesson learn and thankfully I didn’t put in a lot in SA otherwise might be the same boat as you

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Jun 11 2023, 01:25 PM)
Stashaway Simple claims can generate return up to 4.1% but yet I can see the dividend entitlement for the month of May is very poor. I just received the dividend entitlement today.

how about you all?
Projected rate 🤦‍♀️ 4.1% and the top up of shortfall of interest will be cover by rebates later by SA whenever they received the rebate from the fund manager itself
xander2k8
post Jun 13 2023, 02:26 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(bcombat @ Jun 12 2023, 06:14 PM)
The stocks in S&P are doing well in past few months are those heavy weight stocks such as Apple, Meta, Googles, Tesla’s, Microsoft, Nvidia.
You left out Amazon as well 😂 and if you minus those 7 stocks SnP in reality is down atm 🤦‍♀️
xander2k8
post Jul 8 2023, 03:45 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(15cm @ Jul 8 2023, 01:25 PM)
this is true? sorry i only read the T&C very briefly and didnt notice this...
Yes and take note of the keyword in their TnC particularly projected and rebates
xander2k8
post Jul 18 2023, 04:28 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(United Rulez @ Jul 17 2023, 06:04 AM)
My weekly standing instruction didn't go through or got canceled today.  hmm.gif

Stashaway still using Citibank as their account?  The recent UOB takeover affected?
Yes but likely account number remains the same but it will take awhile for it to take place because they will have transition and notify their customers

The headache also would involves on DD and instalments 🤦‍♀️
xander2k8
post Jul 18 2023, 11:32 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(SotongBiru @ Jul 18 2023, 08:19 PM)
I am a little confused on the Stashaway interface.  When it says dividend entitlement (using Simple), where does the payout go to?
It will goes back to your cash portion in Simple while later it will be reinvested

This will happen monthly payout because of the fund structure that Simple invests upon
xander2k8
post Jul 27 2023, 05:26 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 26 2023, 09:43 PM)
After having been "under water" for so many many months,...
my port had just risen to take a breath.
hope it will continue to stay afloat and breath instead of going under water to continue with its sleep at the bottom of the sea
I wouldn’t look at the RM portion but USD on the performance itself 🤦‍♀️ as the ETF holdings are positive for the year but yet still bagging losses 🤦‍♀️ from the KWEB debacle
xander2k8
post Jul 31 2023, 02:06 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Jul 31 2023, 01:29 PM)
StashAway Simple's projection has finally dropped to 3.8% pa
Not suprising 🤦‍♀️ the money flow into back equities from fixed income as MMF have a bad June and July month this year and expect it to go lower towards year end
xander2k8
post Jul 31 2023, 05:09 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Jul 31 2023, 02:17 PM)
maybe BNM will finally has the guts to raise OPR. it can raise the return for MMF.
They won’t raise 🤦‍♀️ because they worried about stagflation and slow growth since inflation is now in their target range of 2 to 3% as currently inflation is at 2.4% below OPR rate

They would only raise if inflation goes above to 3%, RM goes past RM4.70 or growth is at 7 to 8% quarterly

MMF returns the past 2 months is weak because the money now is rotated for risks assets like equities as you can see now Bursa is holding past 1400

xander2k8
post Aug 3 2023, 02:55 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Aug 3 2023, 02:49 PM)
I wonder Xander kept nag and said IBKR is good.
But as for Malaysian if u heavily invest in IBKR, how do you withdraw to RM?
I know ppl do say go SG open bank, then withdraw via SG bank.
How do I get IBKR to RM? Easiest and lowest fee?

This is my hesitation of putting money to IBKR via Wise
IBKR is good 🤦‍♀️ because it is for low cost holding for long term

You got alternatives if you want it in RM and fast withdrawal within 3 days like Rakuten, FSM, M+ Global and SC Stocks but beware of the high FX spread and fees of 5 or more times compare to IBKR
xander2k8
post Aug 23 2023, 04:21 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 19 2023, 04:43 PM)
Good news is the 30% WHT will be refunded, but it's usually next year October.
No more already 🤦‍♀️ as IRS already crackdown on Stashaway and now they have to reopt to LSE based US treasury bills
xander2k8
post Aug 24 2023, 01:40 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 24 2023, 07:34 AM)
😢 Where have they announced it? That’s not good
Very sneaky 🤦‍♀️ 22 evening sent out the email and effective 23 Aug in place

The way they announced also not very transparent and just hide behind the word broker and IRS 🤦‍♀️
xander2k8
post Aug 25 2023, 11:47 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Aug 25 2023, 09:03 AM)
Usually withholding taxes are reimbursed in October, does that mean the WHTs charged last year can't be reimbursed? =(
Last year will reimbursed but moving forward 2023 will be reimbursed until Aug which means only next year probably Q1 will be in your account but it depends on their Saxo on how they execute it
xander2k8
post Aug 25 2023, 11:48 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 25 2023, 11:02 AM)
wah damn reoptimisation again.
Not really reopt 🤦‍♀️ it is more replace with those holdings are affected by WHT
xander2k8
post Aug 26 2023, 01:29 AM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Aug 25 2023, 11:30 PM)
Does this apply to IBKR as well? I haven't heard anything from IBKR regarding this.
IBKR should not be affected because of their brokerage incorporated in the US while Stashaway is using Saxo which doesn’t have any incorporation in US and doesn’t hold any brokerage license in the US hence IRS is gunning for them because the new rules in place for the global minimum tax

So in future always make sure that your broker has a brokerage license in US in order for less headaches particularly with WHT otherwise just buy LSE or Irish domiciled holdings
xander2k8
post Aug 27 2023, 04:13 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 27 2023, 01:35 PM)
Is there any confirmation from IBKR that this won't be happening next year?
It is not year by year 🤦‍♀️ you will know only if the IRS amend their act in Congress hence you need to keep track on financial services committee in Congress for any changes when they are in session
xander2k8
post Aug 27 2023, 09:37 PM

4,638 posts

QUOTE(melondance @ Aug 27 2023, 07:55 PM)
Wait.. so Stashaway got news from Saxo that IRS told them to stop and that's it? No more explanation or something?  sad.gif
Yes based on the email written by Stashaway and they have written at the bottom on the explanation and any questions you should contact them

What more explanation you need as it is very clear cut from the email 🤦‍♀️

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.4346sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:34 PM