[DIY] S&P 500 Index w/ 0.07% Annual Fee, Buy the best companies in the world

roarus
post Jul 11 2019, 11:05 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 11 2019, 10:54 PM)
LSE GBP SP500 mahal oh, i buy USD version, also ireland domiciled, code name CSPX

nice, then no prob for me if min 1k $
GBP denominated funds are expressed in pence (cents). CSP1 23,568.00 = 235.68

You can also check out VUSA (dist) as alternative
roarus
post Jul 12 2019, 09:10 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Chounz @ Jul 12 2019, 04:17 PM)
Is in US exchange market.
Based on the tradestation global table should be USD1.5, since i only purchase 10 units (should charge the minimum commission).

USD1 seem like is the minimum commission for IB.
Worry later will kena charge the IB minimum activity fee USD10  cry.gif  cry.gif , because all my funding, trade also made through IB mobile app.
Just go to the Trade Confirmation report I mentioned previously and you should be able to confirm if you're on TradeStation from the Account Information section
roarus
post Jul 16 2019, 05:30 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Jul 16 2019, 04:24 PM)
ic....

i go myr -> usd terus hoot CSPX...... until now payment also belum remit.....16 days d....
Wasn't it established previously in this or All about ETFs/ Foreign Brokers thread that you can't Instarem USD directly to IB's Citibank USA account?
roarus
post Jul 16 2019, 11:14 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jul 16 2019, 10:39 PM)
i am applying for the account with TradeStation.
I have to say this TradeStation support rep, Oscar Vogt which has been replying is quite cacat.
I am fed up the way they replied the email.
Always did not quote the previous email (then lost the record what was discussed), and always don't answer to the questions asked.
I don't mind to go with CapTrader because of this.

Currently i got the message from them that the IC is not accepted as there is no client's signature. Therefore need passport
Anyway, i remember seeing this, where similar issue is raised:
Lowyat topic:
All about ETFs / Foreign Brokers, Exchange traded funds, Post No. #1265
Cool.. Thanks for the summary.
Perhaps when Ramjade and I applied they thought the signature was the ID holder's signature, only when more Malaysians applied they realised it was the Ketua Pengarah's signature instead laugh.gif

Anyway, the Oscar dude wasn't bad at answering my questions (answered to quotes as well!), he even called from London but too bad I was in a meeting so can't talk and he replied to my queries via email instead.
roarus
post Jul 17 2019, 11:18 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jul 17 2019, 09:23 AM)
wow, then u guys must be the first few to apply an account with TradeStation.

Any comment on the attached email, the way he replied?
For your info, the email i replied in earlier email saying that i noted on the signature requirement and i will provide passport. But he went on to reply something i didn't ask and ignore the other questions that i have asked.  doh.gif

Well, lets see how the account opening goes.
I sent my questions in a form of numbered list instead of paragraph, so he just replied directly below each.

Perhaps best if you can request for him to call you, and remember to specify time since London is 7 hours behind.
roarus
post Jul 24 2019, 10:39 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(-CoupeFanatic- @ Jul 24 2019, 12:20 PM)
Sifu Alexkos, how about buying other funds like VTSAX, which is even more diversified than the S&P500. is it harder for us to buy funds like that?
VTSAX is the mutual fund equivalent of VTI etf. VTI in turn has VOO (S&P 500) + whole bunch of small caps. All are heavily taxed since US domiciled. Both VTI and VOO has pretty much mirror like correlation and only few ticks apart.

Consider instead VUSD the Irish cousin of VOO with discounted tax rate. Or cast a crazy wide net and cover the whole world, both developed and emerging market with VWRD.
roarus
post Jul 28 2019, 07:41 PM

1,042 posts

Stamp duty is waived for ETFs in good 'ol London Stock Exhange
roarus
post Jul 29 2019, 04:32 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Zegoon681111 @ Jul 28 2019, 11:26 PM)
I’m opening my instarem account today, yay.

Between captrader and Tradestation, which one are you guys using/prefer/easier to use? (Aside from the brokerage fee difference)

Both also straight away MYR > instarem > EUR ?

thanks guys
I'm using TradeStation Global. I get access to SGX as well over CapTrader with no access to SGX.

Experience should be the same if you're using Interactive Brokers's Trader Workstation, WebTrader or IBKR Mobile.

MYR -> SGD -> TSG convert to USD. Partly because I can get funds cleared into TSG from my local bank within 1 hour and the other part because I'm horny over LSE's higher trading volume.
roarus
post Jul 30 2019, 12:09 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jul 29 2019, 11:30 PM)
i can see this only:
https://www.tradestation-international.com/.../exchange-fees/

Exchange Fees - Currency: EUR, GBP, USD
ETFs:  Fee @ 0.45 bps of trade value  or min.: USD 0.13 per Order

Clearing Fee:
All USD 0.08
All GBP 0.06
I only got charged commission USD1.91 for my previous 2 rounds of trades ~USD1.4k. I calculated back then it was roughly equal to GBP1.5.

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jul 29 2019, 11:30 PM)
Would like to ask further on the currency exchange to USD for buying.

What is the method u guys used?
I use Trader Workstartion (TWS), and converted via FXCONV (only available in TWS). Only difference is using IDEALPRO a virtual FX position is created and it bugs me because I'm OCD like that.

If it doesn't bug you then WebTrader/IBKR Mobile is fine to use.

Step by step for TWS:
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/119895805-post5420.html
roarus
post Jul 30 2019, 01:01 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(chickenessence @ Jul 30 2019, 10:03 AM)
thanks for the reply again.

i find the method in keykeytravel like getting into forex position..
i will a little more research before i proceed with the currency conversion.
I have not much idea about FXCONV, IDEALPRO, virtual FX position.. but thanks for the heads up.
This should give you an idea how it would look like if you did FXCONV vs IdealPRO

IdealPRO is more suitable forex players, where a position is maintain to be closed easily.

Both have same conversion fee and rates, just the matter of preference. Personally I don't like seeing a FX position along with my holdings.
roarus
post Jul 30 2019, 02:19 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 30 2019, 01:13 PM)
So you use FXCONV?
Yup, drove me up the wall the last time I accidentally used IdealPRO that I spent additional USD4 closing the position and redoing it with FXCONV
roarus
post Jul 30 2019, 02:23 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 30 2019, 02:21 PM)
Any idea how to use Fxconv via web trader instead of client portal?
As far as I know it can only be done via TWS
roarus
post Aug 21 2019, 02:13 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(Zegoon681111 @ Aug 20 2019, 09:37 PM)
Yesterday I tried several times, but at the end it automatically cancelled by itself.

This is my first time buying, so need some guidance  smile.gif

Current the price is around EUR260.

Can I submit a lower price, say EUR255?

or is it advisable to submit a higher price, like you say 10% higher, ie EUR280?

Thank you so much.
Assuming you're buying and holding. Safest way without live data would be:-
1. Wait about 1 hour from LSE FSX opening, to allow things to settle down after the initial opening institution trades
2. Checkout CSPX SXR8 last done price from google.com/finance
3. Put a limit order with the last done price +1 cent (e.g. last done 258.43, you'll bid 258.44)

I do get that 3% and non live data warning too and just choose to accept it every time

Update: Corrected LSE -> FSX (Frankfurt Stock Exchange) and CSPX -> SXR8

This post has been edited by roarus: Aug 21 2019, 10:49 PM
roarus
post Aug 24 2019, 03:58 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(wildshot_willy @ Aug 23 2019, 12:21 AM)
Hi all,

Does this method enable us to purchase stocks on the NYSE, or it is solely for ETFs?

Both stocks and ETF can be purchased, here's a full list of products you can buy and the fees
CapTrader: https://www.captrader.com/en/account/commissions/

TradeStation Global: https://www.tradestation-international.com/...ng-commissions/
roarus
post Aug 26 2019, 09:13 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(niceguypenang @ Aug 26 2019, 07:12 PM)
Thanks for advice. what is procedure to get instrarem sign up?
If I apply online which address should i fill up? I don't have KL address.
Could I apply online only aetup a day to travel to kl for interview?
Usually what they will ask?
Give Instarem a call, when they did my KYC last year I recall the rep telling me they can do KYC for some cities out of KL
roarus
post Oct 18 2019, 05:17 PM

1,042 posts

BigPay got option for USD transfer?

I can only see Philippines (PHP), Indonesia (IDR), Singapore (SGD) and Thailand (THB)
roarus
post Oct 19 2019, 12:10 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 18 2019, 07:14 PM)
Any etoro ppl here?...

Etf 0.09% commission
US stocks 0% commission
Withdrawal fee $25
Non UK & Aus residents get an account with eToro's entity domiciled in Cyprus. CySec has very weak regulation, home to many dodgy forex and options brokers. Be warned
roarus
post Nov 5 2019, 10:39 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 4 2019, 06:51 PM)
there are so many S&P500 ETF domiciled in Ireland.

Why TS chose that one specifically?
More concise answer - decision would be depending on:
i. How much one would periodically like to invest (CapTrader vs TradeStation Global decision)
ii. If one readily holds EUR/GBP/USD currency and can transfer over (EUR/GBP/USD denominated fund decision)
iii. If one believes S&P500 will continue to outperform others like Nikkei and Euro indexes (just throwing a curveball)
roarus
post Nov 5 2019, 05:50 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 12:35 PM)
say, for simplicity sake,
1. monthly USD 1k.

2. holds readily USD and EUR. For now, I avoid GBP. Really don't know what's gonna happen after Brexit.

3. I think I'll choose S&P500 and Euronext 100. Ratio 9:1.
1. monthly USD 1k.
TradeStation Global (https://www.tradestation-international.com/pricing/):
USD denominated: 0.12% or minimum USD1.91-1.95 (GBP1.5 equivalent) ~USD1,590 before 0.12% exceeds GBP1.5 equivalent
EUR denominated: 0.12% or minimum EUR1.71 ~EUR1425 before 0.12% exceeds EUR1.71

CapTrader (https://www.captrader.com/en/account/commissions/)
0.1% or EUR2 - 4 depending on exchange. No mention of USD denominated listed on London Stock Exchange

2. holds readily USD and EUR. For now, I avoid GBP. Really don't know what's gonna happen after Brexit.
Both can accept USD (Citibank NY) or EUR (Citibank Germany).

Doesn't matter if you have a USD S&P500 fund mixed with EUR S&P500 fund. Once you've paid for units of a fund you're holding the value the underlying companies instead of denomination currency.

If you're OCD enough you can spend USD2 (TradeStation) to convert and buy only 1 denomination fund. CapTrader conversion fee depends on which currency you're selling (https://www.captrader.com/en/account/commissions)

3. I think I'll choose S&P500 and Euronext 100. Ratio 9:1.
Won't comment on allocation, everyone has a preference/region specific bet.

You can go crazy with the ETF screener here:
https://www.justetf.com/en/find-etf.html?groupField=index

From there you can copy the ISIN code and look it up in https://www.investing.com and check out the cross listing on other exchanges + other info like denomination and volume

If it's domiciled in Ireland + physical replication + issued by iShares/Vanguard/SPDR it's safe enough. I have personal preference of accumulating funds
roarus
post Nov 5 2019, 08:44 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Nov 5 2019, 06:43 PM)
Euronext 100 should be all in EUR... wink.gif

...and If super OCD... then need to consider hedging currency drop also... assuming wanna repat funds lah... biggrin.gif
If you're talking about hedged class of a fund, in my opinion is I wouldn't bother - it's still a 50/50 gamble and you might end up hedging for lower returns in the end. Plus the currency forward contracts adds up to the total expense ratio. Unless you know something about that currency pair and really you should be trading currency futures instead of accumulating index funds.

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 06:47 PM)
Btw, have we established that 15% WHT for Irish domiciled S&P500 ETF is better than the US ETF for us non-US residents??
I am sadly quite OCD about the currency of the ETF. sad.gif
You really shouldn't be. If you go to the airport and buy a box of chocolate and it costs GBP1 / USD1.3 / EUR1.15 it doesn't matter which currency you pay for it - in the end you end up with a box of chocolates, not GBP or USD or EUR.

What you might be worried about is the spread and volume of the particular denominated fund, theoretically market makers will swoop in and arbitrage premiums/discounts and this brings it back to fair price. I believe a fund that tracks the ever popular S&P 500 index by iShares/Vanguard/SPDR would have multiple active market makers

This post has been edited by roarus: Nov 5 2019, 08:53 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0563sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 11:43 PM