12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Travel To Japan V12, Everything you need for a Japan trip!

babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 04:27 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2019, 03:13 PM)
Sorry, that's you and I don't know how to recommend cheap food.
After been to Japan, I find good food is a given and may not have to be expensive. A sushi platter for 1200yen is probably low end but it felt much better than anything more expensive I get in Malaysia. I saw unagi bowl don't have to be that expensive but I guess foodie enthusiasts can tell the difference between a 1800 yen unagi and a 3k one. As for my commoner tongue, everything was good; from the sushi platter to the Ichiran & Yoshinoya to the obscure mom-and-pop restaurants I went to. (Izakayas are just plain ripoff because of the booze).

As for cheap food? I find no such thing. A reasonable mean should budget 700~900yen per person, unless willing to live off kombini bento box sets. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 16 2019, 04:34 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 04:29 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 16 2019, 04:13 PM)
Just do it. Scores of girls and women walk around Arashimaya in their Kimono gears.... all dolled up.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Remember that its a rental and need to take care so it don't get damaged or dirtied yea.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 16 2019, 04:35 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 04:33 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 16 2019, 04:18 PM)
It is safe to drink tap water in Japan?
Better to boil just to stay safe. Anyways, I find nearly all full serviced restaurants I been to provides free water.
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 05:04 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Oct 16 2019, 04:46 PM)
I'm trying to save some bucks from buying drinking water.

The last time I was in Tokyo for 8 days I didn't realize I spent almost RM150 on bottled drinking water.  shakehead.gif
Even my AirBnB provides kettle to boil water. sweat.gif I just need a 600ml bottle for whole day since I can drink as much free when we eat our meals. Plus many parks have water fountains if you know where to look.

The only time I ever bought bottled water was to try Japanese matcha tea because shockingly many places don't offer it.
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 05:14 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 16 2019, 04:35 PM)
Yes... but I would definitely not drink from the toilet tap from the hotel room.
Yeah.. I agree. I try to look for set lunch instead because lunch deals are usually much cheaper at famous restaurants. At night eat bento boxes or ramen lor. Even that is not cheap now. 1000 yen is almost Rm40. sweat.gif
Basic tonkotsu ramen or gyuudon at restaurants is good enough dy. At most places cost 550-750 yen. Set meals -I find- are more for big eaters or those wanting to try the side dishes.

But yeah, our RM is getting worse. Now waiting for yen to appreciate further before I change out my remainder notes. Haha!
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 07:20 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 16 2019, 05:30 PM)
In Japan, nothing is cheap la. Also, everyone's expectation and budget is not the same.
2000 yen may be expensive for others but cheap for me, or vice versa.
That said we try to keep within 2000 yen for each lunch and dinner, obviously few dinners will burst our target la. laugh.gif

We are going to have crabs dinner at Dotonbori but that will be on me as a treat for my friend, I guess RM 500-700 will fly that night. laugh.gif
My travel partner fancies and I eat everything, moreover I'm particular with food and read good reviews about this, so just giving it a shot since we will be at Arashiyama anyway. biggrin.gif
I feel you, I ended up drinking beer more than water in Europe. laugh.gif In Europe, it is safe to drink from the tap though. In Japan, I haven't tried before.
Yup agreed. Budget can be anything, but on average a normal meal would probably be around 1k yen. I budgeted that much for lunch and 2k yen for dinner but on average my meals are < 2k for both. We mostly went for small mom-and-pop restaurants and never felt lacking in anything.

Hokkaido crab in Dotonburi eh? Nice! Japan is certainly no country to travel on a shoestring, imho better to save money and travel comfortably at a later time than to travel now and constantly worry how much everything costs.
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 09:34 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Oct 16 2019, 08:25 PM)
I want a cheap bento like this only 300 yen per box and the portion is very big. Where to get beside tokuya?

And I have a baby. Are baby diapers cheaper there? Plan to bring baby milk only and buy diapers there.
For instant bento sets, you can easily get them at any Family Mart, Lawson, 7i /7Eleven convenience stores, and many shopping malls like AEON have supermarket section that sells them. Prices & choices available may vary from each of them around 400~550 yen, but AFAIK only those in supermarkets have late nite discounts and this can be a battlezone. I saw someone quickly grabbing a bento set marked down 40% before i could reach it. Haha.

As for diapers, your asking if Japan cheaper than here, I don't think so. Good thing is, you have hand carry baggage to Japan so use it to carry diaper supplies and run them down so you can return with carry on baggage of goodies.
babylon52281
post Oct 16 2019, 11:59 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(cappuccino vs latte @ Oct 16 2019, 11:11 PM)
Wonder how is the taste since most of the bentos are frozen.
IINM you should reheat them via microwave. I saw most kombinis have microwaves and even my AirBNB have a microwave. All said, there is nothing wrong with eating cold, its not frozen just refrigerated.

One way to eat somewhat hot; turn the bento cover around, then pour some hot water into it and then place the food tray in the water, let it to reheat for a bit. Just be careful with the hot water.
babylon52281
post Oct 17 2019, 12:52 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 16 2019, 11:55 PM)
All free water in restraurant are tap water. Mostly you will find inside ramen shop. Big water container front of desk for you to fill.
Haha! Good to know! thumbsup.gif
babylon52281
post Oct 18 2019, 12:32 AM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Oct 17 2019, 09:56 PM)
Happy if someone give guidance 1-10 to give tips how to survive in Japan cheaply.

1. 200 yen unagi bento at 7 pm slash price
2. Go Kansai from shinjuku station through kosoku bus 1700 yen
3. Drink tap water
4.osaka amazing pass 3600 yen for 2 days for 50 rides
5. Temples are free in Kyoto. Fushimi Inari Tasha, yasaka shrine, philosopher path, mino waterfall, arashimaya

I think 10 days budget rm 3k per pax nothing impossible from tokyo-Kansai return
Getting super cheap bentos are more on luck. Don't hope to get it at the price you want, with the varieties you want, on an everyday basis. AFAIK only supermarket bentos have deep discounts and often you have to battle with the locals to get some. Don't plan ur daily meal budgets around 200yen or you'll quickly run out of cash.
babylon52281
post Oct 18 2019, 05:56 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Oct 18 2019, 01:30 PM)
prefer order kosher meals in ANA website. it's halal. big portions and very delicious. they also give me faster than regular meals so can sleep afterwards
prefer matsuya over yoshinoya or sukiya.
i brought my family. we are 8 people. maybe some of them only visit this Japan trip once in a lifetime so should explore kansai and Tokyo provided my return airfare from and to narita.
I find Matsuya is cheaper a lil bit (100yen or so) than Yoshinoya. I only go Matsuya 2 times for breakfast because it only cost 290 yen for basic gyuudon set.

Ramen franchises like Ippudo or Ichiran is about the same price. Another chain that I went to is Tendon Tenya (天丼 てんや) which primarily serves beef and seafood don. Not sure if you can find in ur area of visit. Another franchise I tried is Coco Ichibanya (curry rice). All 600-800 yen with good portions. Others mostly I tried is small family restaurants but I see ur need for halal(or pork free) food so that is a challenge. Most restaurants display their menu at front so it helps if you can read them. Otherwise McD, KFC, Mos Burger, Starbucks, is your best choice.

I would usually include meals as part of my trip experience so I prefer to try as much variety and not too worried about the prices but that's me personally.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 18 2019, 06:13 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2019, 03:49 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Oct 18 2019, 06:19 PM)
Planning to go to Tokyo for a work/personal trip in June of 2020. Not really confident of the hotel internet and still think I need to have my own mobile internet while I am there.

Anyone have experience with the unlimited data sims/hotspot dongles you can find online? Right now thinking between these four.
Samurai WiFi-HotSpot Dongle
NTT Docomo SIM

Sakura Mobile Sim

JAL Unari Kun Sim

Leaning toward the Sakura Mobile Sim since they explicitly say that it can work with hotspots, so I can bring my own hotspot dongle and still get unlimited data without speed restrictions. Prices are around the RM250-RM300 mark.
I tried Wiyo. Speed is okay but during my usage duration had to restart the dongle becoz it hanged. Best is can pickup and drop off the dongle at KLIA2 24/7.
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2019, 03:50 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(L.Torreira @ Oct 18 2019, 09:32 PM)
nope I don't need halal food. I recommend kosher since it's alternative if you want halal food. kosher meals big portion. hence, I aim for that meal.
Any full size meal I find it sufficient. Just don't expect to go on only 1 meal a day.
babylon52281
post Oct 19 2019, 03:56 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 18 2019, 09:37 PM)
Ya..tried that before too.
You get a hot meal + free drinks and parking too.
Too much beef Gyudon is quite boring too sweat.gif. Curry rice is tasty and filling and can last you at least half a day.
I didn't do too many gyuudon. Twice at Matsuya for breakfast (small beef portion), once at Yoshinoya, one time at Tendon (the other time I went for their ebi katsudon). Truthfully each of them are tasty that I probably could eat the same food daily, but then I would have missed out on eating the other varieties of food I tried. haha.
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 04:56 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 21 2019, 01:36 AM)
Two more weeks to Japan trip and I'm down with fever now. bangwall.gif Well, at least now and not when I'm in Japan. laugh.gif

Good thing is I managed to change my hotel in Nagasaki to APA Hotel which is just opposite of JR Nagasaki. The one I booked earlier required me to take tram and I feel it's difficult to do it with our luggage. I wanted to book our accommodation near to the station but I couldn't get anything that time, all were fully booked. Probably there were people cancelled their rooms and I managed to do it now. Though it's slightly more expensive (additional RM 80 for two nights) and could be smaller than the previous hotel but convenience is far more important. We have to catch early train to Yufu. laugh.gif
Load up with medicine and Vitamin Cs and you should able get well in 2 weeks no problem. Anyways, is not like people stop travelling when they are sick. On my flight back, I had a person behind constantly coughing and sneezing all 7 hrs at back until I can feel his breath at my head. Haha! lucky I didn't catch anything from him.

Ohh so you got APA Hotel. That's just a stone throw away from my AirBNB just beside Hotel Coure. Haha! Good choice as catching the trams, buses, & JR train is super convenient. Plus you can easy to buy the passes and tickets at Info Counter.
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 05:26 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 21 2019, 04:45 PM)
people step into a pharmacy there to buy alot of thing, not just med
accumulate more than 5k, can claim tax refund
We did the whole pharmacy visits but we find the standard medicines are more expensive than in Malaysia. Whatmore all the packaging are in Japanese words so it was real challenge to find anything, one of our group wanted Japanese tiger balm but we gave up finding it.

Instead we loaded up on just Kitkats.... all 6,000+ yen full of Kitkats. sweat.gif We nearly emptied that pharmacy of their Kitkats sweat.gif sweat.gif

I think most go there to buy beauty products (SK2, Shisheido, etc).

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 21 2019, 05:27 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 06:16 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 21 2019, 05:42 PM)
u need to do your research before u do meds purchase in japan, it's better if u can read chinese..it would be written there what is this for
japanese tiger balm is instead an uncle logo on a brown packaging
u can ask the worker there, they can show u actually(my last visit yes, my 3 years ago trip to tokyo is harder...most worker can speak mandarin and english now)
some meds, it's very clear since it's drawn on the box already like the ulcer med laugh.gif

its expensive but it works better but it looks expensive because you're buying a box instead of a row
We weren't really going there just to buy medicine but one of our party had travel sickness so wanted tiger balm but we just don't know how to describe it to the staff. Probably if we say tiger balm, they won't know rite? And none of us know to read or speak mandarin so yeah.

Anyways it was just a couple days by 3rd day the person was alrite. So not getting any medicine wasn't a deal breaker for our trip or anything.

Buying a row of medicine? Err..... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Oct 21 2019, 06:17 PM
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 06:23 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 21 2019, 06:08 PM)
Damn right bro... there are pharmacies everywhere. Chinese tourists love going into these pharmacies. Makes me wonder all the time, what the heck do they have so much to buy in there.  laugh.gif
Beauty products my friend. Many of the stuff we even get in Malaysia is not available in China (or at least only in high class boutique shops at expensive prices). That's what my colleague told me before.
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 10:40 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Oct 21 2019, 06:28 PM)
it really depends where u go
if u go tourist attraction place like namba/dotonbori, most staff are chinese(they're students in JP)
but if u go less touristy place like kobe, they still employ japs that can only speak japanese which is better for me actually
the lesser the people, the better the deal
if u went 3 years ago, it will be hard to describe
but if u go recently, no problem at all...just tell them motion sickness or whatever in chinese..they understand
that's how those PRC find their meds
I guess you missed me saying that we don't know to read or speak mandarin. Not sure if they would know Cantonese though.....

But yeah, its quite awkward hearing mandarin in Japan, like the one time I was at a matcha tea prep demo and the presenter was talking in fluid universal mandarin. For a split second I thought I was in China!
babylon52281
post Oct 21 2019, 10:43 PM

2,677 posts

fruitie
Don't forget that you can also buy the 1000yen Mt Inasa pass at the Info Counter too! You can probably get other tourist only deals as well so be sure to ask!

12 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.1085sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:15 PM