AVFAN
post Oct 7 2023, 04:04 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 7 2023, 03:39 PM)
Folks, quick question here

WIth my recent SWU upgrade my Unifi TV box been replaced from the white to black box. What I found is the sound is 50% lower than previous box. Obviously I can increase the volume at my amplifier or TV, but kinda cumbersome, everytime need to adjust the volume.

Hence wondering if there any setting thats I missed out? The TVbox volume itself is at max. Thanks

I also tested other apps within Unifi-box, netflix, unifitv, bbc, etc all of them the volume is low
If it is the latest upb v2, the only vol control is those +- on the remote.

Try diff options at settings, device preferences, sounds. Also, take note some vod videos carry Dolby n dolby5.1. They may come out diff depending on yr equipment.

I personally do not find the vol lacking on any app.
linkinstreet
post Oct 7 2023, 04:51 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

WIth my recent SWU upgrade my Unifi TV box been replaced from the white to black box. What I found is the sound is 50% lower than previous box. Obviously I can increase the volume at my amplifier or TV, but kinda cumbersome, everytime need to adjust the volume.

Hence wondering if there any setting thats I missed out? The TVbox volume itself is at max. Thanks

I also tested other apps within Unifi-box, netflix, unifitv, bbc, etc all of them the volume is low
You can raise the volume of the box itself, which is seperate from the volume of your TV. That's the usual android TV device behaviour.
July 2nd
post Oct 7 2023, 06:06 PM

27 posts

Hi. I assume you didn't adjust the tv volume. I need to adjust both tv and tv box volume everytime after kids used.😅 If tv box volume maxed out but still sounds soft, that means the default volume on tv is on a low side.
VeeJay
post Oct 7 2023, 07:10 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 7 2023, 04:04 PM)
If it is the latest upb v2, the only vol control is those +- on the remote.

Try diff options at settings, device preferences, sounds. Also, take note some vod videos carry Dolby n dolby5.1. They may come out diff depending on yr equipment.

I personally do not find the vol lacking on any app.
Previously before changing the uinifi bos, on my Denon X8500h the volume is set at -45dB and it works across all my connections (PC, Q10pro, unifi, astro, etc) there would be slight difference when I switch between the equipment, but its was listenable, hence I dont need to manually adjust.
Now with unifiTv, I need ramp up the volume to -25-20dB!!! I need to recheck if they changed my hdmi or reused my older cable, that could also a reason, but I doubt. Didnt find time today, maybe these 2-3 days

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Oct 7 2023, 04:51 PM)
You can raise the volume of the box itself, which is seperate from the volume of your TV. That's the usual android TV device behaviour.
yes its at max

QUOTE(July 2nd @ Oct 7 2023, 06:06 PM)
Hi. I assume you didn't adjust the tv volume. I need to adjust both tv and tv box volume everytime after kids used.😅 If tv box volume maxed out but still sounds soft, that means the default volume on tv is on a low side.
I havent tested pass thru to TV, will also try it out. Since 99% of the time I use my amp.

Thx folks, will need further investigation. I guess I need spend time to setup the Unifi apps, so far manage to setup my netflix that came free, need to setup the login I guess....hate doing this...but oklah...one time thingy
AVFAN
post Oct 7 2023, 07:28 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 7 2023, 07:10 PM)
Previously before changing the uinifi bos, on my Denon X8500h the volume is set at -45dB and it works across all my connections (PC, Q10pro, unifi, astro, etc) there would be slight difference when I switch between the equipment, but its was listenable, hence I dont need to manually adjust.
Now with unifiTv, I need ramp up the volume to -25-20dB!!! I need to recheck if they changed my hdmi or reused my older cable, that could also a reason, but I doubt. Didnt find time today, maybe these 2-3 days
yes its at max
I havent tested pass thru to TV, will also try it out. Since 99% of the time I use my amp.

Thx folks, will need further investigation. I guess I need spend time to setup the Unifi apps, so far manage to setup my netflix that came free, need to setup the login I guess....hate doing this...but oklah...one time thingy
i m also using a denon, but i use normal loudness display, not -db.

and Q10pro too! thumbup.gif (btw, i suggest u look at the new zidoo Z20pro as replacement... q10pro is getting obsolete, sluggish).

the denon volume range wud be 40-70 with the diff devices and apps.

but yes, it is possible the UPB output itself is on the soft side.

VeeJay
post Oct 7 2023, 09:45 PM

3,845 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 7 2023, 07:28 PM)
i m also using a denon, but i use normal loudness display, not -db.

and Q10pro too! thumbup.gif (btw, i suggest u look at the new zidoo Z20pro as replacement... q10pro is getting obsolete, sluggish).

the denon volume range wud be 40-70 with the diff devices and apps.

but yes, it is possible the UPB output itself is on the soft side.
-45dB = 35 normal volume
Now I had to increase to 60 normal volume, just tried HBO

And yes q10p been sluggish and gave up recently since my parents and in-law was complaining. Basically using PC now (lenovo Y700; 7yrs old, its still ok la; has 7.1ch output as well

Thanks mate

This post has been edited by VeeJay: Oct 7 2023, 09:46 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 8 2023, 10:25 AM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Oct 7 2023, 09:45 PM)
-45dB = 35 normal volume
Now I had to increase to 60 normal volume, just tried HBO

And yes q10p been sluggish and gave up recently since my parents and in-law was complaining. Basically using PC now (lenovo Y700; 7yrs old, its still ok la; has 7.1ch output as well

Thanks mate
HBOGo is poor... so poor that i hardly watch it anymore.

picture is 720p; audio DD+ option is also poor, DD comes out better.... strange.

on the other hand, Disney+H dd+ audio is good, with 4kHDR picture.

best of all is Netflix 4K - 4kHDR, Atmos audio - this is the best thing u get from Ultimate Max +RM10 for netflix 4k. thumbsup.gif
SwarmTroll
post Oct 8 2023, 01:59 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 8 2023, 10:25 AM)
HBOGo is poor... so poor that i hardly watch it anymore.

picture is 720p; audio DD+ option is also poor, DD comes out better.... strange.

on the other hand, Disney+H dd+ audio is good, with 4kHDR picture.

best of all is Netflix 4K - 4kHDR, Atmos audio - this is the best thing u get from Ultimate Max +RM10 for netflix 4k. thumbsup.gif
Is HBO GO itself intentionally bad or is it UnifiTV's problem? 720p on a large screen TV is lol.
AVFAN
post Oct 8 2023, 02:16 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Oct 8 2023, 01:59 PM)
Is HBO GO itself intentionally bad or is it UnifiTV's problem? 720p on a large screen TV is lol.
i read someone said it is 1080p if u pay for standalone HBOgo.
SwarmTroll
post Oct 8 2023, 02:34 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 8 2023, 02:16 PM)
i read someone said it is 1080p if u pay for standalone HBOgo.
Should be minimum 1080p based on what I search online. I mean 720p in 2023 is lol. Did you ask Unifi if 720p is intentional or momentarily for HBO GO?
AVFAN
post Oct 8 2023, 02:49 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Oct 8 2023, 02:34 PM)
Should be minimum 1080p based on what I search online. I mean 720p in 2023 is lol. Did you ask Unifi if 720p is intentional or momentarily for HBO GO?
i haven't asked them.

but seems everyone on ultimate is getting 720p.... crap. sad.gif

SwarmTroll
post Oct 8 2023, 03:07 PM

1,401 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 8 2023, 02:49 PM)
i haven't asked them.

but seems everyone on ultimate is getting 720p.... crap. sad.gif
I'm waiting for UnifiTV team to call after raising inquiry regarding TV plans. If HBO GO is legit 720p on UnifiTV, I'm not gonna consider it lol.
AVFAN
post Oct 8 2023, 03:29 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Oct 8 2023, 03:07 PM)
I'm waiting for UnifiTV team to call after raising inquiry regarding TV plans. If HBO GO is legit 720p on UnifiTV, I'm not gonna consider it lol.
well, there is an HBO pack coming.

under this pack, possibly 1080p, since u pay standalone pack.
amirul hafizz
post Oct 8 2023, 05:46 PM

369 posts

Hbo Go under astro is 1080p, why under unifi 720p. very big different.
linkinstreet
post Oct 8 2023, 06:03 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(amirul hafizz @ Oct 8 2023, 05:46 PM)
Hbo Go under astro is 1080p, why under unifi 720p. very big different.
Maybe that's all they can afford? Like Spotv also only 720p
doubleM2
post Oct 8 2023, 06:31 PM

1,024 posts

Could this Golden Chinese Drama channel be the next Unifi TV’s latest? It’s recently introduced by ROCK Entertainment, joining forces with myTV SUPER & Regentact.

Source: https://www.rockentertainment.com/press-roo...n-chinese-drama

This post has been edited by doubleM2: Oct 8 2023, 06:31 PM
amirul hafizz
post Oct 8 2023, 06:41 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Oct 8 2023, 06:31 PM)
Could this Golden Chinese Drama channel be the next Unifi TV’s latest? It’s recently introduced by ROCK Entertainment, joining forces with myTV SUPER & Regentact.

Why Umifi tv don't bring Makeful channel. i think this channel is good for family viewrs.
UnifiTVFan
post Oct 8 2023, 07:43 PM

QUOTE(doubleM2 @ Oct 8 2023, 06:31 PM)

I did suggest this channel when I first saw this news, but I highly doubt whether Unifi TV will actually launch this channel since most of its titles are retro or outdated TV series from China and Taiwan.
keithyan
post Oct 8 2023, 09:47 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 8 2023, 04:29 PM)
well, there is an HBO pack coming.

under this pack, possibly 1080p, since u pay standalone pack.
Nothing to expect on live tv since unifi tv live channel often bad. But to HBO go , I can’t see any different when using the acc via unifi plan and compared standalone subscribed previously. FYI I am using apple tv and ios

But dun get me wrong , HBO go quality is usually bad although even get it from Astro plan or standalone.

That’s why WB has started abandon HBO go app and move on with MAX on western region. Possibly we might get the same treatment on next year since WB started focus the app for APAC area.

This post has been edited by keithyan: Oct 8 2023, 09:58 PM
AVFAN
post Oct 8 2023, 10:04 PM

24,452 posts

QUOTE(keithyan @ Oct 8 2023, 09:47 PM)
Nothing to expect on live tv since unifi tv live channel often bad. But to HBO go , I can’t see any different when using the acc via unifi plan and compared standalone subscribed previously. FYI I am using apple tv and ios

But dun get me wrong , HBO go quality is usually bad although even get it from Astro plan or standalone.

That’s why WB has started abandon HBO go app and move on with MAX on western region. Possibly we might get the same treatment on next year since WB started focus the app for APAC area.
How does yr HBOgo compare to Netflix 1080p or Disney+?

If u find no diff, I wud be surprised unless u r watching on mobile!

443 Pages « < 330 331 332 333 334 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:52 AM