8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Investment StashAway Malaysia, Multi-Region ETF at your fingertips!

Davidtcf
post Mar 14 2022, 01:14 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(svchia78 @ Mar 14 2022, 11:07 AM)
D*u....... Finally SA caved in and leaving KWEB behind.. but total sell-off? That's locking in all losses....

Maybe should leave SA behind for a while... keep whatever is invested there and put in no more until outlook changes for the better.
Ya weh, when go into new portfolio can’t see KWEB anymore. At least good for investors no longer suffering more losses for situation in China. Finally!

Their updated portfolio is better now. Keep hold strong. Good time to buy the dip (but we don’t know if will go lower). At least better than those who bought when it’s high last year! 👍

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 14 2022, 01:20 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 14 2022, 01:15 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Mar 14 2022, 01:11 PM)
Sorry, where does it say KWEB is cut off ya? I see in my holding there's still KWEB, 73% loss, lol, didn't even know so jia lat until I checked...overall my portfolio has lost almost 15%.
They will take time to sell.. Soon you'll see KWEB gone from your holdings.
Davidtcf
post Mar 14 2022, 04:32 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(CoolStoryWriter @ Mar 14 2022, 04:22 PM)
Hahaha good one.

SA is losing credibility lah. People now afraid that Freddy words cannot hold any water already. Can just switch position every few months, DCA also cannot liao.
Stashaway is just another average performing fund manager.
Hope they learn their lesson to do more research before diving in.

When shit appears on news, they better take action faster also before things become more severe.
This is people's hard earned money we're talking about.
Davidtcf
post Mar 14 2022, 05:39 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 14 2022, 05:27 PM)
Stashaway is active itself, but it asks us to be passive and DCA into it.

Why would I pay 0.8% p.a. for a passive investment, I would just buy VTI + VXUS or VWRA and sleep.

I do think Freddy et al monitor the market daily, before we all get conscripted to fight ww3 and die.  wink.gif
actually many Singaporeans buy VWRA and sleep.. that is really their style of passive investment. Can check how many of them do that: https://www.reddit.com/r/singaporefi/

Some will add a bit more to diversify such as SWRD+EIMI, and some other irish domiciled ETFs. They go through IBKR.
CSPX/VUAA, QQQ good ETF also.

Very easy if do via IBKR.. just need to know how to use Wise and play with IBKR's interface.
Once expert already will tempted to buy US stocks or elsewhere stocks/ETF through it. Haha. laugh.gif
Aggressive growth type just buy good ones and keep DCA.. nothing much to monitor coz know one day will go up. Read news on and off to know whats happening in the world and how it affect your picks.

If wanna add on bonds, commodities, consumer staples, income etc then that is where I find it complicated. I personally leave this part to robo advisor via conservative portfolio for them to rebalance. Currently using MyTheo. Since Stashaway kicked out KWEB, I'm tempted to join back in their 6-8% Core. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 14 2022, 05:40 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 14 2022, 05:46 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Mar 14 2022, 05:45 PM)
hmmm anyway we can choose not to proceed with reoptimisation?
would like keep a portion of KWEB in my overall portfolio.

Remember there was option to choose to switch back in 2-3 years time ago (when SA switch from US to global)
cannot. everything adjust via the risk, and for fund manager Freddie to decide for you for each risk % allocation.

if wanna ownself buy KWEB need go through broker like IBKR.
don't know of any robo advisor that has KWEB in their portfolio.
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 08:47 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Mar 14 2022, 11:26 PM)
Seems like when I switch all to ESG
It was all time high and before the war.

So now is at a loss of 6%, ain't all bad compared to kweb if I had stick 👀😆

Only time will tell if it was a good decision. China tech space aint doing well when Dear Leader Xi can control the company so easily. So decided to switch to US majority stocks.

Won't have good returns due to ESG nature but good enough for my portfolio as I am diversifying from local bourse and soon IBKR. 👍
ESG will do well in future, because countries are looking to be less reliant on oil and push for renewable energy.
Ever since Russia started the attack on Ukraine.
Too many EU countries relies on good old Russian oil, which now they starting to regret.

SOS:
https://e360.yale.edu/features/will-russias...on-green-energy
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/3/14/co...t-to-renewables
https://ec.europa.eu/commission/presscorner...l/en/ip_22_1511
(and many more links..)

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 08:47 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 11:05 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Mar 15 2022, 10:10 AM)
Hmmm. Not all of my KWEB has been sold in one shot 🤔what is SAMY strategy
It's not their money, they don't feel the pain.. they just care about their reputation and attracting more users.
So now you see the true colors of Stashaway. They might do such a rug pull again in the future.

Imo for aggressive or growth type ETF, better manage your own. So buy and sell you fully control. Not that hard anyway, just keep DCA into ETFs that you like via a broker. Later more confident can go scoop up some good stocks also. I use IBKR for this.

I see Stashaway now pumping into Canada, Japan, etfs. Do you know much about them? For me I do not and rather go for proven ETFs like All World VWRA, S&P 500 CSPX/VUAA, etc. Can use this tool to search for ETFs to buy also: https://www.justetf.com/en/find-etf.html

For bonds, commodities, etc conservative/inflation hedge type, then ok for robo advisor to manage since they can rebalance when need to. Lazy to manage this type of investments as I find them complicated and don't have time to keep monitor their prices.
Also these type of investments don't have such a big swing in a short time period.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 11:10 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 01:31 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Mar 15 2022, 11:17 AM)
You know I actually lean more to what you said but it is always capital that limit some investor unless you like to buy fractional ETF shares in the exchange? E.g some investor want to say pay $100 can buy already this kind. This is also why I am still turning to FSM and Endowus as mutual fund with $100 I can buy in already. Downside as everyone argue is mutual fund expense ratio is much higher but my problem is I only want to pay $100 can enter? Syfe is close to $100 for ETF but it levied a monthly charge of 0.65% way higher than FSM and Endowus which is levied quarterly.
yea if prefer to keep DCA small amounts, then need to discipline ownself to save up a lump sum before transfer to IBKR.. at least a few thousand RM convert to USD to make it worthwhile.

Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 01:38 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Mar 15 2022, 01:20 PM)
Dear boot locker that ask me how to do better than stashaway?

Answer : EPF.

Ya is a damn insulting answer. Want hate on EPF that's your take. Track record of few decades over SA.

Want to be emotional about epf suck, that's on you.

Epf is just one of many. My voo hasn't hit as hard as SA, also my voo in akrunow didn't get sold off by Freddy cuz... Well cuz... I don't know... Fredy does his Freddy work I guess.

Make myself clear I never blame SA picking kweb, my question has always been why the constant reopt.
One of the reason is SA is trying to time the market, or act like it is trying to.

So dear licker. If u think SA is the only good way to invest. Just log in into your epf and reflect.
Understand you pissed with SAMY (Stashaway Malaysia). I also pissed with them last year when I saw why KWEB losing so much money.. after asking here and deep research only realize. I then quickly withdraw out my 36% risk portfolio before losing more money.

But you cannot stop others here from further DCA into SAMY. Some people prefer that way, especially when they had made money with SAMY before in the past. Last time I also rant a lot and confront others here.. but in the end give up when realize their reasons. Their money their choice ma laugh.gif

Is just like you have RM20, you can either eat at cheap hawker chicken rice, or luxury restaurant's chicken rice. All depends on your choice and why you pick which. hmm.gif

Nowadays I just post what news I can find that will affect Stashaway's choices, so some of the sleeping investors here are alerted before it's too late. Already did my part when I warned them about KWEB last time.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 01:39 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 03:52 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Mar 15 2022, 03:02 PM)
Sp500 could be the best way out
Yes I always suppot S&P 500, coz big sifu Warren Buffett won a bet before against hedge fund managers by saying this ETF alone can beat them in 10 years time thumbup.gif :
https://www.investopedia.com/articles/inves...t-brka-brkb.asp
Warren Buffett is one of the top most well known investors, owning Berkshire Hathaway company.

For Irish domiciled type, go for VUAA - if you have lower budget. Else CSPX if you want more liquidity (better prices when buy/sell but more pricey). VUAA is growing a lot and under Vanguard which is top choice of many people when buying ETFs.

Then next, if you wanna buy into the whole world's large cap stocks, go for VWRA. Also under Vanguard. This ETF is famous amongst Singaporeans as they like to buy this. Can just buy and sleep on it since it is diversified on the whole world's stocks. Very safe and for sure will have growth after many years.
Always google for "XX ETF Factsheet" if you want to know their holdings, fees, deep details on each ETF. Example for VWRA: https://www.vanguardinvestments.dk/portal/i...quity/?overview
(^then download the PDF file at the top to read)

Some like to buy SWRD + EIMI - so that it splits between developed countries + developing countries stocks. If buy VWRA then likely don't need this already since it covers everything.

I have a few other niche ETFs such as IOGP, BNKS, SMH focusing on different sectors. All are irish domiciled. Can search here https://www.justetf.com/en/find-etf.html
also search reddit pages like r/investing, r/eupersonalfinance, r/singaporefi on what people prefer for their ETFs.

Any ETF you buy already have fund managers managing them and rebalance.. this is why they charge fees (try to go for lower fee ETFs). Going through Stashaway is having another layer of fund manager actually.

Also a note, ETF is safe way to invest since don't have to monitor much. On the other hand buy good stocks more risk, but more chance of growth (need more monitoring). If your hands itchy want to buy stocks, start with FAANG or FAAMG.. hard to go wrong biggrin.gif :
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/faang-stocks.asp
https://www.investopedia.com/terms/f/faamg-stocks.asp
(buying FAANG or FAAMG you need to keep up with those companies news, if something major happens there you have to decide want to sell or hold)
(both Amazon and Google stocks will stock split later this year, their price will end up around USD150+ once complete)

if you feel you old already can't take up so much risk in growth stocks, then look at income stocks like REITs. This you can search in Singapore REITs thread on which broker to use etc. My definition of old is around 60-70 years above.

when investing in such, be patient and know you've already made a right choice. Give it time to grow- preferably 5-10 years time before decide to withdraw. If don't need the money leave it there longer and see what happens at the end of the road.

Of course if major shit like end of world coming, WW3, etc then wise to sell all and live with your money. We all know such madness hard to happen.. so don't need worry too much.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 04:07 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 04:03 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 15 2022, 03:59 PM)
Lai lai

Any good list of etf to enter nowww haha

I am dillemma between fullY BRK B or go etf

Few my rada is QQQ and VOO

hmmm opinion lai lai
QQQ is more volatile as it focuses on Nasdaq 100 stocks only. When it swings up/down it is higher/lower.
A good choice also if you interested.

Ziet got mention QQQ in his video:

This is the only US domiciled ETF that he recommends due to more liquidity. The rest he suggest irish domiciled due to 15% tax.
Dividend accumulating ETF also will be impacted by the 30% US dividend tax if you buy US domiciled.

This dude also got teach:

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 04:04 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 04:25 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Mar 15 2022, 04:13 PM)
yea. i feel like Facebook might not be in the forefront anymore. they might not be able to pivot to metaverse

also look into XLK. the twin brother of QQQ (loads of comparisons on youtube)
yes agree with this hence I didn't buy their stock. Would stay away from FB/Meta until they can prove that they are solid. Their recent earnings announcement they blamed Apple for restricting ads on their app doh.gif . Duh find other ways to make more revenue lah.

Amazon, Google, Microsoft, Nvidia, Apple are more solid picks.

Tesla some like due to Elon Musk. But in reality Tesla is overpriced if based on calculations. Easiest way to check is to go here:
https://simplywall.st/stocks/us/automobiles...sdaq-tsla/tesla
(under "Share Price vs. Fair Value", press "view data" if want to know how they calculate. 5 free checks on stock a mth on simply wallstreet)

During US rising interest rates is when we can buy ETFs and stocks at a cheaper price.. can DCA more this year to build up your portfolio.

Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 04:32 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Mar 15 2022, 04:09 PM)
Any fan on BRK B ar? Because i have limited fund now.
If i go for etf, i need at least 2 non divided large cap etf and 1 tech etf
yes Berkshire Hathaway is a good bet. Warren already grooming the next CEO so should be allright even if he dies (dude is 90+ yrs old already).
https://www.reddit.com/r/ValueInvesting/com..._abel_thoughts/

tech ETF go for ARKK or search irish domiciled here: https://www.justetf.com/en/find-etf.html?query=tech++US
large cap go for CSPX/VUAA, VWRA. List of others here: https://www.justetf.com/en/find-etf.html?query=large++cap

UCITS are irish/luxembourg domiciled types. 15% tax.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 04:51 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 15 2022, 04:59 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Mar 15 2022, 04:47 PM)
I buying some already. Since regardless of this SA fiasco. Voo is definitely on my list.

As..... Usual... Rain or shine
yes we cannot time the market.. so best is to DCA.

Never know next month suddenly everything shoot up after investors relief with interest rate hike. Or once the Ukraine war is over.
Once things recover I will bet you it will shoot up a lot.. not a small acceleration, but a big one one after another. That time some here will regret pulak say why earlier never buy more when market is down laugh.gif

Like what Warren himself said:

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 15 2022, 05:00 PM
Davidtcf
post Mar 16 2022, 08:21 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(onthefly @ Mar 15 2022, 11:53 PM)
Having seen sanction done to Russia, China should be wise not to help Russia.
Did China or is China going to help Russia ???

We should demand for some annual fees weaver.
China and Russia are both communist, and world superpowers with nukes.
Russia has been helping China since Chairman Mao's time.. hence why they are good friends.

At least China is smart and not yet help Russia militarily in fear of sanctions from western powers.
They are helping only economically such as importing more from Russia. China wins from this war due to able to buy oil and other resources at a cheap price from Russia.

If you read the news, you'll be surprise India and Russia also good friends now. Due to some past events that Russia had helped them. laugh.gif
Davidtcf
post Mar 17 2022, 08:35 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

my portfolio went up by 1.61% in one day after Fed's meeting yesterday. (total paper loss still at 4.41%)
https://www.wsj.com/livecoverage/federal-re...tion-march-2022

investors confidence is back.. now next is for Ukraine war to be over for them to shoot up more biggrin.gif

Davidtcf
post Mar 17 2022, 09:54 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Mar 17 2022, 08:40 AM)
Amen to that!!!!
thumbup.gif
with all the negativity due to KWEB... need to spread some positivity for this thread.

QUOTE(xander83 @ Mar 17 2022, 08:42 AM)
If you are ESG even better double of classic portfolio gains  rclxms.gif

Let’s see whether Putin Zelensky summit deal is on soon for ceasefire stalemate and the markets will rally as predicted  rclxms.gif
haven't meddle with ESG ETF/stocks yet.. but will go into it soon thanks to Russia's war biggrin.gif
some nice ones to look at: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/9-best-clean...-131725348.html

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Mar 17 2022, 09:37 AM)
I am surprised by the sudden rally, wondering what happened too. It's pretty nice to wake up to seeing my paper losses is only -2.2% now on DIY.
yup2, hope momentum will keep up!

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 17 2022, 09:55 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 17 2022, 10:21 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Mar 17 2022, 09:01 AM)
KWEB is more volatile than crypto
about crypto, best to stay away from it unless you willing to bet short term.
I bought some last year before China's ban on it..
After the ban, I lost more than half the value of my BTC, ETH, and LTC.

only buy crypto for short bets (sell in 1-2days time), by studying the charts (buying or selling trend, only come in when it's buying trend).
those who hodl long might end up like me.. with crypto prices all so high now, anytime can drop some more.
also make sure NOT to invest in crypto more than 10% of your total portfolio.

most volatile asset you can buy that operates 24/7. Never rests. More volatile than playing Forex.
Can go up to the moon, and suddenly lose so much value.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 17 2022, 10:27 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 17 2022, 10:32 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Mar 17 2022, 10:25 AM)
Crypto is functionally gambling at this point 😅 those who bet without brain will lose so much, while those who do can win big but must be fast and still maintain risk
yes that time I went in blind after some friends say just buy via Luno no need worry.

End up a few weeks after that all cryptos crash after China's ban. Such a big effect.

Later on that same friend that ask me to buy, then tell me have to study graphs (e.g. Tradingview) and better to bet short term for cryptos. doh.gif

Only invest in what you know after much research and reading.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 17 2022, 10:33 AM
Davidtcf
post Mar 17 2022, 12:37 PM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(LontongSedap @ Mar 17 2022, 11:30 AM)
No la. I didn't put 36. All 30
Also, moving forward is SA still good platform for simple consumer like me to invest in? Coz doing diy share,stock, etc is too heavy for me.
Continue what you have with Stashaway. Sell all now will lose more. Try out others like MYTHEO, KDI invest also.

Only sell when you need the money or when profit enough.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Mar 17 2022, 12:38 PM

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.5122sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:52 AM