84 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Bottom

Penang PC talk, Talk everything related to PC Penang.

@meno
post Oct 12 2007, 10:44 AM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

KC, from the reviews and feedback i read from CD Freak forum, it seems the LG looks more promising. The only bad part about it is it doesn't have light scribe for the H62N model. The H62L model does come with LS. I'm not sure which model strongbaby is bringing in.

The Samsung looks not bad also from reviews but nobody taking.

I already placed order for the LG. So it depends on which you want. The Asus is quite slow, only second slowest to Liteon in many occasions in Harwarezone's reviews.
darnell
post Oct 12 2007, 11:23 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Oct 12 2007, 11:44 AM)
KC, from the reviews and feedback i read from CD Freak forum, it seems the LG looks more promising. The only bad part about it is it doesn't have light scribe for the H62N model. The H62L model does come with LS. I'm not sure which model strongbaby is bringing in.

The Samsung looks not bad also from reviews but nobody taking.

I already placed order for the LG. So it depends on which you want. The Asus is quite slow, only second slowest to Liteon in many occasions in Harwarezone's reviews.
Samsung DVDRW? shakehead.gif I scare it alrd. tongue.gif

So far i am using Lite-on & Benq ,totally no problem. smile.gif

I also heard that LG DVDRW is good, but I havent try before. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by darnell: Oct 12 2007, 11:24 AM
@meno
post Oct 12 2007, 11:47 AM

2,386 posts

The negative comments about the liteon is that it's slow and noisy.

The Samsung is being compared to the LG as the better ones other than Pioneer and Plextor.

But from my past experience as well, samsung optical drives sucks big time...tongue.gif
n305er
post Oct 12 2007, 11:54 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

QUOTE(@meno @ Oct 11 2007, 06:06 PM)
I'm looking at the Liteon one, cz seems to be quite good as well.
The pioneer that strongbaby selling, i used to have one, but did not even manage to burn 1 single piece of DVD and got a full refund from the seller. So i would sugest not to go for the Pioneer, eventhough a pioneer had always been top of my choice. And it also cost so much more.

KC, u take Asus...hmm, Asus or Liteon. LG i dunno lor, last time LG used to be good, now dunno. During the 4163b days it was damn reliable.

N305er, any suggestions? You should know quite a lot about these stuff. I trust ur opinion. brows.gif Btw, u can ask strongbaby if he/she has a black one. Some of these models come with interchangable bezels.
It makes no difference for me as i'm getting some Alu CD-rom bezel for my Lian Li from Doom rclxm9.gif...

My opinion?
Don't expect OEM optical drive to last for more then 1 year and still work perfectly...
Good products comes in BIG Boxed packages... biggrin.gif

I had one NEC OEM DVD writer and it lasted for 1 year before it started to rattle and hard to read, then 1.5 years and it was gone.

My Retail pack Sony lasted for 3 years and still able to fully use without rattles until it gives up after ~3.5 years. And you guys should know, Sony is never on top of any review magazine's list... biggrin.gif
TSAceCombat
post Oct 12 2007, 12:09 PM

5,434 posts

Sony and Samsung a bit picky right?

alrite,if the LG got LS,then u buy two la Adrian,then i get one from u so that my name no need appear on there.

can ah?
@meno
post Oct 12 2007, 12:55 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(AceCombat @ Oct 12 2007, 12:09 PM)
Sony and Samsung a bit picky right?

alrite,if the LG got LS,then u buy two la Adrian,then i get one from u so that my name no need appear on there.

can ah?
KC, I have no problem with that...

Btw, n305er, i have a friend who has an NEC OEM which lasted for more than 2 years, still running today and it's under heavy usage. He still tells me it's the best optical drive he'd ever used. I thought OEM drives though they're not built in the original factory, but they command the same quality control standards right?

The durability of the drive pretty much depends on usage and luck i would say, just hope that whatever problems, it better start showing before the 1 year warranty period ends..

Sony and samsung are more picky, tats what i heard but this type of sayings had been spread since long ago, wonder if it's still true today.
n305er
post Oct 12 2007, 01:44 PM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

I guess, Problem is not the build quality...

Problem is the way the OEM is handled after being built. Thrown here and there, badly transported, etc...

For CPU and stuff, I guess it's okay... For optical drive n the other hand, I'm having this kind of problem... I've used both The Sony and NEC equally much... NEC is surely much better at first... but still broke down first...

BTW, Sony isn't as picky as some might imagine...At least better then The LiteOn I'm using now... tongue.gif

But I'm no expert on Optical drives anyway...
lolhalol
post Oct 12 2007, 02:35 PM

Showroom Skateboarding
1,823 posts

LG Drives are good.. but cant compare to plextor and pioneers.. im falling in love with the h62 N though.. have had almost every single LG H series drive.. , h12 , h22 , h42 , h54 .. now i think i want to get a h62 n smile.gif
@meno
post Oct 12 2007, 02:37 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(n305er @ Oct 12 2007, 01:44 PM)
I guess, Problem is not the build quality...

Problem is the way the OEM is handled after being built. Thrown here and there, badly transported, etc...

For CPU and stuff, I guess it's okay... For optical drive n the other hand, I'm having this kind of problem... I've used both The Sony and NEC equally much... NEC is surely much better at first... but still broke down first...

BTW, Sony isn't as picky as some might imagine...At least better then The LiteOn I'm using now... tongue.gif

But I'm no expert on Optical drives anyway...
I've tried to search all over the net and what i find about the Liteon is quite negative.
I used to have a Sony DVD Rom which failed 1 week after warranty period. But overall, the picky issue was not that bad, it's just a myth since day one.

For the handling part, hmm i do not know about that. Tat is why i said...LUCK...haha...
Hopefully these are boxed units...
TSAceCombat
post Oct 12 2007, 04:06 PM

5,434 posts

so Adrian,if the LG is light scribe one,then u take two la.
ahbenggay
post Oct 12 2007, 05:15 PM

Tra la la
1,136 posts

my sony dvdr 810 , is that the model sleep.gif , cant remember well . its superb and no noise at all but recently i bought asus lighscribe dvdr kinda dissapointed. The sound was damn noisy. The most lousy part was mine sony works better than asus. Give me a break !
darnell
post Oct 12 2007, 08:15 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(ahbenggay @ Oct 12 2007, 06:15 PM)
my sony dvdr 810 , is that the model sleep.gif , cant remember well . its superb and no noise at all but recently i bought asus lighscribe dvdr kinda dissapointed. The sound was damn noisy. The most lousy part was mine sony works better than asus. Give me a break !
Frankly speaking i think it is reasonable actually. Asus famous in high end motherboard but not drive, so normally i didnt feel that Asus drive is good. tongue.gif

k8118k
post Oct 12 2007, 08:18 PM

3,658 posts

neofire.....when u becomw female.....
TSAceCombat
post Oct 12 2007, 08:34 PM

5,434 posts

let's change all the gender to female tongue.gif
n305er
post Oct 13 2007, 09:16 AM

Please Save the trees!
4,427 posts

Cheh!!! Off Topic liao!!!
tapirus
post Oct 13 2007, 10:27 AM

(︶ε︶メ)╭∩╮ a�tE(R)isk
1,237 posts

yeah...wanna change to..BTW to all POC member Selamat Hari Raya to all of u!!! thumbup.gif
darnell
post Oct 13 2007, 10:32 AM

583 posts

SELAMAT HARI RAYA EVERYONE YA
lehteck
post Oct 13 2007, 11:00 AM

+=--=+
2,408 posts

Let's go TT tonight....
TSAceCombat
post Oct 13 2007, 11:29 AM

5,434 posts

Happy Raya for POC member and everyone here rclxm9.gif
@meno
post Oct 13 2007, 01:39 PM

2,386 posts

sign0014.gif again...vmad.gif
Come on, something constructive please laugh.gif

Selamat Hari Lemang, Rendang and Ketupat everyone...

Lehteck, u in Penang d meh? Where u stay now, tepi longkang beside KC's apartment.

Woi KC, can pay for the rom for me and Powerslide first ar?
I not free to go bank settle lar, MBB out of cash d...Going off for vacation later...

84 Pages « < 39 40 41 42 43 > » Top

0.0282sec    1.09    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:43 PM