18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 12:38 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Mar 25 2021, 12:34 AM)
Thanks for this, Hoshiyuu.

I don't normally follow the funds within SA, I see lots of hype with KWEB. What happened? It dipped so much when I got curious and looked at it, lol
From my understanding,

Its basically Technology/Internet stock hype + China hype rolled into one index fund. So it was blasting off real hard for a while - then between Section 230 reform (not sure directly related) and most importantly, recently there is a massive antitrust prob to Tencent and Alibaba causing their shares to plummet.

And basically any index that tracks China have like 15+ or even 20% of its holding in Tencent & Alibaba, people are worried and trying to realize their gain/get out? so its having a nosedive right now.

Happy to get corrected by our resident oracle though. I am not too deep into this, but I am bleeding on Tradeplus S&P New China Tracker too biggrin.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 11:51 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Age old mentality of "bonds are bad, 100% equities!" during a near-decade long bull run then panic when it crashes tongue.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 12:36 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 25 2021, 11:25 AM)
People love StashAway until their asset picks underperformed.

https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/commen...tment_strategy/

https://investmentmoats.com/money/comparing...-robo-advisers/

Yes it's mostly buay song with 20% GLD.

PACK IT UP BOYS SAMPLE SIZE OF TWO MONTH

I hate it so damn much when 9 out of 10 reviews on both blogs and youtube ALWAYS review Stashaway on a less than 3 month time frame. It boggles my mind.
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 12:59 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Man with the way that person worded that blog entry, I thought Stashaway dropped the ball and caused a 20% loss compared to some unit trust giving them 90% p.a. 🤣🤣🤣

AKA how to invalidate your entire blog in 2 sentences. I can't believe I sat through the entire article.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 25 2021, 01:01 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 02:54 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 25 2021, 02:26 PM)
Endowus 80% stock 20% bond has a VaR of 40-50%
You get 100% stock portfolio which is mentioned is investmentmoats article when you choose 50-60% risk in endowus

So if Kyith wants to do a fairer comparison, we need to compare endowus 60/40 portfolio which is in 35-40% VaR against StashAway SRI 36%.

60% stocks 40% bonds and similar VaR to stashaway 80% equities (stocks + REITS) 20% gold? Huhuhu

Add: I am currently using both stashaway and endowus coz they have little overlaps than most other robos like Wahed, Syfe, Akrunow etc.
If anything at least he mentioned this

On a semi-related note, I feel like most of the comments comes from the complaint that "Stashaway does not offer a truly high risk portfolio" - but its also exactly that Stashaway is capped at an absolute 36% VaR and that their investment philosophy is "Risk-management first" and "Don't take unnecessary risk" that I am happy to recommend it to people who are completely new to the idea of investing - because as long they don't do ANYTHING except put money into it regularly, they will likely get a safe and reasonable return.

IMO if someone is looking for a unjustified roller coaster with their life savings, can just go trade futures instead of asking Stashaway to become that.

Edit: Exhibit A

user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 25 2021, 04:12 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 25 2021, 08:31 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(The Alcove @ Mar 25 2021, 08:28 PM)
Ringgit so weak now is it still good idea to continue DCA 🤔
Your opinion highly appreciated
My opinion is that if you are DCA-ing you shouldn't be looking at forex price to begin with tongue.gif

It's not DCA if you are wondering if you should stop if you feel like you aren't getting your Ringgit's worth.

Set interval, set amount, forget you have an investment going until your next birthday thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 25 2021, 08:32 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 26 2021, 03:58 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 26 2021, 02:14 PM)

18.7% p.a. for 3Y on 36% var

Cis, StashAway masih underperform other robo over last 2 months, -2.9%  vmad.gif  /s
-2.9% would have been 60% 🚀🚀🚀 if Freddy didn't sohai buy so many gold and kweb /s
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 26 2021, 10:37 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Takudan @ Mar 26 2021, 10:06 PM)
Thanks for reminding me that I'm a potato. Indeed I've only started investing last year and boy, it sure feels good to see myself doing so well DIY compared to SA which as I've shared few weeks back, both my SA 16/36 portfolios were at -5-8% losses then. In fact, I'm still very very skeptical against SAMY because I have never seen my portfolio in green since inception, but I am 2 feet deep into it, cannot realise my loss... so ok lor swallow that skepticism and continue DCA... If anything, I'm actually trusting you forumers more than SAMY itself at this point laugh.gif

I guess I'm on the right track that I'm keeping my various jars in tact, no matter how addictive the big green numbers look, don't all in haha. Even lately I had to tell myself I might be saving a bit too much just for the sake of investing.
Becareful... you should invest in something because you have done your due diligence and believed it to be correct, not because many others said so, otherwise we'd all be buying GME @ $210 thinking it'd go $10000

At its very core, what we've said is really not much difference than what people tell bagholders either

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Mar 26 2021, 10:40 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Mar 27 2021, 11:56 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 27 2021, 11:21 AM)
I love GO + so much. Very useful to frequent ewallet user.

I mean our level go plus is useless for us haha
I guess in a way, parking some emergency fund in GO+ is way more liquid than FD/Versa and definitely far more liquid than SA Simple... since withdraw are T+1 (same as Versa) but you can alternatively sell TnG credit to friends or just pay with TnG.
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 1 2021, 08:22 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

And the longer SA exist stably.... the harder it is for something new to disrupt.

at the moment, I am not longer interested with current competitors,

I likely won't bother with brand new competitors @ same/similar fees

I'd think twice on a brand new competitor at say... 60% of SA fees?

I'd go all in if I get basically SA but total world index @ 0.3%< total fees biggrin.gif
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 2 2021, 09:11 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Why spend more money to do worse?
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 2 2021, 11:31 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 2 2021, 11:26 AM)
FSM is only good for PRS no? Why buy those expensive mutual funds that likely will underperform robo advisors?
On that topic, recommend me a PRS please 😆
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 2 2021, 03:10 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(PPZ @ Apr 2 2021, 03:08 PM)
Just wondering if you guys are going all out in your investment portfolios in stashaway? Meaning set all aggresively?
Up to individual appetite, I have a 36% for 15 year horizon and a 10% one for 1 year horizon
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 5 2021, 08:14 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 5 2021, 11:52 AM)
Turned my joke from a few days ago into reality due to a combination of boredom and insanity. I have so many questions, can't wait to check in next month and see how deposits on 31st rollover and what is the buy order execution pattern.  laugh.gif

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 2 2021, 02:23 PM)
(SA staff, I am sorry if manual labor is ever involved in handling a deposit and buy order)
Nobody:

Literally nobody:

Me: An almost monthly update on my trip to crazy town: not bad! other than a few days where it had a 3 day gap instead of 2 on weekends, portfolio investment is generally consistent on a daily DCA plan.*

One thing I noticed is that the biggest failure point is not on SA side (portfolio investment), but simply on Direct Debit side. Sometime I can have up to 4 "processing" direct debits where the money has not reached Stashaway.

*The lowest buy order execution was $4.81 USD, which is roughly RM20 - so the theory that the minimum buy order is ~RM20 might be true! On my ultra meme RM10 DCA portfolio, the investment is very spotty, every 2 to 4 days. It might be time to raise the minimum daily DCA to RM20 to see if I can get buy buy orders daily!

If I still can't get daily buy orders, one of these days if I am really bored I might actually try setting up a RM20 monthly jompay setup and just manually put in money daily just to see how it compares to direct debit...

Left: Overall Portfolio, Right: Meme RM10 daily DCA
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 5 2021, 08:17 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 5 2021, 08:32 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 5 2021, 08:24 PM)
Sorry for newbie question. For SA Simple, if I deposit money for a week and withdraw, do I get any interest/dividend payment at all?
Great question! I asked the exact same thing to CS.

QUOTE(Stashaway)
Thanks for the question and I'm happy to clarify it for you! The Dividend Entitlements for Simple are your dividends earned for your funds invested. Dividend payouts happen at the beginning of every other month.

The dividends are declared and paid out on a monthly basis, thereafter, the funds received are then automatically reinvested into your Simple portfolio. https://www.bloomberg.com/quote/PRUISIN:MK?sref=g4LS3DvT

This is expected to happen every month. The rinse and repeat cycle plus the rebates we issue every quarter will help you to reach the projected rate of 2.4% p.a.

Assuming that you withdraw before the dividend payout date (ex-div date), you will not be entitled to the dividend payout. Having said that, you will be selling at a "high" as the fund value increases until the ex-div date.

Edit: Basically what Hon Siong said.

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 5 2021, 08:32 PM
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 6 2021, 07:32 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

I will die happy if I see double digit every year, hahaha. It's just that as previously mentioned, new investors who enjoyed the massive bull run for investing after march 2020 should not treat this year's gain as expected returns...
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 8 2021, 12:18 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Just gonna post this here for future quoting purposes:

QUOTE(Stashaway)
"What if something happens to StashAway?":

First of all, I would like to assure you that StashAway is built on very solid foundations, and as part of MAS requirements, needs to always have a significant capital base; it is, therefore, unlikely that StashAway will start bankruptcy procedures.

With that being said - in the unlikely event that StashAway is declared bankrupt, following MAS strict regulations, StashAway has ensured that customers' funds are protected by the custodian relationship with SAXO (brokerage) or Lion Global for Simple and their custodian institutions (HSBC for cash and SG securities and Citibank for securities), such that those funds are kept separate and un-mingled with StashAway’s finances (i.e. your portfolios and holdings will not be affected).

In typical cases of bankruptcy, a liquidator would be appointed to assist with the process of returning investment funds to the respective customers. However, we are unable to provide a clear estimate of the timeline as it would depend on the speed and progress in accordance with the relevant liquidation procedures. Rest assured that notifications and an open channel of communication would be provided to ensure that customers stay informed of the process and can reach out to the Company at any point to address any questions and concerns.

We hope that the above serves to set your and your peers' minds at ease. Please reach out to us via our email (support@stashaway.com) or drop us a call if you have further questions!
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 8 2021, 10:19 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

[quote=lee82gx,Apr 8 2021, 09:49 AM]

[/quote]

Somehow this is not really applicable to Malaysia.

[/quote]

With SC being so weak that they can't even stop Akru from bring garbage, yeah, I guess. But it's some assurance I guess!
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 9 2021, 07:49 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(skyvisionz @ Apr 9 2021, 07:43 AM)
Where can I track the daily rates for SA simple?
Looks like the rate is lower than FD now
Can check directly underlying fund performances, it's PRUISIN.
https://my.morningstar.com/my/report/fund/p...px?t=0P0000GEZP

Should be close enough, I don't know what's the underlying calculation for the minor factors like rebates

This post has been edited by Hoshiyuu: Apr 9 2021, 07:50 AM
Hoshiyuu
post Apr 9 2021, 11:52 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Apr 9 2021, 11:37 AM)
Direct debit still available for new users, but cannot do weekly debit. Only monthly and quarterly allowed.
😊😉

18 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.4595sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:26 PM