7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

soonwai
post Dec 23 2018, 10:15 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Dec 23 2018, 10:02 PM)
FYI, I just realised that dirk_diggler actually gets 800M speeds to TM. See post #5101.
I think the issue is not getting the speed to non-TM servers. So its likely not a PC issue, right?
Yeah, it's all fine for dirk based on #5101 and the 800+/200+ that he's getting. Not sure what the discussion is all about. That's all TM is gonna care about. To anywhere else is not really their problem. At least not the department that handles subscriptions.

As goxxxx's test demonstrates, you need peering to get full speed to SG. IPv4, for the most part, has had their peering between MY and SG sorted out. IPv6 not so much. Same MY ISP to SG iSP gets peered properly on IPv4 but goes to HK or some other country and back for IPv6.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 23 2018, 10:19 PM
soonwai
post Dec 23 2018, 11:25 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Dec 23 2018, 10:27 PM)
Okay, to recap. I speedtest to tm. Let's leave out sg first.

Speedtest.tm.com.my gives me full 800/200. But when i use ookla speedtest to tm server, it gets barred at 500. go626201's analysis says there are two TM servers on ookla, and speedtest.tm.com.my uses one of the two on ookla. So basically they are all the same servers.
Just use the one at speedtest.tm.com.my. Access via speedtest.net to TM's Speedtest servers probably rate limited.

TM's Ookla Speedtest servers are all running at TM. They're just using Ookla's software. From what I can tell, there're 2 listed Telekom Malaysia speedtest.net servers with IDs, 10327 & 19466, corresponding to 210.187.84.114 and 58.26.239.30. (same IPs that speedtest.tm.com.my resolves to.)

Who knows, they might even be the same server but it looks to me like 2 different servers. Routes and ECDSA key fingerprint (from SSH) are different. Not 100% conclusive but highly likely.

Anyway I've been using 58.26.239.30 as that is 5 hops from me. 1 less than 210.187.84.114.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Dec 23 2018, 11:30 PM
soonwai
post Dec 23 2018, 11:36 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(dirk_diggler @ Dec 23 2018, 10:30 PM)
For the time being I'm trying to first solve the 800 vs 500 on TM server ookla speedtest vs speedtest.tm.com.my. Worry bout SG later.
That might not be solvable. I suspect they may be rate limited when accessed via speedtest.net so as to preserve bandwidth.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 12:47 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(go626201 @ Dec 24 2018, 12:36 AM)
Quite a good speedtest result.
That's awesome. You still using the RB750Gr3? Which SG server? What MTU/MRU, 1480 or 1492? IPv4?
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 12:53 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Dec 24 2018, 12:09 AM)
Will everyone gets the same model or is there varying quality of modem that they can give us?
Modem not much difference in quality that I can tell. I was given the Huawei HG8240H in Nov 2017. I believe they're still giving that out and that black awesome looking Nokia (Alcatel Lucent).

Huawei is quality, I guess, my previous Huawei HG850a worked with no probs from 2011 until 2017 when it was replaced as part of my 100Mbps upgrade. Luhan might be able to spy on you but I'm cool with that.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 11:09 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Dec 24 2018, 09:52 AM)
better have more than less, since adding not much payment
Agreed especially for the 200Mbps upload speed if one uses a lot of cloud stuff. Very good.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 11:12 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Dec 24 2018, 10:22 AM)
RM189 for 100mbps, pending upgrade (eligible). Includes hyptvv and 600mins call plan.

RM129 also have those?
I was also RM189 for 100Mbps before 800. I think you may be adjusted down to RM159 for RM800.
including Ultimate & STD20.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 11:47 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Dec 24 2018, 11:15 AM)
How did you adjust?
QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Dec 24 2018, 11:28 AM)
This would be excellent. Need to call them or is done automatically?
Mine was done automatically. TM reduced my bill by RM30 by removing my Ruby pack. I had both Ultimate & Ruby. This was in Oct. So I paid RM159 for RYE100 in Oct & Nov. Got upgraded to 800 in Dec and bill is coming out in 4 days.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 08:21 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(aj300 @ Dec 24 2018, 08:15 PM)
Hi, any idea why my UNIFI speed only reaches about 90-100Mbps during speedtest  which was done using CAT 5e LAN wire directly connected to my laptop, although supposedly I have been upgraded to 500Mbps. My router is D-Link DIR-615 which should be able to support up to 1000Mbps using LAN. Tried speedtest many times, but max speed still below 100Mbps. Thanks in advance.
DIR-615 unfortunately only has 100Mbps network ports so max 100Mbps.
soonwai
post Dec 24 2018, 08:47 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Dec 24 2018, 08:41 PM)
a network installer is trying so hard to convince me that cat 5e is not gigabit ready, and keeps insisting i get his cat 6 installed
Tell him that Cat5e can go to 10Gbit. With some luck and planning.
soonwai
post Dec 31 2018, 09:24 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Dec 31 2018, 12:23 PM)
wow so u pay 159 for 800Mbps with Ultimate ?
QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 31 2018, 12:28 PM)
I thought a few are already paying that amount for 800Mbps?
Me too. 159 for 800. I think many of us took the RYE Nov 2017 RM189 50-100Mbps + STD20 + Ultimate upgrade in the same boat. Fruitie bring the lucky exception.

QUOTE(fruitie @ Dec 31 2018, 04:57 PM)
Actually there are many users removed their redundant VAR package after having Ultimate and reduced price by another RM 30.
Yup, that's how mine went from 189 to 159. After TM removed Ruby and RM30.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 1 2019, 02:13 AM
soonwai
post Jan 1 2019, 02:21 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Dec 31 2018, 09:43 PM)
IM on rye Nov 2017 too ..but turboed to 800Mbps with price 189...

removed Ruby and rm30 meaning no hypptv package now ?
can teach how to request remove Ruby?

thanks ..
You have Ultimate+Ruby (or VAR)? My RYE2017 added Ultimate to my Ruby making the latter redundant. Then in Oct 2018, TM automatically removed Ruby and reduced my price by RM30. I was paying RM159 for RYE2017 for Oct and Nov. Then Turbo upgrade came in Dec.

Summary:
RM179 Oct 2017 & before - Advance 50Mbps+Ruby
RM189 Nov 2017- Sep 2017 - RYE2017 100Mbps+STD20+Ultimate+Ruby
RM159 Oct 2017 - Nov 2017 - RYE2017 100Mbps+STD20+Ultimate
RM159 Dec 2017 - Present - Turbo 800Mbps+STD20+Ultimate

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 1 2019, 02:23 AM
soonwai
post Jan 1 2019, 12:29 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(cyclone2 @ Jan 1 2019, 06:12 AM)
damn.... my package is same as you, bill reduce to 150+ on Nov, Dec suddenly become 170+ due to the ultimate package, my ultimate package is charging @ RM 60.  mad.gif  mad.gif  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif

Then my turbo upgrade until now still not happening... Tm really suck!!!! vmad.gif  vmad.gif
QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jan 1 2019, 07:47 AM)
your untimate cost rm0 ?
you're lucky ...
tm told min tv package must be rm30

mine Jumbo Lite Pack cost rm30 ..
asked tm to remove...they told cannot..
you can request to downgrade tv package to min price which is rm30
1 time payment  will charge ...
must be at least after 12 months otherwise balance months will be charge according..
thanks..
My Ultimate has always been RM60, Ruby RM30 which was later removed and the discount amount changed from 200 - 230.

Now is UnifiPro800 RM329 + Ultimate RM60 - discount RM230 = RM159

Previously was:
Oct and Nov 2018: UnifiPro100 RM299 + Ultimate RM60 - discount RM200 = RM159
Before that: UnifiPro100 RM299 + Ultimate RM60 + Ruby RM30 - discount RM200 = RM189

*STD20 is not itemised in my bill but is in the list of items in my account.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 1 2019, 12:30 PM
soonwai
post Jan 2 2019, 10:56 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(toytoy @ Jan 2 2019, 10:28 PM)
Wonder if we can complain to MCMC or Tribunal regarding this?

Offering different discount is acceptable because it is sales/marketing strategy. Like when you buy a car, you get different discount from different salesman.

But forcing a tv package bundle to the consumer is like forcing everyone to buy a body kit for the car. Isn't that considered antitrust? Can we bring this to tribunal and force them to remove the tv package?
I doubt you can. Just go for a competitor's package that does not include TV or TM's own recent no-TV package.
soonwai
post Jan 2 2019, 11:52 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(jpong1 @ Jan 2 2019, 11:11 PM)
hi, where can we check "TM's own recent no-TV package" ?
Here: https://unifi.com.my/personal/home/fibre-broadband

Here also: https://unifi.com.my/business. Available for quite some time already.

soonwai
post Jan 3 2019, 08:16 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(nuel92 @ Jan 3 2019, 06:54 AM)
Where is the no-tv package? All i see is that 100mbps still got hypptv included
That's odd. On my browser it shows 2 packages. https://unifi.com.my/personal/home/fibre-broadband
Will SS it later.
soonwai
post Jan 3 2019, 09:33 AM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jan 3 2019, 08:34 AM)

Which is the modem, which is the router?
The one on the right is the modem/BTU/ONT. You can see the optical fibre cable going into the back of it.
soonwai
post Jan 3 2019, 02:28 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jan 3 2019, 02:04 PM)
Checked mine, but said no need. Got this from my initial registration three years ago. Others with similar BTU needing change?
Cannot see the model of your BTU. If HG8240W then no need to change. It's good for up to 1Gbps.
soonwai
post Jan 4 2019, 05:44 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Jan 4 2019, 05:33 PM)
hey guys, today TM suddenly come to change my unifi modem and router.

And well i was not at home by family member were at home.
So they came and change lo (TM technician, 3 ppl)

Was informed by family member that they saw my EVPAD (android box) and keep asking about that device, saying it illegal etc. (although we very long didnt use it d, not that user friendly)

Am wondering, will i be in trouble etc?
Should be ok lah. It's illegal only if you use it to do illegal stuff like watch stuff that you normally have to pay for, for free. Just like your PC or a shotgun.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Jan 4 2019, 05:45 PM
soonwai
post Jan 4 2019, 11:22 PM

11,458 posts

QUOTE(najminaruto @ Jan 4 2019, 05:45 PM)
OK 800Mpbs customers - your input please

I am paying:

RM 189.00 (Fibre Line)
RM 30.00 for Unifi TV (IPTV) - they say it must be subscribed? Damn, I don't really watch any form of TV since 2015.
6% SST

~ RM 232.15
I'm paying RM159 with STD20 and Ultimate. A few are paying RM149. Not sure if there're any RM 139.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2303sec    0.75    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:11 PM