**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

harrychoo
post Feb 26 2008, 11:09 PM

3,589 posts

QUOTE(flysheep @ Feb 26 2008, 10:21 PM)
35mm on APS-C will have shots like 50mm on the full frame which is usually used for portrait in the old film days.. tat will be a nice focal length  thumbup.gif
52mm on FF, it is like our eyesight field of view, thats why some ppl said 28mm-35mm is very normal view but this range is excellent for street photography.

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Feb 26 2008, 10:50 PM)
Great... now I have a problem whether to get this or a beercan as my first telephoto... sweat.gif
beercan > sigma apo
Eiraku
post Feb 26 2008, 11:29 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Feb 26 2008, 11:01 PM)
"
Eiraku...lets group buy...i plan to get that once i got back..hehe..dunno can get lower or not...

My watchlist...70-300 APO MACRO, Tripod, Sigma 10-20mm..Ahmike where are you !!..
Hehehe... I might have a problem as my next goverment support instalment is in what, April? I AM still a student after all.... sweat.gif

And at that time already exam time, so time shut down the craze for a while, followed by plans to go to Sarawak in June... Maybe I'll just keep the money and straight COD with soulfly at during the trip (will be dropping down in Miri for a while)... sweat.gif

Hopefully there will still be a few good beercans and 50mm KM lenses left then... icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 26 2008, 11:05 PM)
the lens that is made of steel and win
I know, and as people who have done it can confirm: holding it is the ultimate poison... Trust me... sweat.gif

The moment I held albnok's beercan, I knew I just HAD to get one... By hook or by crook... It's probably love at first touch... drool.gif

But RM640 for a 70-300 APO Macro is quite a steal... And that's for a new lens, vs the 2nd hand beercan... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Feb 26 2008, 11:30 PM
Ahmike
post Feb 26 2008, 11:32 PM

Powered by Carl Zeiss
3,145 posts

QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Feb 26 2008, 11:01 PM)
Eiraku...lets group buy...i plan to get that once i got back..hehe..dunno can get lower or not...

My watchlist...70-300 APO MACRO, Tripod, Sigma 10-20mm..Ahmike where are you !!..
Sorry was kena poison buy ian , albnok ,nic and few more... with DARN !!! PLENTY OF LENS!!!! Vomitting out poison now...

OMG... BEERCAN..The build frame...!!! WHITE LENS..Darn heavy super fast zoom lens!!!! FISH EYE ...errr ok this 1 not my type...!!!CZ 135/F1.8... the Size....... You get me???

CZ.....CZ...Cz

Yeah Looking for Tripod (maybe will cut down on budget no more manfrotto..something cheaper), route money to flash & lens...

This post has been edited by Ahmike: Feb 26 2008, 11:38 PM
Nutrex
post Feb 26 2008, 11:35 PM

110 posts

nice gadgets... drool.gif
ianho
post Feb 26 2008, 11:39 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Here's a couple of pics I took on the way out for another Alpha gathering. Gila oredi this Alpha ppl 1 week can have 1 million gatherings 1. laugh.gif

Messing around with sum effects shot while waiting at traffic light. Actually I was entering warp speed 9. brows.gif

Now here comes the POISON!!!!!!!!! nic_chm was the biggest devil today. jsut look at all those lenses he brought out. Sum of them belong to albnok too.

This 1 is shot with my iPhone coz we put all our Alphas there for the pic. there's 4 units of A200 n 3 units of A700 there. shocking.gif

Now we all can have sweet dreams of that big white lens after seeing nic's. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 27 2008, 12:08 AM
Ahmike
post Feb 26 2008, 11:44 PM

Powered by Carl Zeiss
3,145 posts

* Over dose *
amadeo
post Feb 26 2008, 11:57 PM

Mafia
3,503 posts

how much RM roughly can get the 'beercan' lens ah?
Ahmike
post Feb 27 2008, 12:02 AM

Powered by Carl Zeiss
3,145 posts

QUOTE(amadeo @ Feb 26 2008, 11:57 PM)
how much RM roughly can get the 'beercan' lens ah?
Less than 1k around oh.. check with soulfly..
albnok
post Feb 27 2008, 12:09 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

My take on F2.8 lenses:

A pro could use a 16-35mm F2.8 (rumored CZ), 24-70mm F2.8, 70-200mm F2.8 and maybe a 50mm F1.4 and 135mm F1.8 on full-frame. For the stuff he is paid to shoot, F2.8 will be bright enough. There will be enough space in his bag, and he might add a battery grip, handstrap and monopod for stability. No overlaps.

A hobbyist can pick lighter, cheaper lenses, and make do with compromises. Some days, I don't bring a tele; instead I bring my 50mm F1.4 + teleconverters. It has a different, but interesting, look.

nic_chm: Then, the 75-300mm will almost get there. You can bird with a 300mm! Go slow on them lenses. The 35mm F1.4G is rare indeed, in the sense that very few people have that or have considered it... and since you're getting the A900, the 50mm F1.4 is 'normal' again... and the 35mm becomes kinda wide and not as nice honestly.

No wonder people don't buy it. It's meant for the older photographers who understands the skill of bringing out one lens... but then these older photographers will skip this lens and buy a full-frame. Somemore the A900 is A700-sized, and the 50mm F1.4 is much smaller than the 35mm F1.4.

The Sigma 30mm F1.4 is APS-C only, and is muuuch cheaper. soulfly sells one for RM1450.

If you can find your old Minolta with the 50mm lens, that 'feels' more streetshooter because of its T-shaped look and feel.

dark lenanza: Leos Trading, 1st floor, next to the escalator in Ampang Park, has all the Tamron lenses in Sony mount.

Eiraku: Without a doubt, the beercan. It does 210mm at F4! If you add a 1.4x teleconverter it makes a 100-300mm F5.6.
ewin
post Feb 27 2008, 12:24 AM

593 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 26 2008, 11:39 PM)

weee, I was there!
right after I get my new A200

great to see you guys,
hope to learn more in the future.

(:

This post has been edited by ewin: Feb 27 2008, 12:25 AM
ianho
post Feb 27 2008, 12:30 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(ewin @ Feb 27 2008, 12:24 AM)
weee, I was there!
right after I get my new A200

great to see you guys,
hope to learn more in the future.

(:
hehe. How can u sleep without the CF card leh?
Ahmike
post Feb 27 2008, 12:31 AM