68 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

PlayStation 4™ Community Official Thread | V17, Happy New Year 2019

Convael
post Apr 11 2019, 09:14 PM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 11 2019, 10:47 AM)
hmm.gif  My friend purchased a Belkin Premium Certified HDMI 2.0 2M cable from Harvey Norman, tried on his Pro & Sony A1 OLED, still the same
tried the same cable on my Pro & Sammy NU7400, same also
faulty cable?
have to use YUV420, can't use RGB
You definitely can't do 444 for the obvious reason.

Surprisingly on all the Samsung TVs I have tested including a Q7FN from best denki , forcing RGB (not on 444 , but YUV 422 ) simply won't work , handshake happens regardless of which port I am connecting to .

Yet YUV 422 seems to work on all my LG TVs I have tried namely the SK8000 , the C7 & C8 .

Tested on a certified HDMI 2.0 I have imported from Amazon a while ago.

This post has been edited by Convael: Apr 11 2019, 09:45 PM
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 12 2019, 08:53 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Apr 11 2019, 08:42 PM)
A majority of the comparison videos , especially on youtube are invalid . Primarily because 99 % of time these people have no idea what they are talking about , including those big name with millions of subscribers .  (With the exception of the more technical channels such as CalibrateHD ,  AVS , Digital Foundry and Vincent T etc )

Why ? Because these people are no calibrator . They have no idea what an accurate, a near perfect picture should look like  . Especially when these videos are not even encoded in HDR , how do you showcase the extended dynamic range of HDR on a regular SDR youtube video ? 

Not to mention the long term exposure of overly blue-ish white from these ridiculously inaccurate and overly saturated smart phone and monitors , a lot of people don't recognize what does a simple color such as white looks anymore.

"HDR ? MEH , OVERRATED " is also a very common opinion. There is a reason behind that .

Take a look at this unfortunate color chart .

When the TV is unable to showcase a specific color shade , it will simply pick one from the nearby palette and melt it together on the picture, causing images to look too soft and washed out , color and texture details are lost in the process . In such cases you are better off sticking with SDR .
TV makers are also partially to be blamed for this . A lot of these so called HDR TVs are just TV with upgraded pixel numbers . Their limited color gamut and cheap brightness ratings , terribad color volume have severely impeded the intended HDR effects . Yet most of these TV owners , who usually don't know much about PQ will arrive at the same conclusion as you - HDR is nothing more than a myth.

For eg : Horizon zero dawn on an appropriate HDR display almost look like a different game . During the night ,  the contrast between the moon , the stars and the clouds is a sight to behold.
Compare with SDR , the sky is more than just a uniformly blackout . Shifting between very dark shades of colors expose more shadow details, the moon shines like an elusive pearl in a dark room  , you can see more texture and details around edges of the moon and clouds . The torch effects look almost 3d , as if someone has lighten up a match stick in front of your TV . It is incredible how HDR can transform a night scene which is usually monotone and muted , into such vivid scene with deep , dark shades of gray and shadow matchup.

Perhaps the situation will improve in the near future , but as of now true HDR compatible displays are still quite pricey and remains out of reach for many .
I am not posting this to insult these cheaper TVs , people have rights to reserve how much of a budget they want to spend on their AV equipment .  But I have had many friends who were in your boat and they have completely changed their opinions about HDR after I've shown them how HDR looks like on the calibrated AF9 I have gotten from Sony China a while ago .

Fun fact :  do you know 95% of the TV on market is unable to show the color - red from a simple Cola Can ? Yes all the "red " Cola cans you saw on TV are actually different than what you perceived in real life .
Great explanation, bro convael!

The last part is probably true, only the really expensive TV can show HDR correctly, hence again, until this technology got better and cheaper and trickle down to the mainstream mass market, HDR will leave a not so good impression among consumers with wildly varying degree of results.

Hmm..maybe i will replay HZD(completed long time ago) to go to night scene to look around. biggrin.gif
Hellcryer
post Apr 12 2019, 09:03 PM

149 posts

Hello guys, i want to ask , my friend have MHW R2, and i have R3 , but can i play together in the game? or he need to find R3 to meet me in game?
LegendLee
post Apr 13 2019, 01:55 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,719 posts

QUOTE(Hellcryer @ Apr 12 2019, 09:03 PM)
Hello guys, i want to ask , my friend have MHW R2, and i have R3 , but can i play together in the game? or he need to find R3 to meet me in game?
I don't think there would be any issue at all.
I bump into Japanese players all the time.
It's called MH "world" for a reason.
iguana_dude_619
post Apr 15 2019, 08:44 AM

Xbox GT, PSN & Steam ID: iguanadude626
1,141 posts

QUOTE(Hellcryer @ Apr 12 2019, 09:03 PM)
ps4 games very few are region locked by game region. so far the one i knew is PES. R2 can only meet R2 player regardless of ip location. same with PES R3
deswai when MHW R3 shortage in Jan 2018 I take a gamble & buy the R2 copy. I aint going to wait after CNY 2018 to play it. R3 used copy can be sold just as expensive new R2 copy. lol.gif
Gerald Tang
post Apr 16 2019, 03:21 PM

are paddle a big plus for overwatch?
https://my.comparee.com/blog/productdiscove...-controller-ps4
SUSskyforcerld
post Apr 16 2019, 04:53 PM

306 posts

Today on LDP highway, saw LED screen advertisement Mortal Kombat 11, got show PS4, Switch, Xbox game box at the corner with the MK character taking centrestage (i think it's Scorpion).

First time in Malaysia i see advertisement for a video game in public like this.

Malaysia ke arah kuasa dunia video game.

This post has been edited by skyforcerld: Apr 16 2019, 04:54 PM
hakimix
post Apr 17 2019, 10:25 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(iguana_dude_619 @ Apr 15 2019, 08:44 AM)
ps4 games very few are region locked by game region. so far the one i knew is PES. R2 can only meet R2 player regardless of ip location. same with PES R3
deswai when MHW R3 shortage in Jan 2018 I take a gamble & buy the R2 copy. I aint going to wait after CNY 2018 to play it. R3 used copy can be sold just as expensive new R2 copy. lol.gif
I have R2 version of PES2019 but never knew that at all due to just playing Master League. Chose that one because of the European commentaries compared to just Jon Kabira on R3. That's why it's cheaper too I guess.

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 16 2019, 04:53 PM)
Today on LDP highway, saw LED screen advertisement Mortal Kombat 11, got show PS4, Switch, Xbox game box at the corner with the MK character taking centrestage (i think it's Scorpion).

First time in Malaysia i see advertisement for a video game in public like this.

Maybe the popularity of PS4 in Malaysia? It's pretty known as FIFA/Fortnite/whateverpopulargames machine now. Would love to know the amount of sales for PS4 in Malaysia considering it is almost at the end of its lifetime now so surely it is at its peak right now.

Zeliard
post Apr 21 2019, 06:14 AM

286 posts

Anyone using maxis fibre? With the recent leaked announcement of 300mb for rm149, it is a pretty good deal. https://www.soyacincau.com/2019/04/20/maxis...00mbps-800mbps/

I'm torn between upgrading my streamyx to unifi, or cancel straight away and go for maxis.
I
SSJBen
post Apr 22 2019, 01:30 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Apr 21 2019, 06:14 AM)
Anyone using maxis fibre? With the recent leaked announcement of 300mb for rm149, it is a pretty good deal. https://www.soyacincau.com/2019/04/20/maxis...00mbps-800mbps/

I'm torn between upgrading my streamyx to unifi, or cancel straight away and go for maxis.
I
Maxis was trash and is still trash until today if you play online and latency is important to you. If you're only going to download and stream, Maxis suffices.
MC_Amig0
post Apr 22 2019, 08:04 AM

456 posts

Need your guys helps...

I want to connect my ps4 to a vpn service. I refer to internet. so it ask me to use cross over cable? what is crossover cable? is it a normal ethernet cable?

greyshadow
post Apr 22 2019, 08:53 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(MC_Amig0 @ Apr 22 2019, 08:04 AM)
Need your guys helps...

I want to connect my ps4 to a vpn service. I refer to internet. so it ask me to use cross over cable? what is crossover cable? is it a normal ethernet cable?

a "special" kind of ethernet cable, with some pairs in it swapped compared to normal cables, used for device to device connection

lemme guess, you are connecting via PC to PS4 directly?

to use VPN on PS4, it's best to get a better router that has VPN support, save you all the hassles

Zeliard
post Apr 22 2019, 10:02 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Apr 22 2019, 01:30 AM)
Maxis was trash and is still trash until today if you play online and latency is important to you. If you're only going to download and stream, Maxis suffices.
Maxis home fibre riding on TM infrastructure, but even with 300mbps is not good? Should I just upgrade to rm129 100mb unifi then?
greyshadow
post Apr 22 2019, 01:09 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Apr 22 2019, 10:02 AM)
Maxis home fibre riding on TM infrastructure, but even with 300mbps is not good? Should I just upgrade to rm129 100mb unifi then?
it's not about the infra, infra no issue, speed also no issue

it's their latency that's bad, either you will get a private IP from them or poor latency, or worst, both!
dark_heart07
post Apr 22 2019, 04:34 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Apr 22 2019, 10:02 AM)
untung la got unifi n maxis. me till now 10 years stuck with 1mb screamyx. no unifi infra plus no chance to upgrade :x
Zeliard
post Apr 23 2019, 10:49 AM

286 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 22 2019, 01:09 PM)
it's not about the infra, infra no issue, speed also no issue

it's their latency that's bad, either you will get a private IP from them or poor latency, or worst, both!
Shall I stick with unifi then?

QUOTE(dark_heart07 @ Apr 22 2019, 04:34 PM)
untung la got unifi n maxis. me till now 10 years stuck with 1mb screamyx. no unifi infra plus no chance to upgrade  :x
U no cable with gobind??
-PuPu^ZaPruD3r-
post Apr 23 2019, 04:41 PM

PS5 gamer + 4D addict
2,754 posts

QUOTE(skyforcerld @ Apr 16 2019, 04:53 PM)

Nearby Taman Megah after Kelana Jaya LRT station right? I always see it on the way home

By the way, the game is out today smile.gif
Zeliard
post May 9 2019, 06:35 AM

286 posts

I'm using a Bravia kd49x7500f, running with a hdmi 2.0 on original ps4. As per video gif my screen occasional flickers to display 1080p at the information bar. I've tried changing from Port 1234 but to no avail. Granted it doesn't affect my gameplay, but it does irritates me.
greyshadow
post May 13 2019, 01:49 PM

1,844 posts

EA Access will be coming to PS4 in July
currently it's available for Xbox & PC at USD4.99 monthly or USD29.99 yearly

But the actual price for Malaysia PSN haven't announce yet
I suspect should be around RM20 monthly

based on the EA Access site, Malaysia is not on the list, where as our little dot neighbor down south, and northern tomyam is available doh.gif

oh well, nothing much to loose for me anyway, since I'm not a fan of EA sports, and EA's recent games are kinda mediocre...

This post has been edited by greyshadow: May 13 2019, 01:54 PM
SUSdadah
post May 19 2019, 12:53 PM

161 posts

just saw some rare ps4 controllers for sale in sony klcc. Got the camo for rm180. They said all controller sale for raya month.

68 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:06 AM