Salary 8k will be potong 1.2k to pay PTPTN Chat
otakotak
Dec 5 2018, 11:32 PM

QUOTE(adrixxx @ Dec 5 2018, 11:23 PM) is the 10% discount still available if you settle half? yes until dec 2018. i suggest just settle full using epf. with current economic state, that money u keep in epf not gonna grow more that what you will save from 20% discount #dothemath #ymmv anyway all just chill first la. sure got u-turn punya This post has been edited by otakotak: Dec 5 2018, 11:33 PM
suikod3n
Dec 5 2018, 11:35 PM
Budgeted every months nicely along with PTPTN repayment, followed it for past years. Then PH took over and guaranteed all the sweet promise. This their stupid enforcement? Screwing all the rotten apples along with good apples? Truly disappointed. Btw, since its auto deducted. What happens if switch over to other country for work? for example SG?
ganz
Dec 5 2018, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Dec 5 2018, 11:31 PM) Guys, can one of you enlighten me, in your loan agreement documents, does the agreement allow the lender to change the repayment terms? yes... the very front page PTPTN berhak mengubah cara bayaran balik dengan memberi notis bertulis kepada tuan/puan. clause 4 also written walau apa pun peruntukan didalam surat ini, pihak PTPTN berhak meminda syarat-syarat dan terma-terma yang ditetapkan pada bila bila masa berdasarkan keperluan tertentu.... This post has been edited by ganz: Dec 5 2018, 11:39 PM
limeuu
Dec 5 2018, 11:36 PM
the australian automatic repayment system is also based on income level....and varies from 4-8%....
perhaps 15% is too high....cap it at 10%....of introduce additional tiers between 10-15%....so the 15% level only apply on say, incomes beyond 15k....
EternalC
Dec 5 2018, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 5 2018, 11:24 PM) of course it will....it's perfectly legit.... just the same as asking your employer to pay you 19% epf....perfectly ligit, and allowed under income tax laws.... why would they let you get off a tax payment just by reclassifying a certain amount of expenses? what they get to lose by doing that : 1. employee's tax 2. employer's tax the 19% epf is different case. that is on top of the 12/13% of the compulsory rate. employer paying 19% is giving the gov extra revenue, not collecting back borrowed money. i call it revenue because that money cannot be touched (mostly) until you retire. correct me if i'm wrong tho. maybe there's a tax relief already in place for employer who want to help settle student's loan? lololol
dotadellpro
Dec 5 2018, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(art6969 @ Dec 5 2018, 11:13 PM) salary - 8k home loan - 2k honda cibic - 1.5k credit card - 1k personal loan -2k utilities, makan, shopping - 1.5k kena tolak 1.2k ptptn mau adjust dekat mana, kena jual honda cibic laaa Salary 8k. Total belanja also 8k. First thing, you no EPF deduction? Plus you also dont allocated money to pay tax at the end of the year? Also no allocated money for PTPTN deduction also. Nampak sangat ko tipu la.
EternalC
Dec 5 2018, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(dotadellpro @ Dec 5 2018, 11:37 PM) Salary 8k. Total belanja also 8k. First thing, you no EPF deduction? Plus you also dont allocated money to pay tax at the end of the year? Also no allocated money for PTPTN deduction also. Nampak sangat ko tipu la. bersangka baik, dia bagi contoh situasi cia cia cia cia
+3kk!
Dec 5 2018, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(tarbana90 @ Dec 5 2018, 11:19 PM) The issue here is ptptn offered 1% interest and 20yr repayment to entice students to take up the loan and many did took the loans at the agreed conditions. Whether they default the loan or not is another problem. But ptptn made this offer and if it were a different offer, many wouldnt have taken the loan or many would have planned their finances according to the newly discussed repayment format. But for ph to now revamp the format suddenly is disrupting alot of the financial planning the borrowers had in place. Definitely a bad and poor move. They should implement this new scheme to fresh loans only. no one lieks such things, but it has to be done even if you put it on new loans people will argue to death how previously, its done differently but what strikes me odd is, folks are often willing to jump to the countries saviour when it comes to voting or talking on line, but when it comes to actually forking out the cash or service. "WHY NOT THE OTHER GUY DO IT FIRST" seen this soo many times, not evne ptptn its silly
zer0hour
Dec 5 2018, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(ganz @ Dec 5 2018, 11:35 PM) yes... the very front page PTPTN berhak mengubah cara bayaran balik dengan memberi notis bertulis kepada tuan/puan. clause 4 also written walau apa pun peruntukan didalam surat ini, pihak PTPTN berhak meminda syarat-syarat dan terma-terma yang ditetapkan pada bila bila masa berdasarkan keperluan tertentu.... Thanks bro for the clarification. And ouch that's harsh, so what they're doing is perfectly legal, the borrowers agreed to it.
limeuu
Dec 5 2018, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(EternalC @ Dec 5 2018, 11:36 PM) why would they let you get off a tax payment just by reclassifying a certain amount of expenses? what they get to lose by doing that : 1. employee's tax 2. employer's tax the 19% epf is different case. that is on top of the 12/13% of the compulsory rate. employer paying 19% is giving the gov extra revenue, not collecting back borrowed money. i call it revenue because that money cannot be touched (mostly) until you retire. correct me if i'm wrong tho. maybe there's a tax relief already in place for employer who want to help settle student's loan? lololol part of the proposal is to allow employers tax relief if they help pay employee's ptptn loan.... by agreeing to do so (and by agreeing to pay 19% epf), is tax neutral for company....but it's beneficial for employees....there are some companies paying above the statutory 12% epf, as part of their standard employment package to attract workers....just need to calculate officially salary accordingly....
vassilius
Dec 5 2018, 11:45 PM
this is an extreme measure taken. most ppl have commitment on their hand, how can you simply increase the monthly payment by few folds?! we pay based on original contract scheduled payment, we are at NO WRONG. forking out extra 700-800/month is no small amount. ptptn can simply change the term, but can we change the term that we had with other banks?
this is ridiculous to say the least. if this wan saiful said this new approach to be implemented within 1 year time, then it's fair as everyone get the heads up and able to plan ahead... now he is telling us next month terus start!
i'm pretty sure there's gonna be huge uproar in the next few days. i'm willing to pay up, no issue on this, but not like this... seriously.
ganz
Dec 5 2018, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Dec 5 2018, 11:42 PM) Thanks bro for the clarification. And ouch that's harsh, so what they're doing is perfectly legal, the borrowers agreed to it. legally yes...nothing much you can do..Clause 2 specifically written "sekiranya tuan/puan bersetuju menerima tawaran ini.." it an offer.. nobody force you
tenable
Dec 5 2018, 11:46 PM

Well its in their T&C so they can change whatever and whenever they want regarding on the payment...
ganz
Dec 5 2018, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(tenable @ Dec 5 2018, 11:46 PM) Well its in their T&C so they can change whatever and whenever they want regarding on the payment... PTPTN is not under Bank negara purview.. we cant report any injustice to them as well...
zer0hour
Dec 5 2018, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(ganz @ Dec 5 2018, 11:46 PM) legally yes...nothing much you can do..Clause 2 specifically written "sekiranya tuan/puan bersetuju menerima tawaran ini.." it an offer.. nobody force you Yup it's a contract between 2 consenting parties, nothing can be done. I would say it's crazy to sign a contract like that, but I understand sometimes money for education can be desperate..
limeuu
Dec 5 2018, 11:51 PM
if the previous gov had set up the repayment system properly, we will not be facing this problem now...
i am sorry to sound like nobita, but unfortunately, this is the truth....
ganz
Dec 5 2018, 11:52 PM
QUOTE(zer0hour @ Dec 5 2018, 11:50 PM) Yup it's a contract between 2 consenting parties, nothing can be done. I would say it's crazy to sign a contract like that, but I understand sometimes money for education can be desperate.. i try to check my housing loan agreement after this if there is clause like this..hehehe who know.. this might be precedence to other loan agreement .. but bank love people to have long tenure with them.. the longer u pay.. the more interest u get
ganz
Dec 5 2018, 11:53 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 5 2018, 11:51 PM) if the previous gov had set up the repayment system properly, we will not be facing this problem now... i am sorry to sound like nobita, but unfortunately, this is the truth.... it should be enforce to newly sign agreement and defaulter..
maxpudding
Dec 5 2018, 11:53 PM

Lol im just here enjoying the drama
dotadellpro
Dec 5 2018, 11:54 PM

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 5 2018, 11:51 PM) if the previous gov had set up the repayment system properly, we will not be facing this problem now... i am sorry to sound like nobita, but unfortunately, this is the truth.... While I dont disagree with you, current government should start slow/low Maybe start with 8% for 8k income. After a few years, 10% for 8k income. After a few more years, 12% Etc.