6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 11:04 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 13 2018, 10:11 PM)
Can’t remember, but I can try logging into some users’ DIR-615 router and let you know  laugh.gif

Seriously though, it is somewhere in the settings. I honestly can’t remember now.

Not really Unifi problem. This is more like general Internet safety procedures.
Wow, you can remotely logging into some one router???

I'm getting a Asus GT-AC5300 soon, is there any where I can learn how to set it up to get most of the "general Internet safety" to protect my unifi usage?
cskean
post Nov 13 2018, 11:21 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 13 2018, 11:11 PM)
Yes, by using the ASUS DDNS available in ASUS routers
Gosh, totally no idea what is Asus DDNS...

But wait, any brand router can log into different brand router remotely? Even not wired/wireless connected to that particular router????

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 13 2018, 11:16 PM)
Yes, if they are using an old router, and have default credentials, and even if they don’t have default credentials, but is using no old router, it is doable. See here: https://routersecurity.org/checklist.php
Well, so this is how someone manage to hack others wifi? Can we actually change the default ip for router login page? Like from 196.192.0.1 and so on to any address i prefer???
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 01:37 AM

2,551 posts

Just install the TP Link AC1900 T9UH adapter, pair with TP Link C1200.

Web :-

2.4Ghz : 98Mbps down, 104Mbps up
5Ghz : 276Mbps down, 136Mbps up

Window App :-

2.4Ghz : 80Mbps down, 105Mbps up
5Ghz : 258Mbps down, 212Mbps up

Using my laptop with i5-3210M, 8gb DDR3, Unifi 800MB

Hopefully will gain higher speed with my GT-AC5300~

cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 07:35 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(iamoracle @ Nov 14 2018, 09:46 AM)
Someone could have accidentally pressed on the Reset button thinking it is the Power button.  biggrin.gif
I think this possibilities is close to non, as my parent will not even touch the router at all. At least not to my knowledge because every time if there is anything wrong to the internet, they will inform me...

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 14 2018, 05:33 PM)
Oh yeah i just remember Dlink-D615 have a remote access  which  is turned on by TM, Someone might exploit the remote access thing on your parent router then steal PPPoE infomation and reset router? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Look at this website and video for demoHow I hacked 4 Unifi accounts in under 5 minutes BY Keith Rozario creator of Sayakenahack.com

OMFG....

Is this hack apply to all router supplied by TM? Or all router out there are exploited, regardless of brand & model???

cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 07:41 PM

2,551 posts

Guys, how do I know whether my downloading speed is being throttled by unifi or not?

Unifi : 800MB
Router : TM TP Link C1200
Adapter : TP Link AC1900 T9UH
Laptop : i5-3210M, 8GB DDR3, 250GB Samsung Evo SSD

5GHz web speedtest : 280mbps down, 170mbps up.

Downloading a movie size around 800mb using IDM, speed average 9++ KB/sec ~ 1.2 MB/sec. If this is not the right speed, what is the best speed I should be getting with my current setup? I'm asking this because I hope to see great improvement when I switch my current router to Asus GT-AC5300...

I'm not quite sure is this the right speed I'm suppose to get out from my current setup. Highly appreciate sifus here and shred some lights on me~

TQVM...

This post has been edited by cskean: Nov 14 2018, 07:45 PM
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 07:43 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 14 2018, 07:36 PM)
Told him about this already lol. It is one of the most easily hackable routers out there.
Well, never thought of this. All the while I thought as long as one couldn't tag into the network, they won't be able to access to the router login page at all...

Prove that I was too naive...

So is this hack only applicable to all stock TM supplied router? Even the current TP Link C1200 and Dlink Dir842? Or all router in the market are facing the same risk?
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 08:03 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 14 2018, 07:51 PM)
Your router is just not suitable for 800Mbps on wireless. That is all. Test again with your new Asus router and see if there are any difference.

Nope. Only that old router. Thereotically, all routers can be hacked, but the DIR-615L is especially vulnerable.
Yup, I'm aware of my current router limit. Just that I'm not sure whether did TM throttle my speed because I'm not sure the speed I'm getting is matching with my current setup. Or do you have any file that I can download to test out my download speed by using IDM?

Also, what is the max download speed I can get from this setup, assuming wifi connection is strong between router & adapter...

At 1st I thought of changing the router login page IP and change the default password will deter from being hack. What else I should take note of to lower down the % of being hack...

cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 08:07 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 08:04 PM)
Hmm? Have you set C1200 5ghz channel width to 80Mhz only?
Yes I did, just reconfirm this by logging into the router again to reassure~ tongue.gif

Any clue what is the best speed I should get from this my setup?

cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 08:32 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 08:11 PM)
You sure?  hmm.gif I am somehow skeptical because the speedtest kinda weird. What is the wifi link speed? (don't confuse this)
Next would be enabling 5ghz beamforming....which only available on EU firmware....

Other than that, nothing much you can do for wireless performance.

As for your downloading......are you seriously torrenting on IDM?  doh.gif
Then what is the expected speedtest for such setup?

I'm sorry, but how/where can I know the "wifi link speed"

Enabling 5GHz beamforming, this is to be done on the router or my wifi adapter?

My C1200 V1 firmware is 1.0.0 Build 20180403 rel.22124 (EU)

And my T9UH V2 is using Archer T9UH(US)_V2_180319_Win, published 2018-03-27 (how do I check the driver version directly from my laptop? I got this from the website)

Is download movie considering torrenting? I've been using IDM cause it can resume downloads... Not really started to torrent yet....
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 08:54 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Nov 14 2018, 08:39 PM)
Best condition = you can get 480Mbps via 5Ghz wifi

Wifi link speed also don't know  doh.gif  = https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/75371-s...ndows-10-a.html

Your C1200 is using Malaysia firmware = give up on beamforming. Beamforming only available with EU region firmware. Your adapter supports beamforming by default. Your c1200 router.....sigh...

Nothing wrong with your T9UH, just orient the antenna correctly.

-.- You don't even know how you download the movie? DDL or BT? Even DDL server also can resume if server supports it.
Pardon me pls as I'm a light internet user all the while...

All the while I only know how to download movies from website, whereby when u watch it online, there will be a "small green colour triangle" by IDM, I click on it and download from there...

I know, there are better ways, but I didn't bother to learn previously... But now I'm picking up, hope sifus here can share & guide me.... tongue.gif

Alright, I know Unifi isn't providing quality router to their users, which is why I got mine during the 11.11 sales. While waiting for it to arrive, need to enhance my knowledge a bit so that I won't mess up when setting up my next router...

From your link, Option One : 867Mbps. Option Five : 54/867(Receive/Transmit).

Is reading from Option Five normal? Or should get higher reading on the Receive side?

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 14 2018, 08:39 PM)
sifus have spoken but i will tell u what i get.

tplink 1200, dir842, asus 1300uhp... all about the same, assuming firmware is uptodate.

yr adaptor isn't too shabby but i m not sure; i use asus ac55.

on 5ghz, yr results are fine but IDM 1.2MBps - that's poor.

why not do utorrent direct and see how?

5ghz, 50 ft, i get similar results like yours with speedtest but i get torrent up to 20MBps.

ethernet, u can get up to 32MBps.
The distance between my router and adapter is about 8ft+-, nothing much blocking between both of it. Will try it out once I clear up my laptop unused data. Too much files hanging around...
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 08:57 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 14 2018, 08:54 PM)
Don't worry too much of getting hacked. Get the new router and test your speed then. You probably have a very low probability of being hacked, so I wouldn't worry too much.
Touch wood, but I would like to prevent rather than sorry~ Who knows one day I might be multi-million or even billion net worth of personnel... tongue.gif tongue.gif
cskean
post Nov 14 2018, 10:48 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Nov 14 2018, 09:13 PM)
And still using C1200 that time? shakehead.gif
New router otw from China... Right now still hang on with the C1200 1st~

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 14 2018, 09:15 PM)
And still managing/not know how managing your own home internet connection? Lol
Hahaha, if~

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Nov 14 2018, 09:27 PM)
Why would a multi-millionaire bother with peasant stuff like managing home internet connection??  confused.gif
IF~ tongue.gif

QUOTE(dickybird @ Nov 14 2018, 10:04 PM)
lol ask him. lol @cskean
I'm those type that want to know what is going on with my own stuff, no need 100% master, but at least understand the basic will do... Cukup cari makan then thumbup.gif
cskean
post Nov 15 2018, 09:07 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Nov 15 2018, 04:38 PM)
anyone here on RYE - 100Mbps plan got upgraded to 800Mbps ?

I got the BS excuse from TM stating that due to my plan is RYE, hence only can upgrade to 500Mbps
I got 800MB turbo from RYE100...

But it didn't come easily cause need to gone through all the hassle and waiting for almost 2 months...

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Nov 15 2018, 06:00 PM)
thanks rizvanrp

Nice, mind to share what router you using? Is it LAN or Wifi connection?
cskean
post Nov 15 2018, 11:04 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(excaliburcombo @ Nov 15 2018, 11:02 PM)
My plan also 800mbps and still with router dir850-l provided by TM. Lan manage to get consistant 800mbps and wifi 180-200ish. Btw im considering to upgrade router so manage to borrow my colleague Archer 3150 V2.1 to try first. On wifi manage to get 350-400ish mbps. Lan also consistant 800mbps. Would like to know is it expected speed for Archer 3150 V2.1? Thanks.
On the 3150 wifi part, your speed is with 2.4Ghz or 5GHz? And what are the devices you tested with wifi?

cskean
post Nov 15 2018, 11:10 PM

2,551 posts

SilentVampire

Can I know what devices can achieve max speed out of 800MB via 5GHz, if using GT-AC5300 router?

cskean
post Nov 16 2018, 03:23 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 16 2018, 09:06 AM)
Only laptops with 4x4 MIMO NIC. Impossible to get 800Mbps on mobile phones.
Oh, which wifi card support 4x4 MIMO? My upcoming laptop with Intel AC-9260 only can support 2x2 MIMU only~
cskean
post Nov 16 2018, 03:34 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(SilentVampire @ Nov 16 2018, 03:30 PM)
You have to get your own and so far, it is the Asus PCE-88 which is the only one that supports 4x4 MIMO on desktop PC, and nothing for laptop.
Ya, thats what I'm aware of... Thought something new for laptop coming up so fast...
cskean
post Nov 17 2018, 09:54 AM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(Mini Nici @ Nov 17 2018, 09:46 AM)
Switched from VIP10 to 30mbps unlimited with Unifi TV ruby pack for MYR119 per month. Being told that my condo are all copper wire and could not go for higher speed. I saw Time offering 100mbps for MYR99 monthly and it’s available in my area. How could it be possible if the backbone is still copper wire?
Just like my colleague, paying RM179 for 50MB on unifi all the while, and recently his condo got TIME when he saw them promoting outside of his guardhouse. Immediately subscribe to the 100MB @ RM99 and bye bye unifi for him...

I really wish that TIME will seriously consider to expand their infra to landed properties in the near future...

cskean
post Nov 17 2018, 02:16 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 17 2018, 11:50 AM)
The thing is they should just have adjusted such prices for users. Like those who get RM189 to RM129 to 50M and RM179 to RM119 for 30M reductions. Instead, they keep quiet until the user goes and requests for it. Just because they do this and want to collect higher fees from user, some users will switch to other providers if possible and they lose those users instead.

Although we here are sharing such info and thus know abut such things, there must be many users out there not on this forum or others who don't know about it. These users  keep paying the higher prices. Hopefully we all can share with other users out there so they do not keep paying higher prices.
This is why a lot of people mad about it when they found out there are so many pricing for the same speed. Isn't this consider as illegal for not standardize the price / keeping users in dark in business point of view?

Anyone know any company practicing such thing like TM did? As far as I know there isn't any, but who knows...

QUOTE(Omgf @ Nov 17 2018, 12:11 PM)
Guys, need opinion, paying 179 for 50mpbs right now since the day GObind ask telco to reduce price.
called to CS and product line, all taichi taichi says cannot lower the bill despite current promo is rm129 @ 100mbps.
Should I keep waiting till next year for turbo which TM this noob ISP cannot even guarantee the actual implement time?
Or just downgrade to rm129 @ 100mbps?
If you don't mind paying such price, I suggest you walk into the nearest TM Point directly and demand for your turbo to be expedite ASAP! Usually it will take about 2 weeks time from the day you request with them. Make sure you note down the person who attend you, best is with their contact number so that when the time comes, if no turbo yet, then u know what to do~

Also lodge a report with MCMC & CFM might help a bit... Livechat I would say only helpful when you tell them you have lodge report with MCMC or CFM. Else it is just a waste of time by doing so~
cskean
post Nov 19 2018, 05:58 PM

2,551 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 19 2018, 05:17 PM)
lol D Link router keep having security issue sweat.gif
I was about to say the same too... Just like my parent old Dlink DIR 615 router...

Wonder will the Dlink DIR842 that provided by TM right now will face the same problem in future...?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2028sec    1.01    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:28 PM