13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 12:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 10 2019, 11:37 AM)
You are right, I didn't really realize that it's a few bucks extra if bought from Klook.
Looks like I will be grabbing my ICOCA/HARUKA from the airport using cash then  wink.gif
Can I know if Icoca & Haruka come as a package for new cards? Can I get from the machine?
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 12:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(Monya Meow Meow @ Sep 10 2019, 12:18 PM)
Yes! You can get both as a new package - https://www.westjr.co.jp/global/en/ticket/icoca-haruka/
I don't think you can get it from the machine because they need to check your passport and make sure you're a foreigner.
Aiyo, you need to exchange again. Gotta force my friend to exchange because she will arrive first. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 02:07 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Sep 10 2019, 12:46 PM)
Try this [attachmentid=10312977]
First page bottom right corner. If you stay at an established hotel, try ask them.
OK, read about this earlier. I will check with my hotel then. biggrin.gif
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 06:19 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

Any idea how to explore Fruit Bus Stops at Nagasaki? I Googled and not much details but it's famous in China. Apparently they are along a highway and may not be easy to travel around.

RegentCid, is this written somewhere in your 555 book? laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 06:42 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 10 2019, 06:25 PM)
With your super pack schedule, no way you can visit fruit bus stop.
It was inside Konagai Town which is 1 hour away from Nagasaki City.
No la. Not packed for Nagasaki, only three places to visit. The rest on day 1 near hotel, within walking distance.
I saw it can be reached with JR train?
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 10:27 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 10 2019, 10:03 PM)
Nagasaki only 3 places to visit....oh man....your homework are not done well.
Because we are not going to visit the atomic bomb place and Peace Park. Not a fan to see this kind of things. laugh.gif
That's day 2 ma. Day 1 will visit 4 places and the million dollar view. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 10 2019, 11:39 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 10 2019, 11:06 PM)
I didn't visit Konagai before. So I ask my travel kaki from Japan and he did go.
He conclusion was:
If you go by public transport are waste of time.
You had to take normal train to Konagai Station and walk 15 minute to reach 1st strawberry bus stop Location https://goo.gl/maps/aFa3z6Q5LFZBkNby9
Next bus stop are far away, beyond reach by walking. Due to small town, bus are not frequent. Waiting at Strawberry bus stop taking bus to next fruit bus stop might take 30 - 60 minute of waiting time.

He suggestion was, If you got 3 -4 hrs to waste for this nonsense, you are good to go  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yeah, same information posted here: https://www.japankuru.com/en/tour/e2115.html

I will discuss with my friend again.. Thanks by the way. She wants to go, I wasn't aware of this place until she told me. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 11 2019, 12:19 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Sep 11 2019, 12:09 AM)
I didn't know there was such an attraction!  shocking.gif  But yeah after googling there's about 14 types of fruit stops, so if you want to maximise ur fruity coverage don't use the buses. Better to rent car and hop from stop to stop otherwise ur waiting time will probably be longer than ur excitement.

Also Nagasaki has much more than just the A Bomb stuff but I guess not everything suits everyone's cup of matcha tea.
I will be covering 7 places in Nagasaki, I guess that's good enough but this fruit thingy is really challenging.
Unless I drive which I don't have much choice anyway. laugh.gif

Let me break the news to her tomorrow because if possible we try not to drive for this trip and want to use their public transport. Next year if we are going to NZ, I'm going to drive like really a lot, all the time. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 11 2019, 12:20 AM
fruitie
post Sep 11 2019, 05:09 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 11 2019, 04:54 PM)
TBH honest i a bit regret visiting the atomic bomb museum. i got mixed feeling inside. not sure want to pity them or what. it was due to my late grandma who survived the WW2 japan invasion period in malaysia and keep telling me how suffering the family during that time.

The million dollar view is Mount Inasa ah?
Yeah and my friend is from China, I think better don't trigger her on this thing though she has no heart feeling for Japanese but still... You know la. sweat.gif She already mentioned she doesn't want to see then I should respect her decision.

Yes, Mt. Inasa.
fruitie
post Sep 12 2019, 10:39 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RobA4 @ Sep 12 2019, 10:34 AM)
Don't you get rebate on purchases if you are a visitor to Japan?
For purchases that not consumed in Japan. That's tax refund.
For food, you can't.
fruitie
post Sep 12 2019, 11:20 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(FreedomSeeker @ Sep 12 2019, 10:57 AM)
Reach at late evening can enjoy both sunset & the city night view. The sunset by the sea also quite nice d. I see a lot ppl do timelapse sun went down there.
I will be taking the bust at around 8 p.m., I hope it is still not too bad.
fruitie
post Sep 12 2019, 11:29 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

Can I see anything at night for The Spectacles Bridge? Or completely dark?
fruitie
post Sep 12 2019, 02:38 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Sep 12 2019, 01:18 PM)
Why don't you take the cable car and go up the mountain instead?  biggrin.gif
I have that in my schedule on day 1 in Nagasaki, this is day 2. laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 13 2019, 05:52 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(kingofrave89 @ Sep 13 2019, 05:19 PM)
Anyone here used Wiyo pocket wifi at Hiroshima and Tochigi area before? Or maybe anyone have any other recommendation? So far this is the cheapest I can find, which is RM11/day. I used it last year for Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe, Tokyo, seems okay.
Why not use SIM card and put in your phone instead?
fruitie
post Sep 14 2019, 11:29 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

I'm waiting for promo code on 10.10 to buy USJ Express Ticket, else will buy with Maybank discount 5%.
fruitie
post Sep 15 2019, 11:05 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(scchan107 @ Sep 15 2019, 08:03 AM)
There is klook event on 28th and 29th Sept, need to rsvp (free) via klook
Hopefully there's promo online rather than attending the event physically.

On another hand, bought Sagano Romantic Train tickets yesterday for my trip to Arashiyama. Bought the tickets for cart 5 too which is the so-called most beautiful cart. It could be more expensive to buy from online but at least we are guaranteed with tickets on our preferred time. Got it from Taobao. rclxms.gif Cart 5 cannot be reserved online from official site or Klook/KK Day. I think these TB sellers got local contacts to do it physically at the station.

This post has been edited by fruitie: Sep 15 2019, 11:07 AM
fruitie
post Sep 16 2019, 11:31 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 16 2019, 10:04 AM)
u need to attend the event to get it
same like the previous B1F1 voucher
need to get it from the event and redeem it online

lucky u got guaranteed ticket for sagano rail train
Aiyo, so mafan one ah.. Anyone going? laugh.gif
fruitie
post Sep 18 2019, 12:03 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 17 2019, 11:55 PM)
Because Malaysia custom are not doing thier job.
Law is there but no one really do it strictly.
Still remember few year ago, When GST starting?....It got a law stated everything u brought more than RM500 above will be tax 6%, but anyone kena before? biggrin.gif
Yes, someone I know kena before and I have seen someone in front of me kena. He was asked to open his bag and showed what he bought..
fruitie
post Sep 18 2019, 10:13 PM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(victorsoo @ Sep 18 2019, 05:31 PM)
If you're not in a rush, you can just go to the JR counter at Kansai airport and buy the ICOCA card and Haruka ticket when you arrive. You can also opt to buy the Kansai One Pass instead of the ICOCA card (works the same but comes with some added discount benefits). You can get specially designed cards only from the counter which you can keep as a souvenir.
Interesting. Can I use this KOP like Icoca? That means if I reload and can use in other places than Kansai? Since IC cards can be used nationwide now.
fruitie
post Sep 19 2019, 12:17 AM

Rise and Shine
72,837 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Sep 18 2019, 11:49 PM)
KOP are Fancy ICOCA...just like limited edition thing for foreigners....which Japanese always good at.
Boring card make it become fancy and selling you at higher price.
laugh.gif laugh.gif but got discounts. I will read more about these cards. If it works like Icoca cards then I can use in Tokyo if I ever go back there again. laugh.gif

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:32 AM