6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 02:10 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 10:02 AM)
Nope. Don't think so. You need Asus router for that, as Asus QOS is really good in doing that.
My GT-AC5300 is otw from local courier soon. Just wondering the speed allocation, is it possible to apply to guest wifi as well? Mind to tell under which section can I set the speed limit to the guest wifi? If on the guest wifi, can we select which band to on only? Like either 2.4Ghz or 5GHz, or both...

Just don't want my bandwidth divided too much to guest when they connect to my wifi~
cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 06:29 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 02:59 PM)
Yes, it is possible to allocate to guest WiFi as well. Should be under Adaptive QOS or guest WiFi settings. Just explore and you will figure it out. You can set everything yourself and if you are not sure, read the manual. Should be very straightforward.

No equipment choice usually, and you will get the DIR-842 for recent new installations. They will give you a gigabit BTU most probably. I suggest getting your own third-party router if you want to use another DNS and do your own settings.
I bought my new router from China during 11.11 sales. Not sure whether they provide user manual inside the box or not. But I already downloaded the english version on from Asus website. Will go through it and see...

As for the DIR-842, are you saying that we totally cannot change the DNS setting inside the router at all? I'm using the TP Link C1200 V1 provided by TM, and still able to change the DNS setting inside the router setting~
cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 06:40 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 20 2018, 06:31 PM)
I've the TM provided DIR-842 and i could change the dns to Google's 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 just fine.
Is your DIR-842 SSID able to change? Or there is always a @unifi in your SSID?

When did you get your DIR-842 from TM? I also feel strange why TM wanna restrict this setting from their router? Isn't this against the user freedom...?

cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 09:11 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 06:43 PM)
You can, but you will still be using the Google DNS AND the TM DNS at the same time. At least, that is what I drr from previous feedback of other forumers who are using that.
Any pro & con by using Google DNS and TM DNS at the same time? The reason we opt for Google DNS is to bypass restricted sites, so if 2 DNS running together, can those restricted sites still able to access?

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Nov 20 2018, 06:48 PM)
Seems like it. I never get affected by the routing issues and DNS response times have been snappy since the time i changed them, so I think it is using the Google DNS.

[attachmentid=10115448]
All restricted sites accessible with this setting?

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 07:06 PM)
Ah, but you are still using TM DNS along with Google DNS, and the worse thing is the TR-069, which I can see in the picture, is activated in your router, which is forcing your router to use the TM DNS as well.
The TR-069 is meant for remotely access to our router by Unifi right? For troubleshooting purposes only?
cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 09:19 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 20 2018, 08:26 PM)
Like SV say you might want to play around with this emulator while waiting your new router icon_idea.gif
http://demoui.asus.com
Hey, this is good... Never thought Asus will provide such demoUI...

How did you found it anyway?

But I think the RT and GT will have a slightly different UI, thus those setting might not be at the same tab. But I think is not a big issue, just need to familiarize it~
cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 09:40 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 20 2018, 09:27 PM)
Theoretically, you can but I just don't like TM knowing where we go and what we are doing, by looking at our DNS requests. They can do whatever they want with TR-069 lol.
Thinking of bargain with TM to upgrade my parent Unifi VIP 10 to Unifi Lite 100 and getting the BTU & router replace with new one.

My parent are paying RM 149 + 6% ST for VIP 10, thought wanna wait until TM announce 30MB/50MB(which entitled for turbo upgrade) unlimited plan, then only proceed. But I guess my parent won't need that kind of speed for their light usage and IPTV service only...

Lets see how TM respond to it...
cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 09:45 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 20 2018, 09:21 PM)
Someone posted a youtube video here about how easily the DIR-615 can be remotely accessible due to some security loophole...

So if TM is applying the TR-069 into their bundled routers, doesn't this actually similar with the DIR-615 scenario? Only different is not everyone can easily access our router, beside TM technicians...

cskean
post Nov 20 2018, 11:52 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 20 2018, 10:40 PM)
I just type asus router emulator in google lol sweat.gif  :sweat look amost same to me except new ui design
Edit wrong image lol ;-;
Mind to share the link for this GT-AC5300 emulator? Tried to google buy only found RT-AC5300 one~

cskean
post Nov 21 2018, 12:15 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 21 2018, 12:06 AM)
U can also utilize tr069 to manage your own router when u r away from home. Guess what, u provide convenience to yourself, u also provide convenience to others at the same time.

Like u hide a spare key somewhere outside your house, u make yourself vulnerable at the same time.
Router owner can also access their DIR-842 remotely? By using the TR-069 ip address? Or there is an app or website to do so?

cskean
post Nov 21 2018, 12:30 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 21 2018, 12:24 AM)
Technically, yes. Depends on manufacturer if they want to gove u this feature. Shud they give u remote access, they would pave the road for you, let u create an online account specifically to sync with your router, somewhat like tplink cloud.

U dont have to open up command prompt and telnet or ssh like a hacker, haha
So for the DIR-842, which method we are using to remotely access to it?

It would be convenient if it comes with such option, as I don't need to go back to my parent house to troubleshoot for them...
cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 04:56 PM

2,551 posts

Hmm, a bit strange here.

Previously I tried speedtest with CAT 6 LAN connection with my TP Link AC1200, I was able to achieved 780+-Mbps DL and over 200Mbps UL...

Today I went to cut the same cable into few shorter one, and test it again. The max I could get is about 570~650Mbps DL only. UL wise not much difference...

Is there anything to do with the connector quality or other issue here?

Microcode issue solved. Using i5-3210M, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SSD, Unifi 800MB~
cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 05:49 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 22 2018, 05:25 PM)
Did you messed up the crimping? laugh.gif

AC1200 is not a good router for 800Mbps. The speed may be limited when you have more devices going on.
Crimping is refer to the LAN cable connector reconnecting right? I'm not sure about that, as I went to computer shop and ask them to do for me. I triple confirm with them those connector are standard across CAT 5E, CAT 6... And they say yes...

I came home and test those cables, am able to connect to internet. Just that the speed test result is slower as compare to before.

The speed test I mentioned previously, is based on LAN connection. I know the C1200 isn't capable of 800MB wifi, but for LAN connection, I think should be able right? Since it is a gigabit port...

I'm now setting up my GT-AC5300, hopefully will have a flying result...

cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 05:54 PM

2,551 posts

Btw, just to confirm my cables are connected to the right port...

I'm using a Huawei HG8240H BTU, so I connect the CAT 6 LAN cable from its LAN1, then connect it to the WAN port at my router right?

cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 06:12 PM

2,551 posts

Just check on my CAT 6 cable, it printed there "DINTEK UTP Cat.6 STRANDED-24AWG*4P-CM ANSI/TIA-568-C.2 ETL VERIFIED ISO/IEC 11801 & EN50173"

Bought this cable at LYP Viewnet, around 25ft for RM70~75. That time didn't have much awareness of the brand, and quality. Only told the staff I want Cat 6 cable and the length.

Anyone can tell whether this cable is reliable? Otherwise I should proceed with the UGreen cable as most of the forummer recommended this brand.

Is UGreen a SOLID or STRANDED type of cable? So the flat type of cable is more reliable than those round one?

If SOLID cable provide better quality connection, beside UGreen, which brand is recommended and the price of it?

I saw a brand name Vention from shopee, looks good, but dunno reliable or not...

So sifus please share some knowledge with me here~

TQVM~
cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 07:17 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 22 2018, 06:34 PM)
Dintek is reliable. But, get Ugreen to test your connection and see if it makes a difference
QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 22 2018, 06:35 PM)
Maybe he really need flat ethernet cable?
Oh, don't get me wrong. Whether is flat or rounded LAN cable, doesn't make any difference to me. My concern is the quality, reliability and performance that the cable is capable of...

So for Cat 6 and Cat 7 cable, is there huge increment in term of speed?

Just feel strange that the Dintek perform differently after being shorten into 1m length cable... Kinda felt wasted RM 6 for each 1m cable...

cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 10:29 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 22 2018, 10:01 PM)
DINTEK is rather well known in manufacturing Ethernet cable. Many people use it on mass deployment. smile.gif

The shop probably messed up the crimping.

CAT5E and CAT6 use different RJ45 and crimped very differently .
I tried to compare the newly crimped connector with the existing one, but unfortunately I can't see it clearly as the existing one is covered up too much...

Would you mind to show some link or youtube videos for the correct way to crimp a Cat 6 cable?

cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 10:53 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 22 2018, 10:35 PM)
I have tested with a 20m ugreen cat7 flat cable and can get 800Mbps++ on my laptop

they also have the rounded type, more expensive than the flat one.. I have tested that 1 as well, but only the 2m length. Full speed of course as expected.
Wanna order the flat type Cat7 cables from shopee Ugreen Flagship Store, waiting for the seller to reply whether is it ready stock or need to ship from oversea~

cskean
post Nov 22 2018, 11:01 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Nov 22 2018, 10:01 PM)
DINTEK is rather well known in manufacturing Ethernet cable. Many people use it on mass deployment. smile.gif

The shop probably messed up the crimping.

CAT5E and CAT6 use different RJ45 and crimped very differently .
QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 22 2018, 10:39 PM)
Dintek is a good brand. The shop might have crimped it incorrectly. Don't blame the brand. No increment and difference between Cat 6 and Cat 7.
Frankly speaking, prior to the Unifi Turbo, I have very minimum knowledge about networking. Only after I start to persue for my turbo and following closely with this thread since v35, I started to gain more knowledge...

I will attached the photos of my Cat 6 cable for reference, so that it is easy to see whether is tye crimping issue, or other thing else...

The left connector was done by the LYP seller, which I originally bought the cable from. And the right one was done by the computer shop I visited today.

Hopefully from here, sifus can tell whether my money was wasted on the crimping, or something else cause the slower speed from the same cable...
cskean
post Nov 23 2018, 01:10 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 22 2018, 06:10 PM)
try test speed via LAN between two pc using iperf instead on speedtest.net

Finally I sort out how to speedtest using iperf3....

Here are some specs info for both of my laptop...

1. Asus

i5-3210M, 8GB DDR3, 250GB SATA SSD, Win10 64bit

2. MSI

i7-8750H, 16GB DDR4, 250GB NVME SSD, Win10 64bit

BTU : Huawei HG8420H
Router : Asus GT-AC5300
Cable : Dintek Cat 6 all round

As you can see from Pic A, if using Asus as the Sender, it seems like the ipref3 speedtest couldn't achieve the maximum speed. If from Pic B, when MSI become the Sender, speed seems to be ok. In this situation, I believe the culprit is my Asus laptop is limiting my unifi speed. But I have follow John Lai instruction to rectify the microcode issue. So I thought suppose to be ok... Anyway, I open up for recommendations and comments. Hopefully fellow sifus here can shred some lights on me....

I actually just receive my new laptop, and haven't go time to set it up since I think is better to setup my GT-AC5300 1st. So I can enjoy the max speed when I update the new laptop. And since I'm performing the iperf3 speedtest method, I also run a web based speedtest.net for my new MSI laptop, using LAN connection. And to my surprise, the DL speed can achieve up to 800Mbps (+- 2~3%). But the UL speed was horrible, it was LESS than 1Mbps. I tried with few servers like TM, INnet, but still the same...

The MSI laptop is just open box condition, not a single update has been perform yet. So any idea how come the UL speed will be so low???

This post has been edited by cskean: Nov 23 2018, 02:14 AM
cskean
post Nov 23 2018, 02:04 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 23 2018, 01:36 AM)
.....except you haven't tell me if your 3210M has overheating issue........🤨

So sorry that I forgotten to reply your msg. Here are the screenshot of some of my speedtest with web based & window app. I'm not very sure how to read the ready. Which is why I take a screenshot and for you to see whether there is any overheating issue or not.

But I notice 1 thing, whenever I perform a speedtest over the web, the speed will always lower than the speedtest from window app. Both the DL and UL speed will some how slower than the window app speedtest. Is this normal?

I also notice that if I perform a speedtest over the web, my CPU utilization will become high till 100% for the DL speed, but when it comes to UL, it becomes normal back (ard 30-50%).... Again, is this normal? Or still affected by the microcode issue?

Btw, any idea how come my new laptop(i7-8750H) is having such slow UL speed?

All the test are run with Asus GT-AC5300, LAN cable connection~

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.2636sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:01 PM