4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V36, READ 1ST PAGE FOR TURBO SPEED INFO!

cannavaro
post Nov 22 2018, 10:35 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(cskean @ Nov 22 2018, 06:12 PM)
Just check on my CAT 6 cable, it printed there "DINTEK UTP Cat.6 STRANDED-24AWG*4P-CM ANSI/TIA-568-C.2 ETL VERIFIED ISO/IEC 11801 & EN50173"

Bought this cable at LYP Viewnet, around 25ft for RM70~75. That time didn't have much awareness of the brand, and quality. Only told the staff I want Cat 6 cable and the length.

Anyone can tell whether this cable is reliable? Otherwise I should proceed with the UGreen cable as most of the forummer recommended this brand.

Is UGreen a SOLID or STRANDED type of cable? So the flat type of cable is more reliable than those round one?

If SOLID cable provide better quality connection, beside UGreen, which brand is recommended and the price of it?

I saw a brand name Vention from shopee, looks good, but dunno reliable or not...

So sifus please share some knowledge with me here~

TQVM~
I have tested with a 20m ugreen cat7 flat cable and can get 800Mbps++ on my laptop

they also have the rounded type, more expensive than the flat one.. I have tested that 1 as well, but only the 2m length. Full speed of course as expected.

cannavaro
post Nov 23 2018, 12:53 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(imalmighty @ Nov 22 2018, 01:39 PM)
cannavaro, y dont u use him as example, haha, i reckon u dunid 800M anyway, since u also hold multiple accounts. U went tmpoint du i guess? Lots of successful negotiation came out from there..
damn I may have to find some free time to visit tmpoint DU laugh.gif
QUOTE(szejz123 @ Nov 23 2018, 12:25 AM)
hi guys, i have AC68U, but can't manage to get 500mbps full speed, is it due to my BTU being HG8240W?

wifi test 7+ with 5G band , around 270mbps down, 109mbps up,
lan with old mac, can only get around 250mbps down....

I read a few posts above complaining about HG8240W
I am using HG8240w.

From my experience on unifi turbo 500 (FIL house) and unifi turbo 800,
getting 500Mbps+ from speedtest is pretty easy
can get consistent 500Mbps from TM's server

for 800 Mbps however, this is not the case.
It's been a while since I can hit 800Mbps on TM servers (they have 2 on speedtest)

These servers however gives me 800 Mbps++ consistently, especially InNet
InNet
Extreme Broadband
Macrolynx
TIME (Shah Alam)
cannavaro
post Nov 23 2018, 06:42 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

just received my unifi biz bill after turboed to 300 Mbps with no notification (found out by speed test).. as reported by others, price increased because the discount is gone!
latest bill:
unifi biz advance 300Mbps = RM299
simple voice plus 30 = RM30

old bill:
unifi biz advance 30 Mbps = RM299 - RM40 discount = RM259

those unifi biz subscribers who kena this... have you contacted TM about this unannounced price increase?
but somehow I feel there is a clause somewhere in their TnC that allows them to do this laugh.gif

cannavaro
post Nov 24 2018, 11:52 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Nov 23 2018, 06:42 PM)
just received my unifi biz bill after turboed to 300 Mbps with no notification (found out by speed test).. as reported by others, price increased because the discount is gone!
latest bill:
unifi biz advance 300Mbps = RM299

old bill:
unifi biz advance 30 Mbps = RM299 - RM40 discount = RM259

those unifi biz subscribers who kena this... have you contacted TM about this unannounced price increase?
but somehow I feel there is a clause somewhere in their TnC that allows them to do this  laugh.gif
just reported via live chat
was told there should be no price increase, must be a system error and they will rectify it
I also reported that the BTU is from 2010/11, hence not supporting turbo speeds
the agent said must do speedtest on TM Speed Test site first, only then can the technical report be submitted.

so I did the test and automatically the CS can see my speedtest result without having to do a screenshot.. I wasn't aware of this, last time have to send a screenshot
cannavaro
post Nov 24 2018, 12:35 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(akaneikegami @ Nov 24 2018, 11:23 AM)
Hi, want to seek advise from you guys.  cry.gif

i recently got upgraded to 500mbps so i bought a new router - linksys ea7500 - https://www.linksys.com/us/p/P-EA7500/ cost me about RM640.

set it up with cat 6 cable to pc and another to modem. speed test using 5ghz and google/sg/tm dns on multiple devices (wired & wireless) still only get 80 - 90 mbps max.

on 2.4ghz, it's only around 50mpbs.

try switching to all the different channels but still the same result. sad.gif

not sure what else i can do. any advise?
can try checking the speed from modem to your pc (connect the cable directly from the modem to your pc instead of the router) and see if it is shown as 1Gbps

https://www.blacktubi.com/guide/check-ether...-adapter-speed/

what modem (BTU) are you using btw?
cannavaro
post Nov 24 2018, 05:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Nov 24 2018, 04:03 PM)
So has everyone got their Turbo upgrade? I haven’t. Still stuck on RYE100 while happily using my neighbour’s Turbo500.

However TM reduced my bill on 24 Oct. They took out the RM30 Ruby pack making it RM159 for RYE100.
haven't seen you posting since quite a while bro
how did you termination notice went?
if you remember my posts,
TM called me around 5 days before I'm due to hand in the BTU for my 3 accounts to finalize termination. They finally agreed to reduce the price + expedite turbo for remaining 2 accounts as per my mcmc report. Now all 3 accounts already got the turbo upgrade. It wasn't so straightforward though, after that call I had to 'fight' somemore to get it done.. took about 1 more month to settle sweat.gif
cannavaro
post Nov 27 2018, 02:51 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(gildan2020 @ Nov 27 2018, 12:55 AM)
This is my current plan, how do I request for additional discount?
Anybody got similar plan but paying lesser than RM 190 per month?

AFAIK,
There are quite a few subscribers paying RM159 for 500Mbps + tv Ultimate pack
They were originally on 100Mbps (RYE 2017), paying RM189 (inclusive of ultimate pack and 1 redundant V/A/R pack) and was supposed to be upgraded to 800 Mbps.. but somewhere along the way TM suddenly realized that it's too damn cheap or something and decided to remove their redundant tv pack; reducing the price by RM30 and upgrading their speed to 500Mbps instead of 800.. though some of them were lucky enough to get upgraded to 800Mbps

For 500Mbps, my FIL is paying RM179 internet + RM60 ultimate tv pack = RM239

In contrast, mine is
RM199 internet + RM30 jumbo lite tv pack = RM229 for 800Mbps
comes with Voice STD20 (Free)
my account is from 2010 btw.. and I have 3 of em xD

you want additional discount, you have to fight for it laugh.gif dig up my posts
better if you're no longer in contract
cannavaro
post Nov 27 2018, 11:07 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 27 2018, 11:02 AM)
The thing is i changed my router to TP Link C2300 before the turbo upgrade, and it was working without problems with the old modem. Then after the TM guy come to change the modem for the Turbo upgrade, the router cant connect to internet. With the new modem, i use back my old router and no problem with connecting to the internet. Use the TM technician DLink router, also no problem connect to the internet. I was not at home when the TM technician came to change the modem, and apparently he told me that he called TM to reset the MAC address (i think that was what he said) on their side and still cant connect to internet

Could it be my TP Link C2300 router rosak a? sweat.gif
Try reset to factory defaults and configure again?
cannavaro
post Nov 27 2018, 12:47 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

What is the upload speed for unifi biz, if anyone knows?

so TM tech came to my office just now to replace the ancient BTU from 2010 and I can finally get the right speeds...

I thought the upload is supposed to be 50Mbps? Even the TM guy was surprised.
This is unifi biz 300Mbps

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Nov 27 2018, 12:47 PM
cannavaro
post Nov 27 2018, 06:34 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Nov 27 2018, 05:39 PM)
If i remember correctly, mine starting was Unifi 5mbps > upgrade to 30mbps RM199 > free upgrade to 50mbps > Turboed to 500mbps

I guess this is the case of early worm gets the bird biggrin.gif
not for me though..
2010 upon unifi launch = VIP20
Later on either in 2010/11 I registered 2 more VIP20 account

2016 upon 100Mbps launch = self upgrade 1 account to 100 Mbps + jumbo pack, believed TM's early bird promo ("sign up now and get RM20 discount", LOL biggest mistake)
Same year, got a call from TM to upgrade the remaining 2 20Mbps accounts to 50Mbps at the same price, I agreed

Then during the 'thank you surprise' campaign, the 100Mbps account was offered the rubbish webe simcard or V/A/R tv pack. Didn't take any.
The 2 50Mbps accounts of course got upgraded to 100Mbps, price remains the same (RM249)
Eventually self-downgrade to jumbo lite from jumbo pack for the main 100Mbps account (RM309).

Only in September this year I decided to fight for a fairer price, had to lodge a MCMC report, pester TM on livechat
Eventually got a price reduction (RM229) and shortcut to turbo

cannavaro
post Nov 28 2018, 12:53 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(wwloony @ Nov 27 2018, 11:15 PM)
Hi guys,

I signed up for Unifi 100Mbps last week and was given the Huawei HG8240H BTU and D-LINK DIR-842 (AC1200) router
The internet keeps dropping (wifi and LAN) every ~10 mins, then it auto connects. Astro Go keeps buffering when connection is dropped and I'll need to manually restart the program

Tried switching wifi channels, using wifi extender, resetting Unifi port via LiveChat, but no help
Used Wifi monitoring software which registers the disconnection (the router homepage still shows no connection error)

Any help? Do I really need to go purchase a new router?

I'm not aware of DIR-842 having this frequent disconnection issue
Yesterday I just set it up to be used at my office, and the connection didn't drop after 6 hours or so
I have the retail non TM version though, flashed to the latest available local firmware from dlink
I have also tested this router with my unifi home connection, no issues getting 800Mbps on cable and no frequent disconnection.. can look up my older posts to see the speedtest results

did you set the connection mode to 'on demand' along with 'maximum idle time' to something?
I haven't tried this but I'm guessing if it's on demand and maximum idle time is set to, say 10 mins.. it will drop the connection if it's idle after 10 mins

cannavaro
post Nov 29 2018, 11:05 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(PoorMan @ Nov 29 2018, 12:10 AM)
Bandar Puchong Jaya here, OK so far.

However, speedtest with Telekom server is only 500-600Mbps DL/210Mbps UL. My subscription is for 800/200Mbps
Same case with me.. nowadays can't get 800 Mbps from TM server on speedtest.net
Try with InNet, Macrolynx, Extreme Broadband, TIME dotcom servers

QUOTE(lol0919 @ Nov 29 2018, 10:46 AM)
Does anyone know which router will gave by TM if request through this page?

Eh how to get to this page? Just curious

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Nov 29 2018, 11:06 AM
cannavaro
post Nov 29 2018, 11:37 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Doraku @ Nov 29 2018, 11:07 AM)
Is this the cause of the issue?

https://twitter.com/unifi/status/1067612037000249346
[attachmentid=10124916]
Don't think so.. can easily get 800Mbps+ from the servers I mentioned even before this cable cut issue

QUOTE(lol0919 @ Nov 29 2018, 11:24 AM)
Online Portal -> Turbo Status -> Check
Thanks, found it. new feature I guess. Last 2 days or so I checked it wasn't there.
cannavaro
post Nov 29 2018, 04:33 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Nov 29 2018, 03:03 PM)
Oic. I was using speedtest apps for windows. No wonder don't have. I tried using browser version and it's still there. Thanks.
still can do using the app but a bit mafan
press the button on the upper right (the 3 lines)
click on the result you want to share, click the share button icon on the upper right next to the trash icon, copy link, paste in browser.. and there you can find the various share methods laugh.gif
cannavaro
post Nov 29 2018, 05:12 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(LindFES @ Nov 29 2018, 04:56 PM)
Just got my Turbo to 500Mbps few days ago so
would like to ask if this BTU(image attached) supports 1Gbps or just 100Mbps port capped
Exact model: AN5506-04
fuh the legendary fiberhome
I got this back in 2010 laugh.gif
no go for turbo
cannavaro
post Nov 30 2018, 01:00 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(gammer123 @ Nov 29 2018, 09:24 PM)
Guys just wondering.. I got turbo-ed to 500mbps but it seems like the actual download rate is somehow capped at 25Mbps? Tried downloading from google, youtube, steam and etc.. am I the only one?

some download examples:

The highest speed outside of speedtest that I have hit so far is 630 Mbps or thereabouts (approx 80MB/s).. downloading some files from real-debrid and playing youtube at the same time. I monitor using a software called DU Meter
cannavaro
post Nov 30 2018, 05:17 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(truthseeker @ Nov 30 2018, 04:58 PM)
hi, i have been turbo-ed to 300Mbps since last week and i just check the status in unifi website, it says i need to change the btu. The strange thing is , i subscribed to unifi 30mbps 3 months ago in August. So when i got turbo-ed i expect i dun need to change any equipment. Do you guys know what BTU model TM will change to?
For 1 of my accounts, I got the same msg saying have to change the BTU.
That account is actually using huawei hg8240h since late October and have no problems getting full 800Mbps speed
Probably TM didn't update their database properly or something.
If they change, most likely you will get huawei hg8240h.

cannavaro
post Nov 30 2018, 06:07 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(mylinear @ Nov 30 2018, 05:21 PM)
In the customer portal, the Turbo Status option, when you click Check, I think the pop-up message is a template message. It will either say you will get turbo soon or it will say you have already got turbo. Both will have same message about changing BTU. Obviously, only those having problems getting full speed may need to change. Others don't need to. Like some customer service replies, I think this is a template for all.
Oh no wonder

QUOTE(kentken12 @ Nov 30 2018, 05:49 PM)
I also asking for the RM99 for 50mbps package through live chat just now and no luck they said TM didn't offer this package and only got Unifi basis and Unifi Lite. I want to them double confirm and still the same. I thinking who are willing to share the image and i can show them the proof............
From what I read here you can only get this if you go to TM Point and either pester them like hell about it or try to terminate your account laugh.gif
cannavaro
post Dec 1 2018, 12:18 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(cactuscch2 @ Nov 30 2018, 08:29 PM)
I got this sms, what should I do?

RM0.00 unifi: Yay! Your unifi svc : 603xxxxxxx has been TURBO-ed! Call us at 100 (Press 1) to lodge a request for equipment replacement. T&C apply.

Previous package: 10Mbps (TP-Link AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router (Model: Archer C1200) & HG8240w)

After Turbo: 100Mbps
- tested with phone wifi: can achieve 100/ 50
- tested with laptop wifi: can achive 50/40, LAN not tested yet.
TM sent me a message.....My current equipment (BTU) needs to be replaced?
I'm using HG8240w for 800Mbps
That BTU is more than enough to support your 100Mbps.

cannavaro
post Dec 1 2018, 12:56 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Dec 1 2018, 12:16 PM)
Ok just got turbo'ed to 500mbps UnifiBiz from 50Mbps Unifi BizAdvance, my TL-WR841HP router can't even get more than 50Mbps on wifi. Haha. (100Mbps fast ethernet port only)
With LAN Cat5e cable, I only got 40Mbps down & 95Mbps UP. Yup upload was super good. Silly. haha.

What do you suggest for the router that can give me bang for buck? I'll be using it on a 2 storey shop lot, all on wifi N & AC devices with the HG8240 BTU.
200-300Mbps on wifi is good enough.

I remember for below RM300, previously TS suggest Tenda AC18? Does it work right out of box for unifi with no hypptv (UnifiBiz dont have hypptv)?

How about for below RM400?
Thanks in advance!

Quick check on lazada on 1st page's recommended routers :

RT-AC1200G+ RM335
RT-AC58U RM389
RT-AC55UHP RM420
RT-AC1300UHP RM484 (out of budget just for comparison  blush.gif )

RT-AC66U RM471 (out of budget just for comparison  blush.gif )
RT-AC68U RM490 (out of budget just for comparison  blush.gif )

Tenda AC15 RM257
Tenda AC18 RM280

Archer C1200 RM240
Archer C7 RM344
Archer C9 RM424

DIR-859 RM329
DIR-867 RM380
DIR-878 RM429

DIR-825+ RM199
DIR-842 RM239
*Prices may change. Just a quick check on lazada on 30/11/2018 only.
If budget below RM400 I would take the Tenda AC18

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.2270sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:50 AM