**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.
ianho
Feb 2 2008, 06:48 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(The Wonder @ Jan 29 2008, 05:29 PM) If you really cannot wait, get from Sony Style @ RM 2499 and collect the 75-300mm lens later when they have stock. This is what they're doing now. Basket! I Bought my A200 from Times Square SonyStyle on the 29th January. The salesman keep telling me to take the 2 lens kit coz worth it. So OK, I decided on it n told him I want it then he sed no stock.  Only got single lens kit. So I asked can I pay the full amount of rm2499 n collect the 75300 lens later. He sed cannot.  I ended up buying the single lens kit anyway coz the bunch of vouchers they gave included a rm200 discount off any Sony lens, rm300 off G lens, rm400 off Carl Zeiss lens. The salesman also didnt notify me that the voucher for rm350 off the HVL-F36AM flash was valid with immediate purchase of A200 only. I wud haf taken it at such a nice discount. Haih, this purchase I rugi rm300 on the 75300 lens n rm350 on the flash. Any1 knows if we can get compatible brand batt grip that uses AA batts for the A200? I'd like that so I never get stuck without batts? This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 2 2008, 06:51 AM
ianho
Feb 2 2008, 11:02 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 2 2008, 08:49 AM) I don't know if the DiCain battery grip for A100 would fit for A200, but I guess not due to slight different battery compartment. Sony battery grip for A200/A300/A350 will arrive soon I think, most probably will be cheaper than A700 battery grip....hopefully. But you need no worry..... 700 shots is A LOT. My A100 lasted about almost 800 shots max on a single charge with no built-in flash usage. The A200 original batt grip VG-B30AM is available. It's only rm750 compared to the A100 version which is rm1150. Problem is, I want 1 that has the cartridge for AA batts like the Canon 1. This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 2 2008, 11:04 AM
ianho
Feb 3 2008, 02:30 PM
Cucimangkoklife
Oh well. Everyday learn new things. I was actually gonna take a walk back to Sg Wang to see if I cud get it cheaper. But that day, it was raining cats n dogs. N my wife oso wanted to do sum shoppig in BTS. So I went ahead n bought it from SonyStyle BTS. As the Hitz morning crew always say "nowwww..........I knoooooooooooooooooooooooow" Anyway, I went for the Alpha lesson at KLCC yesterday. Good stuff for SLR noobs like me. I didnt even know what on earth all those buttons n features are. I dont even know what aperture, exposure compensation, shutter speed, depth of field and all those words meant. After the 4 hour lesson I cud understand mebe 10% of all that now.
ianho
Feb 3 2008, 03:36 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(williamngwl @ Feb 3 2008, 02:34 PM) and dont foget to register online at http://www.sony.com.my/mysony/MyHomeSignOu...ewMemberLandingto get extra 6 months warranty I oredi did that the day I bought it. How come it still shows only 1 year warranty in "My Product List" in MySony? Anyway, are there any affordable Macro lenses out there? Sony was recommending me the Alpha 50mm F2.8 Macro at rm1600. Can pengsan lar that price. I need a Macro lens for close ups of my case mods only, not award winning macro shots. This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 3 2008, 03:44 PM
ianho
Feb 4 2008, 02:03 AM
Cucimangkoklife
I just bought a Hoya Standard UV filter today. Is it good enuf? I got it for rm50. Was in 1Utama shopping today, NBTD so went to camera shop n found this filter. I came home n did sum reading n it seems multi coated filter is a whole lot better. How much is the HMC Filter or Pro1D? Will they make a whole lot of difference?
ianho
Feb 4 2008, 03:19 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(Xcaliber @ Feb 4 2008, 02:26 AM) it won't be long before ianho have all the gears.. LOL. No lar. 1st thing I need to do is learn how to use SLR. I dont even know how to use it yet. Simply hantam oni. No point having everything n dont even know how to use them. Whole life use point n shoot suddenly SLR got so many things n buttons n settings. See oso pengsan. What I'm doing is to get the basic stuff 1st.
ianho
Feb 4 2008, 10:29 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 4 2008, 09:05 AM) ianho.... the easiest way to learn is to master the functions first, like knowing what button can adjust what. then u learn how to get the right exposure. next step would be composing. another step is learning how to use external flash.... wireless flash ftw!!!! Been playing with all those gazillion buttons for the past few days. That day at KLCC Alpha Workshop, the pro instructor telling us to press this, press that, set this, set that, I was like totally lost in space. Had to keep asking the instructor to help me with the settings.
ianho
Feb 4 2008, 06:38 PM
Cucimangkoklife
I just read about an interesting thing called Macro lens like the UV filter kinda thing. Nice n cheap for my case modding macro shots. Any1 knows where I can get it?
ianho
Feb 4 2008, 06:52 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 4 2008, 06:40 PM) You mean close-up filter? I guess camera shops do have them. Yup. It's just like the screw on filters. Wokeh, I go shopping 2moro.
ianho
Feb 5 2008, 01:36 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(pky @ Feb 5 2008, 01:34 PM) Recompose is where u focus lock your subject by half pressing ur shutter release button, reframe ur subject's then only fully press the shutter button. I had to use that method a whole lot with my Olympus SP350. The AF on it is rather stupid.
ianho
Feb 6 2008, 09:09 PM
Cucimangkoklife
I bought a Sigma flash yesterday. It was damn lame. It doesn't communicate properly with the camera n the flashing always overexpose the shots no matter what settings I use. Luckily the shop I bought from is very sporting n allowed me to go back n top up for a Sony flash. Everything works perfectly now. Did any1 else experience the probs I had with the sigma? I thought can save some $ with sigma. In the end still ended up with Sony flash. I also bought the batt grip at rm620 oni. Sony list price on the box was rm799!
ianho
Feb 6 2008, 10:27 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 6 2008, 10:02 PM) ianho, which sony flash did u buy? f36am or f56am? I bought the F36. My only requirement for the flash is product shots n the F36 does a great job. Blardy expensive compared to the sigma though.
ianho
Feb 7 2008, 01:32 AM
Cucimangkoklife
LOL. Food pics. Make sure send in to the Alpha newsletter. This month's theme is Food.
ianho
Feb 7 2008, 01:09 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 7 2008, 09:59 AM) using external flash is considered hard when you want to get the perfect exposure, that is if you're very cautious about light direction, shadow areas etc lah. i'm still learning also. with my 3600HS (which is F36's exact copy) it's a bit hard to bounce especially when in vertical position since the flash does not swivel. luckily i have stofen omnibounce  wah got exact copy of F36? How much was it? Does it communicate properly with the cam? After trying the Sigma which was so lame, I gave up n just buy back Sony. If the 3600HS works the same as F36, u shud do a bulk for fellow Alpha users man. Shud b able to save a bundle of dollars
ianho
Feb 7 2008, 01:20 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(pky @ Feb 7 2008, 10:49 AM) then i think i'll be sticking with the A200, until when i master its function first before getting the flash Added on February 7, 2008, 11:15 amPlanning to get a 50mm f1.4 for night photography. But shooting at f1.4 will give me a small DOF, so it is not recomended to frame few person in a picture right? I dunno bout outdoor shots coz haven't tried. But the flash sure makes life a whole lot easier for indoor shots. I just point it straight up at the ceiling n shoot. I've only tried full auto mode n every shot turns out perfect with the flash. With the pop up flash, all it does is light up the subjtect n everything else around is just dark. Added on February 7, 2008, 1:23 pmQUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 7 2008, 01:11 PM) 3600HS is Minolta version, Sony 'revived' this flash with its own label  cool. The grandaddy of Sony.  how much is the 3600HS btw? This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 7 2008, 01:23 PM
ianho
Feb 7 2008, 01:30 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(soulfly @ Feb 7 2008, 01:24 PM) I don't know if there still brand new one exist in the local market... but I got mine for RM5xx used. add that to ur ebay bulk.  what do u think of Keep brand tripod? I saw a really nice 1 yesterday. Had big fat legs. Neoprene tube padding on the top part, metal stand instead of the crappy plastic base. N it panned n tilted like it was on ice. Very nice looking n solid. Price was only 100+. Is Keep brand any good? This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 7 2008, 01:32 PM
ianho
Feb 8 2008, 01:19 PM
Cucimangkoklife
Wow, I never realized balik kg can b so much fun. I think I got a whole year's worth of photos oredi. Got fireworks, beach, sunset, monkey, nice clear blue sky, fisherman village.  The monkey shot's made me realize just how short n inadequate my lens is. I thought the monkey was gonna rip my head right off.  I had to get within 3 feet to really get a good shot of the drunken monkey. This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 8 2008, 01:22 PM
ianho
Feb 8 2008, 08:07 PM
Cucimangkoklife
still in kg. Only access to Internet is my iPhone. Can't wait to c sum of my fav pics on the pc. Will post up sum of my favs when I get back to KL.
ianho
Feb 9 2008, 10:18 PM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(Ka3tr0 @ Feb 9 2008, 10:12 PM) Heh, i just browse the site soulfly give on top, damn, 50mm Minolta 1.7 / Sony 50mm 1.4 really CUN !!!!!!!!! A must have for me.. Ok...lets list out what item and what price.. 1. Sony a200 + 18-70mm kit - RM 1999 2. Sony / Minolta 1.4 / 1.7 - RM 1000 enough ? 3. Sigma 75-300 APO - RM 700 enough ? 4. 4gb card - one enough la..i bring my notebook around - RM 400 5. Bag - RM 500 6. Filter - RM 200 Roughly <5k Wah! What kinda CF card u buying lar. I just bought 4gb Kingston x133 speed oso rm160 oni. Sandisk Extreme 4gb oso rm160 oni. Oh ya, u left out 1 very useful item. Battery grip. I just bought that n it's most excellent. Can get for about rm600 from Sg Wang. This post has been edited by ianho: Feb 9 2008, 10:19 PM
ianho
Feb 9 2008, 11:32 PM
Cucimangkoklife
Tarita Sg Wang stayed open even on 1st n 2nd day of CNY man. No rest for the staff.