QUOTE(victorlaw @ Mar 2 2019, 12:26 AM)
Use in your GTI? My Ultramax is around 1.5yrs now. It got warranty of 18 or 20mths if not mistaken so if died under that then you can claim a new unit.Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.
Battery brand that has lasted 4 years or more.
Mar 2 2019, 12:29 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Mar 2 2019, 03:09 PM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
suzuki alto 2010 model.. year 2017 replace the battery..
originally come with Amaron battery maintenance free.. replace it with Amaron Go.. the car CBU from india.. |
Mar 2 2019, 10:28 PM
3,520 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
QUOTE(amad108 @ Mar 2 2019, 03:09 PM) suzuki alto 2010 model.. year 2017 replace the battery.. That's really impressive 7 years for an Amaron battery + CBU all the way from India. Question was it a Maintenance Free or Flooded Battery or AGM etc ? originally come with Amaron battery maintenance free.. replace it with Amaron Go.. the car CBU from india.. I am now hoping that all other Amarons in the country stands up to above 4 year period. |
Mar 2 2019, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(speedy3210 @ Mar 2 2019, 10:27 AM) maybe it wasn't the "fins" that retained water. Yokohama MF batteries design since that all black version, got this piece of black plastic cover where the warranty sticker is stuck on. This Yokohama MF Gold Series battery belongs to someone else. It was handed over to me to do comparisons between batteries to find out & compare good quality made batteries. You can try to pry of that cover to see all 6 fill holes. but since that thing is still under warranty, better NOT. The battery is really weak and since it's been scrapped by the owner, I will tear of the stickers. The warranty is no longer applicable since we're not claiming for it. The fins do trap water besides I do not like the design which traps water. If I had a blower or air compressor to blow dry the wet battery that would be great but since I don't have one, drying those fins is a hassle. Will try to get a picture of those fins at the sides tomorrow. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 2 2019, 10:44 PM |
Mar 3 2019, 08:32 AM
1,008 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Shah Alam SDE |
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 2 2019, 10:28 PM) That's really impressive 7 years for an Amaron battery + CBU all the way from India. Question was it a Maintenance Free or Flooded Battery or AGM etc ? later will upload the battery pictures.. it is a maintenance free batteryI am now hoping that all other Amarons in the country stands up to above 4 year period. |
Mar 3 2019, 08:36 AM
147 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
battery only as good as ur alternator and the charge / discharge cycles..
battery in car in other countries last 5-8 yrs, 30,000 cold cranking amps in the winter, when car in under snow for 4-5 days. asian batteries are almost all rejects.. |
Mar 4 2019, 12:49 AM
77 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 2 2019, 12:29 PM) Use in your GTI? My Ultramax is around 1.5yrs now. It got warranty of 18 or 20mths if not mistaken so if died under that then you can claim a new unit. Yup in GTI. The changed a new one for me. That new one is already close to 1 year old. Car hard to crank sometimes now.I really didnt expect 1 year life span. |
Mar 7 2019, 11:01 PM
3,076 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(Jackofree @ Jan 30 2019, 11:39 AM) last time i used century marathoner only last me about 10 months then I claimed warranty but managed to last another 10 months again then I changed car d May I know how to claim warranty on car battery?Do they give you a replacement straight away? Or they take your battery back to investigate first before they give you a replacement? |
Mar 7 2019, 11:07 PM
2 posts Joined: Oct 2004 |
Mar 7 2019, 11:38 PM
Mar 8 2019, 10:41 AM
3,165 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(P0lyStati0n @ Jan 7 2019, 11:50 PM) Stock Vios 2016 with dashcam+USB 5V 2.1A What's the purpose of press start/stop 2 times???Exactly 2 years, 50k KM Battery didn't die, but SA suggest to replace. I can feel the difference for Start/Stop engine after change battery. Now it's habit for me to press Start/Stop button 2 times, before pressing brake pedal & Start. |
Mar 8 2019, 04:53 PM
QUOTE(cucubud @ Mar 7 2019, 11:38 PM) Usually what happens is that, the battery reseller would lend to you a spare battery first, while they investigate the problem with the faulty battery that's under warranty. If it's confirmed to be faulty, they would give you a replacement and you have to return back the battery that was loaned to you. That's what happened to my neighbour battery. Keep your Battery Warranty Card in the car always. |
Mar 8 2019, 04:59 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 8 2019, 04:53 PM) Usually what happens is that, the battery reseller would lend to you a spare battery first, while they investigate the problem with the faulty battery that's under warranty. Thank you for your reply.If it's confirmed to be faulty, they would give you a replacement and you have to return back the battery that was loaned to you. That's what happened to my neighbour battery. Keep your Battery Warranty Card in the car always. At least we can still use the car. |
Mar 8 2019, 06:09 PM
![]() As promised earlier, here's picture of the side with what appears to be vent design. For whatever purpose it was designed for, cleaning it ain't no fun plus drying as well. Not only the sides with vent pattern makes cleaning harder but if you notice above the vents in the center there's a hole in the center and this hole is where liquid gets trapped in. Bad design overall. |
Mar 8 2019, 10:44 PM
107 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 8 2019, 06:09 PM) ![]() As promised earlier, here's picture of the side with what appears to be vent design. For whatever purpose it was designed for, cleaning it ain't no fun plus drying as well. Not only the sides with vent pattern makes cleaning harder but if you notice above the vents in the center there's a hole in the center and this hole is where liquid gets trapped in. Bad design overall. If you have battery charger at home maybe can rescue this battery probably suffering from sulfation. |
Mar 9 2019, 06:19 AM
QUOTE(Ciypher @ Mar 8 2019, 10:44 PM) Did you cover that vent hole when washing/cleaning the battery? Hopefully you did not put water inside that hole. If you are not claiming warranty can try to pry out the whole vent hole cover. I hope that's not the real vent hole but it's adjoining to the battery's handle. If it was a real vent hole that would be a complete disaster. If you have battery charger at home maybe can rescue this battery probably suffering from sulfation. Anyway I haven't decided if I want to recharge this battery back to life cause if I did what am I supposed to do with it ? Besides there were gunk all around this unit, putting this battery into service would be just asking for trouble. Will see how it goes or I might just end up tearing it apart to collect data. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Mar 9 2019, 06:20 AM |
Mar 9 2019, 07:53 AM
5,750 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
guys. Amaron split up with power Zone, the whokle orange color battery. is it reliable? Currently on marathoner. get a preety bad feedback but I am using it ok. But I think I will get it change when it hit th warranty period.
Mar 9 2019, 09:36 AM
3,165 posts Joined: Feb 2015 |
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Jan 30 2019, 09:56 AM) You must be one of the first Amaron user I guess. I am very curious. Why u have so much interest in batteries? Lol. Hobby or what? For me, I dun even know what battery brand I am using! Usually they last 1 to 2 years only. I treat it as about rm300 expense every 2 years.. why bother with all those diagnostics .. just change new one.. not that expensive really Once I get my battery Analyzer & battery Charger instead of checking out testimonials only, I am going to start conducting various tests throughout my community and their batteries. That should give me a better analysis of what's good & what's crap. I believe as customers when we purchase better built quality items, manufacturers with good practices will remain in the industry and weed out bad practices. However when customers starts selecting for the cheapest on the shelf, it signals to the manufacturers that quality is NOT priority, hence the market will be flooded with all kinds of crap and manufacturers with good practices will find it hard to compete. |
Mar 9 2019, 10:14 AM
107 posts Joined: Jun 2018 |
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Mar 9 2019, 06:19 AM) I hope that's not the real vent hole but it's adjoining to the battery's handle. If it was a real vent hole that would be a complete disaster. I might be wrong but most likely it is. Anyway no harm to revive the battery and keep at home. For me I personally use it to test my bulbs bought online, test my tyre pump motor or to jump start(at home) if you don't have a jump start power bank.. just to name a few uses..Anyway I haven't decided if I want to recharge this battery back to life cause if I did what am I supposed to do with it ? Besides there were gunk all around this unit, putting this battery into service would be just asking for trouble. Will see how it goes or I might just end up tearing it apart to collect data. |
Mar 9 2019, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(aspartame @ Mar 9 2019, 09:36 AM) I am very curious. Why u have so much interest in batteries? Lol. Hobby or what? For me, I dun even know what battery brand I am using! Usually they last 1 to 2 years only. I treat it as about rm300 expense every 2 years.. why bother with all those diagnostics .. just change new one.. not that expensive really I really like old cars and if the battery died that's it, I would just change it. It doesn't affect the car one bit. However with modern cars its totally different. A weak battery is sufficient to cause a complete nervous meltdown. Besides while travelling, the battery suddenly died during the journey & luckily we were near our destination. Cannot imagine if this happened while travelling in the middle of the highway !!! You can also call this Preventive Management. Since then I have been adopting various different techniques just to prolong the battery lifespan and understanding better about battery management systems. Just like any end user, what I want is quality and peace of mind plus bang for our buck on the things we buy. Nothing irks me more when the poor are scammed of their hard earned money, because businessmen sees its their right to mislead gullible end users. |
| Change to: | 0.0173sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:04 PM |