Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB NVME SSD, Affordable alternative for high speed

rathishsiva
post May 2 2021, 03:40 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 2 2021, 03:15 AM)
Not sure why yours would be slower. Though I use a different Acasis branded enclosure, it has the same Intel JHL6340 controller as your Orico. I'm also using the short passive TBT3 cables that came with the enclosure.

What computer are you using?
MBA M1.

It’s a bit also puzzling because when I put it in my windows 10 desktop (on the nvme m.2 slot in the mobo), it’s blazing.
piscesguy
post May 2 2021, 07:46 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

soonwai
post May 2 2021, 01:45 PM

11,459 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ May 2 2021, 07:46 AM)
Adata also? What enclosure are you using?

This post has been edited by soonwai: May 2 2021, 01:45 PM
piscesguy
post May 2 2021, 02:29 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ May 2 2021, 01:45 PM)
Adata also? What enclosure are you using?
Adata SX8200 Pro 512GB

It is an internal SSD. smile.gif
rathishsiva
post May 8 2021, 01:43 AM

413 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by rathishsiva: May 8 2021, 01:48 AM
omg7788
post Apr 17 2022, 03:34 PM

Kampung Style Information Technology
446 posts

I am using the ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB, lately it is acting up screen just freeze & getting BSOD when i am playing games and transfer some files in the background. While doing backup sync in itunes for my phone i try to play some dota or just open dota(idle mode) and the screen just freeze and end up with BSOD. Once BSOD happens the NVME ssd will not be detected and i can't boot to windows with error msg " Reboot and Select proper boot device ". The only way to solve this is turn off the main plug for my pc and turn on again then only the pc can normaly boot into windows. I think i should do RMA before things get worst @.@

This post has been edited by omg7788: Apr 17 2022, 03:38 PM
MrSpeedy
post Jun 15 2022, 04:26 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(omg7788 @ Apr 17 2022, 03:34 PM)
I am using the ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro 1TB, lately it is acting up screen just freeze & getting BSOD when i am playing games and transfer some files in the background. While doing backup sync in itunes for my phone i try to play some dota or just open dota(idle mode) and the screen just freeze and end up with BSOD. Once BSOD happens the NVME ssd will not be detected and i can't boot to windows with error msg " Reboot and Select proper boot device ". The only way to solve this is turn off the main plug for my pc and turn on again then only the pc can normaly boot into windows. I think i should do RMA before things get worst @.@
OMG this is exactly same issue that I'm currently facing.
After 2 years using SX8200, my PC getting more frequent BSOD.
Dear sifus please help me this.

I need to replace the Adata SX8200 Pro. Unfortunately I bought the infamous swapped nand controller, and now getting frequent BSOD and sometimes bios didn't detect the drive at all.

1. My mobo is itx, and only has nvme slot at the back of it. If can get the nvme the produce less heat.

2. Gen 3.0 is fine, my mobo won't support 4.0

3. Possible bang for buck 1TB nvme (or slightly above the price range of SX8200)?

This post has been edited by MrSpeedy: Jun 15 2022, 04:53 AM
TSxxboxx
post Jun 15 2022, 09:03 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jun 15 2022, 04:26 AM)

I need to replace the Adata SX8200 Pro. Unfortunately I bought the infamous swapped nand controller, and now getting frequent BSOD and sometimes bios didn't detect the drive at all.

1. My mobo is itx, and only has nvme slot at the back of it. If can get the nvme the produce less heat.

3. Possible bang for buck 1TB nvme (or slightly above the price range of SX8200)?
The swapped nand I thought only affect the speed, doesn't know it also caused bsod. Are you sure not due to other things such as OCed RAM?

If you want to get a SSD, things to check is the warranty period, tbw limit, read and write speed. Silicon Power A80 P34 spec looks decent. Kingston KC2500 also, but not the NV1, this one the spec are just terrible.
omg7788
post Jun 20 2022, 05:28 PM

Kampung Style Information Technology
446 posts

QUOTE(MrSpeedy @ Jun 15 2022, 04:26 AM)

I am lucky coz able to clone the drive to my new nvme gen 4 drive before i sent the SX8200 pro for RMA. They replaced a new one for me but i haven't tested it out yet, you should also go for RMA since the nvme got 5 years warranty, just need to pay extra service charge about rm30-40 if the drive is after 1 year warranty. Btw mine was acting up after 3years+ of using.
Blurzschyter
post Jan 4 2023, 05:06 AM

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jan 26 2021, 03:56 PM)
I think you're right on the dot. Mac reports "Current Link Width: 0x2" Looks like only 2 lanes being used. I have another enclosure coming in with the JHL7440 controller. Will test that one later. The enclosure I tested with is a JHL6340. Might also borrow a different brand of SSD, maybe something with a Phison or Samsung controller, to test out.

Do you use any external Thunderbolt SSDs?

Mac System Info
Thunderbolt Bus 1:
  Vendor Name: Apple Inc.
  Device Name: Mac mini
  Port:
  Link Status: 0x0
  Speed: Up to 40Gb/s x1
  Current Link Width: 0x2
  Receptacle: 1

Ash Creek:
  Vendor Name: Intel
  Device Name: Ash Creek
  Vendor ID: 0x8086
  Device ID: 0x2
  Device Revision: 0x1
  Route String: 1
  Firmware Version: 41.1
  Port (Upstream):
  Link Status: 0x2
  Speed: Up to 40Gb/s x1
  Current Link Width: 0x2
  Link Controller Firmware Version: 0.39.0
Have u tried the same adata nvme ssd with other enclosure? Does the speed test have the same result? Perhaps you can share the speed test result of the Acasis Thunderbolt 3 40Gbps external enclosure with other ssd nvme brand if u can.

I thinking of buying this acasis tb3 enclosure (model: fa-tb34), but not sure if it worth or not. I'm currently using mbp 16 m1 pro.
TSxxboxx
post Jan 10 2023, 03:52 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(Blurzschyter @ Jan 4 2023, 05:06 AM)
Have u tried the same adata nvme ssd with other enclosure? Does the speed test have the same result? Perhaps you can share the speed test result of the Acasis Thunderbolt 3 40Gbps external enclosure with other ssd nvme brand if u can.

I thinking of buying this acasis tb3 enclosure (model: fa-tb34), but not sure if it worth or not. I'm currently using mbp 16 m1 pro.
You need it to run 40Gbps constantly? NVME SSD max write speed is achieved by writing to the cache, once the cache filled up then it will only write at the actual SSD capability, some is only 500MBps. sweat.gif

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0261sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:03 PM