DELIVERY AT PPUM, HOPING SOMEONE THAT HAVE EXPERIENCE SHAR

Onizukas
post Sep 7 2020, 09:23 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Sep 4 2020, 02:44 PM)
from my experience, yes. as it is a university hospital. u might need to bear with this.

sent my wife in at 1AM. you can't go in during this time as doctor will diagnose the situation first. bring all documents necessary including your deposit receipt during admission. don't need to bring anything else.

i was told that i need to stay at lobby area in case they need anything from me. i came without any preparation, so stay up for the entire night sitting on the bench at lobby. better prepare urself with travel pillow, power bank. and bear in mind, lobby got lots of mosquitos.

i was called in at 7AM when my wife had 4cm opening. this is the crucial time (at least for me). did not bring anything to the labor room except mineral water and dates as energy booster. wife was provided with some snacks and milo. just request from the doctor and nurses.
u will be asked to turn off you phone in front of the nurses at the counter, you will need to be with your wife until she ready to deliver. no go in and out from the room, so if u are smoking person, smoke enough before go in to the labor room  biggrin.gif

everything settled at 10.47am. the nurses, doctors are pro active, monitoring my wife all the time, we were not left alone at any second as they periodically changing staff to be with u at all time. 

after delivery, they cleaned up the baby, and gave back to my wife. the baby stayed on the my wife chest for an hour - called it skin to skin session. this is the best moment for both of us. i curi-curi took photos and videos at this time. after that, they sent us to the ward. then only i get other stuffs from the car.

this is my experience as first time parent .
Thanks for your experience and guidance. With this i can make preparation on what to do when the time comes. Really appreciate this.
cjf91 P
post Oct 20 2020, 10:00 PM

Probation

Hi everyone, thanks so much for your information.

My wife and I are expecting our first baby. We are so lost before looking at this thread.

Wonder if anyone can answer us:

1) If we successfully make booking with PPUM, do we still need to go back to KKIA for follow ups?

2) If so, why would you recommend that? (as it seems repetitive to go for check ups in the 2 places?)

3) Will you suggest buying pregnancy insurance? Will it cover caesarean / epidural costs for private hospitals?
dannychen
post Oct 21 2020, 03:56 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cjf91 @ Oct 20 2020, 10:00 PM)

My wife and I are expecting our first baby. We are so lost before looking at this thread.

1) If we successfully make booking with PPUM, do we still need to go back to KKIA for follow ups?

2) If so, why would you recommend that? (as it seems repetitive to go for check ups in the 2 places?)

3) Will you suggest buying pregnancy insurance? Will it cover caesarean / epidural costs for private hospitals?
A1) Theoretical and practically you don't have to go back to KKIA for follow ups. If you walk in straight to PPUM upon confirmation of positive pregnancy, they you can make your booking and do every check up there and no pink book will be given. All records will be computerized, in case your wife failed to deliver there then you will have problem because no written records for other doctors to refer. If you have opened your pink book at KKIA, I'm doubt they will let you go and most likely you will have to follow up at both places.

A2) There are no such thing as repetitive. It is matter of whether you can afford to follow up it at different places as it is costly and time consuming. Second opinion is important. Some choose to follow at one private facilities and one government facilities. You will have hardcopy reports for any follow up outside PPUM. It is up to you to decide.

A3) Pregnancy insurance is important to pass your risk to the insurance company just in case there is any complication through out your journey. it doesn't cover caesarean nor epidural cost. AT PPUM and other government hospital, they will try their best to deliver your baby naturally. Hence, Caesarean and epidural are not in their priority list.
Ewa Wa
post Oct 22 2020, 02:04 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(cjf91 @ Oct 20 2020, 10:00 PM)

1) Please walk in to book, upon booking need to pay RM500 deposit upfront. They will give you a date to follow up, usually the 1st check up starts after 6th month pregnancy. So before 6th month pls do ur follow up in KKIA or private. Is important to keep track the baby monthly growth. I did mine in private because get to do scanning every month. KK only get to scan few months once. With the scanning at least i get to know my baby heart beat and growing well.

2) No repetitive because I want my pregnancy journey smooth, I don't wan to have the regret moment when something unpleasant happen. When u reach about 8th onwards mayb just do the follow up in PPUM. The check up will be twice a month. PPUM facility is much better compare to KK. At least you are attended to a doctor through is MO but the MO is on the path to gynea master (check up time about 3-4 hours-Half day gone). KK usually attended by nurse / MO but checking a list of questions in the pink book. Is good to have 2nd opinion in this journey.

3) Yes, definitely is a must and not from the point as an agent but as a mommy. Personal experience, I have fever probably due to epidural after delivered and arranged to stay in HDU for 2 days. My client premature baby send to NICU for 1 day all these are claimable for hospital allowance. The hospital allowance is enough to cover my PPUM fees.

No caesarean and epidural coverage. The prenatal plan mostly cover the complication and hospital allowance. PPUM allows epidural which cost about RM250 (3 years back cost).

Overall I quite happy with the delivery in PPUM. The room is 4 bedded. So abit noisy because 1 baby crying the rest will follow. Mommy has to take care baby day and night and only breast feeding. Hospital didn't prepare any milk for baby. If supply not enough pls bring ur own 1 but don't let the nurse notice. Else kena scold.

Have a pleasant and wonderful pregnancy journey rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

* All the information sharing is 3 years back. Last heard from my friend their cost has increased from RM500 to 1K.
Ewa Wa
post Oct 22 2020, 02:11 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(vandechrome @ Sep 4 2020, 02:44 PM)
from my experience, yes. as it is a university hospital. u might need to bear with this.

sent my wife in at 1AM. you can't go in during this time as doctor will diagnose the situation first. bring all documents necessary including your deposit receipt during admission. don't need to bring anything else.

i was told that i need to stay at lobby area in case they need anything from me. i came without any preparation, so stay up for the entire night sitting on the bench at lobby. better prepare urself with travel pillow, power bank. and bear in mind, lobby got lots of mosquitos.

i was called in at 7AM when my wife had 4cm opening. this is the crucial time (at least for me). did not bring anything to the labor room except mineral water and dates as energy booster. wife was provided with some snacks and milo. just request from the doctor and nurses.
u will be asked to turn off you phone in front of the nurses at the counter, you will need to be with your wife until she ready to deliver. no go in and out from the room, so if u are smoking person, smoke enough before go in to the labor room  biggrin.gif

everything settled at 10.47am. the nurses, doctors are pro active, monitoring my wife all the time, we were not left alone at any second as they periodically changing staff to be with u at all time. 

after delivery, they cleaned up the baby, and gave back to my wife. the baby stayed on the my wife chest for an hour - called it skin to skin session. this is the best moment for both of us. i curi-curi took photos and videos at this time. after that, they sent us to the ward. then only i get other stuffs from the car.

this is my experience as first time parent .
Is fun to read ur comment. Good job daddy. My experience was masuk from 5am and delivered on 23.50pm. Long day for me and no food for the whole day. rclxub.gif
incubus69
post Oct 3 2023, 06:14 PM

179 posts

anyone have the latest update for PPUM delivery ?

cost and procedure is the same as above ?

zero5177
post Oct 3 2023, 06:17 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,551 posts

QUOTE(incubus69 @ Oct 3 2023, 06:14 PM)
anyone have the latest update for PPUM delivery ?

cost and procedure is the same as above ?
My waifu C-sect + 3D 2N total about 2.3k
Baby went incubator for monitoring also 3D 2N about <RM800 in total

Only 1 visitor at once during visiting hours only
incubus69
post Oct 3 2023, 06:41 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 3 2023, 06:17 PM)
My waifu C-sect + 3D 2N total about 2.3k
Baby went incubator for monitoring also 3D 2N about <RM800 in total

Only 1 visitor at once during visiting hours only
quite good offer for a semi gov hospital.
private hospital quoted me 13k for csec. cry.gif

and how the service ?

so u do ur check-up with ppum since after the first trimester ?

zero5177
post Oct 3 2023, 06:56 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,551 posts

QUOTE(incubus69 @ Oct 3 2023, 06:41 PM)
quite good offer for a semi gov hospital.
private hospital quoted me 13k for csec.  cry.gif

and how the service ?

so u do ur check-up with ppum since after the first trimester ?
Nurse service don't expect it to be 5 star grade, I would say there is quite some inconsistencies from different nurse and your wife might feel quite out of place sometimes, but in general they did take good care of you in term of necessity like food and water and periodical service.

Then there is many different department where you may need to walk around for different errands like example u may need to go pharmacy to replenish the formula supply they have utilized for your baby if place at incubator.

And if your baby placed at incubator, only your wife allowed to visit the baby, you can only visit temporarily as a company to your wife for short period of time.

checkup start around mid of 2nd trimester, before this all checkup done in KK + private until KK start pushing us to decide where to deliver so they prepare the letter.

for Private your 13k is just the starting price, if any out of control situation, that's where your rate ticks.. example baby need to be place at incubator or mother excessive loss of blood need to placed in HCU that'll be where your bill start ticking to the sky.

For husband, the parking space can be quite limited.

Overall the experience were ok to me.
incubus69
post Oct 3 2023, 07:02 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Oct 3 2023, 06:56 PM)
Nurse service don't expect it to be 5 star grade, I would say there is quite some inconsistencies from different nurse and your wife might feel quite out of place sometimes, but in general they did take good care of you in term of necessity like food and water and periodical service.

Then there is many different department where you may need to walk around for different errands like example u may need to go pharmacy to replenish the formula supply they have utilized for your baby if place at incubator.

And if your baby placed at incubator, only your wife allowed to visit the baby, you can only visit temporarily as a company to your wife for short period of time.

checkup start around mid of 2nd trimester, before this all checkup done in KK + private until KK start pushing us to decide where to deliver so they prepare the letter.

for Private your 13k is just the starting price, if any out of control situation, that's where your rate ticks.. example baby need to be place at incubator or mother excessive loss of blood need to placed in HCU that'll be where your bill start ticking to the sky.

For husband, the parking space can be quite limited.

Overall the experience were ok to me.
for service vice i dont aspect it to be like private one. at least they provide those basic necessity for the mom & baby.

anyway thanks for ur experience explanation. much appreciated it.

now i might consider ppum as it is quite near to my house.
zero5177
post Oct 3 2023, 07:14 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,551 posts

QUOTE(incubus69 @ Oct 3 2023, 07:02 PM)
for service vice i dont aspect it to be like private one. at least they provide those basic necessity for the mom & baby.

anyway thanks for ur experience explanation. much appreciated it.

now i might consider ppum as it is quite near to my house.
Just take it if it near to your house, when the time comes you need to be there at the soonest possible.

Those little errands and slight inconvenient for husband wasn't a big concern to me, most importantly we have experienced doctor who can make the right decision and nurse that attend the needs on time.

Surprisingly to me their food were decent, warm when served and taste good to me.

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0140sec    0.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:39 AM