**SONY ALPHA (α)**®, Like no others.

nic_chm
post Feb 2 2008, 12:24 PM

366 posts

Wow, more and more Alpha user =)

The Voucher is valid till end of February i think, don't have to buy immediately or anything one
nic_chm
post Feb 3 2008, 08:24 PM

366 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Feb 3 2008, 03:36 PM)
I oredi did that the day I bought it. How come it still shows only 1 year warranty in "My Product List" in MySony?

Anyway, are there any affordable Macro lenses out there? Sony was recommending me the Alpha 50mm F2.8 Macro at rm1600. Can pengsan lar that price. I need a Macro lens for close ups of my case mods only, not award winning macro shots. laugh.gif
Yo ! Me went for the Workshop as well the other day, known as "Chan" that day =P I have this 50mm F2.8 Macro to let go tho, if you're interested.. will let u know the price for it once i'm home..keke
nic_chm
post Feb 24 2008, 12:55 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Feb 24 2008, 12:30 AM)
**WARNING** to new users... Tonight forecast extreme poison ...
nic_chm
post Feb 25 2008, 01:02 AM

366 posts

albnok @ aa, strobist@blog/flickr is my all time favourite website =P excellent place to learn and review lighting skills !

Eiraku @ Your poison list ! @_@ omG

My view after using all these lense with my A700 + A200

- CarlZeissT* 16-80mm 3.5-4.6 || MY favourite lense of all time ! Excellent contrast and sharpness ! and there's a little bit of fisheye effect when it's at 16mm. It's considered my prime lense + Travel Lense. =)

- CarlZeissT* 135mm 1.8 || This one super poison ! You have to use this in order to really feel this lense magnet ! This freaking bazooka is very th3 sharp when it comes to portraiture, but i think i still under utilize it until now =/

- Sony G 70-200 - Sharp and fast focusing, use it once only, so can't tell more yet.

- Sony 18-250mm f/4.5-5.6 - This lense is a MUST have if you're covering indoor event ! Excellent travel lense kit if you think you're lazy to bring a few lense out !

- Sony 18-70mm f/3.5-5.6 - This lense that comes with a200, excellent for beginner =)

- Sony 50 1.4mm - Very useful when doing candid shot, indoor potraiture and lowlight, extremely useful when u're shooting in a room with not much light source as well !

- Sony 50 2.8 Macro - Never really ultilize this lense all this time =/

- Sony 11-18mm Super Wide - Super lense when it comes to indoor group picture taking. Not to mentioned, what ever this lense shoot, it's 95% sharp all the time !

- Sony 70~300mm - Superslow focusing and i don't even bother using it, wanna sell it off already

- Flash 56 - Please consider this as your first priority in buy-list even before getting other lense =/

This post has been edited by nic_chm: Feb 25 2008, 01:04 AM
nic_chm
post Feb 25 2008, 01:36 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 25 2008, 01:34 AM)
laszlo: You may have more fun with a flash. Ahmike wants to get one, if we go buy together I can do a short wireless flash lesson. I feel it's more fun to learn wireless flash than to use tele.
Then i'll join you guys again if i'm around =P
nic_chm
post Feb 25 2008, 02:43 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Feb 25 2008, 02:23 AM)
OIiIii...so fast pass the msg that i kena poison liow...
Yeah came back from a wedding... suddenly become their main photographer... but i poorly equipped...haih...
Let us see your pictures =P
nic_chm
post Feb 25 2008, 05:31 PM

366 posts

Usually for motion blur i'll use 1/40 ~ 1/80 like that if it's outdoor. =/

I just tried the G Lense 35mm f1.4 just now @ Midvalley, and i would say it was the most pOisonous baby i had ever tried !
nic_chm
post Feb 26 2008, 04:54 PM

366 posts

Went to do some random shooting for awhile just now to get used to the DOF of my lense. Thought might as well share the picture i took,

C&C ish most welcome =) :-

nic_chm
post Feb 26 2008, 07:19 PM

366 posts

After all the comment it sounds like i just waste my money on my 70-200, lol

i uses mine 70-200 for potrait, nature and indoor events + wedding shooting it turned out the way i wanted, so i'm actually very very satisfied with it =)

But it's true that this lense for shooting bird lack abit, the focusing is fast, but the zoom aint enough.

It'll definitely come in handy when it comes to potrait/model shooting, assuming it's outdoor and there's quite a few photographer, it'll be easier to compose.

I'm planning to get 35mm 1.4 for product shooting, maybe abit of candid streets and indoor model shooting, , any comment ?
nic_chm
post Feb 27 2008, 12:34 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 27 2008, 12:09 AM)
My take on F2.8 lenses:

A pro could use a 16-35mm F2.8 (rumored CZ), 24-70mm F2.8, 70-200mm F2.8 and maybe a 50mm F1.4 and 135mm F1.8 on full-frame. For the stuff he is paid to shoot, F2.8 will be bright enough. There will be enough space in his bag, and he might add a battery grip, handstrap and monopod for stability. No overlaps.

A hobbyist can pick lighter, cheaper lenses, and make do with compromises. Some days, I don't bring a tele; instead I bring my 50mm F1.4 + teleconverters. It has a different, but interesting, look.

nic_chm: Then, the 75-300mm will almost get there. You can bird with a 300mm! Go slow on them lenses. The 35mm F1.4G is rare indeed, in the sense that very few people have that or have considered it... and since you're getting the A900, the 50mm F1.4 is 'normal' again... and the 35mm becomes kinda wide and not as nice honestly.

No wonder people don't buy it. It's meant for the older photographers who understands the skill of bringing out one lens... but then these older photographers will skip this lens and buy a full-frame. Somemore the A900 is A700-sized, and the 50mm F1.4 is much smaller than the 35mm F1.4.

The Sigma 30mm F1.4 is APS-C only, and is muuuch cheaper. soulfly sells one for RM1450.

If you can find your old Minolta with the 50mm lens, that 'feels' more streetshooter because of its T-shaped look and feel.

dark lenanza: Leos Trading, 1st floor, next to the escalator in Ampang Park, has all the Tamron lenses in Sony mount.

Eiraku: Without a doubt, the beercan. It does 210mm at F4! If you add a 1.4x teleconverter it makes a 100-300mm F5.6.
Previously i was actually thinking of getting a full frame body (Nikon D3), knowing and tested the camera, for some reason i put it down, and went straight for A700.

You have actually put my thoughts into words that i don't know how to explain all these while =/ but it's true that i thought of getting a full frame pair with the 35mm, but didn't think that it might have that kind of problem (Picture might turned out different from what i think).

I'm not rushing to 35mm tho, the lense is just "it's nice to have one" to me now =P

Let's just hope the a900 won't be priced at 17 ~ 20k =/

AS For our outing, i'm glad to meet up all of you again =) And hopefully the next outing we'll be going somewhere to do some shooting and learning outdoor~
nic_chm
post Feb 27 2008, 12:45 AM

366 posts

Yeah, rather than shooting models, i rather go for parks, streets, and breakdancers. =/

Cause i only intend to do portfolio/model shooting once all my "light equipment" arrives, which probably about mid of march~ Until then, let's go pwn some streets =P
nic_chm
post Feb 27 2008, 02:12 AM

366 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Feb 27 2008, 12:54 AM)
And now, for pictures!

From left: Sony 11-18mm F4.5-5.6 DT, Sony Carl Zeiss 16-80mm F3.5-4.5 DT, Sony 18-70mm F3.5-5.6 DT, Minolta 50mm F1.4, Sony 50mm F2.8 Macro, Sony Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8, Minolta 70-210mm F4, Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM, Sony 75-300mm F4.5-5.6

Front row is the VG-B30AM, Sigma 17-35mm F2.8-4 EX and Peleng 8mm F3.5 circular fisheye.

Behind are 2 A700 bodies and 1 A200 body.

Bird's eye view!

Featuring 4 Sony Alpha 200 and 3 Sony Alpha 700 dSLRs!

Sony 70-200mm F2.8 G SSM (flagship telephoto zoom) versus the Minolta 70-210mm F4 "beercan" (flagship telephoto zoom back in 1985 when Minolta made AF popular)

Obviously, the weight and size are different; one is 695 grams, 152mm long, takes 55mm filters. The other is 1340 grams (almost twice the weight), 197mm long and takes 77mm filters. Both are sharp and have beautiful bokeh and colors. One is just one stop higher. SSM is subjectively faster as nobody can really make a standardized test for these things!

Somebody said I should shoot girls instead with this lens, so here you go. The Sony Carl Zeiss 135mm F1.8 focuses down to 72cm. Makes for great portraits.
I lost count when i try to count how much $$ worth on the table itself =/

Sorry everyone, even tho i own those lense, i'm never good with numbers =\

This post has been edited by nic_chm: Feb 27 2008, 02:13 AM

0.0556sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:03 PM